HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
New York County Markers
461 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 211
New York (New York County), Brooklyn — Panaroma (sic) of Brooklyn South of the Brooklyn BridgeCrossing the Bridge — United States Navy Yard
People looking south towards Brooklyn from bridge in 1883 were treated to a spectacular view. 135 feet below them dozens of ferries, looking like toy boats, crisscrossed the East River, taking passengers to and from Manhattan. Along the busy waterfront the chimneys of factories and distilleries spouted great clouds of smoke as clipper ships and steamers sailed into the harbor, bound for the warehouses and docks that lined Brooklyn’s shore. Rising above the horizon in the distance were the . . . — Map (db m62888) HM
New York (New York County), Brooklyn — The Builders of the Bridge
Dedicated to the memory of Emily Warren Roebling 1843-1903 whose faith and courage helped her stricken husband Col. Washington A. Roebling, C.E. 1837-1926 complete the construction of this bridge from the plans of his father John A. Roebling, C.E. 1806-1869 who gave his life to the bridge

“Back of every great work we can find the self-sacrificing devotion of a woman”

The tablet elected 1961 by The Brooklyn Engineers Club with funds raised by popular subscription — Map (db m57229) HM

New York (New York County), Chinatown, New York City — Americans of Chinese Ancestry
[Panel 1]: In memory of the Americans of Chinese ancestry who lost their lives in defense of freedom and democracy. [Chinese characters and insignia of the American Legion.] [Panel 2]: Dedicated by the Lt. Benj. Ralph Kimlau Chinese Memorial Post 1291 April 29, 1962. Poy G. Lee, AIA, Architect. Built by De Nigris Monument Co. — Map (db m28168) HM
New York (New York County), Chinatown, New York City — Lin Ze Xu1785 -1850
Pioneer in the war against drugs. [Marker includes an inscription in Chinese characters.] Map (db m20141) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Across the Harbor: Remembering September 11th
On September 11, 2001 two hijacked planes were flown into the two towers of the World Trade Center. As the towers collapsed, nearly 3,000 people were killed. Today, this site – less than a mile from where the towers once stood – serves as a place to remember and reflect upon the tragedy. Look through the nearby scope to see where the World Trade Center once stood. — Map (db m47036) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Andes Road
Named in memory of 2nd Lieutenant James C. Andes, D.S.C. H Co., 16th Infantry Killed in action in France July 19, 1918 — Map (db m47163) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Castle WilliamsChanging with the Times
[ Side 1 ] A Place Worth ProtectingThe same waterways that connected New York City to the world made it vulnerable to naval attack. During the Revolutionary War, a British maritime force captured New York. In the early days of independence that followed the war, the federal government constructed a series of forts in the harbor. Their job was to safeguard the port against future attacks. Castle Williams, built from 1807 to 1811, was one of them. New York was never attacked. But the . . . — Map (db m47020) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Castle WilliamsChanging with the Times
Welcome to Castle Williams. This stone fort was built in 1811 to defend New York City against naval assault. The attack never came. Over the next two hundred years, the once state-of-the-art fort was re-used: as housing for army recruits, as a military prison, and briefly as a Coast Guard community center. The National Park Service invites you to explore Castle Williams. Visit exhibits inside and outside its walls. Take a tour. Talk to a ranger. Experience a national treasure. — Map (db m47039) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Clayton Road
Named in memory of Colonel Bertram T. Clayton Headquarters, 1st Division Killed in action in France May 30, 1918 — Map (db m47098) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Colonels’ RowGovernors Island
Once known as Brick Row or Regimental Row and now as Colonels’ Row, the group of eight brick houses in front of you was built by the Army between 1893 and 1917. Although all were built to standard Army plans, slight variations over the years have made the houses unique. Most of the alterations took place around 1938 under the supervision of the Works Progress Administration – a program created to provide jobs for the nation’s growing number of unemployed during the Great Depression. . . . — Map (db m47094) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Comfort Road
Named in memory of Captain Willis E. Comfort, D.S.C. F Co. 16th Infantry Killed in action in France July 18, 1918 — Map (db m47059) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Commanding Officer’s QuartersGovernors Island
This imposing residence is the Commanding Officer’s Quarters, also known as the Admiral’s House (after the most recent Coast Guard residents.) Built in the Greek revival style, it was completed in 1843. The house was designed by prominent New York architect Martin E. Thompson, who is best known locally for the design of The Arsenal in Central Park. Throughout its occupancy, the building was home to the Island’s highest ranking officer and his family. Until 1966, that person was the Army . . . — Map (db m47123) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Division Road
Named in honor of the 1st Division, U.S. Army Mexican War * Spanish American War Philippine Insurrection World War I * World War II Occupation of Germany — Map (db m47065) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Evans Road
Named in memory of 2d Lieutenant Ewin V. Evans, D.S.C. F Co. 16th Infantry Killed in action in France July 20, 1918 — Map (db m47200) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Flight on Governors IslandGovernors Island
The new Governors Island landfill was only just complete – a largely empty dust blown expanse of over 100 acres – when it gained fame for its role in the budding aviation industry. In 1909, the Hudson-Fulton Celebration took place to commemorate the 300th anniversary of Henry Hudson’s voyage up the Hudson River. It also celebrated the 100th anniversary of Robert Fulton’s innovative paddle wheel steamer which traveled from New York City to Albany, ushering in the era of steamship . . . — Map (db m69794) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Fort Jay
This important example of military architecture is a dramatic reminder of the early defenses erected in New York Harbor to protect the City from invasion by sea. Like so many other early fortifications in this country, its star-shaped plan was inspired by the designs of Sebastien de Vauban, the great French military architect. The fort was completed in 1798 and named after John Jay, then Secretary of Foreign Affairs. Strengthened in 1806-1808, the massive walls, bristling with a hundred guns, . . . — Map (db m47014) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Governors Island
has been designated a National Historic Landmark This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America 1985 National Park Service United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m47009) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Governors Island
Called by the Indians “Pagganck,” was purchased from two members of the Indian tribe of Manahatas named Carapetayne and Pehiwas by Wouter Van Twiller, a Governor and Director General of New Nether- land – June 16, 1637; The price paid was two axe heads, a string of beads and a handful of nails. — Map (db m47023) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Governors Island History in BriefGovernors Island
Governors Island boasts a long military history and has played an important role in every major American military engagement since the Revolutionary War, including the War of 1812, the Civil War, World War I, World War II and the Gulf War. First settled by the Dutch in 1624, the Island became a permanent US Army facility after 1800, and more recently, the Atlantic Area headquarters of the US Coast Guard. Original Lenape Indian residents may have called the Island “Pagganack,” a . . . — Map (db m47165) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Governors Island Medical BuildingsGovernors Island
This Greek revival style building was constructed in 1839 to serve as a post hospital. In its earliest configuration, the hospital consisted of two wards on the first floor and three smaller wards on the second. The basement contained offices, a kitchen, storerooms, the dispensary, and staff quarters. This hospital replaced an earlier general hospital located at the northern end of the Island. During wartime, the demands on the post hospital grew as wounded from far a-field were transferred . . . — Map (db m47193) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Group Effort
Before airplanes and missiles, the United States defended itself with fortifications along its coast and harbors. In this harbor a system of forts stood ready to protect New York; nearly a dozen were built before the War of 1812. Cannons in the forts combined to create a deadly, interlocking field of fire that could stop invading warships. “The City and Harbor of New York have been lately fortified against the assaults of a naval enemy at a very great expense. [The forts] . . . — Map (db m47035) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — John Peter Zenger
The renowned champion of the freedom of the press spent his first days in America on Governors Island. As a 13 year old boy he arrived in New York in 1710 with thousands of refugees from the Palatinate, who were quartered for a time on this island. In 1735, as publisher of the New York Weekly Journal, he won acquittal of libel charges in the historic court trial which marked the first major contribution to the cause of freedom of the press in America. Erected by First United States Army, 14 October 1963 — Map (db m47029) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Kimmel Road
Named in memory of Captain Harry L. Kimmel, D.S.C. 1st Battalion, 16th Infantry Killed in action in France October 18, 1916 — Map (db m47056) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Liggett HallGovernors Island
In 1902, Secretary of War Elihu Root asked the Prominent New York architectural firm of McKim, Meade & White to create a grand master plan for a new Army base on Governors Island. Part of Root’s vision was the expansion of the Island using excavated material from the construction of the Lexington Avenue Subway. This expansion more than doubled the size of the Island from 69 to 172 acres. Liggett Hall, completed in 1929, was the first structure constructed upon the land fill. For structural . . . — Map (db m47090) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Maj. General Hanson E. Ely Retirement1931
To Maj. General Hanson E. Ely, upon the eve of his retirement. This tablet is dedicated with esteem and affection by the officers and enlisted men of the sixteenth United States Infantry. The precedent for duty well performed established by these, his illustrious predecessors in command, has been most ably perpetuated under his administration. Maj. General Henry Dearborn • Maj. General Jacob Brown • Lieut. General Winfield Scott • Maj. General John E. Wool • Maj. General Hugh Brady • Maj. . . . — Map (db m47030) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — McKim, Meade & White, Architects of Governors IslandGovernors Island
The design and layout of Governors Island National Historic District owes much of its development to changing times and roles. From early Dutch settlement to its incarnations as a military base to the US Army and the Coast Guard, Governors Island has evolved over the past three hundred years. In many ways, however, the Island’s appearance is due to the vision of the architectural firm of McKim, Mead & White, for its significant layout and the design of many of its most distinctive . . . — Map (db m47183) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Middens and Reefs
Oyster Middens, or piles of discarded shells, once littered the landscape of Manhattan and its neighboring shores, a testament to the astonishing abundance of the indigenous European Oyster, Crassostrea virginica. Archaeologists have discovered many middens around the world, left behind by native peoples for whom oysters and other shellfish were a food staple, sometimes providing the only evidence of diet for nomadic, hunter-gatherer tribes. Middens, however, are not just about . . . — Map (db m47226) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Nolan Park
in honor of Dennis E. Nolan Major General Commander of The United States First Army Governors Island, 1933-1936 Dedicated August 10, 1956 Map (db m47064) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Omaha Dock
This dock is named in honor of the First United States Army soldiers who landed in Normandy during the invasion of France in World War II Dedicated by First United States Army 6 June 1964 — Map (db m47054) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Oysters in the Harbor: A History
Oyster reefs were once a key feature of the New York / New Jersey Harbor Estuary’s ecosystem. Oysters helped to feed New Amsterdam residents, particularly in winter when other foods were scarce. Oysters in fact remained the most common local street food through the 19th century. Yet as New York City grew, overfishing, pollution and siltation took their toll on the Harbor’s oyster beds. By 1900, these were largely depleted or destroyed. Despite the fact that harvesting from any remaining beds . . . — Map (db m47224) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Pershing Hall
In honor of John J. Pershing General of the Armies First Commander of the United States First Army August 10, 1918 — Map (db m47047) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Pershing HallGovernors Island
Constructed in 1934, Pershing Hall functioned continually as an Army and Coast Guard headquarters building until 1996. It was named in honor of John E. Pershing, General of the Armies and First Commander of the First Army in 1918. Pershing led all the American Army forces in World War I. The architect of Pershing Hall was Lorimer Rich, once an employee of the firm McKim, Meade & White, whose Island-wide plans and designs for many of its largest buildings shaped the look of 20th century . . . — Map (db m47195) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Polo on Governors IslandGovernors Island
