Lockport in Niagara County, New York — The American Northeast (Mid-Atlantic)
“Lockport Flight of Five”
The Erie Canal was constructed in three historic stages: the original Erie Canal, or Clinton’s Ditch, 1817-1825; the enlarged Erie Canal, 1835-1862; the New York State Barge Canal System (Erie Canal Division), 1905-1918. Here in Lockport, the present day Erie Canal follows basically the same course as the original and enlarged 19th century canals.
To overcome the great elevation of the Niagara Escarpment, the original canal builders constructed a unique flight of five double locks, to lower easterly and raise westerly bound boast some sixty feet. The original locks of 1825 were replaced by a larger flight of double locks constructed between 1836 and 1847. These locks were numbered 67 to 71. The enlarged combined locks were replaced by Locks 34 and 35 of the Barge Canal Improvement between 1910 and 1914. The northern set of the “Lockport Five” was left intact and today is used as a spillway.
The old “Lockport Five" and Locks 34 & 35, provide splendid examples of the historic evolution of the New York State Canals in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Sidebar on the right
Erected by New York State Canals. (Marker Number 4.)
Marker series. This marker is included in the Erie Canal marker series.
Location. 43° 10.197′ N, 78° 41.628′ W. Marker is in Lockport, New York, in Niagara County. Marker is on Main Street near Cottage Street. Click for map. Marker is in this post office area: Lockport NY 14094, United States of America.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. Upson Park (within shouting distance of this marker); Big Bridge (within shouting distance of this marker); Tour Boat Then & Now (within shouting distance of this marker); Lower Lock Construction (within shouting distance of this marker); Canal Comparisons (within shouting distance of this marker); a different marker also named The “Big Bridge” (within shouting distance of this marker); The Great American Canal (about 300 feet away, measured in a direct line); Lock Construction (about 400 feet away). Click for a list of all markers in Lockport.
More about this marker. This marker is on the south side concrete walkway of Locks 34 & 35.
Regarding “Lockport Flight of Five”. Lockport's "Flight of Five" is currently under restoration.
Also see . . .
1. Lockport's Flight of Five in the Erie Canal. This is a video clip of the operation of Lockport's Flight of Five (Submitted on September 7, 2014, by Barry Swackhamer of San Jose, California.)
2. Long-awaited Flight of Five restoration ready to get under way in Lockport - The Buffalo News. After a decade of planning, construction is about to get under way in downtown Lockport on a history-rich attraction that Niagara tourist officials hope will draw as many as a quarter-million Erie Canal buffs every year. (Submitted on September 7, 2014, by Barry Swackhamer of San Jose, California.)
Categories. • Waterways & Vessels •
Credits. This page originally submitted on , by Barry Swackhamer of San Jose, California. This page has been viewed 188 times since then and 63 times this year. Photos: 1, 2. submitted on , by Barry Swackhamer of San Jose, California. • Bill Pfingsten was the editor who published this page. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016.