|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6425 — 1933 Austin Public Library|
|Overlooking one of the city's four public squares platted in 1893, this site was obtained from the Texas Legislature in 1913 for a public library. Completed in 1933, this building represents the most prominent public work of Austin native Hugo Kuehne, founding dean of the University of Texas School of Architecture. Designed in the Italian renaissance style, it features the work of some of Austin's finest craftsmen, including ironworker Fortunat Wiegl, wood-carver Peter Mansbendel, and fresco . . . — Map (db m25757) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14789 — Abner Hugh Cook|
|A native of North Carolina, Abner Cook came to the newly created capital city of Austin in 1839 with a skill in design and construction that soon earned him the title of master builder. Working as architect, engineer, and contractor, Cook produced some of the finest public buildings and Greek Revival homes in Texas, including the Governor’s Mansion and the Neill-Cochran House (2310 San Gabriel, Austin). A charter member of Austin’s First Presbyterian Church, Abner Cook died soon after . . . — Map (db m43478) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12238 — Addcox House|
|Built in 1935 for Mary Susie Sheedy, this house changed hands three times before being purchased by University of Texas electrician Charles J. Addcox and his wife, Addie Lee, a homemaker and nursery school operator, in 1944. It became known as the “Red Rock House on the Corner.” An extraordinary eclectic structure, the house was crafted with mixed stone and brick veneer. The external walls feature petrified wood, limestone, honeycomb rock, volcanic rock, quartz crystal, fossilized . . . — Map (db m25742) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6466 — Adjutants General — Texas in the Civil War|
|Texas in 1861-1865 had 90,000 men fighting for the south – many in units east of the Mississippi. Yet at home she had to defend 2,000 miles of coastline and frontier from constant threats made by Federals, Indians and outlaws.
The State Adjutants General filled the necessary Confederate troop requisitions. At the same time, he organized, posted and supplied the Texas frontier regiment in a string of forts a day’s horseback ride apart, from the Rio Grande to the Red River.
He was . . . — Map (db m43118) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13929 — African Americans in the Texas Revolution|
|Many African Americans, free and slave, supported Texas during its 1835-36 war of independence from Mexico. Although official recognition of the African American role was generally denied, recorded accounts of individual acts of bravery and patriotism survived.
Hendrick Arnold distinguished himself as a guide and soldier for Ben Milam’s Texas Army at the Siege of Bexar and later at the Battle of San Jacinto.
William E. (Bill) Goyens, a prominent African American businessman of . . . — Map (db m25746) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15108 — All Saints’ Episcopal Church|
|This edifice stands on the mid-1840s land grant of former Republic of Texas President Mirabeau B. Lamar, and near the official residence of the second Bishop of the Diocese of Texas, the Rt. Rev. George Herbert Kinsolving (1849-1928). Aided by the Bishop and his wife Grace, the Diocese of Texas bought this land as site for a residence for women students of the University of Texas. Built in 1897, that structure called “Grace Hall” was in use for nearly 70 years.
All Saints’, . . . — Map (db m25747) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14948 — Andrew Jackson Hamilton — January 28, 1815 – April 11, 1875|
|A native of Alabama, Andrew Jackson Hamilton moved his family to Texas in the 1840s. He served as State Attorney General and as a member of the State Legislature before being elected to the U.S. Congress in 1859. An opponent of secession, he left Texas during the Civil War but in 1865 was appointed Provisional Governor by President Andrew Johnson. He was an Associate Justice on the Texas Supreme Court from 1867 to 1869, and was an unsuccessful candidate for Governor in 1866 and 1869. He . . . — Map (db m25682) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15335 — Andrew Jackson Zilker|
|Voted Austin's most worthy citizen twice, Indiana native Andrew Jackson Zilker (1858-1934) grew up with a strong respect for the laborers along the Ohio River. He came to Austin penniless in 1876 but quickly became a businessman and bank director. He contributed to his community at the neighborhood, city and county levels. Believing in the importance of "practical" education, he indirectly funded school industrial programs when he sold 366 acres of parkland including Barton Springs, to the . . . — Map (db m25697) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 16100 — Approximate Site Reached By the Espinosa-Olivares-Aguirre Expedition|
|A good will trip made in 1709, when Spain was uneasy about her 190-year-old claim to Texas, (She had closed East Texas missions, then had learned of a French trading visit to Texas, 1707.) Capt. Pedro De Aguirre and 14 soldiers escorted from a mission on the Rio Grande, Father Isidro de Espinosa and Father Antonio de San Beneventura Olivares.
The Tejas were not in this vicinity as expected. Capt. Aguirre had no order to cross the the Colorado River, so the Padres sent the East Texas . . . — Map (db m69094) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6442 — Ashford McGill House — Zilker Park Refectory|
|Originally built in the 1870s for Austin pioneer Ashford McGill, this native limestone structure and the surrounding property were purchased by Andrew J. Zilker who conveyed the land to the city for a park in 1931. Remodeled by the Federal Civil Works Administration for use as a multiple purpose park building, the house now exhibits 1930s-era detailing, including a pergola-covered courtyard. — Map (db m25701) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6449 — Austin High School — A Centennial of Public High School Education|
|Tax supported, locally controlled secondary education began in Austin in 1881 with the establishment of a high school department in the city school district. Plans for implementing the program were developed under the leadership of school board President A.P. Wooldridge and Superintendent John B. Winn.
Austin High School opened in September 1881 with an enrollment of 31 girls and 17 boys. Classes were first held on the third floor of the west Austin school building at the corner of 11th and . . . — Map (db m25705) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15360 — Austin High School — John T. Allan Campus|
|An ornate, red brick building at this site served as the first structure in town built for the public high school, founded in 1881. Construction of the facility was hastened when classrooms in the former temporary State Capitol at 11th and Congress were destroyed by fire. Completed in 1900 from the plans of Burt McDonald and James Reily, "Old Red" featured a domed rotunda, as the school grew additions were made to the original structure.
Under the supervision of principal James E. Pearce. . . . — Map (db m25753) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6416 — Austin High School — Rio Grande Campus|
|In Edwin Waller’s 1839 plan for the City of Austin, two blocks were set aside for schools at Rio Grande and 12th Street, then called College Avenue. The Austin School Board in 1881 authorized the use of existing school facilities on the south block to house the primary grades 1-4, grammar school classes 5-7, and high school grades 8-11. Due to increased enrollment, the school board in 1916 built the John T. Allan Junior High School on the north block.
In 1925 the Austin High School was moved . . . — Map (db m25755) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12743 — Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary|
|This seminary had its origins in the Austin School of Theology, begun in 1884 by the Rev. Dr. Richmond Kelley Smoot and the Rev. Dr. Robert Lewis Dabney to provide training for candidates for the Presbyterian ministry whom the founders hoped would remain in Texas and the southwest. Smoot and Dabney both taught classes, but received no compensation. Although the school closed in 1895, continuing enthusiasm for a permanent seminary provided momentum to the Synod of Texas to appoint a committee to . . . — Map (db m25756) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12757 — Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary Campus|
|The Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary held its first classes in a donated building at 9th and Navasota. President T.R. Sampson, hoping to create a strong association between the seminary and the University of Texas, promoted the relocation of the campus closer to the University.
In 1906, the seminary board purchased land at this site. With funds from the bequest of former Governor Francis R. Lubbock, a campus refectory (Lubbock Hall) was constructed in 1907. A second, larger building . . . — Map (db m25732) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15648 — Austin State Hospital|
|While Texas was a frontier state and psychiatry a pioneer venture, the Texas Legislature in 1856 created this hospital for the mentally ill; in 1925, named Austin State Hospital.
Oldest Texas mental hospital.
Construction began in 1857. The institution, then housed in the administration building, was opened May 11, 1861, with about a dozen patients and has continued to be dedicated to mental health programs. — Map (db m25758) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6430 — Austin Woman’s Club|
|Begun as family residence by Mrs. Catherine North in 1874. Completed in style of French Chateau by Austin banker, Maj. Ira Evans, 1892.
Bought by charter members, A.W.C., 1929. Remodelled, using 19th century materials. — Map (db m25759) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12690 — Austin, C.S.A.|
|An active place during the Civil War, Austin was the site of the Secession Convention, March 2, 1861, and legislative sessions which lasted until June 1865. City visitors during the early 1860s included lobbyists, cotton speculators, military leaders, and businessmen seeking to aid the war effort. Five stage lines and a pony express to the railhead at Brenham provided communications. Also located here was the Texas Military Board, an agency created to obtain arms and munitions for 33 militia . . . — Map (db m25723) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Austin's Moonlight Towers|
|City of Austin Marker:
This is one of 31 original moonlight towers installed in Austin in 1895. Seventeen remain. Each tower illuminated a circle of 3000 feet using 6 carbon arc lamps (now mercury vapor). Austin's tower lights are the sole survivor of this once-popular ingenious lighting system.
The original Texas Historic Commission marker at this site, now missing, read:
This is one of 27 that remain out of 31 towers erected 1894-95 and in continuous use since. Their . . . — Map (db m26157) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15050 — Bailey Hardeman|
|A signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence.
Secretary of the Treasury of the Republic.
