|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 163 Main Street|
|The property at 163 Main Street was originally part of a section of land confiscated from British Loyalists. The lot contained the City Hotel which was a well known hostelry. After a fire destroyed the City Hotel, the lot was subdivided and in 1903 a commercial building was constructed. The blending of several styles has resulted in an architectural anomaly along Main Street. The building was owned by the Pappas family until 1980 when the current owners Peter and Helen Palaigos acquired it and . . . — Map (db m6311) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 167 Main Street at Conduit Street|
|This site owned by Amos Garrett was surveyed as Lot 46 on James Stoddert's 1718 plan of Annapolis. The Lloyd Dulany family lived here from 1761 until 1783. The group of buildings known successively as Mann's Tavern, City Tavern and the City Hotel occupied much of this block from 1783 until 1891. In 1891, the U.S. Naval Preparatory School held classes here until the building was destroyed by fire in 1897. This building was constructed in 1903 and has been occupied by a range of businesses during . . . — Map (db m6194) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 41 Cornhill Street|
|In 1771 when Annapolis merchant Charles Wallace laid out plot lines on Cornhill Street, former ship captain Beriah Maybury leased two plots and built this house which he opened as the King's Arms Tavern in 1773. In 1792 he renamed it the Sign of the Golden Scales and boarded St. John's students. The first paid portraits ever painted by artist Charles Willson Peale were of Maybury and his wife. In 1801 owner Lloyd M. Lowe obtained a franchise for Peale's new invention, the physiognotrace, and . . . — Map (db m6450) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 75mm. Howitzer|
|Captured with its gun crew 16th August 1944 by
the 8th Naval Beach Battallion and the 540th Army
Engineers at St. Raphael on the French Riveria.
This howitzer, set in a strong casemated position at the left flank of one of the assault beaches, was one of many guns which had been unsuccessfully used by the German Forces to prevent the American Occupation of the town of St. Raphael during the Allied invasion of the southern coast of France. — Map (db m29639) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Admiral Ben Moreell — Father of the Seabees|
About the Seabees
Born in the early days of World War II when the nation was in dire peril, their mission was to build bases for the combat forces, to defend those bases, and to provide other support of whatever kind required.
Organized and commanded by officers of the Civil Engineer Corps of the Navy, recruited largely from the building trades of organized labor, buttressed by the construction industry, the Seabees quickly proved their total competence. . . . — Map (db m9620) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Albert Cabell Ritchie|
|Albert Cabell Ritchie. 1876 – 1936. Four times Governor of Maryland. He who is worthy of honor does not die. — Map (db m2900) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Alexander Magruder|
|To honor the three hundredth anniversary of the coming to Maryland circa 1652 of Alexander Magruder, founder and progenitor of the Magruder family in America, and to the men of his blood who have been students at St. John's College. — Map (db m5417) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Alfred A. Hopkins Plaza|
|Honoring Alfred A. Hopkins
Mayor, 1989 - 1997 — Map (db m6384) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Annapolis Laboratory — 1903 - 1999|
|In this year, 1999, a 96-year tradition of technical excellence, personal achievement , and dedication to our Navy comes to a close. The legacy of this Laboratory will live on well into the next millennium. It is embodied in the people who worked here, our ships at sea, and those who have moved on with the knowledge gained in Annapolis. It is with a mix of pride and sadness that the last chapter of this unique facility is written. Those who have so honorably served here have earned their . . . — Map (db m65867) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Annapolis Water Company|
|Chartered in 1865 by the Maryland General Assembly after a fire at the State House in 1863. Waterworks began operation in 1866, designed by noted civil engineer William Rich Hutton, who had recently completed Washington Aqueduct. Innovative concrete pipes carried water to Annapolis. Property includes a late 19th century engineer's residence, two settling basins, reservoir and dam, and 1907 pump house by baltimore architects Baldwin & Pennington. — Map (db m51852) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Annapolis: Capital of Commerce|
|In the decades before the American Revolution, Annapolis was the customs port for the upper Bay western shore. Ships clearing in and out paid duties and fees to the local naval officer. With good shipyards (including Ship Carpenters Lot north of the dock, not far from where you are standing), ropewalks, ship chandlers, and bakers, Annapolis also served as an important center for supply, refitting, and provisioning.
Cargoes shipped to Annapolis originated in many places throughout the . . . — Map (db m19288) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Aris T. Allen, M.D. — Dec. 27, 1910 - Feb 8, 1991|
|A man of honor...A distinguished career of professional and public service...As a Medical Doctor...As a member of the Maryland State Legislature...As an appointee of The President of the United States, to serve his Country on the National level...And as a caring person who has served his community in so many other ways...To help people in need...To provide opportunity for every citizen..."And to set an example that brings out the very best in us" — Map (db m5418) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Asbury United Methodist Church|
|Site of the oldest and most prominent African American congregation in Annapolis, MD. In 1803, seven free African Americans bought the land and established the First African Methodist Episcopal Church. It was closed in 1832 in a local reaction to the 1831 Nat Turner Rebellion in Virginia. The congregation joined the segregated First Methodist Episcopal (now Calvary United Methodist) Church. The church started again on this site in 1838 as Asbury Methodist Episcopal Church when the African . . . — Map (db m6191) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Baron Johann de Kalb, 1721 - 1780 — Revolutionary War Hero|
|Baron Johann de Kalb was a distinguished German soldier who served as a major general in the Continental Army during the American Revolutionary War. He was a friend and mentor of the Marquis de Lafayette.|
De Kalb served at Valley Forge during the winter of 1777-78 and was assigned to lead a division of Maryland and Delaware troops during the southern campaign. At the Battle of Camden, South Carolina on August 16, 1780, his horse was shot from under him and he was shot and bayoneted by . . . — Map (db m75680) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Battle of the Severn|
|On March 25, 1655, colonial Governor William Stone landed Maryland militia at the Puritan settlement of Providence, located at the mouth of the Severn River. He planned to subdue the settlers who had asserted their independence from the government in St. Mary's City. The Puritan militia defeated Stone's forces and secured temporary control of the colony, ruling Maryland until 1658, when an agreement restored proprietary authority to Cecil Calvert, the second Lord Baltimore. — Map (db m53178) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Between Morning and Midnight — Maryland Fire Rescue Services Memorial Sculpture|
|The firefighter and EMS provider are ascending the staircase of time as they depart from this world. they are running to their calling to do the job of serving our community with strenght, determination and sacrifice as if going to war. The second before their life is consumed they reflect and turn to their loved ones to say their farewells for the last time. Hands are reaching out, touching.
The lower area represents our world of family and community occupied by the kneeling mother, . . . — Map (db m9286) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — British 24 Pounder|
|Captured on the British flagship Confiance on Lake Champlain, September 11, 1814, by Commodore Thomas MacDonough.
This gun has a dent on the muzzle from an American shot which caused the gun to recoil and kill the British commander, Downie. — Map (db m7812) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Brown-Leanos Memorial Park|
|Dedicated to the Brown and Leanos families that operated a grocery and restaurant business, respectively at this location since the late 1890's.
Originally dedicated on September 10, 1990
Rededicated May 13, 2000 — Map (db m6387) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Burning of the Brig "Peggy Stewart"|
|Near this spot
which was then the shore of the bay,
the Brig “Peggy Stewart” was burned
by her owner, “Anthony Stewart.”
October 19, 1774
To pacify the indignation of the
citizens roused by the payment of
duties on seventeen boxes of tea
imported in the brig.
Erected in conformity with the
Act of Congress of March 3, 1903. — Map (db m6313) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Butler in Annapolis|
|The 8th Massachusetts Infantry reached Annapolis April 21, 1861, on the Railroad Ferry Maryland. Col. Benjamin F. Butler forwarded his and the 7th New York Infantry Regiments to Washington. Shortly he was directed to prevent the legislature from acting on secession from the Union. — Map (db m6312) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Centennial of the United States Navy Submarine Force|
From the Depths - Sea Power
1900 - 2000
Dedicated to those
who serve beneath the seas,
families and support personnel
[Back of marker}:In recognition of the generosity
of the following donors
Lockheed Martin Corporation ·
General Dynamics ·
McDermott/BWX Technologies, Inc. ·
Raytheon Company ·
Science Applications International Corporation ·
Naval Submarine League ·
Newport News Shipbuilding ·
Northrop Grumman Corporation ·
Sonalysts, Inc. . . . — Map (db m6398) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 6 — Chase-Lloyd House — The Naval War of 1812 in Annapolis — Don't Give Up the Ship|
|Patriot politician and future Declaration of Independence signer Samuel Chase began building this Georgian mansion in 1769, but he couldn't afford to finish the house and sold it two years later to Edward Lloyd IV. The wealthy Eastern Shore planter hired William Buckland and later William Noke, to supervise completion of the project. Buckland designed many of the homes fine interior features including the magnificent cantilevered imperial staircase and elaborate decorative details.
Edward . . . — Map (db m63497) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Colonial Annapolis|
|Has been designated a Registered National Historic Landmark Under the provisions of the Historic Sites Act of August 21, 1935. This site possesses exceptional value in commemorating or illustrating the history of the United States U.S. Department of the Interior National Park Service 1965 — Map (db m6199) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Commander William Lewis Herndon — 1813 - 1857 — Naval Officer - Explorer - Merchant Captain|
|In command of the Central America, home-bound with California Gold seekers, Captain Herndon lost his life in a gallant effort to save ship and lives during a cyclone off Hatteras, September 12, 1857
"Forgetful of self, in his death he added a new glory to the annals of the sea." - Maury — Map (db m7213) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Cornhill & Fleet Streets|
|The oldest surviving map of Annapolis, drawn by James Stoddert in 1718, shows that the area now occupied by Corhill and Fleet Streets, had been set aside for Governor Francis Nocholson for use as a garden, summer house and vineyard. In 1771 Charles Wallace, an entrepreneur and builder, purchased 5.5 acres of the tract from the Bordley family and subdivided the land into 28 lots on either side of the new streets. he named the streets after well-known commerical districts in London as a marketing . . . — Map (db m17689) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Dedicated to you, a free citizen in a free land|
|This reproduction of the Liberty Bell was presented to
by direction of
The Honorable John Snyder
Secretary of the Treasury
as the inspirational symbol of the United States savings bonds independence drive from May 15 to July 4 1950. It was displayed in every part of the state.
The dimensions and tone are identical with those of the original Liberty Bell when it rang out our independence in 1776.
In standing before this symbol, you have the opportunity to dedicate . . . — Map (db m63419) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Tree|
|This tree is dedicated to the memory of
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
"Freedom must ring from every mountainside...and when this happens, all...will be able to stand together...and sing a new song...Free at last, free at last, great God Almighty, we are free at last"
Morgan State College
June 2, 1958 — Map (db m65294) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Dred Scott, 1700 - 1858 — Freedom Denied by the United States Supreme Court|
|Dred Scott was born a slave in Southampton, Virginia. His family was owned by Peter Blow who sold Scott to an army doctor named John Emerson. Dr. Demerson took Scott to live in the free states of Illinois and Wisconsin where, in 1836, Scott married Harriet Robinson. The couple had two daughters and two sons, both of whom died in infancy.|
In 1843, Scott, who now lived in the slave state of Missouri, attempted to buy his freedom from the widow of Dr. Emerson for $300. His bid for freedom was . . . — Map (db m75677) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — El Neptuno|
|Spanish 12-pounder bronze smooth bore
gun named El Neptuno
Captured by the United States Navy from the
Mexicans in California in 1847 — Map (db m29642) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Evolutions of Strawberry Hill — United States Naval Academy — National Historic Landmark|
|Historical records of colonial Annapolis show that Richard Spriggs, an important 18th Century Annapolitan, had a house built on Strawberry Hill in 1780. By 1796 Spriggs had leased the house to Henri Stier, an investment banker from Antwerp, and his family. Stier’s third child, Rosalie, married George Calvert, a scion of Lord Baltimore, and founder of what became the University of Maryland. From 1803 to 1823 the residence on Strawberry Hill served as the Anne Arundel County Almshouse. The . . . — Map (db m60913) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Ferry Point Road|
|Formerly an Indian trail to cross South River. In early colonial times it became a principle thoroughfare connecting Annapolis with southern Maryland and Virginia. George Washington remarked on the beautiful roses that still flourish there. — Map (db m9287) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — First Presbyterian Church of Annapolis — Founded May 2, 1846|
Built in 1828 as the Hallam Theatre Reconstructed in 1847 for use by the church Enlarged in 1948 and 1959 Designated May 25, 1947 as the National Naval Memorial of the Presbyterian Church This plaque given in memory of Agnes Myers Zorn 1914-1984. — Map (db m6197) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — First Synagogue in Annapolis|
|Kneseth Israel (Assembly of Israel), chartered in 1906, purchased this home in 1910 for use as the first synagogue in Annapolis.
