Saint-Ignace-de-Stanbridge (Mystic) in Brome-Missisquoi MRC, Quebec — French Canadian Region
Construite en 1882 par l'entrepreneur Alexander Solomon Walbridge, cette grange-étable est formée de douze murs pignons disposés autour d'un espace central. Le bâtiment comporte deux niveaux: un premier qui servait d'étable et un second, divisé en plusieurs espaces, dont des tasseries, le tout organisé autour d'une plaque tournante destinée à faciliter l'engrangement des récoltes.
Ce bâtiment est la plus ancienne grange polygonale du Québec et la seule qui ait douze côtés. Son astucieux mécanisme rotatif et son architecture originale représentent fort bien l'ingéniosité de son concepteur.
La grange Alexander-Solomon-Walbridge a été classée monument historique le 27 mai 2004 par la Ministre de la Culture et des Communications.
Built in 1882 by Alexander Solomon Walbridge, this barn has twelve sides and twelve gables arranged around a central space. The building comprises two levels: the first level was a stable and the second was divided into several sections, all organized around a central turntable designed to facilitate storing the harvest.
This building is the oldest non-traditional, multi-sided barn in Québec and the only one to have twelve sides. The revolutionary rotating mechanism and unique architecture
The Alexander-Solomon-Walbridge barn was classified a historic monument on May 27th 2004 by the Ministre de la Culture et des Communications du Québec.
Erected by Ministre de la Culture et des Communications du Québec.
Location. 45° 9.187′ N, 72° 59.213′ W. Marker is in Saint-Ignace-de-Stanbridge (Mystic), Quebec, in Brome-Missisquoi MRC. Marker is on Mystic Road 0.1 kilometers south of Walbridge Road, on the right when traveling south. Click for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 189, Mystic Road, Saint-Ignace-de-Stanbridge (Mystic), Quebec J0J 1Y0, Canada.
Other nearby markers. At least 4 other markers are within 19 kilometers of this marker, measured as the crow flies. In honour of Capt. Caleb Tree (approx. 6.8 kilometers away); First Women's Institute (approx. 14.8 kilometers away); Battle of Eccles Hill (approx. 16.2 kilometers away); Saxe's Mills (approx. 18.8 kilometers away in the U.S.).
More about this marker. The marker is affixed to an impressive red brick wall that was built using the same brick as that of the nearby church.
Regarding Grange Alexander-Solomon-Walbridge.
The towering barn with its 24-metre (80 ft) diameter is a very imposing sight on the rural landscape of Mystic. Walls of red ochre and contrasting roofs of pale green combine with the harmonizing lines of the gables to offer an astonishingly breathtaking view to passers-by in Mystic.
The barn is now used as the agricultural annex of the Missisquoi Museum.
Also see . . . Missisquoi Museum. (Submitted on October 22, 2010, by Kevin Craft of Bedford, Quebec.)
Additional keywords. Walbridge barn; Missisquoi museum, architecture
Categories. • Agriculture • Notable Buildings •
Credits. This page originally submitted on , by Kevin Craft of Bedford, Quebec. This page has been viewed 965 times since then and 26 times this year. Last updated on , by Kevin Craft of Bedford, Quebec. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. submitted on , by Kevin Craft of Bedford, Quebec. • Andrew Ruppenstein was the editor who published this page. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016.