One of the most popular pastimes for officers stationed on Governors Island was polo. It provided officers stationed here a unique recreational opportunity and provided a way to hone their riding skills. Polo was first introduced to the United States in Manhattan in 1876. Between 1900 and 1911 landfill was added to Governors Island creating nearly 100 acres of flat land. After the removal of many temporary warehouses constructed on this part of the Island during World War I, this open space . . . — Map (db m47186) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Reagan-Gorbachev Meeting 1988Quarters 403
Chairman Gorbachev made his final preparations here before participating in the historic luncheon at Quarters 1 with President Reagan and Vice President Bush on 7 December 1988. During that time, he also composed his first communique to the U.S.S.R. following initial report of the Armenian Earthquake Disaster. — Map (db m21156) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Slate Roofs on Colonels Row
Above your head is nearly three million square feet of historic roofs. More than sixty percent of these roofs are covered in historic slate. In 2008, the Governors Island Preservation and Education Corporation (GIPEC) undertook the repair of these slate roofs. Slate is an extraordinarily durable roofing material with a life span of more than one hundred years. This means that many of the original roofs are still in good shape. Most of the problems with the roofs lay with previously replaced . . . — Map (db m47205) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Soissons Dock
Commemorating the heroic participation of the 16th U.S. Infantry Regiment from Governors Island in its victorious attack against German forces near Soissons, France July 18, 1918 in which action the regiment suffered 1,734 casualties, more than 57 percent of its total strength. — Map (db m47010) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — St. Cornelius ChapelGovernors Island
During the first seven decades of American military use of Governors Island, there was no post chapel. In 1844, a Columbia College Episcopal Reverend, John M. McVickar, was commissioned post chaplain. His tireless efforts, combined with the sponsorship of his family and Trinity Church in Manhattan, led to the construction of a sizable wood frame chapel in 1847. This Episcopalian chapel was located just behind and to the right of where you are standing. By 1868, the Army elected to stop . . . — Map (db m47160) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Students and Soldiers of Freedom
In keeping with the American tradition that men will defend freedom with both ideas and arms, this plaque is presented to Fort Jay by the Association of the Alumni of Columbia College to memorialize the fact that in 1794 students and faculty of Columbia worked with shovel and barrows to help erect this fort, named after John Jay, Columbia graduate of the Class of 1764, whose life exemplified the best traditions of free men.Erected May 13, 1952 — Map (db m47019) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — The Block House (Governors Island)
The design of this classic and austere Greek Revival building of the early 1840s is attributed to architect Martin E. Thompson. It is called the "Block House" because it was used for a time as a military prison. This stone-trimmed brick structure derives dignity from its well-disciplined scale. Over the years it has served also as headquarters for a general, officers' quarters, and as a hospital. It is now under the jurisdiction of the United States Coast Guard. — Map (db m21154) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — The Buttermilk Channel and Brooklyn WaterfrontGovernors Island
This view looks over the Buttermilk Channel to the Brooklyn waterfront, located only 400 yards away. Many theories surround the naming of this narrow waterway. In years past, the channel was much wider and shallower than it is today – before the piers and the dredging of the channel gave it its current appearance. The waters in this channel were rough and fast, leading to two theories: one, that the appearance of the white water looked like buttermilk; and two, that the fast rough action . . . — Map (db m47109) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — The Dutch and Governors IslandGovernors Island
The Dutch East India Company commissioned Henry Hudson to identify a northwest passage to the Indies. As a part of that effort, Hudson entered New York Bay on September 11, 1609 in his vessel The Half Moon and sailed up the river that now bears his name. Over the next 15 years, the area was surveyed by company representatives while temporary trading outposts were established. For the Dutch to establish permanent territorial claim in the area, they needed not only to discover and chart the . . . — Map (db m47130) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — The Early Birds
Early aviation history was made here when these pioneers flew powered aircraft to and from this site between 1909—1916. Wilbur Wright • Lincoln Beachy • Glenn H. Curtiss • Eugene Ely • Charles K. Hamilton • Hugh A. Robinson • Harry N. Atwood • James J. Ward • Harry M. Jones • Albert S. Heinrich • Harold Kanther • Victor Carlstrom • Steve MacGordon • Raynal C. Bolling • Ruth B. Law From May 1916 to March 1917, members of the Governors Island Training Corps flight trained . . . — Map (db m20975) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — The Fort Jay TheaterGovernors Island
On Governors Island, a boat ride away from the activities of New York City, entertainment could be hard to come by. Nevertheless, performances were a part of life on the Island for many years. Early performances took place in an old YMCA building near Castle Williams, then in the new YMCA (sill standing) next door to this theater. In 1939, a new movie theater was constructed under the supervision of the Army Motion Picture Service, which was responsible for theaters on bases across the . . . — Map (db m47189) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — The Governor’s HouseDesignated Landmark New York City
Erected as a home for the British Colonial governors in pre-Revolutionary New York, this Georgian style residence is one of the very few 18th-century mansions to have survived in the City. It is thought to have been built for Lord Cornbury in 1708 and was often referred to as “The Smiling Garden of the Sovereigns of the Province.” According to legend, the house had an underground tunnel built during the Revolutionary War for escape in case of American invasion of the island. Today, . . . — Map (db m47034) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — The Governor’s HouseGovernors Island
The Governor’s House was constructed in 1813 as a guardhouse for the Island. Its location on a bluff overlooking Buttermilk Channel and the primary Island dock was ideally suited for this purpose. By 1824, it was used as the residence for the commanding officer of the post. The commanding officer continued to live here until the Commanding Officer’s Quarters, located two doors to the south, was completed in 1843. At that time, the Governor’s House was used as offices for the post commander, . . . — Map (db m47126) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — The Governors House
Believed to have been erected before 1708 Was used for many years as the home of the Provincial Governors of New York On this island was organized on December 25, 1757 the Loyal American Regiment 60th Foot commanded by Lord Jeffrey Amherst This Regiment subsequently became the present King’s Royal Rifle Corps of the British Army. — Map (db m47032) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — The New York ArsenalGovernors Island
In 1832, the US War Department moved the New York Arsenal to Governors Island. The arsenal was part of the Ordnance Department of the Army and was considered its own Army post, functioning separately from Fort Jay. The New York Arsenal did not manufacture arms, but its staff inspected, purchased and took delivery of arms and artillery from private contractors. The arsenal also functioned as a warehouse and as a distribution center of arms to Army posts across the country. During non-combat . . . — Map (db m47199) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — The Pershing Oak
To honor the memory of General of the Armies John J. Pershing First Commander of the United States First Army this tree was planted on the one hundredth anniversary of his birth 13 September 1960 — Map (db m47049) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — The South Battery1790             1826
Erected during the War of 1812 to guard Buttermilk Channel. Used as a barracks for the fife and drum corps of the garrison from 1836 until the first officers’ mess was established here June 20, 1879. Reorganized as the Officers’ Club February 3, 1881 This tablet presented December 1, 1951 by the Veteran Corps of Artillery, S.N.Y. constituting The Society of the War of 1812             Colonel Francis F. Steers             Commandant – President Map (db m47022) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — The South BatteryGovernors Island
The South Battery, or Half-Moon Battery, was erected prior to the War of 1812, in concert with the construction of Castle Williams. A battery is a fortification equipped with artillery. This arrow-shaped fortification was built into the hillside overlooking Buttermilk Channel to the east of the Island. Its position provided protection against any attack through the channel from the harbor. A single story barracks was located inside. From 1836 until 1878, the fortification became home to the . . . — Map (db m47104) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Tower Carillon Chimes
In memory of The Armed Forces of 1st Army who gave their lives for peace 1941 – 1945 — Map (db m47228) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — West
“The Lighthouse Act of 1790 was sponsored by Alexander Hamilton and signed by George Washington at a time when the Federal Government capital was New York City. On the New York and New Jersey coastlines stand many historical lighthouses, monuments to early Coast Guard navigation and search-and-rescue history. The lighthouse at Sandy Hook, built in 1764, was one of the first to be constructed in the New World. Squan Beach, N.J., was the site of the rescue of 201 people from the British . . . — Map (db m47043) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Wheeler Avenue
Named in memory of 1st Lieutenant David E. Wheeler Medical Detachment, 16th Infantry Killed in action in France July 18, 1918 — Map (db m47121) HM
New York (New York County), Governors Island — Yankee Pier
Yankee Pier is one of six docks and piers on Governors Island. It was built to hold large Coast Guard cutters. Cutters are vessels that are at least 65 feet long and can accommodate a crew living on board. The Y shape of the pier made it easier for the large vessels to back out into the narrow Buttermilk Channel. The word “Yankee” is the designation for “Y” in the military phonetic alphabet; hence, the name “Yankee Pier.” During the Coast Guard era, part . . . — Map (db m47202) HM
New York (New York County), Harlem — 369th Infantry Regiment Memorial — “Harlem Hellfighters” Monument
This monument honors the legendary 369th Infantry Regiment known as the Harlem Hellfighters. The black granite obelisk is a replica of a 1997 memorial that stands in Sechault in Northern France, where the 369th soldiers distinguished themselves in World War I. Unveiled on September 29, 2006, the 88th anniversary of that battle, the obelisk is 12 feet high and features gilded inscriptions, the 369th's crest and its coiled rattlesnake insignia. During World War I, United States Armed Forces . . . — Map (db m18993) HM
New York (New York County), Harlem — Savoy Ballroom
SAVOY Here once stood the legendary Savoy Ballroom a hothouse for the development of jazz in the Swing Era. Visually dazzling and spacious, the Savoy nightly featured the finest jazz bands in the nation, and its house bands included such famous orchestras as those of Fess Williams, Chick Webb, and Teddy Hill. The great jazz dancers who appeared on its block-long floor ranged from professionals like Whitey’s Lindy Hoppers to everyday Harlemites. During a time of racial segregation and . . . — Map (db m29224) HM
New York (New York County), Liberty Island — The New Colossus
Not like the brazen giant of Greek fame, with conquering limbs astride from land to land; here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand a mighty woman with a torch, whose flame is the imprisoned lightning, and her name Mother of Exiles. From her beacon-hand glows world-wide welcome; her mild eyes command the air-bridged harbor that twin cities frame. "Keep ancient lands, your storied pomp!" cries she with silent lips. "Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breath . . . — Map (db m3943) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — 31 Harrison Street
This Federal period house stands on land which was originally a part of the well-known farm of Annetje Jans, granted to her by Director General Van Twiller in 1636. After 1765, the Harrison Brewery occupied the land, hence the name Harrison Street. The house at No. 31 Harrison Street, built in 1827 and owned originally by Jacob Ruckle, is typical of the small but comfortable dwellings of the merchant class of New York City in the early 19th Century. It was designated a New York City . . . — Map (db m50721) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — American Stock Exchange
on June 27, 1921 the Curbstone Brothers moved from their outdoor market on Broad Street to establish on this site the Indoor Securities Market that became the American Stock Exchange. 1921 • Golden Anniversary • 1971 — Map (db m43161) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — Antonin Dvořák plaque and statue
Gift of the New York Philharmonic and the Dvořák American Heritage Association to the City of New York 1997. This bronze statue by Ivan Mestrovic (1883-1962) was commissioned by the Czechoslovak National Council of America and presented to the New York Philharmonic in 1963. It was placed here by the Dvořák American Heritage Association and the Stuyvesant Park Neighborhood Association to honor the great Czech composer Antonin Dvořák , who lived from 1892-1895 in a house that . . . — Map (db m35944) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — Commerce Street