The congregation used the building as a synagogue
until 1912, when it moved to larger quarters on
Prince George Street.
Erected in celebration of the 90th anniversary
of the Kneseth Israel charter. — Map (db m6310) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — For Civilization Liberty Country — 1920|
|Erected by the Alumni of St. John's College to their fellow Alumni who in the World War gave their all. Four hundred & fifty two of our men answered their country's call. There is no records that one failed in his duty.
The list of names:
A. Garland Alter '08;
James H. B. Brashears '17;
Robert F. Brattan '13;
Galloway G. Cheston '16;
Jame McD. Cresap '08;
George H. Davis '12;
Wyatt D. Doyle '20;
John Eareckson '09;
J. Dent Hungerford '16;
Wilson U. Martin '21;
H. Graham . . . — Map (db m65902) WM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Foremast of the U.S.S. Maine|
|Ship blown up, Havana 15 Feb. 1898.
Mast recovered 6, Oct. 1910.
Erected here 5, May. 1913. — Map (db m6388) WM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Fort Nonsense|
|Fort Nonsense has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the U.S. Department of the Interior. It is the last remaining fortification of several constructed in the 18th and 19th centuries to defend Annapolis and its waterways. It is a "redoubt" or small, independent earthen site designed for flexible military use. Its origin and unusual name are a mystery, but records show it was built in the early 19th century. It may have been a lookout point for Fort Madison, a masonry . . . — Map (db m63588) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Fort Severn and the United States Naval Academy|
|Fort Severn Chapter
Daughters of the American Revolution
United States Naval Academy.
"Locating Fort Severn within the U.S. Naval Academy, March 28, 1977." — Map (db m66415) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Francis Scott Key|
|1814 - 1914.
Francis Scott Key
1780 - 1843
Class of 1796
The Star-Spangled Banner
In loving memory of her distinguished son whose eulogy is written in the heart of this nation and whose fame has spread throughout the world. — Map (db m5421) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Gateway to Discovery — Annapolis|
|Look around the harbor. Imagine what the first colonists saw more than 350 years ago when they first viewed this Chesapeake Bay peninsula: a pristine, abundant natural site with deep, protected harbors that had experienced little human settlement.
"...heaven and earth never agree better to frame a place for mans habitation...here are mountaines, hills, plaines, valleyes, rivers and brookes, all running most pleasantly into a faire Bay compassed but for the mouth with fruitfull an . . . — Map (db m19266) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — General Washington — Standing on This Spot|
|Standing on this spot, General Washington resigned his commission as Commander-in-Chief of the Continental Army on December 23rd, 1783.
Presented by the Peggy Stewart Tea Party Chapter D.A.R. December 23rd, 1915. — Map (db m17688) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Governor Sir Francis Nicholson and Bloomsbury Square|
|Bloomsbury Square was named after a square in London where the Lords Baltimore, proprietors (owners) of Maryland, lived and where prospective settlers went in 1633 to get information concerning the proposed new colony of Maryland. Bloomsbury Square was part of the master plan for Annapolis devised by Sir Francis Nicholson (Governor, 1694-1699) when he moved the capital from St. Mary's City to Annapolis in 1695. Bloomsbury Square is bounded by Calvert Street, Northwest Street, Church Circle, . . . — Map (db m5419) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Hammond-Harwood House · 1774 — A National Historic Landmark|
|Designed and built for legislator and patriot, Mathias Hammond by the colonial architect, William Buckland, this beautiful residence is considered the pinnacle of the Georgian Style in America.
A museum today, the house is almost entirely original material. Visitors are invited to join an hourly guided tour of its finely trimmed and authentically furnished interiors, colonial kitchen and 19th century boxwood garden. — Map (db m7898) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — History Stone|
|This granite block was dedicated as the cornerstone of a proposed fountain on 22 November 1908, the 200th anniversary of the Annapolis City Charter. The fountain was planned to commemorate the 1649 "Act Concerning Religion," known as the "Act of Toleration," which granted certain religious freedoms in Maryland. The hexagonal planter nearby, also an element of the 1908 design, originally served as a basin for watering horses. The entire fountain was never built, and in 1929 the cornerstone was . . . — Map (db m6386) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 5 — HMS Confiance Cannon — The Naval War of 1812 in Annapolis — Don't Give Up the Ship|
|This gun tube was removed from the British flagship, the HMS Confiance, during the Battle of Lake Champlain with was fought on September 11, 1814. Early in that battle a cannon ball fired by the American flagship Saratoga struck the muzzle of this cannon driving the gun backward with great force into Captain George Downie. The blow killed him instantly. There was no blood or obvious wound until a bad bruise was found on his right groin. His pocket watch had been crushed, too. The . . . — Map (db m69246) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 2 — HMS Macedonian Monument — The Naval War of 1812 — Don't Give Up The Ship|
| Figurehead of HMS Macedonian.
The classical head represents Alexander, the Macedonian who ruled Greece and much of the known world in the 4th century BC. It was carved in wood in 1810 to decorate the bow of the British warship named Macedonian. On October 25, 1812 west of the Canary Islands, the USS United States, commanded by Captain Stephen Decatur, captured the British ship in a two and a half hour battle. Its flag and figurehead were saved and preserved. the . . . — Map (db m63428) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Hockley-in-the-Hole — Patented August 25, 1664|
|To Edward, Joshua, and John Dorsey, sons of Edward Dorsey who settled in Maryland in 1650. The patent was signed by Charles Calvert, then Lieutenant General, and later Third Lord Baltimore. This plantation has been the homestead of the Dorseys for over 300 years. — Map (db m2906) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Husband Edward Kimmel — U.S. Naval Academy Cemetery|
|Admiral, United States Navy February 26, 1882-May 14, 1968. Commander-in-Chief, United States Fleet when Japan attacked Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941. — Map (db m92708) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — In Honor of Albert Abraham Michelson — 1852 - 1931|
|Class of 1873. While Instructor at the Naval Academy in 11879 made first accurate measurement of speed of light. Invented interferometer. First American scientist to receive Nobel Prize, for physics in 1907. Performed with Morley ether drift experiment basic to Einstein's theory of relativity. His Distinguished career is a continuing inspiration to midshipmen. — Map (db m66015) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Japanese Ambassador Hirosi Saito|
|In memory of Japanese Ambassador Hirosi Saito who died in Washington on Jan 26, 1939 & whose remains were by order of President Franklin D Roosevelt conveyed on board the USS Astoria to his native land. In grateful appreciation of American sympathy and courtesy this pagoda was presented by his wife and child on to the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis October 1940 — Map (db m70122) HM WM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Japanese Torpedo|
|This type 93 Torpedo is the largest enemy
weapon of its kind encountered in World War II.
It is 29½ feet long, 24 inches in diameter
and carries over 1,000 lbs. of explosive in the
war head. At the low speed setting of 40 knots
a maximum range of approximately 30,000 yards
is obtained. — Map (db m29636) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Jeannette Arctic Exploring Expedition|
|Commemorative of the heroic officers and men of the United States Navy who perished in the Jeannette Arctic Exploring Expedition. 1881 — Map (db m61065) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — John Snowden Memorial|
|I have been imprisoned and now I am about to shake hands with time and welcome eternity, for in a few hours from now, I shall step out of time into eternity to pay the penalty of a crime I am not guilty of. God knows that I am telling the truth, and after I have been hanged, I am asking the authorities to please continue to search for the murderer. Though I have suffered, if it would have proved to the world that I was innocent, I would have willingly gone through that awful degree again. I . . . — Map (db m53173) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — John Wilkes Booth — Escape of an Assassin — War on the Chesapeake Bay|
|Divided loyalties and ironies tore at Marylander's hearts throughout the Civil War: enslaved African-Americans and free United States Colored Troops; spies and smugglers; civilians imprisoned without trial to protect freedom; neighbors and families at odds in Maryland and faraway battlefields. From the Eastern Shore to the suburbs of Washington, eastern Maryland endured those strains of civil war in ways difficult to imagine today.
Those strains continued even after Confederate General . . . — Map (db m72089) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 4 — Joseph Nicholson Home Site and Bandstand — The Naval War of 1812 in Annapolis — Don't Give Up The Ship|
|In 1814 when Francis Scott Key wrote the words to the poem "The Defense of Fort McHenry," his wife's
sister and brother-in-law lived in a house on this site. The poem quickly became famous when it was
set to music and re-titled "The Star-Spangled Banner." The Nicholsons preserved an original copy of
the poem in their house. After the house was removed to expand the Naval Academy, it was decided to place a bandstand nearby so that the Naval Academy Band could play "The Star-Spangled . . . — Map (db m63433) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Katharine Hepburn Slept Here|
|"54" was built in 1911 by Dr. Sewell Hepburn, a Johns Hopkins trained physician. His niece, Kate, spent time here with the family. Reportedly, Kate's limousine had trouble navigating State Circle. Kate always wore trousers. — Map (db m6193) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — King William's School|
|1696 - 1946. This tablet was fixed on McDowell Hall in 1946 to commemorate the two hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the founding of King William's School. To this hall in 1785, in the second year of the foundation of St. John's College, came the students and masters of the school, with their books, and made one with the new college. This will remind men that all halls of learning are one hall. — Map (db m5423) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Kunte Kinte-Alex Haley Memorial|
|To commemorate the arrival in this harbor of Kunte Kinte, immortalized by Alex Haley in Roots, and all others who came to these shores in bondage and who by their toil, character and ceaseless struggle for freedom have helped to make these Unites States. A luta continua! — Map (db m5572) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Kunte Kinte-Alex Haley Memorial|
|The Memorial commemorates the arrival in Annapolis of Kunte Kinte, Alex Haley’s ancestor, as told in his book, Roots. That arrival was not a voluntary one. Kunte Kinte was one among one hundred-forty Africans forced into the hold of the slave ship Lord Ligonier. The ship left the Gambia River in Africa on July 5, 1767, and cleared customs in Annapolis on September 29, its cargo reduced to ninety-eight survivors. The Africans were sold into slavery on October 7. An advertisement . . . — Map (db m6392) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Lafayette’s Encampment — March – April 1781|
|During the Revolutionary War, 1200 Continental Light Infantrymen under the command of Marquis de Lafayette encamped on the rise behind this sign en route to the decisive battle in Yorktown, Va. They arrived in Annapolis from Head of Elk by a flotilla of Maryland ships under the command of Commodore James Nicholson. — Map (db m2907) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Leonard A. Blackshear Walk|
|A pathway to reconciliation and healing
Founder and President of
The Kunte Kinte-Alex Haley Foundation,
his inspirational leadership created
this Memorial Site
and his tireless efforts encouraged racial healing
and promoted African-American History.
1943-2006 — Map (db m6382) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Liberty Tree|
|Upper tablet: This tablet is placed upon the Liberty Tree by the Peggy Stewart Tea Party Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution of Annapolis, Maryland, October 19, 1907 to commemorate the first treaty made here with the Susquehannocks in 1652, and that George Washington in 1791 and General Lafayette in 1824 visited St. John's College. Through the munificence of James T. Woodward, of New York City, this tree estimated to be over 600 years old, has been preserved from decay.
Lower . . . — Map (db m9276) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 4/6 — Lieutenant General John Archer Lejeune|
|United States Marine Corps
(Marker on back)
Commissioned and Donated
Patrick F. Taylor, Cpl, USMCR
New Orleans, Louisiana — Map (db m6315) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Lincoln in Annapolis|
|"Induced by a dispatch from General Grant, I join you at Fort Monroe as soon as I can come." Lincoln to Secretary Seward, 9:00 am, February 2, 1865 (sent in cipher). February 2, 1865: President Abraham Lincoln arrived at the Annapolis & Elkridge Railroad depot near this site. He walked through town to the steamer Thomas Collyer at the Naval Academy wharf, accompanied only by his valet Charles Forbes, post quartermaster Capt. Gardner Blodgett, and presidential guard Andrew Smith. Lincoln . . . — Map (db m38081) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Lot 70 Is Historically Significant|
|During winter 1988/89, the area known as Lot 70 in James Stoddert’s 1718 survey will be the site of a historical archeological excavation.