Born in Tennessee, 1795. Died on Caney Creek , Matagorda County October 12, 1836 — Map (db m25688) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12689 — Balcones Fault Aids Colonization of Texas|
|Curving through the center of Texas from Hill County south and west to Uvalde County is the rugged escarpment-fault called Balcones. The abundance of natural resources associated with this geologic formation affected the pattern of colonization in Texas. The numerous springs and wooded hills of the escarpment and adjacent fertile prairies attracted Indian tribes and Spanish colonists before the area was permanently settled by Anglo-American pioneers.
Spanish explorer Bernardo De Miranda in . . . — Map (db m71914) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15620 — Barr Mansion|
|Built in 1898 for cotton merchant William Braxton Barr (1864-1902) and his wife, Matilda (Tilly) Birdwell (1868-1951), this home was designed by Austin architect Charles Page. Barr named the surrounding community after his grandfather Capt. Erasmus Sprinkle (1813-1906), with whom he built a cotton gin and general store. When cotton prices fell in 1920, the thriving town of Sprinkle began to decline. The home, which features ornate Eastlake styling, remained in the Barr family until 1980. — Map (db m25740) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6443 — Barton Springs|
|Clear and icy, these springs over the years have drawn Indians, pioneers, and tourists to this spot. The waters are brought from the limestone strata to the surface by the Balcones Fault, which bisects Central Texas. Average flow is 27,000,000 gallons daily.
During 1730-1731, Spanish friars located three missions here. Colorful settler William "Uncle Billy" Barton patented the land about 1837, naming two of the springs for his daughters Parthenia and Eliza. His two tame baby buffalos soon . . . — Map (db m25770) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13992 — Becker School|
|Hermann Becker (1857-1933) operated a successful downtown café, and he bought part of the historic Bouldin homestead in south Austin in 1891. His son H.E. Becker and son-in-law P.A. Wilde, proprietors of the Becker Lumber Company, donated three acres of Bouldin land to the Austin Independent School District in 1935 for a new school site. The firm of Giesecke and Harris designed the building, which opened in October 1936. A new wing added three years later more than doubled the school’s size. . . . — Map (db m43692) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12240 — Bethany Cemetery|
|This cemetery was established in the late 1800s when burial space set aside for African Americans in Austin's historic Oakwood Cemetery was no longer available. The oldest recorded burial is that of infant Hellen Moore in 1879. C. W. Jones purchased this land in 1892. The Bethany Cemetery Company, formed in 1893 by William Holland, Henderson Rollins, Allen Bradley and William M. Tears, maintained the site until 1933. In 1976, members of the Bethany Cemetery Association became caretakers of the . . . — Map (db m25774) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12825 — Blackshear Elementary School|
|Blackshear Elementary School opened in 1891 to provide free public education to African-American children in the community then known as Gregory Town, Blackshear Elementary School was known in earlier years as School No. 3, Gregory Town School and Gregory School. In 1936, it was named for Edward I. Blackshear (1862-1919), a 19th-century teacher and principal who left Austin in 1895 to become head of Prairie View College. Programs and facilities for Blackshear students, including the . . . — Map (db m25776) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14186 — Boggy Creek Masonic Cemetery|
|According to local tradition, in the winter of 1859, 23-year-old John Davis joined a community wagon train headed for work in the pine forests of Bastrop County. Davis, sprayed by a skunk during the night, began running wildly through the camp. He was mistaken for a Comanche intruder and accidentally shot to death. His father, Jenkins Davis, buried his son here, on 2.3 acres he purchased near Boggy Creek and his Manchaca home. John's 1859 burial is the earliest recorded here.
In 1876 . . . — Map (db m69116) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15416 — Brackenridge Hospital|
|When Edwin Waller surveyed the Austin townsite in 1839, he set aside this block, in what was then the northeast corner of the city, for a hospital. The site lay empty until 1884, when the City of Austin and Travis County jointly opened a 20-bed, two-story facility known as City/County Hospital.
During the early 1900s the city purchased the county’s share of the hospital and assumed full responsibility for its operation. In 1912 Dr. Robert John Brackenridge (1839-1918), a retired physician, . . . — Map (db m25779) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14555 — Bratton Cemetery|
|Kentucky native John Bratton (1812 - 1855) came to Texas with his family in 1837. Ten years later, Bratton purchased land in this area and set aside one acre for use as a burial ground for family and friends. The earliest known burial, that of Mary J. Robey, took place in 1847. There are more than 100 known gravesites in the Bratton Cemetery, and about 50 of the burials are marked only with fieldstones. A good example of a pioneer graveyard, in which many of the graves date from the 1800s, the . . . — Map (db m42880) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6453 — Brizendine House|
|This simple Vernacular Rough Ashlar house represents the life style of the late 19th century working middle class family in Austin. The exterior proportions of the structure reflect Victorian influence. Built of limestone about 1870 by John R. Brizendine (1829-1914), an Austin carpenter, machinist, and miller. Brizendine, a native of Kentucky, lived here until his death. Mrs. Elizabeth Gordon bought the home in 1928, and members of her family lived here until 1972. — Map (db m25780) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13232 — Buddington-Benedict-Sheffield Compound|
|Albert and Rebecca Buddington built the first part of this compound as their home c. 1860. In 1921, it became the home of Dr. Harry Y. Benedict, a mathematician who served as University of Texas Professor and President. Delia Edwards, a later owner, commissioned Arthur Fehr to alter the original house and design an adjacent Rustic-style cottage with a fireplace mantel carved by Peter Mansbendel. Wilhelmine Sheffield, who bought the property in the 1940s, added another house and an enclosing . . . — Map (db m25789) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15258 — Buen Retiro|
|Colonial Revival mansion built 1902 by Austin financier Louis Nicholas Goldbeck. Sold 1908 to Texas Association of Phi Gamma Delta, national fraternity first chartered in Texas in 1856.
Housing Tau Deuteron Chapter, this has been campus residence of men who became statesmen and cultural and business leaders. Financing for property came from many friends, with notable gifts from family of university regent and alumnus H.J. Lutcher Stark. — Map (db m25790) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Cactus Theater — 521 E. Sixth Street|
|In the 1930's and 40's, the Cactus Theater was owned by legendary vaudeville performer Richard “Skinny” Pryor, and featured cowboy and Spanish language movies. His son, Cactus Pryor, would sell patrons their tickets, pop the popcorn, and run the projector, all the while spouting stories and jokes, perfect training ground for his future as Austin journalist, TV-radio personality, and Texas' favorite political humorist. Cactus finished every radio broadcast with his favorite sign-off . . . — Map (db m69750) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6465 — Camp Mabry|
|The original 85-acre tract (gift of Austin citizens in 1892) was the site of annual encampments for the Texas Volunteer Guard, an elite militia constituted in 1876. Because larger maneuver, parade, and drill areas were needed, the guardsmen worked actively to acquire more land. With state and federal purchases, the camp at its largest consisted of over 430 acres.
By vote of guardsmen, the camp was named in 1898 for Adjutant General Woodford Haywood Mabry (1856-1899), who provided forceful . . . — Map (db m25791) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15300 — Capt. & Mrs. Chauncey Johnson|
|Here sleep Capt. and Mrs. Chauncey Johnson. Capt. Johnson was born in Burlington, Vermont May 1, 1798. Served in the War of 1812. Came to Texas in 1840. Captured by General Adrian Woll at San Antonio, September 11, 1842 and imprisoned in Mexico. Died at Bastrop, Texas May 10, 1854. — Map (db m25696) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14985 — Capt. Jesse Billingsley|
|A soldier in the Army of Texas, 1835. Commander of Company C. First Regiment, Texas Volunteers at San Jacinto. Member of the 1st and 2nd Congresses of the Republic. Participated in the Woll Campaign, 1842. Member of the Senate, 5th and 8th Legislatures of the State. Born in Tennessee October 10, 1810. Died in Bastrop County, Texas October 1, 1880 — Map (db m25775) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14871 — Captain Andrew Briscoe|
|Born in Mississippi November 25, 1810. Came to Texas in 1833. A volunteer in the Army at Anahuac, 1835. Commanded a company at the Capture of San Antonio, 1835. Signed the Texas Declaration of Independence. Commanded a company at San Jacinto. First Chief Justice of Harrisburg Municipality, 1836. Died in New Orleans October 4, 1849 — Map (db m25676) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6423 — Carrington-Covert House|
|Leonidas D. Carrington (1816-97) and his wife, Martha Hill Carrington (1824-59), came to Austin from Mississippi in 1852. He began to accumulate real estate and on Sept. 15, 1853, bought this block from James M.W. Hall, Austin hotelman, and ten days later opened a mercantile store on Congress Avenue. In 1856 Carrington hired John Brandon, a local architect-contractor, to build on this site a Vernacular Greek Revival home, constructed of rough limestone ashlar. The house was completed in the . . . — Map (db m25792) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13210 — Cementerio Mexicano de Maria de la Luz|
|Tradition holds that a family passing through the area in 1912 buried a child, Maria de la Luz, at this site. In August of that year, A. Donley, A.C. Rodriguez and S. Galvan bought the land for use as a Mexican cemetery. In the 1940s, a fire set to eliminate tall grass at the site burned many of the wooden markers and crosses denoting gravesites. Additional markers were lost during adjacent development in the 1970s, and the city of Austin eventually grew around the once rural property. Today, . . . — Map (db m25797) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6417 — Central Christian Church|
|In 1847, Eight years after the City of Austin was platted, ten members of the Disciples of Christ Brotherhood met to organize this congregation. Although early records of the church are scarce, it is known that regular worship services were being held in a local school building by 1852.