Originally designated Cherry Lane because of the abundance of cherry trees in the vicinity. In 1822, during a plague in Lower Manhattan an exodus resulted. The street developed a thriving commercial character and was thereby renamed Commerce Street — Map (db m42499) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — Flatiron Building
This early skyscraper, originally named the Fuller Building, was completed in 1902 from plans of D.B. Burnham & Company. Its triangular shape caused it to become generally known as the Flatiron Building. This was one of the early buildings to employ a steel frame on which the exterior walls were hung, a principle widely used in the later erection of lofty structures. — Map (db m37703) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — General Grant Memorial
General Grant Memorial, popularly known as “Grant’s Tomb,” is the largest mausoleum in America. Its monumental size reflects the public admiration for Ulysses S. Grant --- Union general during the Civil War, and 18th President of the United States. After President Benjamin Harrison laid the cornerstone in 1892, it took six years to build the 150-foot-high memorial, using 8,000 tons of granite. Huge crowds attended the dedication in 1897 to honor the man they credited with winning . . . — Map (db m3899) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — House of Leonard Lispenard
Opposite this tablet in Hudson Street stood the house of Leonard Lispenard In which General George Washington was entertained June 25, 1775 while en route from Philadelphia to Cambridge to Assume Command of the Continental Army. — Map (db m50722) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — New York Daily News BuildingLandmarks of New York
Completed in 1930 from designs of John Mead Howells and Raymond Hood, this structure was cited in 1957 by the Municipal Art Society and the Society of Architectural Historians "For originality in design and influence on later work." — Map (db m38017) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — New York Marble CemeteryIncorporated 1831
Enclosed within this block is the oldest public non-sectarian cemetery in the city. Descendants of the 19th century owners may still be buried here. The 156 solid marble vaults were built completely underground as a health precaution. Though no markers are on the ground, names of the original owners from each family are on marble tablets in the surrounding walls. The cemetery is a New York City Landmark and is on the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m39518) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — Papal Visits to New York CityPope Paul VI * Pope John Paul II * Pope Benedict XVI — Saint Patrick's Cathedral
Panel 1: His Holiness, Pope Paul VI on his arrival for the first Papal visit to America came to this Cathedral to adore the Blessed Sacrament 4 October 1965 Panel 2: His Holiness Pope John Paul II making the second Papal visit to the United States came to this Cathedral to adore the Blessed Sacrament 2-3 October 1979 Panel 3: His Holiness Pope John Paul II Re-visited New York City to address the United Nations Assembly. . . . — Map (db m59461) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — Park Dreams, Stuyvesant ParkDiedre Murphy, Cycling — 2000 Olympics
"At the age of six, I started cycling in Stuyvesant Park. I couldn't have ever dreamed where cycling would later take me in life. At the late-for-competition age of 33, I started competing at local races in Central Park, challenging myself to do better and better. Nine years and countless laps of Central Park later, I competed in the 2000 Olympics in Sydney, Australia. With my days of competition behind me, I ride for fun and coach cycling in New York City parks, still my favorite venues for cycling." — Map (db m68557) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — Petrus Stuyvesant's Pear Tree
On this corner grew Petrus Stuyvesant's pear tree. ———————— Recalled to Holland in 1664 on his return he brought the pear tree and planted it as his memorial "by which" said he "my name may be remembered." The pear tree flourished and bore fruit for over two hundred years. — Map (db m39622) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — Rhinelander Building
These five Greek Revival columns were retained from the original facade of the 19th century Rhinelander Building, which formerly stood on this site. — Map (db m46672) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — Stage Door Canteen
During all the combat days of the war between the United Nations and the Axis Powers, the American Theatre Wing Stage Door Canteen occupied this site. This tablet is dedicated to the men and women of the entertainment world who brought cheer and comfort to the Soldiers, Sailors and Marines of America and her allies. — Map (db m32390) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — Sugar House - Prison Window
This window was originally part of the five story Sugar House built in 1763 at the corner of Duane and Rose Streets and used by the British during the Revolutionary War as a prison for American Patriots. The Sugar House was demolished in 1892 and replaced by the Rhinelander Building incorporating this window into the facade as an historical artifact. The Rhinelander Building was demolished in 1968 and the site is now occupied by Police Headquarters. John V. Lindsay, Mayor — Map (db m47173) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — The Amiable Child MonumentRiverside Park
This unique New York City monument marks the site of one of the few private graves on public land within the five boroughs. It belongs to St. Claire Pollock (the namesake of nearby St. Clair Place), a child who died on July 15, 1797 in the fifth year of his life, probably from a fall from the cliffs of the parkland onto the rocks near the Hudson River. In the two centuries that have passed since the tragedy of the "Amiable Child"--as he was described on his headstone--different accounts of . . . — Map (db m32401) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — The West Street Building90 West Street — Designated Landmark, New York City
Completed in 1907, the West Street Building was designed by architect Cass Gilbert as a premier office skyscraper for the shipping and railroad industries. The building combines the classical tripartite configuration of base, shaft and capital, common on late nineteenth-century office buildings, with the twentieth–century romantic emphasis on verticality and decorative crowns. With its clustered piers, terra cotta cladding, and gothic detail, including griffin figures and a foliate . . . — Map (db m64654) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan — Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace
President Theodore Roosevelt was born here on October 27, 1858, and lived here until he was 15. The house, a typical brownstone of the 1840s, was restored in 1923 and opened as a museum. — Map (db m40150) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan Borough — Peking1911
Peking was launched in 1911 at Hamburg, Germany by the Blohm & Voss shipyard. She was owned by the F. Laeisz Company of that port, who used here to carry fuel and manufactured goods to the West Coast of South America, around Cape Horn, and return to European ports with nitrate mined in northern Chile. The nitrate was used to fertilize the worn-out fields of Europe and to manufacture chemicals for various applications, including munitions. With her four-masted bark rig, steel hull . . . — Map (db m60185) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan Borough — Wavertree1885
Wavertree was built at Southampton, England in 1885 for R.W. Leyland & Company of Liverpool. She was first employed to carry jute, used in making rope and burlap bags, between eastern India (now Bangladesh) and Scotland. When less than two years old she entered the tramp trades, taking cargoes anywhere in the world she could find them. After sailing for a quarter century, she limped into the Falkland Islands in December 1910, having been almost totally dismasted in a gale off Cape Horn. . . . — Map (db m59992) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan, New York — William Penn Carriage Block and Hitching Post
This carriage block and hitching post originally stood in front of the home of William Penn Letitia Street Philadelphia — Map (db m44251) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan, New York City — Pvt. Moses Miller
In honor and memory of Pvt. Moses Miller who died at sea January 26, 1944 — Map (db m44253) HM
New York (New York County), Manhattan, New York City — The Famous Czech ComposerAntonin Dvorak — 1841 - 1904
Lived in a house on this site from 1892 until 1895 In memory of his 100th birthday and for future generations of free Czechoslovakia, the grateful government in exile caused this inscription to be erected initially on December 13th 1941 Longing for his Czech home, yet happily inspired by the freedom of American life, he wrote here among other works the New World Symphony, Biblical Songs and the Cello Concerto. Adapted from the commemorative plaque . . . — Map (db m44256) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 1 Wall Street / 14 Wall StreetExploring Downtown
1 Wall Street On one of the world’s most expensive corners – 1 Wall Street and Broadway – architect Ralph Walker conceived his zig-zag Art Deco skyscraper for the Irving Trust Company as a “curtain wall” – not the typical sheet of glass hanging from a steel cage, but a limestone wall rippling like a curtain descending on a Broadway stage. Because of the curves in the wall, the bank doesn’t completely occupy its full building lot, and by law unoccupied and . . . — Map (db m19716) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 100 Old Slip - New York City Police Museum
100 Old Slip was designed by the notable architectural firm of Hunt & Hunt in the New-Italian Renaissance style. Its visual power is created by a rhythmic series of tall arches, heavy rusticated walls and restrained ornamentation. The building's distinctive profile with its dominating cornice is reminiscent of the Plazzo Riccardi in Florence. Built in 1909-11, this impressive public building served until 1973 as the home of the First Precinct Police Station, replacing an 1884 police station . . . — Map (db m21510) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 100 Year-Old Sycamore
This stump is all that remains of a 100 year-old Sycamore that once stood in the northwest corner of St. Paul's churchyard. The tree was toppled on September 11th, 2001, when the collapse of the World Trade Center sent tons of debris hurtling towards the church, including a large steel beam from the North Tower. Miraculously, the Chapel's trees shielded it from damage and not a single pane of glass was broken throughout the church. In 2005, renowned sculptor Steve Tobin worked with tree . . . — Map (db m31906) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 13 South William Street
Listed on the National Historic Register, this building was built in 1837-1839. In 1903 architect C.P.H. Gilbert converted it into its current Neo-Dutch Renaissance style. Today the building is home to America's oldest security agency, McRoberts Protective Agency, Inc., which was founded in downtown Manhattan in 1876. — Map (db m21512) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 175th Anniversary of Greek Independence
55’ Flag Pole donated to the City of New York by the Federation of Hellenic Societies of Greater New York on behalf of the Greek American community, in celebration of the 175th Anniversary of Greek Independence, and the 100th Anniversary of the Modern Olympic Games which originated in Greece. March 28, 1996 Bowling Green Park — Map (db m47317) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 1941 · Honor Roll · 1945Baggage Dept., Pennsylvania Station, N.Y.
In honor of the men from this department who served their country in the Armed Forces of the United States during World War II and in lasting tribute to the ten who gave their lives in the service of their country. Carey, Richard F. • Crowley, John F. • Fitzgerald, William J. • Leo, James E. • Lercher, Robert • Manzolillo, Michael • Metz, Charles B. • Muller, Thomas • Murtha, John J. Jr. • Pierluca, Mario J. [The names of approximately 200 World War II veterans follow.] Map (db m6135) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 203 Prince Street
This handsome house is situated on land once owned by Aaron Burr. It was built in 1833-34 by John P. Haff, a prosperous leather inspector. The building is characteristic of many which once were located in this area, a residential section of the City favored by well-to-do families until the 1850s. This sympathetically restored townhouse survives today as one of the few remaining examples of a transitional period which combined elements of both Federal and Greek Revival styles. — Map (db m37071) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 207 - 211 Water StreetBuilt 1835–1836
These three brick Greek Revival-style stores, built together for different owners, display classic details of the period: granite steps, cornice, and piers and lintels in its trabeated storefront. The brick is laid up in Flemish bond, a style whose popularity was already declining when these buildings were constructed. The stores were built for Peter J. Hart, Gabriel Havens, and David Louderback, a mason who may also have been their builder. — Map (db m21151) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 23 Park Avenue
This McKim, Mead, and White residence, completed c. 1891, was commissioned by James Hampden Robb (1846-1911), former cotton broker, New York State Assemblyman and Senator (1882-85), and Commissioner of the Parks Department (1887-90). Designed in the Italian Renaissance style by Stanford White, the facade features Roman brick and terra-cotta ornament on a brownstone base. In 1923, the interior was modified to accommodate the Advertising Club of New York, which occupied the site until 1977. It is now a cooperative residence. — Map (db m42016) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 230 Park AvenueDesignated Landmark New York City
Designed by architects Warren & Wetmore, 230 Park Avenue was built in 1927-29 as the New York Central Building, sitting astride Park Avenue just north of Grand Central Terminal. The building’s honeycombed base and slender tower dominate the street corridor, while its glowing pyramidal roof, capped by an ornate cupola, shines among New York’s constellation of illuminated towers.