In 1718, this lot was owned by Charles Carroll, grandfather of Charles Carroll of Carrollton, who in 1734 leased the land to Phillip Syng, the renowned colonial metalsmith. Syng practised his trade here until 1759. During the 1760’s, the lot was sold to Allen Quynn who was a member of the House of Delegates and Mayor of Annapolis. By 1770, the lot had . . . — Map (db m2860) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Mabel F. Coppage Memorial Tree|
Mabel F. Coppage
President of Maryland Congress P.T.A.
Presented by her friends
in recognition of her unselfish service
loyal dedication to the Congress
February 21, 1937 — Map (db m6805) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Macedonian Monument|
|[Front of Monument (Bronze Relief)]:
· Capture of the Macedonian ·
· The American Frigate United States ·
Commodore Stephen Decatur, cruising between the Azores and Cape Verde Islands on October 25, 1812, was sighted by the British frigate
· Macedonian ·
Captain John S. Carden, and the two ships joined action. A sanguinary fight was maintained, when after two hours, the Macedonian losing her mizzenmast and main topmast, became unmanageable and with 104 casualties out of a . . . — Map (db m7419) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 1 — Mahan Hall — The Naval War of 1812 in Annapolis — Don't Give Up the Ship!|
| U.S. Navy Trophy Flag Collection
Congress in 1814 legislated that all flags captured from an enemy in war by the U.S. Navy would be preserved and sent to Washington. By order of the President this collection was relocated to the Naval Academy in 1849 as an educational and inspirational tool.
Twenty-five historic flags captured in the War of 1812 are shown in glass cases in Mahan Hall lobby and in the gallery of the auditorium, including the only captured Royal Standard.
Mahan Hall, . . . — Map (db m63563) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Mahan Hall|
| Mahan Hall
Named in honor of
Rear Admiral Alfred Thayer Mahan USN
U.S. Naval Academy Class of 1859
President U.S. Naval War College — Map (db m63567) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Mann's Tavern|
|site of the
September 11-14, 1786
Just north of this building, facing main street, stood Mann’s Tavern where twelve delegates from five states met in 1786 to discuss commercial problems of the new nation. Their call for another convention in Philadelphia to render the government “adequate to the exigencies of the Union” resulted in the creation of
The Constitution of the United States of America.
This building, built as George Mann’s residence . . . — Map (db m6302) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Maritime Annapolis: An Enduring Legacy|
|From its earliest history until the 1920s, log canoes, merchant sailing ships, workboats, ferry and steam boats, comprised the majority of vessels in these waters. But after local businessmen developed marinas to accommodate pleasure craft, the landscape of the harbor began to change dramatically. Economic pressures priced the watermen out of much of the waterfront at the same time that pollution and over harvesting diminished the bounty of the Bay. With new roads connecting Annapolis to . . . — Map (db m19292) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Maryland State House|
Capitol of the United States November 26, 1783 – August 13, 1784
In this state house, oldest in the nation still in legislative use, General George Washington resigned his commission before the Continental Congress December 23, 1783. Here, January 14, 1784, Congress ratified the Treaty of Paris to end the Revolutionary war and May 7, 1784 appointed Thomas Jefferson plenipotentiary. From here, September 14, 1786, the Annapolis convention . . . — Map (db m2864) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Maryland State House — Built 1772–1779|
|Capitol of the United States November 26, 1783 – August 13, 1784
In this state house, oldest in the nation still in legislative use, General George Washington resigned his commission before the Continental Congress December 23, 1783. Here, January 14, 1784, Congress ratified the Treaty of Paris to end the Revolutionary War and May 7, 1784 appointed Thomas Jefferson plenipotentiary. From here, September 14, 1786, the Annapolis convention issued the call to the states that led to . . . — Map (db m6703) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 9 — Maryland State House — The Naval War of 1812 in Annapolis — Don't Give Up the Ship!|
|The seat of Maryland government, the State House was at the center of the state's planning for the War of 1812, both locally and in coordination with President Madison's administration in Washington, D.C. Near constant fear of invasion by the British led Governor Levin Winder (1757-1819) to direct the removal of the state's historical records from the State House for relocation to various sites from 1813 to 1815. Throughout the period of the war, the State House dome was used as a lookout by . . . — Map (db m63499) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Maryland World War II Memorial|
|[Marker Panel No. 1]:
With their lives before them, they left everything – their families, their loved ones, the serenity and security of their homes – to fight for a just cause. They departed on a journey to places they had never heard of to confront dangers they could not imagine – and never wavered or faltered in their duty.
[Marker Panel No. 2]:
This memorial is dedicated to the men and women of Maryland who served . . . — Map (db m14703) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Matthew Alexander Henson — Co-discoverer of the North Pole|
|With Admiral Robert Peary April 6, 1909 Born:August 8, 1866 - Died: March 9, 1955
Son of Maryland Exemplification of courage, fortitude and patriotism, whose valiant deeds of noble devotion under the command of admiral Robert Edwin Peary, in pioneer arctic exploration and discovery, established everlasting prestige and glory for his state and country.
By the State of Maryland
J. Millard Tawes, Governor
The Board of Public Works
J. Millard Tawes, Governor
Louis L. Goldstein, . . . — Map (db m7023) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Memorial Circle & Market House Plaza|
|Established 1977 by
the City of Annapolis
Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Program Open Space
Maryland Commission on The Capital City
The Federated Garden Glubs of Maryland
John Apostol, Mayor — Map (db m6385) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Mexican War Midshipmen's Monument — Mexican War Monument|
|[Southwest side of Monument]:
To passed Midshipmen
H. A. Clemson.
J. R. Hynson
lost with the U. S. Brig Somers
off Vera Cruz
Dec. 8th, 1846
[Northeast side of Monument]:
J. W. Pillsbury.
T. B. Shubrick.
the former drowned off Vera Cruz
July 27th, 1846
the latter killed at the Naval Battery
near Vera Cruz
March 25th, 1847
while in the discharge of their duties. — Map (db m66330) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Middleton Tavern|
Commemorating the role of taverns in the political and social life in our country
Tavern Month, May 1970 — Map (db m6383) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Monument to the Battle of Midway|
|[Front top]: Dedicated to the Preservation of the Memory of Midway
where one of the most decisive naval battles in military history was fought
June 4, 1942
The day when the American Spirit reached unparalleled heights and, in so doing, save democracy for the western world.
[Front, lower left]:
United States Pacific Fleet and Pacific Ocean Areas
Admiral Chester W. Nimitz, Commander in Chief
* Task Force 17 *
Rear Admiral Frank Jack Fletcher
Tactical Commander . . . — Map (db m6491) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — N*|
|The N* commemorates
a Navy varsity athletic team
victory over Army
The Army-Navy rivalry
is the most revered competition
in intercollegiate athletics
* * *
As each team strives for excellence
on the field of competition,
may a higher degree of appreciation
and mutual respect evolve
between our nation's future leaders
Dedicated May 15, 2002 — Map (db m6471) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Naval School|
| Naval School
Founded October 10th 1845.
James K. Polk.
President of the United States.
Secretary of the Navy. — Map (db m63572) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Norman Scott Natatorium — Named in honor of Rear Admiral Norman Scott, U.S. Navy — U.S.N.A. Class of 1911|
|Midshipman Scott was instrumental in introducing intercollegiate swimming at the Naval Academy in 1911.
Winner of Congressional Medal of Honor for heroism during the Battle of Savo Island [sic] on the night of 12-13 November 1942. — Map (db m60737) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Old Treasury Building — Restored 1950|
|This is the oldest state building in Maryland. It was used by the commissioners for emitting bills of credit from 1730 to 1779; by the Treasurer of the Western Shore from 1779 to 1851; by the Maryland State Treasurer from 1852 to 1903; and has been used by the Maryland State Department of Education and others since that date.
The restoration of this building has been made possible through the interest of Wm. Preston lane, Jr., Governor of Maryland, 1946-1950; Dr. Morris L. Radoff, State . . . — Map (db m5427) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — On this site on November 25, 1960|
|On this site on November 25, 1960, the Annapolis citizens listed below held a "Sit-in" demonstration at the Terminal Restaurant to claim the right of all citizens to receive service. They acted as representatives of the local African American community with the support of the Annapolis chapter of the Congress of Racial Equality and the Anne Arundel County chapter of the National Association For the Advancement of Colored People; Dr. Theodore H. Johnson, Jr., President. We dedicate this plaque . . . — Map (db m6189) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — On this spot — The Star Spangled Banner|
|On this spot, where the inspiring strains of the Star Spangled Banner are heard each morning, formerly stood the home of Judge Joseph Hopper Nicholson, Brother-in-law of Francis Scott Key, to whom Key gave the original manuscript and who set the words to a popular tune of the time. Here the manuscript remained until the Nicholson house was torn down in 1845. — Map (db m63431) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — One Hundredth Anniversary of the U.S. Naval Academy|
|Dedicated on the
One Hundredth Anniversary
of the founding of the
United States Naval Academy
in memory of its graduates
who have given their lives
in line of duty
while serving their country
10 October 1945 — Map (db m7415) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Our Abundant Chesapeake|
|The Chesapeake Bay is one of the largest and one of the most productive estuaries in the world. Fresh water, supplied by over 150 rivers and streams, and salt water from the Atlantic Ocean combine to create the unique conditions and essential nutrients that support over 2,700 plants and animals. A diversity of natural habitants, including underwater grass beds, salt marshes, forested wetlands and upland forests, are all represented. The Bay watershed drainage area encompasses 64,000 square . . . — Map (db m94345) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Oyster Reef|
|The Chesapeake Bay’s native Eastern Oyster (Crassostrea virginica) is the keystone species and building block for habitat in the Bay (shown in picture below). The survival rate and diversity of other Bay organisms are directly connected to the abundance of the oyster. By filtering algae and sediment from the water, these immobile bivalves improve water quality. One adult oyster alone can filter on average forty-eight gallons of water a day.|
As the entire Severn River is an oyster sanctuary, . . . — Map (db m79935) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Pearl Harbor Survivors Association — In Memoriam|
To those members of the Armed Forces of the United States who served at Pearl Harbor and other military installations on the island of Oahu during the Japanese attack on Sunday morning, December 7, 1941, to perpetuate the memory of those who died that day and those who answer a "last muster call" since that "date of infamy." This event precipitated the United States' entry into World War II.
May they rest in eternal peace.
[Engraved near the base are the Seals of . . . — Map (db m7819) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Peggy Stewart House|
|Peggy Stewart House
Has been designated a
National Historic Landmark
This site possesses National Significance
In commemorating the History of the
United States of America
National Park Service
United States Department of Interior — Map (db m70123) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Reynold's Tavern — Built 1737|
This tablet placed by the
Peggy Stewart Tea Party Chapter
the American Revolution
Maryland Day, March 25, 1929 — Map (db m5428) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Roger Brooke Taney|
|Chief Justice of the United States
Born March 17, 1777.
Commissioned March 15, 1836.
Died October 12, 1864.
[Right side of statue]:
Attorney General of the United States 1831.
[Left side of statue]:
Attorney General of Maryland 1827. — Map (db m6704) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Roger Brooke Taney, 1777 - 1864 — Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court|
|Roger Brooke Taney was born in Calvert County, Maryland. After serving as attorney general of the U.S. and secretary of the Treasury, he was sworn in as chief justice of the U.S. Supreme Court on March 15, 1836. He served until his death in 1864.|
Although Taney considered slavery an evil, he believed its abolition had to be led by the states in which slavery existed. He freed his own slaves when he inherited them and provided pensions to those too old to work.
In the infamous Dred . . . — Map (db m75675) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Sacred to the Memory of Baron de Kalb|
|Knight of the Royal Order of Military Merit, Brigadier of the Armies of France and Major General in service of the United States of America.