The Christian Church of Austin, as the congregation originally was known, acquired its first property at Eighth and Colorado Street and worshiped at that site until moving to this location in 1929. An early . . . — Map (db m25798) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13928 — Central Presbyterian Church|
|This congregation traces its roots to October 13, 1839, when Austin’s first Presbyterian worship service was held at Bullock’s Hotel. Present that day was builder Abner Cook, elder in the first Presbyterian church organized in Austin. He helped acquire this property for the Presbyterian Church (South) following a post-Civil War split in the church. A sanctuary was completed on the site in 1874.
This congregation was known in later years as Southern Presbyterian Church, the Free Presbyterian . . . — Map (db m25633) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6461 — Clara Driscoll — April 2, 1881 – July 17, 1945|
|Patriot, philanthropist, writer, public figure, born at St. Mary’s, Refugio County; daughter of Robert and Julia Fox Driscoll, and descendant of a hero of San Jacinto; was educated in Texas, New York and France.
In 1903 came her finest hour. When the public was shocked at plans for destroying the Alamo in San Antonio, she saved the shrine by buying it to give the State of Texas time to redeem and preserve it.
In 1905-06 she published two novels, “The Girl of La Gloria” and . . . — Map (db m25853) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14494 — Clarksville|
|Historic black neighborhood. Settled in 1871 when Charles Clark, a freedman, bought two acres of land on present Tenth Street. This formed the nucleus of the community that Clark, according to tradition, wanted to start for his people.
For years Clarksville lay in a wilderness on the outskirts of Austin, crossed only by a few country roads. Gradually it grew into a closely knit village, with activities centering on the Sweet Home Baptist Church. At first members met in the home of Mrs. Mary . . . — Map (db m25800) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14916 — Claudia Taylor Johnson Hall — The University of Texas System|
|Constructed during the period 1912-1914. This building was the seventh United States post office location in Austin, Texas. The supervising architect for the Neoclassical revival style structure was James Knox Taylor of the U.S. Treasury Department. It was built by Dieter and Wenzel Construction Company of Wichita, Kansas, at a cost of $172,987. The land cost $40,000.
Following construction of a new post office and federal building in 1965, the building was given to the University of Texas . . . — Map (db m26000) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Clay Pit Bucket Tower — Austin Landmark|
|This tower and two others supported a cable conveyor that brought clay from pits south of the Colorado river to a brick making facility nearby. A. J. Zilker installed the system in 1902. In 1912, the Butler Brick Company leased his plant, operating the tower system until 1942. — Map (db m61094) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15334 — Col. Lewis Miles Hobbs Washington — Dec. 2, 1813 - Feb. 1857|
|Georgia native Lewis Washington came to Texas about 1835 and joined the revolutionary forces at San Antonio. A member of Col. Fannin’s staff, he served with the Georgia battalion at Refugio and Goliad. He was appointed to an office in Sam Houston’s presidential administration during the days of the Republic. Washington was killed in Nicaragua while in Central America as a news reporter. His body was not recovered, but his wife, Rebecca, is buried here. — Map (db m26725) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12685 — Confederate Texas Legislatures|
|When Texas seceded, Feb. 1, 1861, the 8th Legislature was in Austin in a called session, adjourned Feb. 9.
On March 18, the 8th came back for a second called session; the 9th and 10th Legislatures in turn were harassed with problems of the Civil War. They found it necessary to raise, equip and supply 90,000 Texas soldiers, who fought on all fronts, and to provide for defense against Indians, enemy troops and ships on 2000 miles of state coastline and frontiers.
As naval blockade reduced . . . — Map (db m26644) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14389 — Congress Avenue|
|In his original 1839 plan for the capital city, Edwin Waller, signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence and Austin’s first Mayor, designed Congress Avenue as Austin’s most prominent street. Known for many years as “The Avenue”, the street has been the scene of many important social, political, patriotic, religious, and military events.
Early structures along Congress Avenue included government buildings, hotels, saloons, retail stores, and restaurants. By the late 1840s it . . . — Map (db m25803) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6454 — Daniel H. Caswell House|
|Daniel H. Caswell came to Austin from Nashville, Tennessee, about 1895. He purchased a cotton oil manufacturing company, bought and sold cotton, and in 1899 built a cotton gin. When completed for his family in 1900, this house was located in the far northwest corner of the city. The Caswell House, which exhibits influences of Late Victorian, Colonial Revival, and Chateauesque styles, features a corner turret and porches supported on rusticated piers. — Map (db m25796) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14473 — Daniel Shipman|
|Participated in the disturbance at Anahuac June, 1832 and the storming and capture of Bexar, December 5 to 10, 1835. Born in North Carolina February 20, 1801. Died in Goliad County, Texas March 4, 1881.
Eliza Hancock Shipman
Wife of Daniel Shipman. Born December 22, 1813. Died in Goliad County, Texas September 11, 1858. — Map (db m25666) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Davis Cemetery|
|George W. Davis (ca. 1809-1884), his wife Emiline P. Moore Davis (1810-1872) and family arrived in Texas in 1835. George served in Captain Mosely Baker’s company at the Battle of San Jacinto while Emiline spent six weeks with the children on the banks of the Sabine River in the Runaway Scrape. Davis received a patent for 3154 acres of his headright in 1841 and built a home north of the cemetery. The earliest dated grave is that of infant John H. Vann who died March 25, 1851, but the burial . . . — Map (db m26778) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14274 — Dawson Stone House|
|Real estate developers Mary and Nannie Dawson built this house about 1900 as part of the South Heights expansion of Austin. The sisters were pioneer teachers in free public school system.
Mary (Molly) was principal of Fulmore School, but she left teaching to pursue real estate. The builder was probably their brother and partner, Nick Dawson, who built several other stone houses. The house is typical of middle class homes of the time. — Map (db m29539) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12241 — Decker Swedish Evangelical Free Church and Cemetery|
|Among the Swedish immigrants who settled in Decker in the 1880s were many seeking freedom from the Swedish State Church. The immigrants held meetings in homes and schoolhouses, and organized the Decker Swedish Evangelical Free Church. Joseph Ek Johnson and his wife Charlotta (Mork) deeded land in 1892 on which a church building was erected and this cemetery was established. Charles Smith served as first Pastor of the church. As the congregation grew, a Sunday School and Ladies Society were . . . — Map (db m25714) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14416 — Decker United Methodist Church and Community|
|First settlers in this area on Decker Creek were Swedish immigrants, who attended church in Austin from 1867 to 1870s.
Beginning in 1871, the Rev. C.C. Charnquist of Austin preached in homes. With advent of more settlers, a church was erected and dedicated at Pentecost, 1879.
In 1882, a public school was opened. In 1884, the church was enlarged and parsonage built.
In the pastorate (1901-02) of the Rev. C.O. Freeman, the present sanctuary was erected. The large modern wing was added in 1967. — Map (db m25665) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6446 — Deep Eddy Bathing Beach|
|Swedish immigrant Charles Johnson built a large home for his family on 39 acres of land in this vicinity in the 1850s. In 1902 two of his children, Mary and Henry, opened Deep Eddy Resort. The Johnsons named the park for a deep hole in the limestone bed of the Colorado River at this site that caused the water’s current to form an eddy. Recreational facilities included campsites, picnic areas, rental cottages, and a cable ride into the river.
Mary Johnson sold the park to A.J. Eilers in 1915. . . . — Map (db m25826) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13778 — Del Valle Army Air Base — (Bergstrom Air Force Base)|
|Following the U.S. entry into World War II, the Army Air Corps established a base here in the Del Valle community on land once a part of the Santiago del Valle Mexican land grant. The City of Austin purchased 3,000 acres to lease to the federal government for use as an air base. Construction began in May 1942 after the removal of homes, churches and businesses, and the first units of the 316th Troop Carrier Group arrived in late September. The base was a replacement center for the First Troop . . . — Map (db m25631) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14668 — Denny-Holliday House|
|This structure originated as a one-story limestone dwelling. Built between 1869 and 1871 by Charles Denny. Mrs N.L. Holliday, a widow with six children, purchased the house in 1898 and added the second floor in 1906. The residence was later occupied by her daughter Margaret (d. 1921). A local physician, Margaret and her husband Dr. Simon J. Clark renovated the house about 1920. They added an elaborate entrance on the north side and stuccoed the entrance walls. — Map (db m25669) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15413 — Desegregation of Texas High Schools|
| The State of Texas instituted a public school system for African-American students during reconstruction. This segregation of students was further established through the 1896 United States Supreme Court decision in Plessy v. Ferguson, which established the legality of the doctrine, “separate but equal.” Desegregation of schools began after the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka in 1954 that segregated schools were unconstitutional. By 1957, more than . . . — Map (db m42891) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15328 — Doyle Farm|
|Arrival on Sept. 21, 1874, of two brothers of Holy Cross
James Doyle (1795?-1866). A native of Ireland, came to Texas in 1835. He was a stonemason, and in 1853 had charge of part of the work on the limestone Capitol being built in Austin. Also in 1853, he bought 498 acres of land and opened a farm at this site. His devout widow, Mary Doyle (d. 1871), in 1872 deeded 398 acres of the farm to Father Edward Sorin, Superior General of the Congregation of . . . — Map (db m25852) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14888 — Dr. George Moffit Patrick|
|A volunteer at Anahuac, 1832. Member of the Consultation, 1835. Commander of the schooner “Flash”, 1836. Most Worshipful Grand Master Gran (Masonic) Lodge of Texas, 1848-49. Born in Virginia, September 30, 1801. Died in Grimes County, Texas June 28, 1889.