The structure is exceptional for its superb engineering and innovative traffic circulation patterns, accommodating . . . — Map (db m57231) HM

New York (New York County), New York — 26 BroadwayLandmarks of New York
Under construction from 1920 to 1928, the corporate headquarters for John D. Rockefeller’s Standard Oil Company was built on one of the largest parcels assembled in Manhattan at the time. The architectural firm of Carrere & Hastings, along with Shreve, Lamb & Blake as associated architects, designed the limestone-clad skyscraper. The curved base and skewed towers are part of a complex renaissance inspired design that reflects the alignment of Broadway and the irregular pentagonal plot. The . . . — Map (db m41180) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 27 Christopher Street
Top Plaque 1911 Constructed as the Margaret and Sarah Switzer Institute for Vocational Training of Women 1926 Purchased by St. Joseph's Parish for elementary school 1977 Site of the School of Nursing of St. Vincent's Hospital and Medical Center of New York Presented with gratitude and in recognition of the mutual values and ideals of St. Vincent's Hospital and Switzer Foundation May 1979

Bottom Plaque The New York Foundling Hospital was founded in 1869 to stem . . . — Map (db m55482) HM

New York (New York County), New York — 33 Liberty Street
This building erected 1922 occupies part of the farm leased prior to 1658 and granted in 1644 by the Dutch West India Company to Jan Jansen Damen. Of the bounding streets Maiden Lane was called the Dutch Maegde Paetje. Nassau Street was named for William Prince of Nassau later King of England. Was formerly known as Pye Womens Land and Kip Street. Liberty Street was originally Crown Street. This record is here inscribed by the Maiden Lane Historical Society — Map (db m62708) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 36 Commerce Street
This three-story brick house was built in 1841 for Alexander McLachlan, the owner of a brewery at No. 38 on land originally part of the Hendricks-Gomez property. In the 1920’s, when the brewery became the Cherry Lane Theater, this house was part of an artist and writer community that included the houses on the south side of Commerce St. to the theater and the west side of Bedford St. through No. 73. These houses shared a rear courtyard while heat and hot water were piped from a furnace located . . . — Map (db m57186) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 38 Commerce Street
In 1924 Edna St. Vincent Millay and a group of theatre artists converted a box factory into what would become the Cherry Lane Theatre. Through the years, it has become a showcase for the early works of Edward Albee, Lanford Wilson, Harold Pinter, and Sam Shepard, and continues to nurture emerging artists. Acclaimed actress, Kim Hunter, 1922-2002, lived above this theatre with her playwright husband Robert Emmett, from 1954 until her death. Best known for creating the role of . . . — Map (db m57184) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 4 Patchin Place / e.e. cummings
4 Patchin Place One-time home of “Poet and Painter” e.e. cummings (d. 1962) and his wife, model and photographer Marion Morehouse (d.1969) “—do lovers love? why then heaven and hell. Whatever sages say and fool, all’s well” Place here by the e.e. cummings Society and the City of New York Landmarks Preservation Commission.