Having served with honor and reputation for three years, he gave a last and glorious proof of his attachment to the liberties of mankind and the cause of America in the action near Camden in the state of South Carolina on the sixteenth of August, 1780. Where leading on the troops of the Maryland and Delaware lines against superior numbers and . . . — Map (db m2861) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — San Cayetano|
|Spanish 18-pounder bronze smooth bore
gun named San Cayetano
Captured by the United States Navy from the
Mexicans in California in 1847 — Map (db m29646) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Sandy Point Farm — William Evans, Soldier and Sailor|
|William Evans, a slave of Capt. Thomas Mezick, the owner of Sandy Point Farm here, enlisted in the 30th Regiment, United States Colored Troops, in March 1864. The 22-year-old, thereby, gained his freedom. He joined 122 other area slaves who had been inspired by a USCT company camped at St. John's College in nearby Annapolis. Evans transferred to the U.S. Navy on April, 11, 1864. In 1870, he was listed in the census as an Annapolis-area "sailor."
Evans was among many Maryland blacks, slave . . . — Map (db m72087) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Shiplap House — Circa 1715|
|One of the oldest surviving houses in Annapolis, Shiplap House served as a store and tavern in the eighteenth century. The house is named for the random-width flush siding (called shiplap) on the rear facade and northeast ell. The building now serves as the administrative offices of the Historic Annapolis Foundation. — Map (db m17690) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Site of Old Fort Severn|
Transferred to the Navy Department 1845.
In memory of men who served at Fort Severn during the War of 1812. — Map (db m7739) WM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Site of the Annapolis City Gates — 1698-1790|
|All roads leading to this provincial capital, marked AA to guide the traveler, entered the city here beside the city gate house. A wooden fence, enclosing the city, kept out wandering cattle and "men of ill fame." Erected by the National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Maryland, Annapolis Committee. 1983 — Map (db m6190) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Site of the Methodist Church — 1789–1817|
|Francis Asbury, Father of American Methodism, founded a Methodist Society in Annapolis in 1777. They built a meeting house in 1785 within the present grounds of the Naval Academy. In 1789, the “Old Blue Church” moved to this site and house one of the earliest Methodist congregations in America. In 1818, they built a new church on State Circle at North Street where they worshipped for 155 years. — Map (db m2909) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Sons of the Revolution|
|This monument honors unknown French soldiers and sailors who gave their lives in the American War of Independence and were buried near here.
Dedicated by President Williams Howard Taft, April 18, 1911
"Our soldiers rest in hallowed ground in a friendly country. To the Sons of the Revolution I beg to express the gratitude of France." - Jean Jules Jusserand, Ambassador of France
The memory of their deeds will live forever. — Map (db m9277) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Southgate Memorial|
|To the memory of Rev. William Scott Southgate, for thirty years rector of Saint Anne's Parish in Anne Arundel County, Maryland. Born April 10, 1831. Died May 21, 1899.
Reverse side: Erected by the citizens of Annapolis and by his old parishioners to keep in rememberance a noble life. — Map (db m9289) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Spanish 18-Pounder|
|Spanish 18-pounder bronze smooth bore
gun cast in Lima, Peru, 1769
Captured by the United States Navy from the
Mexicans in California in 1847 — Map (db m29647) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — St. Damian|
|Spanish 12-pounder bronze smooth bore
gun named St. Damian
Captured by the United States Navy from the
Mexicans in California in 1847 — Map (db m29641) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 7 — St. John's College — The Naval War of 1812 in Annapolis — Don't Give Up the Ship|
|St. John's College has a long, rich history dating back to the founding of our nation. Its earliest incarnation, a grammar or preparatory school named after King William III, was founded in Annapolis in 1696, one year after Maryland's capital was moved here from St. Mary's City.
Ten-year-old Francis Scott Key, future author of "The Star-Spangled Banner," was among the grammar school students who participated in the college's opening exercises in 1789. Key graduated from St. John's in 1796 . . . — Map (db m63410) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — St. Joseph|
|Spanish 12-pounder bronze smooth bore
gun named St. Joseph
Captured by the United States Navy from the
Mexicans in California in 1847 — Map (db m29645) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — St. Mary's City Cannon|
|This cannon was brought from England
by the first settlers March 25, 1634
Mounted on the walls of the fort
at Old St. Mary's
Recovered from the St. Mary's River 1822
Presented to the state in 1840
by Rev. Joseph Carbery
This tablet is placed by
The Peggy Stewart Tea-Party Chapter
Daugthers of the American Revolution
of Annapolis, Maryland
"Maryland Day" March 25, 1908 — Map (db m7151) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Standing Guard — Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Trail — War of 1812|
|Fort Severn and Fort Madison on this stretch of the Severn River, along with a gun battery at Horn Point in Eastport, made Annapolis the best-fortified city in Maryland at the start of the War of 1812.|
British ships hovered near the harbor several times and even sounded the depths of the Severn. Although Annapolis residents stayed on high alert in fear of attack, the enemy opted for less well-defended targets.
(Inscription next to the sketch on the right) Fort Nonsense (approximate . . . — Map (db m79920) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — State House Square|
|This square is named to commemorate the 200th anniversary on December 12, 1978, of the Court of Appeals of Maryland, the state’s highest court. It encompasses Lawyers Street, shown on the earliest map of Annapolis (1718) connecting Publick Circle (now State Circle) with Tabernacle Street (now College Avenue).
The Maryland General Assembly, acting under the provisions of the state’s first constitution (1776), named the initial judges of the court on December 12, 1778 and, with Governor . . . — Map (db m2862) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Steamboats Give Way to the New Bay Bridge|
|"There was a wharf where the steamboats came in. Right down at the foot of Prince George Street...The Tolchester boat used to come in and they'd pick up one thing or another, an dbring them all up Prince George Street. Cows, horses, whatever they were getting, pigs, everything came up the street...I always loved to go down to the wharf." - Margaret Moss Dowsett, Then Again...Annapolis, 1900-1965
The maiden voyage of the Baltimore Steam Packet Company's Chesapeake, the . . . — Map (db m19290) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Still on Patrol — Courage Runs Deep|
|U.S. Navy Submarines paid heavily for their success in World War II. A total of 374 officers and 3131 men are on board these 52 submarines still on "patrol"
We shall never forget that it was our submarines that held the lines against the enemy while our fleets replaced losses and repaired wounds.
Fleet Admiral C. W. Nimitz, U.S.N.
I can assure you that they went down fighting and that their brothers who survived them took a grim toll of our savage enemy to . . . — Map (db m6806) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Tecumseh|
Gift of the
Class of 1891 — Map (db m7470) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Tense Time — Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Trail — War of 1812|
|Enemy ships lying off Sandy Point kept Annapolis on edge in August 1813, as the city braced for attack.
It was a trying time for the British, too. A newspaper reported August 14: “Seven deserters came on shore at Sandy Point.” It was not unusual for sailors to seek escape from notorious conditions in the Royal Navy.|
Sandy Point Home Baptist Mezick, who served in the U.S. Marine Artillery, lived at Sandy Point. His 1863 obituary reported he had “retired to his . . . — Map (db m79916) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The Birthplace of Charles Carroll, Barrister|
|The birthplace of Charles Carroll, Barrister, 1723 - 1783, colonial patriot and author of Maryland Bill of Rights. Built in 1722 by his father, Dr. Charles Carroll, Chirurgeon. Moved from its original location at Main and Conduit Streets through popular subscription to Historic Annapolis, Inc., in 1955. Restored by generous gifts to St. John's College. — Map (db m5420) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The Charles Carroll House|
|Birthplace of Charles Carroll of Carrollton (September 19, 1737 – November 14, 1832), the only Roman Catholic to sign the Declaration of Independence and the last of the signers to die.
Charles Carroll of Annapolis (1702 – 1782), father of Charles Carroll of Carrollton, built the original portion of this house during the 1720s near the home of his own father, Charles Carroll the Settler (1660 – 1720). Charles Carroll of Carrollton lived here with his parents until 1743 . . . — Map (db m55298) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary Under the Title of the Immaculate Conception — (Saint Mary’s Church)|
|Church and surrounding buildings are on land once owned by Charles Carroll of Carrollton (1737 – 1832) only Catholic to sign the Declaration of Independence and last signer to die. At rear is Carroll Manor, built c.1730, his birthplace where he was married, lived during the Revolution and entertained George Washington. In it Catholics were welcome at frequent Mass in Carroll family chapel for decades when Maryland law forbade public Catholic worship.
About 1825 Carroll had a small . . . — Map (db m55489) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The City Spared — Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Trail — War of 1812|
|British vessels anchored offshore several times in 1813 and 1814, giving Annapolis good reason to expect an attack. Lookouts watched enemy maneuvers from the statehouse dome. Public records were removed from the city for safekeeping. When British warships came into view after the invasion of Washington, many frightened residents fled.|
Annapolis celebrated news of the war’s end in February 1815---grateful the danger had passed.
“As we passed the picturesque town of Annapolis…we . . . — Map (db m79936) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The Claude House — 26 West Street|
|During the second half of the 18th century, shoemaker Allen Quynn owned or leased a large portion of both sides of the first block of West Street. At one time this building was Quynn's home, but in 1767 Quynn leased the house to watchmaker William Knapp for seven years. A dozen years later, another watchmaker, Abraham Claude, who was already living in the house, bought the property from Quynn. Claude's first newspaper advertisement described himself and his partner as "watchmakers from London." . . . — Map (db m75681) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The General’s Highway|
|Across the road stood the three mile oak under which General George Washington passed on his way to Annapolis December 19, 1783 to resign his commission as Commander in Chief of the Continental Armies. According to tradition, General Smallwood, General Gates and distinguished Annapolis citizens met Washington at this spot, three miles from the State House. General Lafayette, on his return to America to visit with friends of revolutionary days, passed here on December 17, 1824. A stone bearing . . . — Map (db m76022) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The Government House|
| The Government House
State of Maryland
Governor's Residence — Map (db m63463) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The Jonas Green House|
| The 1718 Stoddert survey map indicates William Bladen as the first recorded owner of lot 42. Charles Carroll purchased the property in 1725 and may have been responsible for the construction of the original side hall, double parlor plan when he and several other members of the General Assembly brought Jonas Green and his wife Ann Catherine to the colony in 1738. Green was designated the printer of the province in 1740, revived the Maryland Gazette in 1745, served as postmaster, job printer, . . . — Map (db m75719) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The Markers on the Plaza — Michelson and the Speed of Light|
|The Markers on the Plaza paving follow the line of sight for the optical experiments measuring the speed of light carried out by Ensign Albert A. Michelson, USN between 1877 and 1879 while serving as instructor of physics at the United States Naval Academy. This distinguished graduate of the Naval Academy was the first American to be awarded the Nobel Prize. — Map (db m66014) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The Maryland Inn|
|In 1712, Philemon Lloyd of a prominent family of the Maryland Eastern Shore, had a lot surveyed for him which was to be used by the drummer of the town. The drummer, an alternative to the town crier, was unique in Maryland. His duties were to convey public information through a variety of complex drumbeats. One of his duties was to call Maryland's General Assembly to session. If a member of the assembly failed to appear by the third drum roll, he was fined 100 pounds of tobacco. The drummer was . . . — Map (db m5422) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The Navy Mascot|
|The Naval Academy has had a goat as its mascot since 1890 when, according to legend, on their march from the ferry station at Highland Falls up the steep hill to West Point to play the first Army-Navy football game, the Naval Cadets (as they were then known) saw a goat outside the noncoms' houses at West Point and promptly commandeered "Billy" for their mascot. Since that time the goat has remained as the recognized mascot of the U.S. Naval Academy. — Map (db m6465) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The Paddle Bell|
|U. S. S. Paddle (SS 263) carried this bell throughout World War II. Similar bells were carried by all U. S. Submarines.
Upon this bell we toll the loss of 52 American submarines and crew of 3,621 officers and enlisted men who went down fighting during WW II.