His wife, Martha Scaife Patrick. Born in England in 1813. Died in Grimes County, Texas September 26, 1855. — Map (db m44241) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Dr. Gideon Lincecum|
| A veteran of the War of 1812
Internationally famous botanist
Friend of Darwin
Born in Georgia
Died at Long Point
Washington County, Texas
November 28, 1873 — Map (db m44792) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15014 — Dr. Thomas Jefferson Gazley|
|Born in New York, January 8, 1801. Died in Bastrop County, Texas, October 31, 1853. Doctor-lawyer, soldier, legislature. Delegate to the Second Convention
of Texas, 1833 * Physician in
the Army of Texas, 1835 - 1836 *
Signer of the Declaration of
Independence, 1836 * Grand Senior
Warden of the Grand (Masonic)
Lodge of Texas, 1837 * Member of
the Second Congress, 1837 - 1838 — Map (db m25888) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13931 — Driskill Hotel|
|Built 1885-86 by Col. Jesse L. Driskill (1824-1890), cattle king who moved to Austin in 1869. Brick dressed with limestone. Had three grand entrances – one the largest arched doorway in Texas. “Ladies’ Entrance” was on northeast, bust of Col. Driskill is over south arch, busts of his rancher sons on east and west. Rich furnishings were selected by Col. Driskill, who leased out his hotel – southwest’s finest when it opened, Christmas 1886. — Map (db m25634) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14787 — Ebenezer (Third) Baptist Church|
| The Rev. C. Ward organized this church in the home of Mrs. Elisa Hawkins in 1875 as the Third Baptist congregation in Austin. A small frame structure at Catalpa and Curve Streets was the place of worship for ten years. A brick sanctuary in Gothic style was completed in 1886, and the congregation then added “Ebenezer”, meaning “stone of help”, to its name. During the 1892-1927 pastorate of the Rev. L.L. Campbell, a stucco tabernacle was built (1915). Led by the Rev. J.C. . . . — Map (db m42890) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12592 — Edmund and Emily Miller House|
|Noted economist and University of Texas professor Edmund T. Miller (1878-1952) and his wife, Emily (1884-1979), an artist and member of the pioneer Maverick family of San Antonio, acquired this property in 1922. The design for their Mediterranean style home was the work of Emily Miller, her nephew Edward Sammons Maverick, and architecture professor Raymond Everett. Built to complement the hillside setting and completed in 1923, the house features the work of metal craftsman Fortunat Weigl and retains many of its original landscaping features. — Map (db m26150) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13828 — Elisabet Ney — (Jan. 26,1833 - June 29, 1907)|
|World-renowned sculptor; lived 35 years in Texas, where she executed works of many noted citizens.
Born in Muenster, Westphalia, Germany, Elisabet grew up beautiful, talented, and self-willed. At 19 she began to study at the Academy of Arts, Munich, where her skill and charm brought many admirers, and her strong opinions made some think her eccentric.
Before she was 30, Elisabet had produced statues of German royalty and many European statesmen. In 1863 she married Dr. Edmund Montgomery, . . . — Map (db m26164) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15042 — Elvira T. Manor Davis House|
|Elvira T. Manor Davis (1841-1918) was reared in east Travis County near present-day Manor, Texas. Named for her father, she married Blackstone H. Davis whose family owned quarry, supplied stone for the 1853 Texas Capitol. Elvira widowed and the mother of six, bought this lot in 1896 and the house was built by 1904. The porch columns, balustrade and bay windows represent a transition from Victorian-era to classical revival design. Davis lived here until 1918. — Map (db m25687) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6451 — Emma West Flats|
|After attorney Robert G. West (1860-1904) died, his widow Emma Grant West (1865-1952) had this structure built to provide rental income for support of their four children. Erected by contractors Fischer & Lambie in 1905, the brick edifice had one apartment on each floor, with servants’ quarters in the basement. In 1925 Mrs. West sold the rental property to Miss Katie Gannaway (1890-1967), an Austin teacher. It was restored by attorney Byron Lockhart and his wife Nina in 1973. — Map (db m26766) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14956 — Esperanza School Building|
|One of earliest one-room rural schoolhouse in Travis County, this cabin was built on property of Richard McKenzie in 1866. It was known as Esperanza School and served children from Neighboring farms in the period before public education. In 1893 when a larger Esperanza School was built at another site this original log structure was put to other uses.. (Original site of this cabin was in the NW quadrant of the intersection of Spicewood Springs Rd. and Mopac Blvd.) — Map (db m55948) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14303 — Evangelical Lutheran Church of Dessau|
|The community of Dessau was founded in 1854 by German immigrants, including the Wieland, Nauert, Nehring, Grosskopf, Krueger, Goerlitz, and Hennig families. The pioneers worshiped in private homes until this sanctuary was built about 1876. Labor and materials used in its construction were supplied by members of the community. Worship services were conducted in the German language until the mid-1900s. The church building and adjoining cemetery stand as reminders of the area’s pioneer German heritage. — Map (db m25872) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14294 — F. Weigl Iron Works|
|Ironsmith Fortunat Weigl (1884-1973) migrated to Austin in 1913 from Germany with his wife Anna and sons F. Lee and Herbert. Work was scarce until 1917, when Weigl was commissioned by the noted local woodcarver Peter Mansbendel, who supplied a forge and tools. In 1922 Weigl established his own ornamental iron works, which he moved to this site in 1935. With the help of his sons, he produced original works, entirely hand-wrought, for many significant Austin homes, the state capitol, and building . . . — Map (db m26728) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13935 — First Classes of the University of Texas Law School|
|The University of Texas held its first classes in the temporary capitol at this site on Sept. 15, 1883. Fifty-two of the 218 original students were registered in the law department. They were taught by former Governor of Texas Oran M. Roberts (1815-1898) and former Texas Supreme Court Justice Robert S. Gould (1826-1904). Many members of the university’s first law class went on to have distinguished careers, including Albert Sidney Burleson, who served as U.S. Postmaster General from 1913 to . . . — Map (db m25647) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15362 — First Colored Baptist Church|
|The oldest black Baptist church in the city, the fellowship grew from the slave membership of the First Baptist Church of Austin. In 1854 the committee on religious conditions of the colored population recommended to the churches of the Austin Baptist Association that separate services be provided for their black members, soon after, slaves in the First Baptist congregation began attending special worship services conducted by a white missionary and a slave preacher, the Rev. Jacob Fontaine, a . . . — Map (db m42887) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13106 — First Cumberland Presbyterian Church of Austin|
|In 1853, missionary Rev. E.B. Crisman formally organized the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in Austin. Members met in a frame building at 7th and Lavaca streets until 1892, when they replaced it with a stone structure. In 1906, a dispute over a church merger that led all the way to the Texas Supreme Court forced the Cumberland members to move and turn their building over to the Presbyterian USA Church. Eight years later, through elder R.M. Castleman, the congregation was able to buy back its . . . — Map (db m25879) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6418 — First United Methodist Church of Austin|
|In 1840, shortly after Austin was incorporated, the Rev.John Haynie (1786-1860), a Methodist circuit rider from the Mississippi Conference, led 14 members in forming this fellowship. They worshiped at temporary sites, including the Capitol building of Republic of Texas. In 1847 they completed their first church building, a wooden structure on Congress Avenue and 4th Street, during the pastorate of the Rev. Homer S. Thrall (1819-1894 ), circuit rider and well-known author of Texas and Methodist . . . — Map (db m25883) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6452 — Fischer House|
|Prussian native Joseph Fischer (1826-1889) constructed this home for his family in 1882 with the help of his son Francis. Skilled stonemasons, Joseph and Francis Fischer developed one of Austin’s leading masonry contracting businesses and worked in the construction of many notable area buildings, including the Texas Capitol. The Fischer House reflects the quality of their craftsmanship in the elaborate ornamentation of brick and native limestone. High Victorian Italianate in design, the home . . . — Map (db m25706) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13095 — Fiskville|
|Two area pioneers were Josiah Fisk, who arrived in 1846, and Edward Zimmerman, who came in 1854; both brought their families to the farming lands outside Austin. Zimmerman became the first Postmaster in 1873, when more than 150 people lived in Fiskville, a dispersed agricultural community along Little Walnut Creek. Most residents were farmers, but the settlement also supported several businesses. These included gins belonging to G.W. Corzine (Cazine), a former slave, and to Andrew Payton. The . . . — Map (db m25884) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13159 — Fort Magruder, C.S.A|
|During the Civil War, Fort Magruder was built near here west of Congress Avenue. Named for Gen. John Bankhead Magruder, commander of Texas Confederate forces, it was one of three forts planned to protect Austin from a possible Union attack from the coast. In the winter of 1863-64, Maj. Julius Kellersberg supervised building of the L-shaped earthen fort. Due to wartime manpower shortages, citizens provided slaves to construct the fort. Large enough for 200 soldiers, the fort was sited along what . . . — Map (db m69091) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14828 — French Legation|
|Erected in the year 1841 by Conte Alphonse Dubois De Saligny, Charge D’Affaires for King Louis Philippe of France, to the Texas Republic. He lived here 1841-1842.