e.e. cummings 1894-1962 The poet and painter, who made art of commas and parentheses, lived here for the last forty years of . . . — Map (db m57163) HM

New York (New York County), New York — 40 Wall Street
Built in 1929-30 as the Manhattan Company Building, this pictureseque 927 foot tall skyscraper was planned as the world's tallest building. Crowned by a pyramidal roof and French Gothic spire, it remains an imposing presence on the lower Manhattan skyline. It was designed by H. Craig Severance with Yasau Matsui associate architect and Shreve & Lamb consulting architects. Th Manhattan Company, formed in 1799 to provide pure water to the city, established the Bank of Manhattan that same year in a . . . — Map (db m54504) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 48 Wall Street / 40 Wall Street Exploring Downtown
< 48 Wall Street Side > Museum of American Finance What more appropriate home for the Museum of American Finance than the grand, 30-foot-high banking hall of the former Bank of New York building? The museum – an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution – is the only one of its kind in America. Effectively serving as the New York Stock Exchange’s de facto visitors’ center, the museum displays permanent interactive exhibits on finance, money, entrepreneurship and . . . — Map (db m24306) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 70 Bedford StreetLandmark New York
About 1807 this house was built by John P. Broome, sailmaker and “crier of the courts of Oyer and Terminer and Gaol delivery and of the general session of the peace.” Although altered over the years, the original brickwork and wood beams have been retained. The third story replaced the attic and dormers sometime before 1860. The second story windows with their keystone lintels and the two and one-half story design are typical of the federal period. — Map (db m57188) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 82 Jane Street
Site of the William Bayard House Where Alexander Hamilton, first Secretary of the Treasury, died after his duel with Aaron Burr July 12, 1804 This historic location holding traditions of the city and the nation, is thus permanently marked by the present owners of this property. — Map (db m22099) HM
New York (New York County), New York — 97 Orchard Street
Built in 1863-64 by Lucas Glockner, a German-born tailor, 97 Orchard Street is typical of the earliest form of tenement house constructed in New York. For millions of immigrants from scores of nations, this tenement and others like it was a place of first settlement in America. We salute them as our urban pioneers on the municipal frontier. This is the first tenement to be individually listed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior. September, 1992 — Map (db m16540) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Abraham Lincoln StatueUnion Square Park
One of three sculptural renditions of Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865) in New York City’s parks, this larger-than-life bronze by Henry Kirke Brown (1814-1886) stands vigil on a busy crossroads at the north end of Union Square Park. Abraham Lincoln was born in a log cabin in Hardin County (now Larue County), Kentucky, and was mostly self-educated. He settled in New Salem, Illinois, in 1831 and worked as a storekeeper, surveyor, and postmaster while studying law. In 1834, Lincoln was elected to the . . . — Map (db m41271) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Adriaen van der Donck’s HomeBirth of a City: Nieuw Amsterdam & Old New York
ADRIAEN VAN DER DONCK’S HOME Location:   Marketfield Street at Broad Street Dutch Name:   Het Marckvelt Steegie In a house that stood a few feet from here lived lawyer Adriaen van der Donck (c. 1620 - c. 1655), author of the Remonstrance of New Netherland (1649). He wanted to persuade officials in the Dutch Republic to take over the Nieuw Nederland colony from the Dutch West India Company. Like other settlers, he also wanted Nieuw Amsterdam to have its own city government. . . . — Map (db m24116) HM
New York (New York County), New York — African Burial Ground National MonumentA Place of Remembrance — National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior
A Place of Remembrance-(left side of the marker) From the 1690s until 1794, an estimated 15,000 enslaved and free Africans were laid to rest in the African Burial Ground. In 1991, during construction of the Ted Weiss Federal Building, 419 human skeletal remains were exhumed. The rediscovery of the cemetery sparked vigorous efforts to preserve this hallowed ground. In 1993 a small portion of the original 6.6-acre cemetery became the first below-ground New York City landmark and a national . . . — Map (db m62333) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House / National Museum of the American IndianExploring Downtown
Before the income tax was invented, the duty levied on imported goods financed almost the entire cost of America’s federal government – and as much as 80 per cent of that duty came through the Port of New York, making the New York Custom House a major national financial power. That’s why Customs could build the sumptuous, Beaux-Arts masterpiece that majestically anchors the vista at the foot of Broadway. Cass Gilbert’s extraordinary monument is laced with symbols of international trade . . . — Map (db m20278) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Alexander Hamilton's HouseThe New Home of the Hamilton-Grange — National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior
The New Home of the Hamilton-Grange. Alexander Hamilton’s house, named “The Grange” after his family’s ancestral home in Scotland, was moved from its original site on W. 143rd Street to 287 Convent Avenue in 1889. Studies have been done to determine how the house looked in Hamilton’s time, and the National Park Service intends to reconstruct its original exterior appearance, making it possible to once again view the entire Grange. A part of Hamilton’s original 32 acre estate, St . . . — Map (db m62336) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Alexander Lyman Holley
Born in Lakeville, Conn.,   July 20th 1832 Died in Brooklyn, N.Y.,   January 29th 1882 In honor of Alexander Lyman Holley, foremost among those whose genius and energy established in America and improved throughout the world the manufacture of Bessemer Steel. This memorial is erected by engineers of two hemispheres. — Map (db m41359) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Alfred E. Smith House
Has been designated a Registered National Historic Landmark under the provisions of August 21, 1935. This site possesses exceptional value in commemorating or illustrating the history of the United States. — Map (db m31144) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Algonquin Hotel
The Algonquin Hotel, which opened its doors in 1902, is best known as the home of the famed Round Table, a group of writers and critics who met for lunch and stimulating converstation during the 1920s. The hotel's cultural associations, nurtured by its early congenial proprietor Frank Case, have attracted generations of famous figures in literature and theater. Architect Goldwin Starrett designed the Algonquin's main twelve-story structure in brick with limestone, metal, and terra-cotta . . . — Map (db m7968) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Alwyn Court Apartments
This richly ornamented apartment house, built in 1907-1909, is unique in the city. The architects, Harde & Short, took full advantage of the economies of terra cotta, a material then much in vogue. A single mold could be used time and again for casting clay blocks which were later fired and glazed. The profusion of intricate detail that covers the entire building is in the style of Francis I, the great art patron of Renaissance France. his personal symbol, a crowned salamander, is prominently displayed. — Map (db m14050) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Alwyn Court Apartments
This richly ornamented apartment house, built in 1907-1909, is unique in the city. The architects, Harde & Short, took full advantage of the economies of terra cotta, a material then much in vogue. A single mold could be used time and again for casting clay blocks which were later fired and glazed. The profusion of intricate detail that covers the entire building is in the style of Francis I, the great art patron of the Renaissance France. His personal symbol, a crowned salamander, is prominently displayed. — Map (db m56931) HM
New York (New York County), New York — American Merchant Marine
This tablet dedicated to the memory of the men of the American Merchant Marine who gave their lives in the World War that liberty should perpetually endure. “These men rendered one of the greatest services that could have been done for our nation and civilization’s cause. Hundreds of precious lives were lost – a loss that can never be made up by their country.” Warren G. Harding Presented to the Nation by the William H. McClelland Post No. 1 U.A.W.V. (U.S. Shipping Board . . . — Map (db m20289) HM
New York (New York County), New York — American Merchant Mariners' Memorial
Dedicated to all merchant mariners who have served America from the Revolutionary War through present day. In the prosecution of war and in pursuit of peaceful commerce, unrecognized thousands have lost their lives at sea. Their sacrifices have helped secure America's liberty and prosperity. The sculpture was inspired by a photograph of the victims of a submarine attack on an American merchant ship during World War II. Left to the perils of the sea, the survivors later perished. This . . . — Map (db m29281) HM
New York (New York County), New York — American Redoubt
American Redoubt 1776 Washington Chapter DAR 1910 — Map (db m41568) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Andries Rees’s TavernBirth of a City: Nieuw Amsterdam & Old New York
ANDRIES REES’S TAVERN Location:   William Street and Wall Street Dutch Name:   Smit Straet Here, in 1660, Andries Rees ran a tavern serving his fellow colonists. Taverns were lively centers of social life in the Netherlands, and Dutch settlers carried the tradition across the Atlantic. Entrepreneurs like Rees sold rum and wine imported from the Caribbean and Europe, as well as locally-brewed beer. Drunkenness and tavern violence were problems in Nieuw Amsterdam. In 1663, Rees was . . . — Map (db m24113) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Anne KleinFashion Walk of Fame
The work of Anne Klein epitomized the ease and comfort associated with Post War American sportswear. She was instrumental in the development and popularization of coordinated separates for both day and evening. These separates, such as body suits and zippered skirts, have become classic staples of the modern wardrobe. Klein’s company was also the training ground for others who would become leading designers. — Map (db m57051) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Appellate Division of the Supreme CourtDesignated Landmark, New York City
This building houses the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of the State of New York for the First Judicial Department, which hears appeals in civil and criminal cases from New York and Bronx Counties. Designs for the courthouse by James Brown Lord were accepted in June 1896, and the structure was occupied four years later. A feature of the building is its allegorical murals and sculptures. In 1854-55 the exterior was resurfaced and in 1956 the interior was remodeled. — Map (db m57056) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Asser Levy’s HomeBirth of a City: Nieuw Amsterdam & Old New York
ASSER LEVY’S HOME Location:   Stone Street at Mill Lane Dutch Name:   Hoogh Straet (High Street) In a house on this site lived the Jewish trader and butcher Asser Levy. Possibly born in Lithuania, Levy probably came here from Amsterdam in 1654, the same year 23 other Jews fleeing Portuguese persecution arrived from Brazil. Director-General Stuyvesant and the town’s Dutch clergy wanted to expel them from the colony. But the Dutch West India Company insisted that Stuyvesant let the Jews . . . — Map (db m24119) HM
New York (New York County), New York — BaltoThe Sled Dogs
Dedicated to the indomitable spirit of The Sled Dogs that relayed antitoxins six hundred miles over rough ice across treacherous waters through arctic blizzards from Nenana to the relief of stricken Nome in the winter of 1925. Endurance, Fidelity, Intelligence — Map (db m23428) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Bank of New York and & Trust Company BuildingDesignated Landmarks of New York
This dignified Neo-Georgian skyscraper was constructed in 1927-29 to the designs of prominent architect Benjamin Wister Morris for the Bank of New York & Trust Company. Much earlier in 1796 The New York Bank & Trust Company was the first bank to erect a building on Wall Street thereby setting a precedent for the area's future development. This building is the bank's third constructed on the 48 Wall Street site. The elegantly detailed limestone structure was constructed when the banking industry . . . — Map (db m54588) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Barrow Street
Named after Thomas Barrow, an artist who in 1807 drew a picture of Trinity Church that received wide circulation as a print. Trinity Church was a large landowner of property in Greenwich Village due to a land grant from Queen Ann[e]. The street was known as Reason Street, in honor of Tom Paine’s ‘The Age of Reason”. Paine died at nearby 59 Grove Street, common usage corrupted “Reason” into “Raisin”. Both the church and the community promoted the renaming to Barrow Street. — Map (db m57165) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Battery Wall Discovery
In spring 2006, during the South Ferry excavation in the Battery, four sections of a colonial era wall were identified by archeologists. Although each of the four sections exhibited unique features, they are all likely part of the same wall, constructed between 1730 and 1766. Differences among the sections may be due to successive periods of construction, which would account for the various building materials and construction techniques used. Sections 1 and 2 were built directly on bedrock and . . . — Map (db m20306) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Battle of Harlem Heights
To commemorate the Battle of Harlem Heights, won by Washington’s troops on this site, September 16, 1776. Erected by the Sons of the Revolution in the State of New York. — Map (db m12665) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Battle of Harlem HeightsSeptember 16 – 1776
In grateful remembrance of the brave soldiers of New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, Maryland and Virginia who under General George Washington fought and died on this site for liberty in their country’s struggle against British tyranny. Dedicated by the Daughters of the Defenders of the Republic, U.S.A. Amanda Shaw Hirsch Founder & President-General May 16, 1961 — Map (db m12682) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Beaver’s PathBirth of a City: Nieuw Amsterdam & Old New York
BEAVER’S PATH Location:   Battery Place at Greenwich Street Dutch Name:   Bever Straet Here, on a sandyshore, Lenape Indians beached their canoes to trade beaver and otter pelts for Dutch cloth, kettles, and metal tools. To the Lenape, this was Manahatt, a word perhaps meaning “island of many hills.” Native peoples had lived in the region for some ten thousand years. Here they camped, hunted, fished, and farmed. Their footpaths crisscrossed the island, and some . . . — Map (db m24093) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Bedford Street
Once a dirt country trail designed as an access to Christopher Street. A popular village thoroughfare. Having been mapped prior to 1799, Bedford Street is one of the earliest recorded streets in Greenwich Village. This street is named after Bedford Street in London, England — Map (db m57170) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Bela Bartok
The great Hungarian composer Bela Bartok 1881 - 1945 made his home in this house during the last year of his life — Map (db m77400) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Bell of Hope
Accompanied by an honor guard of British police guards, the “Bell of Hope” was presented to the people of New York by the Lord Mayor of London and the Archbishop of Canterbury on September 11, 2002. The Bell of Hope was created by England’s renowned Whitechapel Foundry, which also cast the Liberty Bell and London’s Big Ben. The bell’s pedestal base was built locally from eastern brownstone – one of the most recognizable and enduring materials used in the construction of New . . . — Map (db m43442) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Belvedere Tower
Erected in 1869 as a lookout. It now houses the New York Meteorological Observatory which was founded in 1868 by Dr. Daniel Draper who was its director until his retirement in 1912. At which time the observatory came under the direction of the United States Weather Bureau. — Map (db m56954) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Benjamin Franklin1706 – 1790
Printer Patriot Philosopher Statesman Presented by Albert DeGroot to the Press and Printers of the City of New York inveiled January 17, 1872 Ernst Plassman Sculptor Map (db m13746) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Bethesda Fountain and Terrace
Designed by Calvert Vaux and Jacob Wrey Mould, these stairways, terrace and fountain were the focal feature of the original plan for Central Park by Vaux and Frederick Law Omsted. The fountain sculpture by Emma Stebbins, inspired by the biblical account of the miraculous pool of Bethesda, was installed in 1873 — Map (db m56938) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Betsey JohnsonFashion Walk of Fame
From the beginning of her career in the 1960s, Betsey Johnson has been known for a youthful, exuberant style – epitomized by her habit of cartwheeling down the runway at the end of her fashion shows. Her colorful, flirtatious clothes often utilize feminine lingerie details, as well as innovative stretch fabrics that move with the body. Coming from a background in dance, Johnson once said, I’m basically about a ballerina torso and a full skirt.” — Map (db m57279) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Bill BlassFashion Walk of Fame
Having brought the comfort and simplicity of sportswear into the realm of formal dressing, Blass can rightly be credited as one of the creators of a true “American style.” His blending of classic fabrics, like cashmere and satin, have made him a favorite among this country’s best-dressed women. Labeled the “hardest working man on Seventh Avenue,” Blass has cultivated an unforgettable personal and professional style. — Map (db m58310) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Birthplace of Eugene O'Neill
Eugene O'Neill October 16, 1888 — November 27, 1953 America's greatest playwright was born on this site then called Barrett House — Map (db m14192) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Birthplace of Lou Gehrig
1903 - 1941 Lou Gehrig known as the "Pride of the Yankees" was born at this location on June 19th, 1903. In his amazing feat of playing 2130 consecutive games, Lou became known as "The Iron Horse" to the baseball world. Dedicated to the youth of Yorkville. Erected by the New York Yankees November 1990 — Map (db m53786) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Black Horse Inn
In 1783 the Black Horse Inn stood on this site and the Bull's Head Tavern adjoined it. Here General George Washington began his triumphal march into the city upon its evacuation by the British November 25, 1783. The Citizens Savings Bank, organized in 1860 has occupied this site since 1862 and this building was erected 1924. — Map (db m26880) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Bonnie CashinFashion Walk of Fame
Following a career in costume design, Cahin launched her fashion business in the 1950s. Calling her clothing “kinetic art forms for living,” she adapted simple cuts from the history of world clothing to meet the needs of modern women. She advocated playful but subtle exoticism and introduced layered, interlocking garments that could be arranged to suit the wearer’s taste and activity. Fusing practicality and whimsy, Cashin’s distinctive style and philosophy celebrated independence. — Map (db m58165) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Bowery Savings Bank
This impressive building, completed in 1895, is located on the site of the first Bowery Savings Bank. Designed by Stanford White of the firm of McKim, Mead & White, it is an excellent example of neo-classical architecture.