Additionally, we recognize those lost during peace time operations:
U.S.S. Thresher (SSN 593) - 129 Crew
U.S.S. Scorpion (SSN 589) - 99 Crew
May the list end here
Sailor rest your oar — Map (db m6807) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The Sea Gate|
|Presented to the U. S. Naval Academy
the Class of 1945
June 7, 1989
all who have left these shores
to serve our Country — Map (db m6846) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The Sign of the Bible|
|Built about 1680 The dwelling house of Mr. Jonas Green Printer to this province 1738 - 1767 Printer and publisher of the Maryland Gazette, 1745 - 1767 Flag Day, June 14, 1932 — Map (db m75718) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — The United States Naval Academy Bridge|
|A bridge has served this area since 1836 when a timber trestle bridge with a swing span was built across the Severn River. It was replaced with a concrete and steel low-level drawbridge in 1924. After more than 70 years it became necessary to replace the drawbridge. In recognition of this unique location in the State Capital, near the home of the United States Naval Academy and overlooking one of the most scenic rivers in the country, Governor William Donald Schaefer's Office of Art and Culture . . . — Map (db m22547) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — This Cannon|
|This cannon of the type used in the defense of Baltimore in the War of 1812, presented to St. John's College, the alma mater of Francis Scott Key, through the Peggy Stewart Tea Party Chapter, D.A.R., and the National Star-Spangled Banner Centennial Commission, September 14, 1914. — Map (db m5425) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — This tablet|
|Erected by the Peggy Stewart Tea Part Chapter, D.A.R., Marks the building in which Gen. Washington was entertained at dinner by the Congress of the United States on the 20th of December, 1783, when he came to Annapolis to resign his commission as Commander-In-Chief of the Continental Army. Three of the the original walls remain.
Maryland day, March 25, 1914. — Map (db m6198) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Thomas Point — Part Of The Bay Heritage|
| (Left side of the marker) Much of the early history of Thomas Point still lies buried under sand and water at its ever-eroding shoreline. Evidence does exist, however, that Native Americans enjoyed the bounty of the Bay’s seafood sometime between 200 AD and 1500 AD. Large piles of oysters and other shellfish remains, known as middens, still mark the sites of those early harvests and feasts. |
The first white man known to settle the area was English merchant Philip Thomas, who owned many . . . — Map (db m94344) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Thurgood Marshall — 1908-1993 — Equal Justice Under Law|
|[Inscription in dark circle on plaza deck.] Thurgood Marshall's first major victory in his life-long struggle for equality under the law for all Americans took place in the Maryland Court of Appeals which then stood near this memorial. In 1935, Marshall successfully argued for the admission of Donald Murray to the University of Maryland School of Law. This was the first step on the road to Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka in the United States Supreme Court in 1954 overturned the . . . — Map (db m7706) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Transportation on the Chesapeake Highway|
|"...two Ferry boats were procured...we made the mouth of the Severn River but the ignorance of the People on board, with respect to the navigation of it run us aground first on Greenbury Point from whence with much exertion and difficulty we got off; & then, having no knowledge of the Channel and the night being immensely dark with heavy and variable squals of wind - constant lightning & tremendous thunder - we soon grounded again on what is called Hornes point..." - George Washington, . . . — Map (db m19289) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Triton Light|
The globe within this monument contains water collected by the U.S.S. Triton (SSRN-586), from the twenty-two seas transited during the first submerged circumnavigation of the world in 1960.
This light is dedicated to the safe return of all those who go down to the sea in ships. — Map (db m7475) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Trunk of the Three Mile Oak|
|Upper Plaque: This oak tree planted in 1967 perpetuates the memory of the original Three Mile Oak which stood nearby as explained in the marker below.
Lower Plaque: Trunk of the Three Mile Oak Under this tree passed General George Washington December 19, 1783 on his way to Annapolis to resign his commission as Commander-in-Chief of the Continental Armies; and it is thought that General Smallwood accompanied by General Gates and distinguished citizens of Annapolis met General . . . — Map (db m2877) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Twin Oaks — Frederick Douglass Summer Home|
|Designed by Frederick Douglass so that "As a free man I could look back across the bay to the land where I was born a slave". Built by Charles Remond Douglass. 1895 — Map (db m6173) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — 3 — U.S. Naval Academy Museum — The Naval War of 1812 — Don't Give Up The Ship|
|Founded as the Naval School Lyceum in 1845, this is among the nation's oldest museums. It contains two full floors of exhibitions. There is extensive coverage on the War of 1812 on the first floor to the left. Inside, too, is the original signal flag with the famous words "Don't Give Up the Ship" used to begin the Battle of Lake Erie on September 10, 1813.
Upstairs is the fabulous Henry Huddleston Rogers Collection of Ship Models dating from 1650 to 1850. There is a gift shop in the . . . — Map (db m63851) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — USS Maryland — 1921 - 1946|
|Pearl Harbor ·
Surigao Straits ·
Okinawa — Map (db m6803) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Vice Admiral James Bond Stockdale — 1923 - 2005|
[Rendering of the Medal of Honor (U.S. Navy/Marine Corps)]
"Never give in; never give in; never, never, never--in nothing great or small, large or petty--never give in except to convictions of honour and good sense. Never yield to force; never yield to the apparently overwhelming might of the enemy." - Sir Winston Churchill.
Vice Admiral James Bond Stockdale was one of the most highly decorated officers in the history of the United States . . . — Map (db m12972) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Vice Admiral William Porter Lawrence, USN|
"Be first a person of honor."
Test Pilot - First to fly Mach II in Naval Aircraft
Korea, F2H Banshee
Vietnam, F-4 Phantom
Prisoner of War, Vietnam 1967-1973
Superintendent, United States Naval Academy
Commander, U.S. Third Fleet
Chief, U.S. Naval Personnel
Distinguished Service Medal (4)
Legion of Merit
Distinguished Flying Cross
Bronze Star with Combat V
Purple Heart (2)
Air . . . — Map (db m12997) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Visionaries of the 1960s — George H. Phelps, Jr. — August 5, 1926|
|Growing up on South Street near the county courthouse, George Phelps' boyhood dream was to be a police officer. After WWII, Army 1st Lt. Phelps saw his dream come true when County Exective Joseph W. Alton appointed him, the first African American, to the Anne Arundel County Police Department.
Phelps dedicated his life to community service. He initiated and initially funded OIC, Opportunities Industrialization Corporation, that has benefited 8290 people by 2008 through work skills training. . . . — Map (db m53175) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Watermen and Working Harbor|
|More than a dozen oyster houses ringed the waterfront by the 1870s, some built out into the harbor on pilings. Throughout the winter, local watermen harvested shellfish from the Bay and sold their catch to the packing houses. Shuckers, many of whom lived nearby the dock, skillfully removed the oysters from their shells, filling thousands of buckets for the cannery. The Annapolis Canning Company, once located across the dock from where you are standing, shipped its processed oysters to markets . . . — Map (db m19291) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — White Oak|
|Maryland's State Tree
Offspring of the
Planted 1987 — Map (db m5426) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Who was Henry Davis? — Maryland Lynchings|
|The record of lynchings in Maryland from 1891-1906
May 13, 1891 - Asbury Green, Centerville
May 17, 1892 - James Taylor, Chestertown
June 8, 1893 - Isaac Kemp, Princess Anne
October 20, 1894 - Stephen Williams, Prince George's County
March 16, 1895 - Marshall E. Price, Caroline County
March 28, 1895 - Jacob Henson, Howard County
November 16, 1895 - James Brown, Frederick
June 9, 1897 - William Andrews, Princess Anne
May 25, 1898 - Garfield King, Salisbury
December 21, . . . — Map (db m53171) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Zimmerman Bandstand|
|Charles A. Zimmerman
USNA Band Master
1887 - 1916
Composer of "Anchors Aweigh" — Map (db m7412) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Arnold — Historic Annapolis|
|Historic Annapolis. 5 miles. United States Naval Academy. — Map (db m2908) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Brooklyn Park — Formerly Brooklyn Park High School|
|Brooklyn Park High School opened its doors in September 1954, with Slater W. Bryant, Jr. as its first principal. Sounds of construction echoed down hallways, as workers hurried to finish the new building. Before closing in 1990, the school had graduated more than 7000 students, and is remembered for the preeminent education it offered. B.P.H.S. was the cornerstone of the community, and with The Bee as its official mascot, remains forever etched in the hearts of its alumni. — Map (db m76733) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Churchton — Site of First Quaker Regional Gathering|
First Quaker Regional Gathering
By George Fox in 1672
Ann of Arundell Chapter, MD.
National Society of Colonial
Dames XVII Century
1999 — Map (db m65888) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Crofton — Birthplace of Johns Hopkins|
|Founder of the Johns Hopkins University and the Johns Hopkins Hospital. Born May 19, 1795. Died December 24, 1873. — Map (db m2927) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Crownsville — Belvoir — (Scott’s Plantation)|
|French troops under Count de Rochambeau made their 36th camp here September 16-17, 1781, enroute to Yorktown, Virginia. Most of the troops embarked from Annapolis, but the artillary marched to Georgetown to cross the Potomac River. — Map (db m2928) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Crownsville — Count de Rochambeau’s|
|Count de Rochambeau’s troops marched over this road from Spurrier’s Tavern to “Scott’s Plantation” (Belvoir) on Sept. 16, 1781 on the way to Yorktown. Washington and Rochambeau had gone ahead Sept. 10–11 on the way to Mt. Vernon. — Map (db m2890) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Crownsville — Henry Baldwin|
|Near this spot lies buried Henry Baldwin officer and engineer in the Revolutionary War 1777–1783. Charter member of the Society of the Cincinnati. Born Dec. 23, 1753 – Died Oct 15, 1793, at Rising Sun, Anne Arundel Co., Maryland. — Map (db m2879) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Crownsville — Mt. Tabor United Methodist Church|
|A rural suburban congregation linking our past and future. Established 1858 as Mt. Tabor Methodist Episcopal Church. This building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m3412) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Davidsonville — Middle Plantation|
|600 acres patented in 1664 to Mareen Duval, Esq., great Hugenot and native of France. Appointed Commissioner for Advancement of Trade 1683, he died here 1694. The plantation remained the ancestral seat of a junior branch of the Duvall family for many years. — Map (db m43527) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Davidsonville — Watkins Slave Cemetery|
|At this site, anonymously buried slaves were found during road construction in 1960. These unclaimed individuals were associated with the Locust Grove plantation founded by 1848. The remains were reburied at Mt. Tabor Church in nearby Chesterfield. Loss of identity in life and death typified the enslaved African-American population in Maryland prior to the Civil War. — Map (db m2931) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — A Tale of Three Bridges|
|The bridge to Annapolis has always been a key part of Eastport life.
The first wooden bridge, built in 1868, connected here at the end of Fourth Street. It served pedestrians and horse-drawn wagons. Forty years later, a larger steel bridge was built in the same location for cars and trucks. The bridge tender lived on the bridge and opened the pivoting central span by hand-crank whenever a boat needed to pass through. On hot days, the steel expanded, preventing the span from closing . . . — Map (db m5649) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — Eastport's Old "Main Street"|
|The historic buildings you can see from here date back to before 1900, when the first bridge to Annapolis connected to the end of this street. In those days, Fourth Street was the bustling commercial heart of Eastport. Anything you wanted from groceries to hardware, from lunch to a haircut, and even the latest gossip could be found here.
After the bridge was moved to Sixth Street in 1947, many local businesses closed and the neighborhood remained undeveloped for decades. Ironically, these . . . — Map (db m5651) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — Eastport's Oldest House|
|This is the oldest house in Eastport. For nearly 100 years it belonged to the Williams family.
Jonas and Louisa Williams and their eight children moved here in 1876. They used the first floor as a grocery store, selling homemade sauerkraut to neighbors. After she was widowed, Louisa offered her front parlor as a school and a polling place. The hosue stayed in the family until 1972.
For all of its years, the Williams House has been a landmark. Today, it is a bed and breakfast inn and . . . — Map (db m5652) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — Eastport's Soul|
|Many African-American families settled here more than a century ago. these families, who have lived here for four generations, are the heart and soul of this neighborhood. Their religious, educational and cultural institutions are pillars of Eastport life.
The building across the street was once the Third Street School for "colored children." Following Civil Rights legislation in the 1960s, the segregated school closed. Today, the building is the home of the Seafarers' Yacht Club, a . . . — Map (db m5653) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — Murphy's Row|
|You are standing at the corner of "Murphy's Row." These ten row houses were built in 1888 by Charles James Murphy for laborers employed at his company, the Annapolis Glass Works.
The houses bear witness to Eastport's early years. The seventh house was the first post office in the new community, which Murphy named after his hometown in Eastport, Maine.
When the glass factory closed in 1902, Murphy's Row fell into disrepair. In the early 1980s, the properties were redeveloped and sold . . . — Map (db m5729) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — The Fort at Horn Point|
|Near here, at the end of Eastern Avenue, is the site of one of three forts built to defend Annapolis Harbor from British raids during the Revolutionary War.