House constructed of Bastrop pine, in Louisiana bayou style.
Furnishings include several pieces once owned by Saligny.
Purchased by State of Texas in 1945. Placed in custody of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas, who restored the house and maintain the property. — Map (db m25673) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15113 — Gen. George W. Terrell|
|Born in Kentucky 1803. Came to Texas in 1840 from Mississippi. Associate Justice, supreme court, 1840. Secretary of State, 1841. Attorney General, 1841-42. Charge d'affairs of the Republic of Texas to England, France and Spain 1844-45. Died in Austin, Texas May 17, 1846. — Map (db m25693) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14984 — General Moseley Baker|
|Commanded Co. D., First Regiment of Texas Volunteers at San Jacinto. A member of 1st and 3rd Congresses of the Republic and later a Brigadier General of Militia. Born in Virginia Sept. 20, 1802. Died in Houston, Texas Nov. 4, 1848. His wife Eliza Ward Baker. Died in Houston, Texas Feb. 4, 1849. — Map (db m25765) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 2162 — George W. Sampson Home|
|Former Confederate Army Captain and leading Austin merchant George W. Sampson (1825-88) married Mary Goodwin Hall (b. 1845), niece of Gov. Edmund J. Davis. Their wedding in 1872 was the first held in the Governor’s Mansion. In 1875 the Sampsons built this house of native limestone, hand-cut at the site. A cistern stored rainwater for what was possibly Austin’s first complete indoor plumbing system. The gallery with Corinthian columns was added in the 1920s. — Map (db m26497) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14088 — George Washington Carver Branch Library|
|In Feb. 1926 the Austin Public Library opened in a room over a downtown store. Within months, the books were moved to this structure, built at Guadalupe and Ninth St., across from Wooldridge Park. In 1933, with completion of a permanent library facility, the original building was relocated here to meet the request of the black community for its own library. The frame structure was brick veneered and named for black educator George Washington Carver. Directed by Hattie Henson, 1933-43, this was the first branch in the Austin library system. — Map (db m25793) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15541 — George Weedon|
| Permanently wounded in the
Battle of San Jacinto while serving in
Captain William S. Fisher's company
Died January 18, 1842
near Old Cincinnati in
Walker County, Texas — Map (db m44785) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15632 — Gerhard-Schoch House|
|Merchant Philip Henry Gerhard (1850-1906) and wife Lena had this house built by contractor Herman S. Love in 1887. It was said to be first 2-story brick veneer home in Austin; it was enlarged in 1891. The Gerhards’ daughter Clara and her husband, eminent University of Texas chemical engineering professor Dr. Eugene Paul Schoch (1871-1961), inherited and moved into the homestead in 1912. Since 1955 three later generations have lived in and preserved Gerhard House. — Map (db m25889) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12732 — German Free School|
|German Free School Education was a primary concern for the new German immigrants who arrived in Texas in the 1840s and 1850s. Although Texas did not have a system of free public education at that time, it did offer subsidies for students attending private tuition schools who could not pay. The German-Texans organized a number of schools under this system, paying for teachers and buildings with a combination of state funds, donations and tuition.
In September 1857, the German-Texans in Austin . . . — Map (db m25890) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14770 — Gethsemane Church|
|The first Lutheran church in Travis County. Organized Dec. 12, 1868, by Swedish pioneers under leadership of Swante Palm.
Site of first church building was 11 blocks SW; this structure was erected in 1883. It contains stone hauled in wheelbarrows from Texas Capitol that burned 1881. The present ornate, paneled doors came (1934) from old main building at University of Texas.
Architecture is typical of many rural Swedish churches. — Map (db m25891) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14373 — Gilfillan House|
|This residence was constructed in 1905 for William L. Gilfillan (d.1932), one of the founders and directors of the Austin National Bank. Designed by the prominent Austin architect Charles H. Page, Jr., the two-story brick home reflects a mixture of popular pre-World War I architectural styles, including Mission Revival and the Prairie School. In 1931 the home was purchased by Julius G. Knape, a Swedish stonemason and contractor.
Recorded Texas Historic Landmark — Map (db m25893) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6455 — Goodall Wooten House|
|Goodall Harrison Wooten (1869-1942) was born in Paris, Texas, the son of Confederate veteran Dr. Thomas Dudley Wooten and his wife, Henrietta Goodall Wooten. Goodall Harrison Wooten attended the University of Texas, where he earned Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees; and Columbia University, where he received a medical degree in 1895. He established a medical practice in Austin, and in 1897 married Ella Newsome (1878-1972).
Construction of this house began in 1898 and was completed in January . . . — Map (db m25707) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6438 — Goodman Building|
|Probably constructed in the early 1890s, this commercial building is noted for its decorative brickwork and iron railing. Built for grocer Joseph Goodman, the main floor served as his store until 1924. The upper floor was used from 1892 until about 1896 for Jacob Bickler’s German and English Academy, an elite preparatory school. From its significant location near the State Capitol, the Goodman Building stands as a reminder of Austin’s early commercial history. — Map (db m25700) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15101 — Governor Andrew Jackson Hamilton — The First Republican Governor of Texas|
|Nicknamed “Colossal Jack” because of his imposing stature and his oratorical skill, A.J. Hamilton was born in Alabama. He migrated to Texas about 1846. A lawyer, he served as acting Attorney General of Texas in 1850. His residence once stood one mile east of here while representing Travis County in the 4th Texas Legislature, 1851-53. He donated land for establishing the State Cemetery.
Elected to the U.S. Congress in 1859, Hamilton took a Unionist stand during the secession . . . — Map (db m25965) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13934 — Governor Edmund Jackson Davis — October 2, 1827 – February 7, 1883|
|Born in Florida, E.J. Davis became a lawyer and judge after moving to Texas. During the Civil War (1861-65), he commanded a regiment of Texas Unionists and rose to the rank of Brigadier General.
During the reconstruction era, Davis led the radical wing of the Texas Republican Party. In Nov. 1869 he narrowly defeated moderate Republican A.J. Hamilton for the Governorship in an election marred by charges of fraud. Davis took office in Jan. 1870, and Texas was readmitted to the Union the . . . — Map (db m25824) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14643 — Governor Elisha Marshall Pease|
|In 1835 E.M. Pease migrated to Texas from his native Connecticut. He joined the Texian forces at the Battle of Gonzales, Oct. 2, 1835, which initiated the Texas War for Independence. In the early days of the Republic, he worked as a government clerk and later served in the Legislature and Senate. He was a prominent lawyer in Brazoria when elected Governor in 1853.
During Gov. Pease’s first two terms in office, 1853-57, a permanent school fund was established and Texas first free public . . . — Map (db m26210) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14797 — Governor James Edward Ferguson August 31, 1871 -September 21, 1944 — Governor Miriam A. Ferguson June 13, 1875 - June 25, 1961|
|James Ferguson, son of a Methodist preacher, and Miriam Wallace, daughter of a wealthy farmer, were Bell County natives. They married in 1899 and later settled with their two daughters in Temple. James, running as “Farmer Jim”, won the Governorship in 1914. His first term saw improvement of rural schools and the prison system, and relief for tenant farmers. In 1917 he began a second term, but within months he was impeached on charges that included mishandling of state funds; . . . — Map (db m25874) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6444 — Green Pastures|
|This Victorian home, located on the 1835 Isaac Decker Grant, was built in 1894-95 by Dr. E. W. Herndon and sold in 1912 to Judge W. W. Burnett. It became the residence in 1916 of lawyer Henry Faulk (1867-1939), his wife Martha (Miner) (1878-1957), and their children, Hamilton, Martha, Mary, John Henry, and Texana. Naming the home "Green Pastures," Mary and her Husband Chester Koock opened it for public dining in 1946. It was purchased in 1969 by their son Ken Koock and Lee Buslett. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark. — Map (db m25702) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14554 — Grinninger Fence|
|First known use of barbed wire in Texas (1857), by John Grinninger, immigrant from Europe, worker in an early Austin iron foundry. Grinninger, who lived on Waller Creek (NE of here) grew fruit, vegetables and flowers. To protect garden, he ran homemade barbed wire along top of his fence. Noted peace officer and sometime outlaw Ben Thompson is said to have recalled years later that in youth he tore jeans on that fence. Grinninger was murdered in 1862. In 1867 first U.S. patent on barbed wire was . . . — Map (db m25896) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14700 — Henry G. Madison Cabin|
|Built about 1863 at 807 east 11th Street; homestead of Henry Green Madison (1843-1912), policeman and farmer, his wife Louise, and their eight children. In 1886, Madison built a frame house enclosing the cabin, which remained hidden until a razing crew found it in 1968.