The Building was designated a New York City Landmark in March 1966. — Map (db m56935) HM

New York (New York County), New York — Bowling Green
The first public park to be established in New York March 12, 1733 “Resolved that the Corporation will Lease a Piece of Land lying at the lower End of Broadway fronting to the Fort to some of the inhabitants of the Said Broadway in Order to be Inclosed to make a Bowling Green there of with Walks therein, for the Beauty and Ornament of the Said Street as well as for the Recreation & Delight of the Inhabitants of This City.” From the minutes of the Common Council Reconstructed 1938 — Map (db m13735) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Bowling Green / Sports Museum of AmericaExploring Downtown
Bowling Green This little patch of green surrounded by grand Broadway office buildings survives as New York City’s oldest public park – Bowling Green. It served as a cattle pasture and a parade ground before being designated in 1733 as a bowling green by the City’s Common Council, for the “Beauty & ornament of Broadway as well as for the Recreation & Delight of the Inhabitants of this City.” Bowling Green remains one of the few spots in Downtown that would be recognized . . . — Map (db m20258) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Bowling Green FenceLandmarks of New York
Erected by the Common Council in 1771, this fence surrounds New York’s earliest park. The park was leased in 1733 for use as a bowling green at a rental of one peppercorn a year. Patriots, who in 1776 destroyed an equestrian statue of George III which stood here, are said to have removed the crowns which capped the fence posts but the fence itself remains. — Map (db m13728) HM
New York (New York County), New York — British Soldier’s Barracks
The British Army maintained a military presence in New York from 1640 to 1783. During the American Revolution, the British built barracks in this vicinity and used the land now occupied by City Hall Park for military exercises and executions. — Map (db m13737) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Broadway – Maiden Lane
Broadway – Maiden Lane about 1880 --------------- Erected by the Maiden Lane Historical Society 1928 — Map (db m24103) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Broadway-Chambers Building
Designed by renowned architect Cass Gilbert, this vibrant structure, faced with pale pink granite, multi-hued brick,, and colored terra cotta, is a distinctive interpretation of the Beaux-Arts style popularized by the 1893 World's Columbian Exposition. Constructed in 1899-1900, the three-part vertical structure alludes to the classical column, and its lush ornamentation is typical of the classically-inspired style. Still used as a commercial office building, it was the first of Gilbert's design to be executed in New York City. — Map (db m29317) HM
New York (New York County), New York — BrooklynA 20,000-Mile Religous Exodus by Ship
On February 4, 1846, the ship Brooklyn sailed from Manhattan's Old Slip. Chartered by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, the ship carried men, women, and children to California as part of the epic movement of Mormons to the West. By coincidence, on the same day, the Mormons began their famous migration by crossing the Mississippi River from Nauvoo, Illinois, on their way across the Great Plains to the Salt Lake Valley. The chartered ship, captained by Abel W. Richardson, was . . . — Map (db m21511) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Brown BuildingDesignated Landmarks of New York
This ten story neo-renaissance loft building, designed by New York architect John Wooley, was built in 1900-01 for Joseph J Asch. The Triangle Shirtwaist Factory occupied the building's top three floors. In 1909, Triangle employees initiated the first large-scale strike of women workers in the country, but workers demands for increased fire safety were not met. On March 25, 1911, a fire swept through the factory, claiming the lives of 146 garment workers. Prompted by the outrage of reformers . . . — Map (db m54907) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Bryant Park TodayFrom a derelict park to an urban oasis
In 1974, the New York Landmarks Preservation Commission designated Bryant Park a Scenic Landmark, call it “...a prime example of a park designed in the French Classical tradition...an urban amenity worthy of our civic pride.: Within five years of this declaration, park attendance decreased and criminal activity increased, with over 150 reported robberies each year. Mounting concern about crime, drug-trading, and vandalism, from the Rockefeller Brothers Fund, the New York Public Library, . . . — Map (db m57104) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Buildings Overlooking Bryant ParkOutstanding New York architecture frames the park
Part of Bryant Park’s urbane charm is that it is surrounded by prime examples of several periods of New York City architecture. At the northern corner of Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street is 500 Fifth Avenue. Shreve, Lamb & Harmon (architects of the Empire State Building) designed this 60-story Art Deco tower in 1930.

York & Sawyer designed the former Salmon Tower at 11 West 42nd Street in 1926-27. The famed Guastavino Company produced the tile vaults of the Salmon lobby, and bas-reliefs . . . — Map (db m57101) HM