Built in 1776, the fort had major defenses of trenches, earthen ramparts and fifteen cannons. In 1781, when Lafayette was stationed at Annapolis, his troops made the fort fully operational. The trenches provided cover for troop movements between the ramparts and the water's edge.
During the Civil War, the fort served as a hospital . . . — Map (db m5724) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — The Glass Works|
|The private home at the corner of Severn Avenue and Second Street was once the head office for one of Eastport's largest businesses. The Annapolis Glass Works - later the Severn Glass Company - produced china, glass and pottery from 1885 to 1902.
Eastport had access to three things a glass company needed: sand, water, and skilled workers. Sand arrived on barges floated down the Severn River. Workers melted the sand in large, brick furnaces to form molten glass. Glass blowers blew the . . . — Map (db m5887) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — The Maritime Tradition Lives On|
|Prestigious sailboat racing events have made Annapolis famous. But the real reason for Annapolis' reputation as "America's Sailing Capital" is the community of Eastport. There are more marine-related businesses here than anywhere on the East Coast between Newport and Fort Lauderdale.
In the 1970s, the demand for waterfront property threatened to replace the working boatyards and marine services with high-rise condos. In response, the City of Annapolis passed a zoning law to protect and . . . — Map (db m5727) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — The Old Farmhouse|
|This century-old farmhouse is one of the only reminders of the agrarian past of Eastport. Yet, in the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries, horse racing and farming were the economic mainstays. As late as 1798, there were only two buildings on all of Hort Point: a house and a blacksmith shop.
In the 1800s, most of the land was parceled out to small farmers who grew vegetables and fruit for sustenance and raised livestock for sale in Baltimore. This home was built for the Burns family . . . — Map (db m5731) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — The Start of Something Big|
|This is where Eastport's famed boat building industry began. On this site in 1868, a German immigrant named Wilhelm Heller began crafting fine wooden boats. His reputation spread and business flourished. Heller's became the largest boatyard on Spa Creek serving both commerical fishing boats and pleasure craft.
After Heller died in 1916, his son Henry ran the yard. Over the next twenty years, traditional wooden workboats like skipjacks, bugeyes, and pungy schooners slowly disappeared from . . . — Map (db m5734) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — The Watermen of Back Creek|
|During the 1920s, the houses on this street belonged to African-American families. Most of the men living here worked on the water, launching often home-built boats from their back yards. They harvested oysters from September to April, and crabs in the summer.
Hand-tonging for oysters was a tough way to make a living. Lyle Smith, who grew up here, went out with his grandfather just once: "I was culling oysters, trying to keep my hands warm, and when my fingers got cold, I said, 'This is . . . — Map (db m5650) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — Three Great Boat Yards, One Location|
|As you walk among these buildings, imagine wooden boats taking form. Picture men sweating in the hot sun as they plank a hull, caulk a seam or varnish a rail. Envision Navy officers in khaki uniforms boarding vessels for sea trials. From 1913 to 1974, this site was alive with the sights and sounds of wooden boat building. Then, fiberglass construction took over and an important era came to an end.
Text with upper-left photo: The Annapolis Yacht Yard, Inc. (1937-1947, builder of fine wooden . . . — Map (db m5888) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — Welcome to Eastport|
|Eastport's distinctive history, character and identity grew from maritime roots. The marinas that now serve pleasure boaters were once filled with wooden workboats. So crowded was the shoreline, it was said that an enterprising cat could flit from boat to boat and skirt the entire peninsula without getting its feet wet.
Once a separate town, Eastport was annexed to Annapolis in 1951. Nevertheless, it retains a distinct local flavor and spirit. We invite you to explore Eastport's rich, . . . — Map (db m5890) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Eastport — Welcome to Eastport|
|Eastport's distinctive history, character and identity grew from maritime roots. The marinas that now serve pleasure boaters were once filled with wooden workboats. So crowded was the shoreline, it was said that an enterprising cat could flit from boat to boat and skirt the entire peninsula without getting its feet wet.
Once a separate town, Eastport was annexed to Annapolis in 1951. Nevertheless, it retains a distinct local flavor and spirit. We invite you to explore Eastport's rich, . . . — Map (db m5891) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Archaeology at London Town|
|[photo of archaeological dig] Archaeological Dig: excavation of Rumney's Tavern.
Finding the Lost Town of London|
Map (db m22107) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Dr. Hill's Medicinal Plants|
|[photo of plants and tools] Early medicinal plants and tools
Colonial Medicine Chest
Where did the colonial doctor or housewife turn when they needed to treat the sick? The plants of the field, hedgerow and marsh were their pharmacy.
Traditionally, information about the "vertues," or useful qualities of plants, was handed down by word of mouth. However, many North American plants were new to European settlers. They learned how to use these new plants from Native Americans, . . . — Map (db m22138) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Establishing a Colonial Town|
Early Chesapeake Bay colonists did not settle in the concentrated villages typical of their home in England. Instead, they lived on large plots of waterfront land that isolated them from their neighbors.
Cheap and abundant property along the Bay and its rivers, provided tobacco farmers with easy access to water for transportation of their crop. These dispersed settlements made it difficult for the English governors to monitor trade and collect taxes on goods . . . — Map (db m22112) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Historic London Town and Gardens|
|[map of colonial Maryland] Detail from The State of Maryland, Samuel Lewis, 1795. Showing London Town, Annapolis and Baltimore.
Historic London Town and Gardens is a 23-acre park where discover and learning are daily experiences. Here, a visitor will see and can often participate in the unfolding story of this once thriving colonial town.
Remains of the buildings that once stood in the town lie buried around you. Some have been uncovered by archaeologists; . . . — Map (db m22140) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Indians of the Chesapeake — Layer of Time|
|Have you wondered how we know so much about past cultures? Have you ever thought about future generation studying the present? What would they find?|
Since no books or photographs were left behind by earlier civilizations to tell us how they lived, we depend on what archaeologists find to inform us. Small pieces of the past are uncovered by digging through the layers of the earth. Each layer has its own story to tell…if you know what to look for. Our story of the Piscataway people is based . . . — Map (db m80878) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Java History Trail|
| Native American Exhibit 250 yards, a 5 minute walk
Java Plantation Exhibit .5 mile, a 25 minute walk
Java Dairy Exhibits .75 mile, a 55 minute walk
Java’ Return to Nature Exhibits 1 mile, a 70 minute walk|
Indians of the Chesapeake For over 2,000 years the Mattaponi, the Piscataway, and the Choptank people shared this area. These Native American cousins hunted and fished in the Rhode River area. A Piscataway campsite, representative of all three groups, has been reconstructed to . . . — Map (db m80874) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Java Plantation Life — Contee's Wharf: A Vital Link|
|Since the 1700s there has been a road leading to Contee's Wharf. Deep water and the protection provided by Big Island made it a natural port. The river has served as a vital link between area residents and the outside world. |
The wharf was the center for trade and commerce as well as the latest news and gossip. Sailing vessels brought imported goods such as china and fine cloth to exchange for tobacco grown on Java. The wharf also served other farms in the area. The steamboat Emma Giles . . . — Map (db m80858) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Java Plantation Life — Hoe to Plow|
|The increase in tobacco production was closely linked with the economic growth of America. Tobacco was so popular that it was used as money. Maryland had a suitable climate for its production, so the area thrived. The Java Plantation, like other area plantations grew tobacco as its major crop.|
The Java plantation flourished because of tobacco, but not without cost. This plant quickly depletes the nutrients in the soil. To solve this problem, early settlers simply cleared more land for . . . — Map (db m80859) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Java Plantation Life — Life on the Quarter|
|While the plantation owner’s house was situated on a hill, African American slaves had to live in less desirable surroundings. Slave quarters were built in low, marshy area near the water. Mosquitoes and damp living conditions were a constant problem.|
The quarters usually were one or two room houses built of wood and mud with dirt floors. Fireplaces and chimneys, if present, were also made from mud and sticks. Glass was expensive and difficult to get, so there were no windows.
Houses . . . — Map (db m80868) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Java Plantation Life — The Songs of Sorrow|
|By 1840 there were 84 African American slaves on the Java Plantation, a large number for the area. Almost half were children. On a typical day the slaves would rise before dawn, prepare and eat breakfast, feed the livestock, and be in the fields by sunrise. In the fields slaves might hoe, weed, clear new land, pick insects from the tobacco, or harvest the crop. Mothers took their babies into the fields with them, but young children were often left to take care of themselves. By the age of ten . . . — Map (db m80870) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Java Plantation Life — Old Fields to New Plantations|
|The needs of the English settlers were similar to those of the Piscataways. As farmers they wanted good soil, so they often settled near “old fields,” areas once used by Native Americans. Look across the field to the ruins of the Java mansion.|
Notice that it is built high on a hill, yet close to a navigable waterway. This was a typical location for the 17th or 18th century houses in Maryland.
The house was originally built around 1700 by Thomas Sparrow with successive owners . . . — Map (db m80873) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — London Town Ferry|
|From London Town, and original port of entry, a ferry crossed South River. It linked a north-south system of roads from about 1695 until the 19th century. — Map (db m3419) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — London Town Publik House|
|Has been designated a Registered National Historic Landmark under the provisions of the Historic Sites Act of August 21, 1935. This site possesses exceptional value in commemorating or illustrating the history of the United States. — Map (db m3420) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Prized Property — Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Trail — War of 1812|
|A victory off the coast of Brazil inspired John Contee to name this property “Java’s Farm.” Contee was a lieutenant on the USS Constitution when it captured and burned the British frigate HMS Java, December 29, 1812. |
Contee purchased a plantation here called “Sparrow’s Rest” in 1819. Whether or not he used prize money from the battle with HMS Java, as legend claims, there is little doubt why he chose the new name.
“Mr. Contee took command of the . . . — Map (db m80857) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Scott Street|
|The ravine in front of you was once Scott Street. Rumney's Tavern, the Brown Carpenter Shop and the Brown House are on this side of the street. On the other side were a number of structures, some of which were commercial enterprises such as Pierpont's Tavern. The original Anne Arundel County Courthouse, 1685-1695, also faced Scott Street. Around the corner to the left as you leave the park were a tailor and a corset and stay maker's shop. The current entrance to the park parallels Mackelfresh . . . — Map (db m22141) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — The Ferry at London Town|
|A Transportation Network
Ferries were a critical link in the colonial road system. The ferry crossing at London Town was part of a larger transportation network that extended from Virginia to New York, moving people and goods to market along with the news of the day.
By the 1730s, nearly every road in Anne Arundel County led to a ferry crossing or a boat landing. Travelers often had to wait for the ferry, giving rise to a number of taverns or "ordinaries" at the landings. Due to its . . . — Map (db m22143) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — The Lord Mayor's Tenement|
|[drawing of tenement house]
Lord Mayor's Tenement: An architectural drawing by Willie Graham, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation.
Discovering the Lord Mayor's Tenement
This building has been reconstructed on the footprint of the original 1700s house. Measuring 20 x 20 feet, it met the building requirements of the early town - each lot owner had to construct such a building within five years or lose their property.
Owned by David Macklefish, the self-styled "Lord Mayor" of . . . — Map (db m22145) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — Tobacco Barn|
|Tobacco barn built c.1720 at Hockley-in-the-Hole Plantation. — Map (db m3421) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Edgewater — William Brown House|
|[picture of William Brown House] William Brown House: Historic American Buildings Survey photograph, circa 1935.
Location, Location, Location
One of the mysteries that still surrounds the lost town of London is the William Brown House. Built between 1758 and 1764 overlooking the South River, William Brown intended it to serve as his dwelling and an upscale tavern.
However, its construction at a time when most of the townspeople and businesses had deserted London Town raises . . . — Map (db m22137) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — "Cav. Area"|
|This Cav. area was the home of several U.S. Calvary Regiments. — Map (db m19633) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — 18th Century French Mortar|
|Cast in France of high bronze alloy, circa 1725, the sunburst design was the official crest of Louis XV. This 10 inch mortar was sent to America as part of the French support of the American Revolution. It saw service at the Siege of Yorktown, Virginia in October, 1781, where French artillerymen successfully employed it to bombard the British defences. — Map (db m19628) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — 29th Infantry Division, United States Army — World War II|
[Insignia and motto of the 29th ID]: "29 Let's Go!"
Mobilized at Fort George G. Meade, February 1941; comprised of Army National Guard units from Maryland, Virginia, District of Columbia, and Pennsylvania. Trained vigorously at Fort Meade, at A.P. Hill Military Reservation, Virginia and during the Carolina maneuvers, 1941-1942.