The log structure was donated to the city of Austin in 1968 by Mrs. Ninabelle Wooten, dismantled and reassembled on this site in 1973 as an exhibit dedicated to the black heritage of the city. — Map (db m25672) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12736 — Henry H. and Bertha Sterzing Ziller House|
|Henry (1853-1924) and Bertha (1857-1900) Ziller, both members of families who came to the Austin area from Germany, married in 1876 and purchased this property in 1881. Records indicate that a residence, built about 1877, already existed on the site. About 1891, the Zillers began making additions and modifications to the house, including the elaborate Eastlake ornamentation on the porches. Reflecting a period of growth and prosperity in Austin around the turn of the 20th century, the Ziller house remained in the family until 1939. — Map (db m26774) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15055 — Henry Smith|
|Henry Smith (1788-1851) immersed himself in public affairs soon after arriving in Texas in 1827. Initially a local political leader in what is now Brazoria County, he was appointed in 1835 as a delegate to the San Felipe Consultation, which met to determine Texas’ position toward the Mexican dictatorship established by Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna. Contrary to Smith’s desire for independence, the Consultation voted to support the 1824 Mexican Federal Constitution, but established a provisional . . . — Map (db m26540) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6459 — Herblin – Shoe House|
|Built in 1899-1900 by local contractor John Allen Greathouse for the William H. Herblin family. This house was located in the neighborhood known as “Quality Hill”, construction costs totaled $2,500. The William B. Shoe family purchased the home in 1927. Classical Revival alterations to the original Eastlake/Queen Anne house reflect changing tastes in the early 20th century and include massive ionic columns. The original brick exterior was stuccoed before 1917. — Map (db m25709) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6441 — Hirshfeld Cottage|
|German native Henry Hirshfeld (1834-1911) migrated to the United States at the age of fifteen. After working with his two uncles in Mobile, Alabama, he moved to Georgetown (28 mi. N), where he enlisted in the Confederate Army.
Following his service in the Civil War, Hirshfeld moved to Austin and entered the mercantile business. By 1868, when he married Jennie Melasky, he owned a clothing store and was becoming a prominent businessman of the city. Three years later Governor E.J. Davis . . . — Map (db m25969) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6440 — Hirshfeld House|
|Henry Hirshfeld (1834-1911), a native of Germany, was a prominent Austin merchant and a leader in the city’s Jewish community. In 1873 he and his wife Jennie (Melasky) built a one-story limestone cottage on the lot west of this site. Because of their financial success and a growing family, they later made plans for a larger home here.
Construction of this two-story brick and cut stone house began in 1885 and the family moved in a year after completion. Designed and built by architect John . . . — Map (db m25971) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12242 — Hodnette House|
|A rare and important example of the Craftsman Aesthetic designed by prominent Austin architect Charles H. Page Sr., this house was built in 1909 for Austin businessman Milton Hodnette. Horizontal emphasis, broad overhanging eaves, a generous porch, the use of local limestone to contrast with brick, and the lanterns (possibly made y local craftsman Fortunat Weigl and common n Charles Page’s designs) are all hallmarks of the style. The stone from a low wall that originally encircled the property . . . — Map (db m25972) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14733 — Hotel Provident and Heierman Building|
|Built in 1887, apparently as a hotel, for Tom Smith. Contractor was Austin Mayor Joseph Nalle. The “Hotel Provident” operated under various names until the 1920s. In conjunction with the hotel, the lower floor housed numerous businesses, including a newspaper, a law office, the “Texas Invention Co.”, and, 1900-45, various enterprises of J. Frank and John G. Heierman. The façade, with its erroneous date, was altered after 1900. — Map (db m25979) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6471 — Hudson Bend|
|In 1854 Wiley Hudson (b.1825) and his family settled on the bend of Colorado River that was named for him. The 1860 census showed four families living in this vicinity, including Wiley Hudson with his wife Catherine and eight children, as well as a household headed by his father James. During the Civil War (1861-1865), Wiley Hudson, his two chaplain brothers and other relatives took up arms for the Confederacy. Three river fords enabled the pioneers to cross the Colorado to grind their corn at . . . — Map (db m29517) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6457 — Hugh B. Hancock House|
|Built in 1886, this house was originally located on 7th Street in the Robertson Hill area of East Austin. It was constructed for Hugh B. Hancock, a successful black businessman of the city. In 1904 it was sold to German native Charles Frederick Mann, a local railroad engineer, and it remained in his family until 1959. Built in the Victorian style with classical ornamentation, the residence was moved to this location in 1979. — Map (db m25966) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14424 — Hyde Park|
|Advertised in 1892 as “The most fashionable part of the wealthiest and most aristocratic ward in the city”, Hyde Park was Austin’s first planned suburb. Encompassing an area bordered by the present streets of Guadalupe, 38th, Duval, and 45th, it was promoted by Monroe M. Shipe (1847-1924), President of the Austin Rapid Transit Railway Co. and the M.K.&T. Land and Town Co.
Shipe arranged for an electric streetcar line to run from Congress avenue to Hyde Park. He built a lake and . . . — Map (db m25991) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6429 — Ira Hobart Evans — April 11, 1844 - April 19, 1922|
|Born in New Hampshire, Ira H. Evans grew up in Vermont. During the Civil War he served in the Union Army, attaining the rank of Major. He received the Congressional Medal of Honor and in 1865 was a member of the Honor Guard for the funeral of President Lincoln.
Following the war Evans was stationed in Texas along the Rio Grande until 1866. After his discharge from the Army in 1867, he returned to the area as an agent for the Freedmen’s Bureau. He was elected to the Texas Legislature in 1869 . . . — Map (db m43652) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14242 — J. Frank Dobie House|
|Built in 1925, this house was occupied by eminent Texas author, educator, and folklorist J. Frank Dobie (1888-1964) and his wife Bertha from 1926 until their deaths. Dobie, who taught a popular course at the University of Texas on the life and literature of the southwest, wrote many of his books here, and often mentioned his home “on Waller Creek” in the books’ prefaces. Among the friends who visited here were Carl Sandburg, Walter P. Webb, and Roy Bedichek. Exhibiting elements of . . . — Map (db m25851) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14635 — J. L. Buaas Building|
|Norwegian immigrant John L. Buaas moved to Austin in 1839 and in 1872 was appointed city alderman by reconstruction Governor E.J. Davis. In 1875 he built a mercantile store here. The two-story Italianate commercial structure was designed with two facades, one facing Pine (5th) Street, and the other on Pecan (6th) Street. Buaas sold the building in 1879, and since then it has been used for various commercial establishments and is now part of the revitalization of Old Pecan Street. — Map (db m25781) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6450 — J.P. Schneider Store|
|In the mid-1860s, shortly after the Civil War, Jacob Peter “Jake” Schneider (1852-1925) began working in William Brueggerhoff’s general mercantile store, and part-time as a legislative page in the Capitol. About 1870, he and his mother, Margarita Schneider, opened a store on the corner across the street (north). Brueggerhoff helped stock the enterprise in payment of a debt. In 1873, as the business expanded, Schneider built this two-story brick structure, and converted the older . . . — Map (db m26498) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15048 — Jacob Fontaine|
|Jacob Fontaine was born in Arkansas and came to Austin about 1850 as a slave of Episcopal minister Edward Fontaine. In 1864 Jacob began preaching separate services for fellow slaves attending the First Baptist Church, then founded the First Baptist Church, Colored, about 1867. Jacob also established five other churches in this area and a county association of Black Baptists. He was politically active; published the “Gold Dollar,” an early black newspaper; and urged black voters to . . . — Map (db m25885) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14246 — Jacob Larmour House|
|This Victorian cottage was built in 1875 for architect Jacob Larmour (1822-1901), who came to Austin with his family in 1871. He played a major role in the design of many of the city’s commercial and residential buildings and was appointed state architect in 1879. Pharmacist Oscar G. Eckhardt bought the home in 1910, and it remained in his family for more than 50 years. Originally located at 1909 Whitis, the house was moved to this location in 1979. — Map (db m26035) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14254 — Jacob Leser House|
|After purchasing this land in 1859, German-born Jacob Leser (1827-1901) erected a log cabin and a frame structure to house his soap and candle factory. Before 1864, when he married Henrietta Schroeder (1841-89), Leser added this stone wing to the cabin. He built the porch and the brick-and-frame Victorian rooms in the 1880s. Cabin was later removed. Occupied until 1951 by Leser heirs, the home was bought in 1952 by Gen. and Mrs. Felipe A. Latorre, who restored and enlarged it. — Map (db m26040) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14704 — James Allison York|
| Participated in the Capture
of San Antonio, 1835
A member of
Capt. Moseley Baker's company
at San Jacinto
Born in Kentucky
on July 4, 1800
Died in Lavaca County, Texas
February 6, 1869 — Map (db m44789) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15533 — James G. Wilkinson|
|A member of Capt. Wm. W. Hill’s company at San Jacinto. Born in Kentucky March 5, 1805. Died in Lee County, Texas August 15, 1848. Here also sleeps Amanda Wilkinson, wife of James G. Wilkinson. — Map (db m25738) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15236 — James L. Farmer, Jr. — (Jan. 12, 1920 - Jul. 9, 1999)|
|Civil rights leader James Leonard Farmer, Jr., son of Pearl (Houston) and Dr. James L. Farmer, Sr., lived here as a child from 1925-30. James, Sr. taught at Samuel Huston College (now Huston-Tillotson University). In 1942, James, Jr. founded the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), which trained civil rights leaders in Ghandi-inspired nonviolent civil disobedience tactics to protest racial discrimination. Under Farmer’s leadership, CORE organized the 1961 “Freedom Riders” to . . . — Map (db m42985) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14103 — James Wales Jones|
|Born in Georgia, 1797 One of the “Old Three Hundred” Austin colonists A soldier in the Texas War for Independence Died 1847 His wife, Hetty Stiles Jones Died 1899 — Map (db m26001) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15417 — Jane Yelvington McCallum|
|One of the most prominent leaders of the Texas woman suffrage movement of the early 20th century, Jane Y. McCallum lived in this house with her husband, Arthur N., and five children. As a member of the Texas Joint Legislative Council (nicknamed “The Petticoat Lobby”), she worked for political and social reform through the Texas Legislature. Appointed Secretary of State by Gov. Dan Moody in 1927, she was reappointed by Gov. Ross Sterling in 1931. During her term of office she . . . — Map (db m26142) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14753 — Johann Jacob Groos — Texas Land Commissioner — March 6, 1822 - June 15, 1878|
|A professional surveyor before and after coming to Texas in 1845 from his native Germany, J.J. Groos helped open New Braunfels area to settlement. He served 1849-65 as a Comal County official, and was in Confederate militia during Civil War (1861-65). In 1874, Groos was elected Commissioner of the General Land Office of Texas and served four years, until his death.