New York (New York County), New York — C.F. Martin & Co. Guitars
Established 1833 Christian Frederick Martin (1796-1873) established his first instrument shop on this site in the late Fall of 1833. He emigrated here with his family from the small town of Markneukirchen, Germany to form what would become C.F. Martin & Co., one of the World's most revered makers of musical instruments. Martin's innovations in acoustic guitar design—including the X-Braced Flat-Top Guitar and the Dreadnought Guitar—exerted a formative and lasting influence on American music and culture. — Map (db m23056) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Calvin KleinFashion Walk of Fame
There has never been a more recognizable and controversial name in the realm of American fashion than Calvin Klein. He is the master of the clean and minimal style that dominated global fashion in the late 20th Century, but is also famous for his groundbreaking advertisements for products ranging from jeans to perfume to underwear. An indisputable marketing genius, his very name evokes assertive sensuality. — Map (db m58293) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Captain James Lawrence & Lieutenant Augustus C. Ludlow
In memory of Captain James Lawrence of the United States Navy, Who fell on the 1st day of June 1813, in the 32nd year of his age, in the action between the frigates Chesapeake and Shannon. He was distinguished on various occasions, but especially when commanding the sloop of war Hornet he captured and sunk his Britanick Majesty’s sloop of war Peacock after a desperate action of fourteen minutes. His bravery in action was equaled only by his modesty in triumph, and his magnanimity to the . . . — Map (db m24486) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Cartier BuildingLandmarks of New York
Designed by Robert W. Gibson as the residence of Morton F. Plant, this building was constructed in 1904. Messrs. Cartier acquired it in 1917 and after modification by William Welles Bosworth, it was occupied by the firm of Cartier, founded in Paris in 1847. — Map (db m14047) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Castle Clinton
This sandstone fort was built in 1811 as one of five forts erected to defend New York Harbor. The fort originally stood on a small island that was linked to Manhattan by a 200-foot wooden causeway and drawbridge. In the 1850s, landfill extended Battery Park to this point. The D-shaped fort held 28 cannons, but never saw military action. In 1823 the U.S. Army gave Castle Clinton to New York City, which used the structure in many ways over the next century. After is designation as a . . . — Map (db m8781) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Castle Clinton National Monument
[Left plaque]: Last of a series of forts which, from the Dutch ssettlement of 1624, guarded lower Manhattan, this structure was built by the United States in the years 1808 to 1811. It was first called "West Battery," and was one of the important defenses of New York Harbor during the War of 1812 period. Named in honor of Gov. DeWitt Clinton in 1815, in that year it was made headquarters, U.S. Third Military District. From 1816 to 1820 Gen. Winfield Scott was in command. The . . . — Map (db m8779) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Chamber of Commerce / Liberty Tower65 Liberty St, James B. Baker, Architect, 1901 / 55 Liberty St, Henry Ives Cobb, Architect, 1910 — Exploring Lower Manhattan
Chamber of Commerce Even when it opened in 1901, 65 Liberty Street seemed like a tiny jewel among the towering behemoths of the financial district. The ornament-encrusted building served as the new headquarters of the New York State Chamber of Commerce, a venerable institution founded at Fraunces Tavern in 1768 (before the Revolution had made the Tavern famous). Starting in Colonial times, the Chamber commissioned portraits of New York’s preeminent merchants and leaders, from sea captain . . . — Map (db m47244) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Charles Ives1874-1954
A revolutionary composer, Ives was also a traditional insurance executive. His innovative music builds on American popular and folk tunes, and expands the use of rhythm and tonality. His avant-garde works include Concord, Mass., 1840-1860, The Fourth Symphony, and New England Holidays. He live here from 1908 to 1911. — Map (db m55757) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Charles JamesFashion Walk of Fame
This Anglo-American couturier is widely regarded as one of the greatest fashion designers in history. Having begun his career as a milliner in the 1920s, James later incorporated the sculptural techniques of hat making into his dress designs. His juxtaposition of opulent fabrics and unparalleled color combinations was enhanced by his inimitable and complex constructions. James’ engineered garments came as close to works of art as anything ever made in the realm of fashion. — Map (db m58163) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Charles Mary Kubricht (b. 1946)Alive-nesses: Proposal for Adaption, 2011 — Paint on storage containers
Alive-nesses : Proposal for Adaptation is informed by “dazzle” painting, an anti-range finding maritime camouflage technique used by the military between 1914 and 1945. The term “dazzle” was first used by A.H. Thayer in the book, Concealing Coloration in the Animal Kingdom (1909). There Thayer described natural systems on animal camouflage that break up the biomorphic body, by making it visually indistinguishable from its environment. He referred to these disruptive or . . . — Map (db m57061) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Charles Scribner's Sons Building
Designed by the prominent American architect Ernest Flagg (1857-1947), this building was constructed as a store and offices in 1912-13 for Charles Scribner's Sons, one of America's most prestigious publishing houses. Flagg, an exponent of French Beaux-Arts design principles, created a ten-story French-inspired, limestone-fronted building with a facade that reflects the nature of the steel skeleton frame while focusing on the elegant iron shopfront. The vaulted interior retail space was designed . . . — Map (db m14048) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Charlie Parker ResidenceDesignated Landmarks of New York City
Built in 1849, the brownstone rowhouse is a rare surviving example of a residential building built in the Gothic Revival style. A style most often used for churches. Notable details include the pointed entranceway with clustered colonettes, the prominent hood molding and a trefoil relief below the projecting box cornice. From 1950 to 1954 this building was the home of Charlie "Bird" Parker, the world-renowned Alto-Saxophonist. Parker was the co-founder of BeBop, the modern jazz style that he . . . — Map (db m63057) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Chester Alan Arthur
Twenty-first President of the United States of America — Map (db m41355) HM
New York (New York County), New York — City Hall
New York's third city hall, one of its finest architectural treasures, was completed in 1811. Designed by French born J.R. Mangin and New York native John McComb, Jr. the building combines 18th-century French and English stylistic traditions. The domed interior rotunda contains a notable partially cantilevered double staircase. — Map (db m63654) HM
New York (New York County), New York — City Hall to U.S.Capitol / Money Men / Nassau Changes Scale
< City Hall to U.S.Capitol > City Hall New York’s second City Hall was completed 1700, using stones salvaged from the just-demolished wall after which Wall Street is named. Abraham De Peyster donated the site to the city, enhancing the value of his other lots along Wall Street. The first floor was a prison, the second held courtrooms. Just in front stood the stocks, the pillory, and the whipping post, moved up from the old “Stady Huys” (State House) on Coenties Slip in . . . — Map (db m24497) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Civic CenterFoley Square — Exploring Downtown
Municipal government long ago spilled out of City Hall to create the surrounding Civic Center. Today, Chambers Street and Foley Square are lined with white granite and marble civic buildings. The sumptuous lobby of the Surrogate’s Court at 31 Chambers Street (1899-1907), with marble walls and vaulted mosaic-covered ceiling, is often used as a location for television and movie scenes. Down the street, the Municipal Building at 1 Centre Street (McKim, Mead & White, 1914) raises classic white . . . — Map (db m41188) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Claire McCardellFashion Walk of Fame
One of the most important fashion designers of the 20th Century, Claire McCardell helped create “The American Look.” McCardell pioneered the American style of casual sportswear. Inspired by activewear and menswear, she made practical, comfortable and wearable clothes. She was dedicated to the democratization of fashion. As she once said, “I belong to a mass production country where any of us, all of us, deserve the right to good fashion.” — Map (db m58231) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Claremont PlaygroundRiverside Park
      Rich in history, the plain of Claremont Playground has been the site of a Revolutionary War battle, a country estate, a fashionable inn, and a children’s recreation area. This was the scene of fierce combat during the Battle of Harlem Heights, fought on September 16, 1776. Michael Hogan, a former British Consul in Havana, purchased land here in 1806 and built the Federal-style Claremont Mansion (for which Claremont Avenue is named). Possible sources of the name are the elevated site’s . . . — Map (db m53992) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Cleopatra’s NeedleThe Crowned Horus, Bull of Victory
Translation of Hyeroglyphics     The Horus, Strong-Bull-Son-of-Kheprl,     the King of Upper and Lower Egypt, User-maat-ra, Chosen-of-Ra, the Golden Horus, Mighty-in-years-and-great-of-victories, the Son or Ra,     Ramesses, Beloved-of-Amun, who came forth from the womb in order to receive the crowns of Ra, who created him to be sole lord the Lord of the Two Lands,     User-maat-ra Chosen-of-Ra, the Son of Ra.     Ramesses, Beloved-of-Amun, one serviceable to Ra and . . . — Map (db m36060) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Colonel William Baxter
In grateful remembrance of the patriot volunteers of the Pennsylvania Flying Camp led by Colonel William Baxter of Bucks County, Pennsylvania who with many of his men fell while defending this height 16 November 1776 and was buried near this spot. ---------- This rock stood within the lines of Fort George the principal work constructed by the British and Hessian forces who occupied Laurel Hill 1776 – 1783 The Manhattan Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution placed this memorial . . . — Map (db m41581) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Colonnade RowLandmarks of New York
These four houses constitute the remaining portion of a colonnade of nine, originally named La Grange Terrace after the country seat of the Marquis de Lafayette. When constructed in 1831 by Seth Geer, this was considered the finest row of private dwellings in the city. Its residents have included John Jacob Astor and Washington Irving. — Map (db m41192) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Cooper UnionLandmarks of New York
For the advancement of science and art Peter Cooper, inventor, civic leader, philanthropist, founded this institution offering free education to all. In its great hall, birthplace of many important social and political movements, America’s leading citizens have spoken, among them Abraham Lincoln, whose 1860 address here contributed to his presidential nomination. Designed by Frederick A. Peterson, this building was opened in 1859. [ Landmark Plaque ] Cooper Union has been . . . — Map (db m41171) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Cunard BuildingLandmarks of New York
The Cunard Line, which first opened a New York office in 1848, occupied this building on its completion in 1921. Benjamin W. Morris was the architect, and Thomas Hastings served as consultant in the design of the Great Hall, inspired by Roman and Italian renaissance examples the site was formerly occupied by Delmonico’s Hotel, opened in 1846, later re-named the Stevens House and demolished in 1919. — Map (db m41182) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Daniel D. TompkinsA Great American
Son of a revolutionary patriot Born in Fox Meadows (Now Scarsdale) N.Y. June 21, 1774 Died in Tompkinsville, Staten Island N.Y. June 11, 1825 Governor of New York State 1807-1817 — Vice President of the United States 1817-1825 Military Commander of the Third Military District October 14, 1814 Governor Tompkins sustained the credit of the United States Government, with his personal funds, at a time when the banks of New York refused to loan to the government on its notes, without his . . . — Map (db m41207) HM
New York (New York County), New York — David Glasgow Farragut
[ Inscription on Left Wing ]That the memory of a daring and sagacious commander and gentle great souled man whose life from childhood was given to his country but who served her supremely in the war for the Union MDCCCLXI - MDCCCLXV may be preserved and honored, and that they who come after him and who will owe him so much may see him as he was seen by friend and foe, his countrymen have set up this monument AD MDCCCLXXXI: [ Inscription on Right Wing ]Born near Knoxville, Tennessee   . . . — Map (db m41352) HM
New York (New York County), New York — DC 37 September 11, 2001 Memorial
In memory of the DC37 members who perished on September 11, 2001 at the World Trade Center The Rev Mychal Judge, chaplain, Local 299 Carlos Lillo, paramedic, Local 2507 Ricardo Quinn, EMS Lieutenant, Local 3621 Chet Louie, OTB betting clerk, Local 2021 And in honor of all the DC37 men and women who joined in the rescue and recovery. We will never forget their heroism and devotion. District Council 37, AFSCME, AFL-CIO New York Dedicated September 24, 2002 — Map (db m35192) HM
New York (New York County), New York — DelMonico's Building
This Renaissance Revival style building, designed by the architect James Brown Lord in 1891, is the only surviving structure associated with Delmonico's, the legendary dining establishment. Founded in 1827, it was one of the first restaurants in the United States to serve fine Continental fare and was a favorite gathering place for New York society and visiting dignitaries. The building's elaborate corner entrance has twin marble columns, reputedly brought from Pompeii by John Delmonico, that . . . — Map (db m21513) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Diane von FurstenbergFashion Walk of Fame
Diane von Furstenberg made fashion history in 1972 when she developed her iconic wrap dress and encouraged her customers to “Feel like a woman. Wear a dress.” By 1976, she has sold 5 million dressed and landed the cover of Newsweek. An entrepreneur who expanded into fragrance, cosmetics, home furnishings and home shopping, she left the New York fashion world for more than a decade, but re-emerged in 1997, bringing the wrap dress to whole new generation. — Map (db m58309) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Donald BrooksFashion Walk of Fame
Donald Brooks was one of the most important American designers in the twentieth century. He began his fashion career in the 1950s working for other companies before launching his own line in 1965. His designs, which featured uncluttered silhouettes, bold colors and large graphic patterns, garnered accolades and three Coty Awards. Later, Brooks became a costumer for both film and stage; he won an Emmy Award and was nominated for a Tony and an Oscar. — Map (db m58236) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Dr Norman Vincent Peale, D,D,, LL.DMinister from 1932 - 1984
Dr Norman Vincent Peale, D,D,, LL.D Minister from 1932 - 1984 From the pulpit of this venerable church, this man with matchless eloquence and person to person persuasiveness sent forth a message that circled the globe. He taught that positive thinking when applied to the power of the Christian message could not only overcome all difficulties but also bring about triumphant lives. Let all who worship here, then, be open to Dr. Peale's momentous message. — Map (db m51299) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Dutch Hoog Straat
This map, derived from a 1600 drawing, shows Stone Street, then the Dutch Hoog Straat. Its original line is indicated by brown paving stones & the lobby alignment. — Map (db m47376) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Dyckman Farmhouse MuseumDyckman House Park — .545 acre
Built by William Dyckman in approximately 1784, this house was once the center of a thriving farm more than 250 acres in size. Dyckman Farmhouse, along with the smokehouse and reconstructed “Hessian Hut,” has been a public museum since 1916. Jan Dyckman arrived in New Amsterdam in the 1660s and began acquiring land in northern Manhattan. At the time of the American Revolution, Jan’s grandson William had inherited the Dyckman estate and the family homestead stood near present-day . . . — Map (db m41567) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Early Bryant ParkBryant was a leading light in nineteenth century New York
Reservoir Square was renamed Bryant Park in 1884, in honor of New York’s leading citizen, William Cullen Bryant (1794-1878). In the late 1800s, three philanthropic institutions joined to form the New York Public Library; the building site chosen was the Croton Reservoir. The Beaux-Arts architecture of the library, designed by John Carrere and Thomas Hastings, extended to the redesign of the eastern part of Bryant Park. Using the same Vermont marble as the library building, Hastings included a . . . — Map (db m57100) HM
New York (New York County), New York — East Coast MemorialWWII Battle Monument
Base of Memorial centerpiece, front: 1941 * * * * 1945 Erected by the United States of America in proud and grateful remembrance of her sons who gave their lives in her service and who sleep in the American coastal waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Into thy hands, O Lord Base of Memorial centerpiece, reverse: 1941 * * * * 1945 In addition to the 4,597 American servicemen honored here who lost their lives in her service and who sleep in the American coastal waters of the . . . — Map (db m29208) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Edison Underground Central Station System
1882 — 1917 In a building on this site an electric plant supplying the first Edison Underground Central Station system in this country and forming the origin of New York's present electrical system began operation on September 4, 1882 according to plans conceived and executed by Thomas Alva Edison To commerate an epoch-making event this tablet is erected by The American Scenic and Historic Preservation Society and The New York Edison Company. — Map (db m21509) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Edith Wharton1862 - 1937 — 14 West 23rd Street Manhattan
This was the childhood home of Edith Jones Wharton, one of America's most important authors at a time when 23rd street marked the northern boundary of fashionable New York. Here in her father's extensive library, young Edith Jones discovered the world of literature. Wharton wrote with authority on gardens and design but was most celebrated for her fiction. Her novels and stories and characterized by her intelligence perception and the grand beauty of her prose. She revealed the life of the soul . . . — Map (db m49147) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Edna St. Vincent Millay1892 – 1950
The irreverent poet, who wrote “my candle burns at both ends” lived here in 1923-24 at the time she wrote the “Ballad of the Harp-Weaver,” for which she won a Pulitzer Prize. — Map (db m57187) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Edwin Franko Goldman1878 – 1956 — Composer – Conductor
A Landmark of American Music The Guggenheim Concerts by the world renowned Goldman Band were played here “on the mall” every summer from 1923 to 1969. Presented by the National Music Council and Exxon [Seal of the American Revolution Bicentennial 1776-1976] — Map (db m56958) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Eglise Française du St. Esprit
Founded by refugee French Huguenots in New Amsterdam in 1628 and moved to this site in 1940. This plaque was dedicated by their descendants and the congregation of St. Esprit to mark the four-hundredth anniversary of the Edict of Nantes 1598 and edict of toleration upon which were based the religious liberties guarantee of the United States Constitution and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. — Map (db m14044) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Eleanor Roosevelt
Resided at 20 East 11th Street From 1933 to 1942 — Map (db m55751) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Emma Lazarus
Tribute to Emma Lazarus Poet Patriot author of The New Colossus, the sonnet inscribed on the Statue of Liberty The New Colossus Not like the brazen giant of Greek fame with conquering limbs astride from land to land Here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand a mighty woman with a torch whose flame is the imprisoned lightning, and her name Mother of Exiles. From her beacon hand glows world-wide welcome; her mild eyes command the . . . — Map (db m29387) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Engine Company 31
This building, constructed in 1895, is among the best of the many eclectic firehouses built by Napoleon Le Brun & Sons. Today it seems surprising that such an elaborate design would be used for so utilitarian a structure. The entire spirit of the building - with it's corner tower, steep roof, dormers, and stone and iron crestings - recalls a romantic fairy tale. — Map (db m34186) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Equitable Building120 Broadway, Graham, Anderson, Probst and White Architects, 1912-15 — Exploring Lower Manhattan
Vast, looming and dark by comparison to all previous skyscrapers, on completion the Equitable Building could claim the title of, if not the tallest, then certainly the largest office building in the world. Successful life insurance companies like Equitable, with large amounts of capital at their disposal, emerged as among the first and most important builders of skyscrapers. The first Equitable headquarters, also built on this site (1868-70), has been reckoned the first American skyscraper. . . . — Map (db m47235) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Eternal Light FlagstaffMadison Square Park
This monumental flagstaff honors those victorious forces of the United States Army and Navy who were officially received at this site following the armistice and the conclusion of World War I. The monument was commissioned by Rodman Wanamaker at the cost of $25,000. The massive stepped ornamental pedestal, made of Milford pink granite, is inscribed with dedicatory tributes to those who served their country in World War I, and lists also the names of significant battle sites. It was designed by . . . — Map (db m41364) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fashion Walk of Fame
Fashion Walk of Fame celebrates excellence in American design by honoring the New York designers who have had a significant and lasting impact on the way the world dresses.