Sailed from New York for England, September-October, 1942. Trained extensively for the cross channel attack on the German-occupied coast of . . . — Map (db m17112) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — 85th Medical Battalion Avenue|
|Soldiers of the 85th Med Bn are recognized for their dedication and service while at Fort Meade. The Battalion's campaigns include Rhineland and Central Europe during WWII and Southwest Asia in 1991. In September 1992, the Battalion was transferred to FT Lewis, Washington.
1966 - 1992. — Map (db m19630) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — Cavalry Area — Fort George G. Meade — United States Army|
|As the Cold War intensified in the late 1940s, security of the nation's Capital became a major concern of Defense Department planners. To protect the Capital, a ring of conventional and nuclear weapons was established around Washington, D.C. As part of this defensive perimeter, the 3rd Armored Cavalry Regiment was organized here on November 5, 1948.
To house the newly assigned troops, construction of the perimeter cinder block buildings in this area commenced. From here, heading south down . . . — Map (db m19643) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — Chapultepec Avenue|
|Named in honor of the officers and men of the Third Cavalry who captured the Castle of Chapultepec, Mexico, 1847
"Brave Rifles - Veterans" - Winfield Scott, General, U.S. Army
Placed here by the officers and men of the Third Armored Cavalry Regiment, 1955 — Map (db m19646) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — Dedicated to all American Ex-Prisoners of War|
|We exist to help those who cannot help themselves — Map (db m36951) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — Division Hill — Fort George G. Meade — United States Army|
|When German troops attacked Poland on September 1, 1939, all hope of peace in Europe vanished. This crisis caused the United States to accelerate its preparations for possible war.
By late 1940 an Emergency Construction Program was underway at Fort Meade. Upon being federalized in February 1941, the 29th Infantry Division was assigned to one of Fort Meade's hastily built cantonment areas. Here the division reached its full combat strength and completed its initial infantry training. Atop . . . — Map (db m19638) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — E. Russell Allen — 1905-1941|
|Project Engineer for Cantonment 1940-1941. In commemoration of his unfaltering loyalty & inspiring leadership. — Map (db m19700) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — EA-3B Skywarrior — ... to the memory of all the U.S. Naval aircrews that gave their lives ...|
|[Panel 1:] The EA-3B Skywarrior was in service for more than three decades in the U.S. Navy’s secret reconnaissance war against the Soviet Union and the Warsaw Pact. Conceived at the dawn of th Cold War as an aircraft carrier-based nuclear bomber, the A-3 Skywarrior was the largest aircraft ever designed to operate from an aircraft carrier - hence its nickname, “the Whale.” The aircraft was also an ideal platform for electronic reconnaissance, a mission it filled around the . . . — Map (db m17025) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — Eisenhower's Quarters — Fort George G. Meade — United States Army|
|With the signing of the armistice ending World War I, the overseas orders of Dwight David Eisenhower were canceled. Instead, he was transferred from Command of Camp Colt, the Army's Tank Training Center in Gettysburg, PA, to Camp Meade, Maryland.
His tour at Camp Meade offered much that would later serve him well in World War II. Major Eisenhower graduated from the Camp Meade Tank School and served as commanding officer of several tank units. While here, Eisenhower met and became friends . . . — Map (db m19655) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — Hodges Hall — Fort George G. Meade — United States Army|
|In 1934, Hodges Hall was built as the post headquarters. From its position on the south end of the post parade ground, it offered an impressive view of events. The design of the building mirrors the central block of Doughoregan Manor, the home of Colonial Maryland statesman Charles Carroll III.
Rising two stories from a raised basement to a gabled roof originally covered with slate shingles, the planes of the roof rise to a flat deck defined by a balustrade. A major design element within . . . — Map (db m19686) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — Maj. Gen. Ralph H. Van Deman|
|In honored memory of Maj. Gen. Ralph H. Van Deman, father of modern U.S. Military Intelligence. Born September 3, 1865. Died January 22, 1952.
On the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Corps of Intelligence Police - the U.S. Army's first counter intelligence organization - August 13, 1917.
Presented by the National Counter Intelligence Corps Association, August 13, 1967. "We pledge ourselves ever to hold high his ideals and to follow in his path." — Map (db m19695) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — Major General George G. Meade — Fort George G. Meade - United States Army|
|George Gordon Meade was born on December 31, 1815, during his parents’ temporary residence in Cadiz, Spain. After arriving in the United States, he attended boarding schools in Philadelphia and Baltimore. He graduated from the U.S. Military Academy, West Point, NY, in 1835. Upon graduation, Meade was commissioned a Second Lieutenant and saw service in the Seminole and Mexican Wars. He was honored for bravery at the Battles of Monerey, Palo Alto, and Resca de la Palma. Promoted to First . . . — Map (db m17010) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — National Vigilance Park|
|On September 2, 1958 Soviet MIG Fighters shot down United States Air Force C-130 #60528 over Armenia.
This memorial is dedicated in memory of the seventeen airmen who perished that day, and their Armed Forces compatriots who were killed, injured, taken prisoner, or unaccounted for in other incidents while performing a mission vital to America’s security.
Plaque donated by Freedom Through Vigilance Association. — Map (db m2923) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — Patton's Headquarters — Fort George G. Meade — United States Army|
|In 1917, Captain George S. Patton, Jr., sailed to France to join the staff of General John J. Pershing.
In November of that year he was detailed to the Tank Corps and attended the course at the French Tank School. Patton participated in the Battle of Cambrai in December 1917, when tanks were first employed on a large scale. He later organized and directed the American Tank Center at Langers, France, and organized the 304th Brigade of the Tank Corps, which he commanded in the St. Mihiel . . . — Map (db m19697) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — Post Hospital — Fort George G. Meade — United States Army|
|When Camp Meade was established in 1917, a detachment of the Medical Department of the Army was one of the first organizations to report for duty. The original hospital occupied a large group of frame buildings in the northwest area of the camp (near the present site of Argonne Hills Housing Area), and moved twice during the 1920's, always into World War I era wooden facilities.
In June 1930, building 4411 (behind this marker) was completed, and all medical operations moved here. This was . . . — Map (db m19698) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — School for Bakers and Cooks — Fort George G. Meade — United States Army|
|In compliance with instructions contained in a letter from Adjutant General of the Army, dated March 17, 1924, a School for Bakers and Cooks was established at Camp Meade in April of that year. Throughout its existence at the post, the school's mission was to train soldiers in the proper handling of rations, baking and cooking. By the 1930s, approximately twenty bakers and seventy-five cooks graduated each year. The School also trained company grade officers as mess officers. In 1938 the army . . . — Map (db m19702) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — The Battle of the Bulge|
|December 16, 1944 - January 25, 1945
Veterans of the Battle of the Bulge, Ardennes
Dedicated to the Gallant and Victorious Men and Women of the United States Army who participated in The Battle of the Bulge
This enormous and intensive battle, the greatest battle ever engaged in by the United States Army, was fought in Belgium and Luxembourg during World War II from 16 December 1944 through 25 January 1945, under most adverse winter weather. The Maryland/District of Columbia . . . — Map (db m19631) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — The Franklin Cantonment — Fort George G. Meade — United States Army|
|In the summer of 1918 the Franklin Cantonment, a Signal Corps Camp of Instruction, opened within 1 mile of the original Camp Meade. This 400-acre camp housed 11,000 men and women (19 battalions) in 599 structures. The Franklin Cantonment had its own drill hall, theater, and YWCA Hostess House, all within the area bordered by Ernie Pyle Street, Chamberlin Ave, Rock Ave and Mapes Road.
The camp served as a training site for Signal Corps telephone operators, women knows as the "Hello Girls." . . . — Map (db m19656) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — The Tank School and Tank Corps — Fort George G. Meade — United States Army|
|When Great Britain introduced tank warfare to the battlefields of World War I, the face of battle changed forever. By providing support to infantry attacks, the usefulness of tanks was proven. For this reason, on January 26, 1918, Brigadier General Samuel Rockenbach was named commander of the newly formed U.S. Tank Corps.
General Rockenbach remained with the Tank Corps when it returned from Europe and took up residence at the old Franklin Cantonment at Camp Meade as commander of the Tank . . . — Map (db m19703) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — Tipton Army Airfield — Fort George G. Meade — United States Army|
|Named for Marylander Colonel William D. Tipton, Tipton Army Airfield was constructed in 1960 to replace a smaller airstrip operating since 1938 near the present Post Exchange and Commissary complex.
COL Tipton served in both World Wars. During World War I COL Tipton was a pursuit pilot in the 17th Aero Squadron attached to the British Royal Air Force. He saw action in the Battle of the Somme where he was awarded the British Distinguished Flying Cross and the American purple Heart. He was . . . — Map (db m19704) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — U.S.S. Liberty|
|In memory of the men who gave their lives on June 8, 1967 in support of our freedom and happiness while serving aboard the U.S.S. Liberty (AGTR-5).
LCDR P.M Armstrong, USN
LT J.C. Pierce, USN
LT S.S. Toth, USN
CTC M.D. Smith, USN
CTC R.E. Linn, USN
RM1 F.J. Walton, USN
CT1 C.A. Graves, USN
CT1 W.E. Hersey, USN
CT1 J.C. Smith, Jr., USN
CT2 R.J. Campbell, USN
CT2 R.B. Eisenberg, USN
CT2 R.W. Keene, Jr., USN
CT2 A.P. Mendle, USN
PC2 J.C. Spicher, USN
SGT. J.L. . . . — Map (db m19705) WM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — White Oak — (Quercus Alba)|
|Dedicated September 14, 1986 to commemorate the Becentennial of the Annapolis Convention, September 11-14, 1786.
Delaware, New York, Virginia, New Jersey, Pennsylvania
Commission on the Bicentennial of the Constitution of the United States; Warren E. Burger, Chairman
Department of the Army; John O. Marsh, Jr., Secretary of the Army — Map (db m19629) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Fort Meade — World War I Cantonment Area — Fort George G. Meade - United States Army|
|[Top of marker includes a logo with image of U.S. M1917/Renault FT17 light tank]
When the original Camp Meade cantonment area was built in 1917, it covered what are now the Fort Meade Golf Courses. Construction began on July 2, 1917, at a cost of approximately $18,000,000. This area was used to mobilize, train and house parts of three infantry divisions: the 79th, 11th and 92nd. All three were destined for service in Europe during the war. The 92nd was one of two African-American . . . — Map (db m17009) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Friendship — Holly Hill|
|Surveyed, 1663, as Holland’s Hills for Francis Holland; bought 1665, by Richard Harrison, Quaker planter and shipowner, who owned about 6,000 acres. The house, built in three stages between 1665 and 1733 by Richard Harrison and his son Samuel, is one of the largest and best preserved of its period in Maryland. — Map (db m2938) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Galesville — Carrie Weedon House|
|Imagine life in the Carrie Weedon house in 1901. Kerosene lamps provided light for reading, sewing, or playing the piano. Water came from an outdoor hand pump. A privy, a small barn, and a shed were located out back. Food was grown in the garden or purchased locally. People traveled by fot, horse, or carriage and took excursions on Chesapeake Bay steamboats.
"Teachers have come and teachers have gone but we are sure that none of them has exercised so great an influence over our village . . . — Map (db m6200) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Galesville — Native Plants|
|Native plants are essential to the health of our waterways. They thrive in local soils and need minimal fertilizer or pesticides, so fewer nutrients and chemicals reach our waters. They also help to reduce soil run-off and provide food and nesting sites for local birds, mammaps, and other wildlife. Homeowners prefer native as they require little trimming, watering, or other maintenance.
Cardinal flower (Lobelia cardinalis) attracts butterflies, hummingbirds, . . . — Map (db m6204) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Galesville — Overlooking West River — Cedar Park, Tulip Hill|
Patented to Richard Ewen in 1666 as “Ewen upon Ewenton.” Brick house built c.1697 by Richard Galloway II around earlier frame structure possibly dating back to 1656. Known as “West River Farm” in 18th Century. Home and burial place of John Francis Mercer, 10th Governor of Maryland (1801–1803.)