Married to Katharine Blieder, he was father of seven children. — Map (db m25897) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15075 — John Edward Lewis|
|A member of Captain W. J. F. Heard's Company in the Battle of San Jacinto. Born in New York City, October 3, 1808, died April 1, 1892. His wife Anna (Scott) Lewis Born in Albany, N. Y. 1812 died May 24, 1896. — Map (db m25690) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14844 — John Hawkins Singleton|
|Served in the Army of Texas, 1836, the Army of the United States in the Mexican War, 1846, the Confederate Army, 1861-1865. Born in Kentucky June 25, 1818. Died in Ellis County, Texas August 3, 1884.
His wife Rebecca Ann (Barker) Singleton. Born in Tennessee October 9, 1830. Died in Ellis County, Texas May 8, 1901. — Map (db m26536) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15538 — John Litton|
A soldier of the San Jacinto Army. Born in South Carolina
1812. Died July 4, 1856. — Map (db m25595) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14224 — John Williams, Howell Hoggett, William Atkinson, Daniel Hornsby|
|To John Williams and Howell Gaggett. Killed by Indians in May, 1836 while detailed from Captain John J. Tumlinson’s company of Rangers to help protect the families of the Hornsby’s settlement on returning from the “Run Away Scrape”.
To William Atkinson. Pioneer Ranger buried near Daniel Hornsby when both were killed by Indians June 7, 1845. — Map (db m25751) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12793 — Joseph and Mary Robinson Martin House|
|Prominent Austin contractor George Fiegel completed this house in 1903 for Joseph Anthony (1867-1947) and Mary (Robinson)(d. 1934) Martin. A noted wild game conservationist, Joe Martin primarily is associated in Austin business history with the Austin White Lime Company. After Mary’s sister died in 1918, the Martins reared three of her children in their home, requiring an addition on the southwest corner of the house. Exhibiting elements of both Queen Anne and Colonial Revival styles of . . . — Map (db m26126) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14153 — Joseph Baker|
|Born in Maine 1804. Died in Austin, Texas July 11, 1846. One of the founders of “The Telegraph and Texas Register” at San Felipe De Austin, October 10, 1835. A soldier at San Jacinto. First Chief Justice of Bexar County, 1836. Member of the Congress of the Republic, 1837. — Map (db m25767) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14315 — Josephus Hornsby|
|To Josephus Hornsby Mar. 15, 1822 Oct. 21, 1862. Son of Reuben Hornsby; settled here, 1832, Bastrop ranger, 1837. In Flores Fight, 1839 Battle of Plum Creek, 1840 Brushy Fight, 1840, Vasquez and Woll Campaigns, 1842; led fight against Indians from whom he rescued William Bell and Alexander Coleman in Austin, 1842.
His wife Eliza Ann Lane Feb. 14, 1830 Sept 6, 1892. — Map (db m25662) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15198 — Judge Calvin Maples Cureton — September 1, 1874 – April 8, 1940|
|Born in Bosque County of a noted pioneer family. A legislator (1909-13); first Assistant Attorney General (1913-18); Attorney General (1918-21). As Chief Justice (1921-40) Texas Supreme Court, recorded longest service in court’s first century.
With wife Nora (Morris), built this house in 1928. — Map (db m25822) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12826 — King-Tears Mortuary|
|In October 1901, William M. Tears opened the Tears Funeral Home at 614 E. 6th Street to provide mortuary services for African Americans in Austin and the surrounding area. Upon his death in 1923, his son William M. Tears, Jr. became manager of the firm. In 1933, Mr. and Mrs. Charles B. King opened King and Company (later King Funeral Home) at 1107 E. 6th Street. Tears relocated to this site in 1934, and King completed extensive remodeling in 1936. In 1955, these two historic east Austin . . . — Map (db m26008) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13522 — King-Von Rosenberg House|
|In 1916, the heirs of Gov. Elisha Pease established the Enfield Realty and Home Building Company and began dividing the Pease estate into what would become Austin’s Enfield neighborhood. Six years later, Belmont “Belle” Graham, a cousin to the Pease heirs, and her husband, Florian Bibb King, built their home at this site. Nina Electa and Frederick Charles Von Rosenberg bought the house in 1928, and the property remained in their family until 1988. The historic home exhibits . . . — Map (db m25627) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13941 — Kopperl House|
|Built in 1896 at a cost of $4,200, this home was purchased the same year by sportswoman Loula Dale Kopperl (1861-1919). She and her husband Morris lived here prior to their divorce in 1912, and she continued to occupy the home until her death. The late Victorian-era cottage retains its Eastlake style ornamentation in the fine milled-wood detailing and pyramidal roof with crowned deck. It stands as one of the best examples of its style in the city. — Map (db m26009) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6472 — Laguna Gloria|
|This Mediterranean style villa was built in 1916 for Henry H. and Clara Driscoll Sevier. Named Laguna Gloria for a nearby lagoon off the Colorado River, the stuccoed home features a decorative window that resembles the rose window at San Jose mission in San Antonio. In 1943 the site was conveyed to the Texas Fine Arts Assoc. by Clara Driscoll, best known for her efforts to preserve the Alamo. Her homesite is now owned by Laguna Gloria Art Museum. — Map (db m26033) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15110 — Las Ventanas|
|Built 1875-1876 by A.J. Jernigan, Travis County treasurer, 1873-1888 and 1894-1896; of handmade, sun dried brick in transitional style between Greek revival and Victorian period, 1880's-1890's.
Name - meaning “the windows” - is for imaginatively pedimented windows and doors unique in this area similar to Georgian homes near Washington, D.C.
Originally facing south, entry is now "Charleston Style" on Harthan Street. — Map (db m25691) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13847 — Lilia and Josephine Casis|
|Josephine (1873-1947) and Lilia (1869-1947) Casis were reared in Jamaica, where their European parents educated them in the classics, languages, and music, before they moved to Texas in 1890. Josephine earned a teaching degree and taught at Austin’s Palm School for 33 years. Lilia pursued graduate studies in Europe and at the University of Texas, where in 1916 she became the first woman full professor. The Casis sisters left their estates to the University of Texas; in 1951 the Austin School . . . — Map (db m25795) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12734 — Littlefield Building|
|George Washington Littlefield (1842-1920) came to Texas from Mississippi in 1850. After serving in Terry’s Texas Rangers in the Civil War, he made his fortune ranching and driving cattle. He moved to Austin in 1883 and, in 1890, established the American National Bank, which included a ladies’ banking department. He hired architect C.H. Page, Jr., to design this Beaux Arts classical building, which opened in 1912 with a rooftop garden. His bank was on the ground floor. For the corner entrance, . . . — Map (db m26041) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14889 — Littlefield Home|
|George W. Littlefield (1842-1920) came to Texas with his family in 1850. He served in the Civil War with Terry’s Texas Rangers, attaining the rank of Major. Following the war he became a cattleman and acquired ranches in New Mexico and the Texas panhandle. He came to Austin in 1883 and engaged in banking. A regent of the University of Texas, 1911-1920, he contributed funds for new buildings, study grants and library collections. Littlefield built this Victorian residence in 1894. Designed by . . . — Map (db m26042) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14469 — M.M. Long’s Livery Stable and Opera House|
|When M.M. Long and his family moved here from Bastrop in the 1860s, the first floor of this structure served as the livery stable for Long’s Austin to Burnet and Lampasas stage line. On the second floor Long ran an opera house which was used for public meetings and concerts. In 1867 a federal courtroom and in 1900 an Oddfellows hall occupied the second story. Through the years a publishing company, a saloon and a billiard parlor, tobacco, drug, jewelry, and dry goods stores have used this centrally located building. — Map (db m26044) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6462 — Major John B. Jones — 1834-1881|
|Famed defender of the frontier. Instilled ideals of excellence into Texas Rangers.
Born in South Carolina. Came to Republic of Texas 1839. Educated at Old Baylor and Rutersville, where students had to defend school from Indian attacks.
In Civil War, 1861-65, served with Terry’s Texas Rangers and Speight’s Texas infantry battalion.