New York has been the undisputed center of American fashion since the mid-19th Century when the development of mass-production led to growth of the apparel trades. The birth of the Fashion District, also known as the Garment Center, occurred in the 1920s, when a large group of garment manufactures relocated to Seventh . . . — Map (db m60576) HM

New York (New York County), New York — Federal Hall National MemorialExploring Downtown
A majestic statue of George Washington stands on the front steps of Federal Hall in memory of Washington’s inauguration as the country’s first president – which happened on this spot on April 30th, 1789. The current building is named for the original Federal Hall, perhaps the most historic site in the entire country, where more than two centuries ago American democracy was born. From 1785 to 1790, New York served as the first capital of the brand-new United States of America. It was in . . . — Map (db m24256) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Federal Reserve Bank of New York33 Liberty Street, York & Sawyer, Architects, 1919-24 — Exploring Lower Manhattan
Deep inside the Federal Reserve Bank of New York lies more than one quarter of the world’s known reserves of gold bullion. These tens of billions of dollars’ worth of gold bars, each numbered and weighed, are stored five stories underground in 122 compartments in a vault closed with a steel door weighing 90 tons. Most of the gold at the Federal Reserve belongs to foreign governments and international organizations. They store their gold here for three reasons: first, the Bank’s location in the . . . — Map (db m47237) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Federal Reserve Bank of New YorkLandmarks of New York
Inspired by Florentine renaissance palaces and completed in 1924, this structure of Indiana limestone and Ohio sandstone with ironwork by Samuel Yellin was designed by York and Sawyer and built by Marc Eidlitz & Son, Inc. Five stories are below street level with subterranean vaults resting on bedrock. — Map (db m47245) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fifth Avenue Building“Heritage of New York”
Erected in 1909, this building was designed by Maynicke and Franke in Italian Renaissance Eclectic Style. The first structure on this site was the farmhouse of Christopher Mildberger, moved here in 1839 during the extension of Fifth Avenue. Thereafter, a Corporal Thompson operated it as a tavern, Madison Cottage, until 1852, when it was replaced by Franconi’s Hippodrome. In 1859, the six-storied, white marble Fifth Avenue Hotel, with the first hotel passenger elevator in New York, opened here . . . — Map (db m41204) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fire Horses
This tablet is dedicated to the horses that shared in valor and devotion and with mighty speed bore on the rescue. Subscribed under the auspices of the American Society for the Prevention of cruelty to animals May 1927 — Map (db m54021) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Firehouse Engine Company No. 33
This 1898 firehouse, designed by Ernest Flagg and W.B. Chambers, is a striking example of the French Beaux Arts style of architecture. At the time of construction it was also the headquarters of the Chief of the Fire Department. The colorful and flamboyant design of this otherwise utilitarian structure is particularly appropriate to its function. Its scarlet and gold horse-drawn engines and daring firemen were the envy and admiration of every boy. — Map (db m24424) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Firemen’s MemorialRiverside Park
      The Firemen’s Memorial (1913) in Riverside Park is one of the most impressive monuments in New York City. The monument was designed by H. Van Buren Magonigle (1867-1935) and its sculptures are attributed to Attilio Piccirilli (1866-1945).       Riverside Drive stretches along Riverside Park and the Hudson River from West 72nd Street to Dyckman Street. When New York started expanding northward, the City acquired land in 1866-67 for a park and scenic drive between the Hudson River . . . — Map (db m54004) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Firemen’s Memorial
To the heroic dead of the Fire Department < Back of Monument : > To the men of the Fire Department of the City of New York who died at the call of duty Soldiers in a war that never ends This memorial is dedicated by the people of a grateful city Erected           MCMXII — Map (db m54005) HM
New York (New York County), New York — First Almshouse
During the 1999 restoration of City Hall Park, archaeological excavations uncovered burials in this area believed to have been associated with a shelter and workhouse for the poor known as the First Almshouse (1736 – 1797), located where City Hall now stands. — Map (db m19688) HM
New York (New York County), New York — First Church on Manhattan Island
1633 The site of the first church built on Manhattan Island Evaradus Bogardus, Dominie This tablet erected by the Daughters of Holland Dames 1933 — Map (db m20238) HM
New York (New York County), New York — First Latin School of New Amsterdam
The first Latin School of New Amsterdam was founded on this site in 1659 by Dr. Alexander Carolus Cursius Curtius, Lithuanian nobleman and scholar who came to the Dutch colony as Latin School Master upon the invitation of Governor Peter Stuyvesant. — Map (db m20288) HM
New York (New York County), New York — First National Sunday School Convention
This site marks the location of the first National Sunday School Convention October 1832 in the Chatham Street Chapel-Theatre. This 150th anniversary honors the millions of children and youth whose lives have been nurtured by the educational ministry by the churches and Sunday schools of our country. — Map (db m72118) HM
New York (New York County), New York — First Precinct Police StationExploring Downtown — 100 Old Slip; Hunt & Hunt, Architects, 1909-1911
Downtown’s East River shipping history still resonates in the names of half a dozen streets called slips – originally inlets carved into the island, where ships were tied up at either side to unload merchandise. Eventually filled in and paved, Old Slip, Coenties Slip, Peck Slip and others further north remain noticeably wider than adjoining streets. The newly created street at Old Slip belonged to the City of New York. In its center, the City erected two public buildings: the First . . . — Map (db m41184) HM
New York (New York County), New York — First Presbyterian Church
The city’s earliest Presbyterian congregation organized in 1716, built this church in 1845 from plans by Joseph C. Wells after worshiping for over 120 years at Wall and Nassau Streets. The main edifice is modeled after the church of St. Saviour in Bath, England. The tower resembles that of Magdalen College, Oxford. Plaque dedicated 1963 by The New York Community Trust — Map (db m55754) HM
New York (New York County), New York — First Presidential MansionNo. 1 Cherry St.
Occupied by George Washington from April 26 1789 to February 25 1790. — Map (db m43173) HM
New York (New York County), New York — First Printing Press in the Colony of New York
On this site William Bradford appointed Public Printer April 10th A.D. 1693 established the first printing press in the Colony of New York. Erected by the New York Historical Society April 10th A.D. 1893 in commemoration of the 200th Anniversary of the introduction of printing in New York. — Map (db m41644) HM
New York (New York County), New York — First Underground Central Station1882 - 1917
In a building on this site an electric plant supplying the first Edison Underground Central Station System in this country and forming the origin of New York's present electrical system. Began operation on Sept.4.1882 according to plans conceived and executed by Thomas Alva Edison To commemorate this epoch-making event this tablet is erected by The American Scenic and Historic Preservation Society The New York Edison Company — Map (db m52428) HM
New York (New York County), New York — FishBridge Park.8 acre
FishBridge Park is located on the south side of Dover Street, from Pearl to Water Streets. It is between the Fulton Fish Market, to the south, and the Brooklyn Bridge, to the north. Of the two distinguished New York institutions, Fulton Fish Market is the older. In the 1820s several fish dealers set up shop in a few stalls in a corner of Fulton Market. In 1831 they moved across South Street to a shed along the river. Thirty-eight years later a building was erected as a permanent facility for . . . — Map (db m41322) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Flag of Honor
The Flag of Honor contains the names of all those who perished in the World Trade Center, at the Pentagon, and aboard United Flights 175 and 93 and American flights 11 and 77 on September 11, 2001 and in the February 26, 1993 bombing of the World Trade Center. — Map (db m60370) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fluxhouse1967-1969
Fluxus artist George Maciunas, 1931-1978) founded 16-18 Green Street as a Fluxhouse Cooperative, as artist-in-residence center of avant-garde innovation in living, performance, and creativity — Map (db m56934) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Foley Square
Foley Square is named for Thomas F. “Big Tom” Foley (1852-1925), a prominent Democratic Party leader from the Lower East Side of Manhattan. Foley left school at the age of thirteen to support his widowed mother, working for a period as a blacksmith’s helper. In 1877 he began his active connection with politics as a Tammany election district captain and rose to be First Assembly District leader. Although Foley served as a member of the old City Council, as Alderman, and as Sheriff, . . . — Map (db m41326) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Foley Square Before 1600
[ Marker #1 ] For thousands of years this land was inhabited by the Lenape people. They belonged to tribes or clans symbolized by the wolf, the turtle or the turkey. These three animals also represented the three key elements on which the Lenape people relied for their survival – earth, water and sky – the three natural domains of all living creatures. [ Marker #2 ] A northern branch of the Lenape or Delaware Indians, the Munsee tribe fished, farmed and hunted on this . . . — Map (db m41376) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Former Aeolian Building
Built in 1925-27 on Fifth Avenue, Manhattan's most prestigious commercial thoroughfare, this elegant Neo-Classical structure was designed by Warren & Wetmore, the architects of Grand Central Terminal. Clad with Indiana limestone and marble, the facades rise to a graceful setback tower distinguished by French Renaissance-style details, including urns and garlands. Awarded a gold medal by the Fifth Avenue Association, the building attracted such notable tenants as the Aeolian Company, a leading . . . — Map (db m14046) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Former residence of Thomas Jefferson
This plaque marks the site of the former residence of Thomas Jefferson third President of the United States of America who on March 21 1790 as first Secretary of State under President Washington came to New York City then seat of the Federal Government and resided on this spot. 57 Maiden Lane — Map (db m57569) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Former School of Performing ArtsDesignated Landmark New York City
Built in 1893—94 as public school 67, this Romanesque Revival style building was designed by C.B.J. Snyder, Superintendent of School Buildings for the New York City Board of Education. From 1948 to 1984 it was the School of Performing Arts, founded by Principal Dr. Franklin J. Keller, his faculty and an advisory commission of leading professionals in dance, drama and music. This innovative school offered professional training combined with academic education. — Map (db m57241) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fort Amsterdam
Adjoining this site was the first Dutch fort on Manhattan Island known as Fort Amsterdam. The first house was erected here before 1664. In 1771 Captain Archibald Kennedy built here his residence which was used in 1776 by General George Washington as his headquarters and later by General Howe during the British occupation. It was later used as a hotel. Torn down in 1882, it was replaced by the Washington Building which was transformed in 1920-21 into this building for occupancy by its owners The . . . — Map (db m20275) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fort AmsterdamBirth of a City: Nieuw Amsterdam & Old New York
INTRODUCTION In September 1609, Henry Hudson and some 20 seamen sailed their ship, the Halve Maen (Half Moon), into what is today New York harbor. The Dutch East India Company expected Hudson to find a passage to Asia. Instead, his voyage allowed the Dutch to claim a territory they would call Nieuw Nederland – today parts of New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, and Connecticut. In 1625-26, the new Dutch West India Company established an outpost here at Manhattan’s tip . . . — Map (db m24090) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fort George
To perpetuate the site of the S.W. bastion of Fort George in 40° 42' 8" N. latitude as observed by Capt. John Montresor and David Rittenhouse in October 1769 The Corporation of the City of New York have erected this monument A.D. MDCCCXVII — Map (db m53895) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fort Tryon
. . . — Map (db m41562) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fort Tryon Park
This historic area and its surroundings were developed and presented to the people of the City of New York in 1935 by John. D. Rockefeller, Jr. The adjacent hilltop, and outpost of Fort Washington, was gallantly defended in November 1776 by the Maryland and Virginia Regiment. After its capture, it was named Fort Tryon in honor of the last English civil governor of New York. [ Second Marker: ] Fort Tryon ParkIn recognition of the generous support David Rockefeller has given to the . . . — Map (db m41566) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fort Washington
This memorial marks the site of Fort Washington, constructed by the Continental troops in the summer of 1776. Repossessed by the Americans upon their triumphal entry into the City of New York November 25, 1783. Erected through the generosity of James Gordon Bennett by the Empire State Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, November 16, 1901. — Map (db m12670) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Four Chaplains Memorial
. . . — Map (db m40510) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Francis Makemie
Near this site in 1707 Francis Makemie, a native of Ireland and Father of American Presbyterianism, challenged the edict of Lord Cornbury, Governor of the colony, forbidding him from preaching here. The services he conducted in William Jackson’s home resulted in his being indicted for preaching a “Pernicious Doctrine.” His spirited court appearance resulted in his acquittal. It was the first great victory here for religious liberty. July 27, 1982Irish Institute of New York — Map (db m47313) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Franz Sigel StatueRiverside Park
      This bronze equestrian sculpture of military officer, educator, journalist, and public servant Franz Sigel (1824-1902) is by the distinguished sculptor Karl Bitter (1867-1915). Sigel is also honored with a park named for him, which is located at 158th Street and the Grand Concourse in the Bronx.       Sigel was a patriot both in his native land of Germany and in his adopted home in the United States. He was born on November 18, 1824, in Sinsheim, Baden. He completed his studies at the . . . — Map (db m53973) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fraunces Tavern
After the American Revolutionary War, on December 4, 1783, General George Washington bade an emotional farewell to his officers at a banquet held in the Long Room, located on the second floor of this tavern. Samuel Fraunces, a West Indian innkeeper, was the proprietor; he later became Washington’s chief steward. Fraunces, also an American patriot, was host to secret meetings of the Sons of Liberty and gave aid to American prisoners of war. The present building, purchased by the Sons of the . . . — Map (db m13326) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fraunces Tavern Block Historic DistrictExploring Downtown
Samuel Fraunces in 1762 named his Queen’s Head tavern after Queen Charlotte, wife of King George III. His politics, however, were strictly patriotic, and his tavern hosted meetings of the radical Sons of Liberty and, later, the New York Provincial Congress. Washington’s farewell to his officers at the end of the Revolutionary War, on December 4, 1783 in the Long Room of the renamed Fraunces Tavern, made this building one of New York’s great patriotic shrines. Famous for his cooking, especially . . . — Map (db m19693) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fraunces Tavern Tallmadge Memorial
Erected in 1719 –. Chamber of Commerce founded here 1768. Washington’s Farewell to his Officers December 4th, 1783. Centennial Celebration of Washington’s Farewell 1883. Sons of the Revolution reorganized here December 4th, 1883. Building purchased and restored by the Sons of the Revolution as a memorial to Fredericks Tallmadge 1905 Ceremony attending restoration, Dec. 4th, 1907. — Map (db m13732) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Fulton Fish Waist - 142 Beekman StreetBuilt 1885, Remodeled 1981
One of the district's most sophisticated architectural treasures, No. 142 Beekman (also known as 211 Front Street) was designed by George B. Post—later architect of the New York Stock Exchange—for a descendent of Peter Schermerhorn. The building's cockleshell cornice, starfish tie-rod ends, and vigorously modeled terracotta keystones of fantastic fish firmly place the building in its Fulton Fish Market setting. — Map (db m21152) HM
New York (New York County), New York — General Daniel Butterfield StatueSakura Park
Daniel Butterfield (1831-1901) was born October 31, 1831. His father John was a leader in the express mail business, and helped found the American Express Company. Butterfield graduated from Union College in 1849, and became a merchant in New York City. At the outbreak of the Civil War in 1861, he served as a colonel in the 12th New York militia. Demonstrating leadership in military engagements on the upper Potomac in the Shenandoah Valley, Butterfield rose rapidly in the ranks to . . . — Map (db m19627) HM
New York (New York County), New York — General Worth Square.076 acre
This small square marks the grave of General William Jenkins Worth (1794-1849). Born to Quaker parents in Hudson, New York, Worth worked briefly at a store in Hudson before moving to Albany to pursue a mercantile career. With the outbreak of the War of 1812 (1812-1815), he broke with his family’s pacifist beliefs and enlisted in the Army. He distinguished himself as an aide-de-camp to Generals Morgan Lewis and Winfield “Old Fuss and Feathers” Scott. Worth was promoted for . . . — Map (db m41281) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Geoffrey BeeneFashion Walk of Fame
A designer’s designer, Geoffrey Beene is one of the most artistic and individual of fashion’s creators. He is known for his surgically clean cutting and his fluid use of materials. His designs display a sensuous appreciation of the body and always permit movement. Beene blends masterful construction techniques with seemingly disparate elements, such as whimsically patterned fabrics. The end results are spirited garments, like his famous sequined football jersey evening gown. — Map (db m58311) HM
New York (New York County), New York — George Brinton McClellan, Jr (1865-1940)The 93rd Mayor of the City of New York (1904-1909)
During his administration, Mayor McClellan, son of Civil War General George McClellan, acquired 277 acres of park space, completed construction of the New York Public Library, built Grand Central Terminal, presided over the opening of the subway, licensed the first taxi cab, opened the Queensboro and Manhattan bridge, installed the world’s high-pressure water service to fight fires, replaced the city’s gas street lamp system with electrical lamps, built 19 new fire houses, 110 school . . . — Map (db m68379) HM
New York (New York County), New York — George Clinton
New York Home of Distinguished American George Clinton July 26 1739 – April 20, 1812 Vice President of The United States 1805 - 12 Governor of New York 1777 - 95, 1801 - 04 Occupied as Governor's Mansion a house on this site from 1784 to 1791. George Washington was quartered here when he took command of the troops in 1776. — Map (db m73420) HM
New York (New York County), New York — George Frederick Cooke1756-1812
Acclaimed as one of the greatest actors of his day, Cooke played Richard III to an audience of 2,000 in New York. After his death, legends abounded that his skull was stolen from his coffin and secretly used in theater productions of Hamlet. In 1821, his protégé, British actor Edmund Keane, erected Cooke’s tomb in the Chapel’s churchyard. — Map (db m43443) HM
New York (New York County), New York — George T. Delacorte
In memory of George T. Delacorte June 20, 1893 – May 4, 1991 Publisher and Philanthropist Whose Many Gifts Beautify New York City * * * * * The restoration of this Historic Park and Fountain Is an Illustration of his Generosity Bowling Green was Restored by the City of New York In 1977 with his Assistance Under the Administration of Abraham D. Beame, Mayor Joseph P. Davidson, Commissioner — Map (db m47387) HM
New York (New York County), New York — George Washington Statue
[ No Inscription ] — Map (db m41338) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Giorgio Di Sant’AngeloFashion Walk of Fame
Di Sant’Angelo exemplified the individual designer. He rose to prominence during the late 1960s when exuberant youth styles dominated. Inspired by non-western dress and hippie anti-fashion, di Sant’Angelo’s clothes were an eclectic mix if vibrant fabrics, rich ornamentation and ease of cut. Freeing the body was a prime focus. Leotards, bandeaux and tube dresses made of stretch fabrics covered with layers of filmy chiffon became his leitmotif. — Map (db m58164) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Governors Island
In August 1776 island cannons were a key factor in keeping the British Navy out of the East River, allowing General Washington’s army to escape to Manhattan and fight another day. Revolutionary War Heritage Trail — Map (db m47005) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Gracie MansionLandmarks of New York
Built about 1799 on the site of a Revolutionary fort as the country house of Archibald Gracie, Scottish merchant, this colonial stucture was restored in 1927 under the supervision of the Park Department. From 1921 to 1932 it housed the Museum of The City of New York. It is now the official residence of the Mayor of New York. — Map (db m72650) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Grand Central Terminal“Landmark of New York”
Completed in 1913 from plans of Warren & Wetmore and Reed & Stem on site of earlier depot built by Commodore Cornelius Vanderbilt in 1871. Statuary group over main entrance executed by Jules Coutan. — Map (db m57244) HM
New York (New York County), New York — HalstonFashion Walk of Fame
The 70s belonged to Halston. Though he began his career as a milliner, his shift to ready-to-wear clothing made him a superstar. He was America’s first minimalist designer. By combining clean lines and classic fabrics, Halston designed clothing that was seasonless, made for travel and looked elegant night or day. It is no surprise that many members of the burgeoning “jet set” became his most celebrated clients. — Map (db m58233) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Hartwick Seminary
The first Lutheran Theological Seminary in America. Founded under the will of John Christopher Hartwick, 1714-1796 pioneer pastor. Held its first seminary classes on this site in 1792 in the parsonage of John Christopher Kunze 1744-1807, first principal of the school, Professor of Oriental Language at Columbia College and pastor of the Ancient Trinity Church. Its last regular classes were held in this present building in 1940, at which time it merged with Hartwick College, Oneonta, NY — Map (db m55481) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Hebrew Technical Institute1884         1939
These premises housed the Hebrew Technical Institute Founded in 1884.   A non-sectarian school. One of the first technical high schools in the United States. Last graduating class 1939. The school was conceived at a meeting of the United Hebrew Charities, the Hebrew Orphan Asylum and the Hebrew Free School Association for the purpose of training youths of immigrants in industrial arts. — Map (db m41213) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Herman Melville
The American author resided from 1863 - 1891 at this site 104 East 26th Street where he wrote Billy Budd among other works. — Map (db m77673) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Highest Point on Manhattan
The Highest Natural Point on Manhattan 265.05 feet above sea level USC & GS datum — Map (db m12889) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Historic Battery Park & Castle ClintonExploring Downtown
From early Dutch times the tip of Manhattan was fortified with the batteries of guns from which the Battery takes its name – first at the 17th-century Fort Amsterdam on the Custom House site, then at Castle Clinton. Fort Amsterdam disappeared long ago, but its rubble survives in the layers of landfill that eventually helped create 23 acres of Battery Park, in the process filling in the water separating Castle Clinton from the mainland. Today, The Battery Conservancy is implementing its . . . — Map (db m19694) HM
New York (New York County), New York — Historic St. Paul’s Chapel
Welcome to Historic St. Paul’s Chapel Established in 1766 Manhattan’s Oldest Public Building in Continuous Use ----- Witness to The Great Fire of 1776 ----- Host to George Washington on Inauguration Day ----- Survivor of the Terrorist Attacks on September 11, 2001 A Parish of Trinity Church in the City of New York — Map (db m43422) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 238 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.