Patented 1659 to Richard Talbott as “Poplar Knowle.” Brick house built c.1756 by Samuel Galloway, Quaker merchant. George . . . — Map (db m65889) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Galesville — Steamboat Landing|
|One hundred years ago, Steamboat Landing was the hub of the community. The vessels that docked there linked Galesville to the world. Immigrants and vacationers arrived, while farm produce and seafood were shipped out to Baltimore and other ports.
"Emma Giles - the very name conjures up memories of the hustle, bustle and romance of a time when the steamboat played such a vital part in this area's growth. Whenever she docked, everyone raced down to see her and watch with fascination as the . . . — Map (db m6203) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Galesville — Valuable Wetlands|
|The wetlands here are man-made. In 1926, three gasoline storage tanks were built here on concrete slabs. In the 1940s, a brick wall was added which trapped water inside, creating the wetlands. Seasonal in nature, the wetlands here are only wet after a heavy rain.
Wetlands are important to the health of the Chesapeake Bay. They slow down and temporarily store water running into streams, preventing flooding and reducing water pollution. Wetland plants absorb some of the excess water and . . . — Map (db m6205) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Galesville — Welcome to Galesville|
|The members of the Galesville Heritage Society invite you to explore their historic village. First settled in 1654 on the banks of West River, Galesville and its history are fundamentally linked to the Chesapeake Bay. Native Americans, English settlers, African slaves, German immigrants, wealthy vacationers, and recreational boaters have all played a part in Galesville's history. Locals have earned their living fishing, crabbing, oystering, farming, and running small businesses. Some commute . . . — Map (db m6201) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Galesville — Where Land Meets Water|
|Since Colonial times, the Galesville peninsula has been defined by the West River and the Chesapeake Bay. But 18,000 years ago, these waters did not exist! The Susquehanna River once flowed east of here. As glaciers melted, the sea level rose, flooding the river valley. Natural and human factors have continued to shape Galesville. The once dense forests gave way to houses and businesses. As fish, crab, and oyster harvests have diminished, pleasure boats replaced works boats in local coves and . . . — Map (db m6202) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Glen Burnie — Curtis Creek Furnace|
|The Curtis Creek Furnace, located on the south side of Furnace Creek, one-half mile east of Ritchie Highway, was established in 1759 and with a foundry built in 1829, continued to turn out high grade charcoal pig iron until abandoned in 1851. — Map (db m2867) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Glen Burnie — Ferndale, Maryland|
|Named in 1921, formerly Wellham. Railroads have long been part of Ferndale’s history. The WB&A Railroad steamed through the neighborhood from 1888 to 1950, carrying as many as 1,750,000 passengers a year. With the historic spike pulling ceremony on February 18, 1992, Ferndale proudly welcomed a new era in transportation—Light Rail. — Map (db m3235) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Glen Burnie — Harundale Mall — Opened: October 1, 1958|
|This site was originally settled in 1649 and was known as the Westminster parish. About 1780 it was the property of Francis Cromwell, a cousin of the monarch of England. It was obtained by the Curtis Creek Mining Co. in 1850 from the estate of John Glenn. In 1908, the state used the site as a rifle range and an army camp was set up here during World War I. — Map (db m14158) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Glen Burnie — Marley Chapel|
|Erected, 1731, near this site, Marley Chapel served as a chapel of ease for the northern parish area of St. Margaret’s Episcopal Church. After its abandonment bricks from the chapel were used in constructing St. Alban’s Episcopal Church, Glen Burnie, completed 1904. — Map (db m2868) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Glen Burnie — Marley Neck School|
|This historic school is a significant example of a Rosenwald School design and represents a landmark era in black education in the period before federal support of local education. The school was built in 1927 with funds raised by the local African-American community and the Julius Rosenwald Fund. — Map (db m9035) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Glen Burnie — Recreation Acres|
|This area of 4.97 acres was purchased on August 1, 1961 by the Glen Burnie Recreation Association Inc. through the foresight and effort of the member of this organization, and the cooperation and support of many people, it is dedicated forever to the youth of the community. — Map (db m9820) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Glen Burnie — Sgt. Ronald M. Randazzo — Desert Storm|
|So we do not forget to honor Sgt. Ronald M. Randazzo and the men and women of Desert Storm 1991.
Give not one inch of our most sacred land to the enemies of freedom, but give all of lifes precious blood if need be to preserve it. - Samuel C. Kemp - Patriot
With God's blessing, we dedicate this memorial, a symbol of liberty to the men and women of this community who served and those who gave their all so that we, their children and our children's children can live in freedom, . . . — Map (db m8802) WM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Glen Burnie — St. Alban's Episcopal Church|
|Built 1904. Originally Glenburnie Chapel, 1891. — Map (db m9823) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Glen Burnie — To All Who Served|
|To all who served our nation in the name of freedom.
Dedicated by American Leagion Post 40, Glen Burnie, MD, Memorial Day - 1991. — Map (db m9818) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Glen Burnie — World War 1917|
|This monument and fountain erected by Glen Burnie Post No. 40, Inc., The American Legion, in memory of our departed comrades, World War 1917. — Map (db m3890) WM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Glen Burnie — World War II|
|Dedicated to the memory of those who made the supreme sacrifice and in honor of those who served in the Armed Forces of our country in World War II. — Map (db m3889) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Hanover — Stoney Run Train Station — Historic — Dedication|
|This 19th century ticket booth, formerly known to local residents as "The Stoney Run Train Station," has been restored, preserved and re-dedicated by the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) as a pedestrian gateway to the BWI Rail Station. A historic and significant monument to the Stoney Run area, the station will continue to serve as a link to the transportation industry for future generations.
This generous donation to the State of Maryland was made by Marvin and Margaret . . . — Map (db m68389) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Hanover — Wesley Grove United Methodist Church|
|Consecrated Sunday, November 4, 1951, by the joint congregations of Friendship and Ridge Methodist Churches.
Timber Ridge and Friendship Methodist Churches.
Timber Ridge Church was built c.1840 two miles to the east. It was disbanded in 1869 when Southern sympathizers built Friendship Church across the road. A new Friendship Church was built on the former Timber Ridge site in 1900 and was last used for worship on Easter, 1948, before being razed for construction of Friendship (now . . . — Map (db m3036) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Harmans — Harmans|
|An African American community and church were established nearby in the mid 19th century. In 1918 the Benevolent Sons and Daughters of Abraham, a mutual aid society, purchased and donated land on this site for a two-room school which was built according to a Rosenwald Program design, the most modern and progressive of rural school plans at the time. The school was used until 1955. — Map (db m49729) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Harwood — “Larkins Hills” — Patented 1663|
|Charles Lord Baltimore and his council attended the meeting of the Assembly here Oct. 2 – Nov. 6, 1663. 31 towns and ports of entry were established at this session in the several counties along the bay. Practically none of these towns exist at the present time. — Map (db m2945) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Harwood — Rawlings’ Tavern|
|Jonathan Rawlings given a license to keep an “ordinary” (tavern) in 1771.
George Washington dined here September 26, 1773, on his way to the Annapolis races. — Map (db m3141) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Harwood — William Penn|
|Came here to the home of Col. Thomas Tailler on “the ridge” December 13, 1682 for his first conference with Charles Lord Baltimore as to the location of the boundary line between Maryland and Pennsylvania. — Map (db m3042) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Linthicum — Benson-Hammond House|
|Built circa 1820, the Benson-Hammond House is the headquarters of the Ann Arundell County Historical Society and is open to the public.
Annapolis and Baltimore Short Line
Organized in 1880, the Annapolis and Baltimore Short Line ran its first steam-powered passenger train in 1887. It was purchased by the Washington, Baltimore and Annapolis Electric Railroad in 1921. The Linthicum Depot was built in 1907 and restored in 1985.
Named after Abner Linthicum, . . . — Map (db m3161) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Linthicum — Linthicum Heights|
|Growth of railways advanced the development of suberban communities in the early 20th century. Linthicum Heights was platted in 1908 along two interurban railroads by the Linthicum family to take advantage of direct transportation to Washington, Annapolis and Baltimore. House designed in picturesque styles and located in a naturalistic setting are hallmarks of suburbs of the period. — Map (db m8142) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Linthicum Heights — Holly Run Church|
|The first church erected by the Methodist Protestant denomination. Built in 1828. Relocated and restored 1966. — Map (db m68390) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Linthicum Heights — In Honor of Those Who Served|
|In honor of those who served in the Armed Forces of the United States of America.
[text on back of memorial] In grateful recognition of the contributions made to this project by the District 32 delegation - Senator James Ed Degrange, Sr., Delegates Mary Ann Love, Ted Sophocleus, and Pamela Beidle - Anne Arundel County Executive John R. Leopold and District 1 Councilmember Daryl Jones. — Map (db m68391) WM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Linthicum Heights — The Heart Spoke — Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Trail|
|Twin Oaks - the name evokes a rural character long since lost to this part of Anne Arundel County. Built in 1857 by William Linthicum, this antebellum manor home presided over a 130-acre farm.
Twin oaks was the summer retreat of John Charles linthicum, U.S. Representative from 1911-1932. From here, he often lobied dignitaries and influential statesmen. In 1918 Linthicum introduced a bill designating "The Star-Spangled Banner" as the national anthem. President Hoover signed the . . . — Map (db m68392) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Lothian — Anne and Christopher Birckhead — 1665|
|These stones mark the graves of Anne and Christopher Birckhead They are believed to be the oldest dated tombstones in Maryland|
This registers for her bones, her fame is more perpetual than these stones and still her virtues, though her life be gone, shall live when earthly monuments are none. Who, reading this, can choose but drop a tear for such a wife and such a mother dear, She ran her race and now is laid to rest, and allaleguis sings among the blest. — Map (db m83399) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Lothian — Benjamin Welch Owens, CSA — (1836-1917)|
|On June 19, 1863, during the War Between the States (1861-65), Private Owens of the 1st Maryland Artillery, Confederate States of America, performed heroically at the Battle of Stephenson's Depot. Owens, born and raised in West River, Anne Arundel County, Maryland, single-handedly held off the Union forces, continually firing his cannon after his compatriots had been wounded. General Robert E. Lee would call this battle "The Thermopylae of the War". For this action Owens was posthumously . . . — Map (db m22147) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Lothian — Bitter End — Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Trail — War of 1812|
|Joshua Barney’s Chesapeake Flotilla was trapped in the shallows just upriver from here. With orders to keep his boats out of enemy hands, Barney reluctantly ordered his men to destroy the flotilla when the British approached. They laid trains of gunpowder to explosives aboard each barge. As the British rounded Pig Point south of here on August 22, 1814, the Americans touched off the first fuse.|
"Should (the British) advance upon you with an overwhelming force, you will effectually . . . — Map (db m79987) HM
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Lothian — Portland Manor|
|Surveyed Dec. 6, 1667. Portland Landing and Saint Jerome’s surveyed 1700. Owned by Col. Henry Darnall, brother-in-law of Charles, 3rd Lord Baltimore and Secretary of State. — Map (db m3142) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Lothian — Pvt. Benjamin Welch Owens — An Outstanding Example of Courage|
|This monument, dedicated on June 17, 1999, honors the memory of a local man, Benjamin Welch Owens, who left his nearby West River farm to join Confederate forces during the Civil War. Owens was among the tens of thousands of men from Maryland who made their way south. He enlisted on June 3, 1863, joining the 1st Maryland Flying Artillery, C.S.A, which was composed of men from southern Maryland, the Eastern Shore, and Baltimore. Less than two weeks after Owens enlisted, his unit engaged Union . . . — Map (db m22146) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Lothian — Saint James’ Church — Old Herring Creek Parish|
|The first church on this site was built, 1695, and the present structure was completed 1765. The Reverend Henry Hall (1675–1722) served as the first rector, 1698-1722. From 1786–1792 Saint James’ was the home parish of Thomas John Claggett (1743–1816), first Protestant and Episcopal Bishop of Maryland and first to be consecrated in America. — Map (db m3143) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Millersville — Anne Arundel Academy — 1854-1924|
|Site of private high school for boys and girls. Its aim: “To create a love for labor, honesty and a high moral life.” Phil Moore Leakin, founder and first principle, taught in rented log house, later in one-story school erected at cost of $600. Original stockholders included W. H. Baldwin, H. H. Brown, Owen Cecil, R. I. Duvall, B. E. Gantt and B. D. Hall. In 1924, trustees gave 10-acre campus, equipment, library, and $6,000 to Anne Arundel County for public high school here. — Map (db m2881) HM|