Was appointed May 1, 1874, by Governor Richard Coke to organize and field the frontier battalion Texas Rangers. Duty was to stop Indian depredations, bandit . . . — Map (db m26002) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12249 — Major William Martin “Buck” Walton — January 17, 1832 – July 1, 1915|
|Mississippi native William M. “Buck” Walton attended the University of Virginia and studied law in Carrollton, Mississippi. In 1853 he moved to Austin, where his first law partner was A.J. Hamilton, later Governor of Texas. In 1862 he enlisted in the Confederate Army, serving in Co. B, 21st Texas Cavalry. He was elected Texas Attorney General in 1866. In the practice of law he had few peers in land litigation, and was considered one of the best criminal defense attorneys in Texas. . . . — Map (db m25718) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14070 — Martin Parmer|
|Born in Virginia, June 4, 1778. Died in Jasper County, March 2, 1850. A delegate to the Constitutional Convention of Missouri, 1821. Senator in Legislature of Missouri. Second in command in the Fredonian War in Texas, 1826. Member of the Consultation 1835. Signed the Declaration of Independence, 1836. Parmer County, Texas named in his honor. — Map (db m26205) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6445 — Mary Street Stone House|
|This residence is one of several erected in south Austin during the 1890's by Developer Nichols Dawson (1864-1939). Constructed of stone quarried in the vicinity, the small houses were similar in design, with Hexagonal front bays. Dawson's partner in the real estate venture was his sister Mary (Molly) (1853-1933), a prominent local educator. She was principal of Fulmore school in south Austin and later operated her own private school. — Map (db m26127) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13654 — Mathews School|
|In 1916, the Austin School District built three elementary schools, including two identical ones: Metz on the east side of town and Mathews on the west. Architect Dennis R. Walsh designed both schools, but only Mathews remains in use. Named for Dr. William J. Mathews, a physician and original school board member, the building has several additions, including a 1930s renovation by the firm of Giesecke and Harris. The central façade remains intact, with symmetrical composition reflecting a . . . — Map (db m26138) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14445 — Maud Anna Berry Smith Fuller|
| One of Austin's most revered African American civic and religious leaders, Maud Anna Berry Smith Fuller is best remembered for her generosity, inspirational speeches, Baptist missionary activity, teaching abilities, and compassion for those less fortunate than herself.
The daughter of Hugh and Anna Berry, Maud was born and reared in Lockhart, where she attended public school. After completing her studies at Guadalupe College in Seguin and Tillotson College in Austin, she embarked on a . . . — Map (db m42888) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6420 — Mauthe-Myrick Mansion|
|Rafael Mauthe (1820-79), a German stonemason, built this house in 1877 on land purchased from the noted architect Abner Cook in 1856. Mauthe’s wife Mary (d. 1898) lived here after his death and managed the nearby family rental property. In 1898 the home was sold to Anne Katherine Brown Myrick (d. 1947), the daughter of Texas Supreme Court Justice T.J. Brown, who also lived here. The ornate porch added in 1903-04, features detailing of the Greek Revival and Classical styles. — Map (db m26139) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 16037 — Merrilltown Cemetery|
|This burial ground has served the surrounding area since the early 1850s. Most of those interred here lived in the Merrilltown community, which Captain Nelson Merrell (d. 1879) established when he settled here in 1837. He operated the post office and a store in the community. Captain Merrell deeded this property to trustees of School District #9 in 1856 for use as a burial ground; he also deeded land for a church and school. Merrell served as Travis County Commissioner (1852-1859) and assisted . . . — Map (db m42884) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15642 — Metropolitan African Methodist Episcopal Church|
|This congregation began meeting for informal worship services during the early 1870s at the home of Tempie Washington. By 1873, the thirteen original members were meeting in their own sanctuary on San Antonio street. The Rev. Frank Green served as first pastor.
While plans were being drawn for a new church building, the original structure burned in 1883. Worship services were temporarily held in Smith’s Opera House on W. Sixth street. By 1884, members of Metropolitan African Methodist . . . — Map (db m26148) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14112 — Michael Paggi House|
|Built here prior to the Civil War on land owned by Col. S.W. Goodrich (d. 1868), this house was located near a low-water crossing of the Colorado River. A planter, Goodrich owned a sawmill, grist mill, and cotton gin. Michael Paggi (d. 1911), a native of Italy, bought the Greek Revival home in 1884. His Austin businesses included an ice company and a carriage shop. Ownership of the residence was transferred to his daughter Helen (Paggi) Powell in 1906. — Map (db m29538) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12979 — Millbrook (Roy-Hardin House)|
|William Carroll "Cal" Roy (1851-1916) and Annie (Stanley) Roy (1851-1925) bought this Bouldin mill site in 1894 from Powhatan Bouldin, heir of James E. Bouldin (1796-1876), the original owner. It was converted into a home, and here the Roy’s reared children Robert E. "Rob," Addie M., Jessie, Adele and Inca. The family sold the home in 1939 to Ernest Randolph Hardin (1902-1987) and his wife, Maurine (Underwood) (1900-1946). The Hardins, both drama professors, eclectically restored the . . . — Map (db m26149) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14007 — Moore’s Crossing Bridge|
|This structure was originally part of a six-span bridge across the Colorado River at Congress Avenue in Austin. Constructed there in 1884, it was designed by the King Iron Bridge and Manufacturing Co. of Cleveland, Ohio. In 1910 it was dismantled and placed in storage. Five years later three spans were rebuilt here but destroyed the same year in a flood. The current bridge, comprised of the remaining spans, was completed in 1922. — Map (db m26159) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12243 — Moore-Flack House|
|Local contractor Charles Funk built this house for John M. and Estelle Moore in 1887 at a cost of $2,000. At that time John M. Moore (1853-1902), a former Texas legislator and District Attorney, was Secretary of State for Governor Lawrence Sullivan (Sul) Ross. Laura A.E. (Metz) Flack (1836-1933) purchased the house in 1901, and in the 1920s modified the original Victorian design with the addition of a two-story Neo-Classical Revival porch. A prominent Austin businesswoman who owned a number of . . . — Map (db m26158) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15032 — Moore-Hancock Farmstead|
|Irish native Martin Moore and his wife, Elizabeth Ann (White), left their Austin residences and prosperous Pecan (6th) Street mercantile business and moved to a farm north of town about 1850. Their 521-acre farm, which included this property, was inherited by Elizabeth in 1846. The Moore's built the original framework of these sensitively restored log structures and out buildings at this site as early as 1849. Although modified over the years, they represent a rare surviving example of local . . . — Map (db m25686) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Moses Austin — (October 4, 1761 - June 10, 1821)|
|The initiator of Anglo-American settlement in Texas. Moses Austin was a native of Durham, Connecticut. After his marriage to Mary Brown in 1785, Austin became a leading figure in the development of the American lead industry. His business took him to Virginia and then west to the Mississippi Valley. A colonizer and pioneer as well, Austin helped establish several frontier communities.
Moses Austin’ decision to venture into a colonization enterprise in the Spanish territory of Texas led him . . . — Map (db m26784) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Mount Bonnell|
|Rising 775 feet above sea level, this limestone height was named for George W. Bonnell, who came to Texas with others to fight for Texas independence, 1836. Was commissioner of Indian Affairs in Republic of Texas under president Sam Houston. Moved in 1839 to Austin; there published the "Texas Sentinel", 1840. Member Texan-Santa Fe expedition, 1841. Was captured but released in time to join Mier expedition, 1842. Was killed in camp on Rio Grande, Dec, 26, 1842.
Frontiersman W.A.A. "Bigfoot" . . . — Map (db m20136) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15031 — Mount Olive Baptist Church|
|The Mount Olive Baptist Church congregation was organized March 3, 1889, in the vicinity of Masontown, one of Austin's earliest African settlements. The early years of the congregation coincided with a period of intense optimism and community activism in the historic neighborhood (bounded by E. 3rd, E. 6th, Chicon, and Waller Streets). A number of significant African American religious and educational institutions were established in and around Masontown during this period, including Tillotson . . . — Map (db m25685) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13620 — Norwood Tower|
|This building was once the tallest structure in Austin’s downtown area other than the State Capitol. Dwarfed by other structures by the late 20th century, the Norwood Tower remains unique in its design and elaborate detailing.
In 1925, Ollie O. Norwood (1887-1961) bought this site and hired the firm of Giesecke and Harris to design an office building. Bertram E. Giesecke (1892-1950) was the son of F.E. Giesecke, an architect, engineer, and educator known for his experiments with reinforcing . . . — Map (db m25630) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14859 — O. Henry — (William Sydney Porter, Sept. 11, 1862 – June 5, 1910)|
|Born in Greensboro, N.C., moved to Texas in 1882, and lived on a ranch near Cortulla. Came to Austin in 1884, and in addition to writing, worked as a pharmacist, musician, draftsman, and bank teller. His first nationally published short story appeared in 1897.
Porter began writing under the name O. Henry during three years spent in prison. The 381 stories published in New York, 1902-10, won him international fame. O. Henry's collected works have been translated into 10 languages.
This . . . — Map (db m25675) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15479 — O. Henry Hall — The University of Texas System|
|Built during the period 1877-1881 as a federal courthouse and post office, this was the sixth United States Post Office location in Austin, dating from the establishment of the first post office in Austin in 1840. The building was constructed by Abner Cook, famed early Texas builder, at a cost of $200,000. James G. Hill of the U.S. Treasury Department was the supervising architect. Following construction of the new post office at 210 West Sixth Street in 1912-1914, the building continued to be . . . — Map (db m25587) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12695 — Oak Hill|
|First settlers arrived in area in 1840s. The community founded here in 1856 was called Live Oak Springs; in 1865 it was renamed Shiloh. Later schools known as Live Oak and Oatmanville gave names temporarily to the settlement. It has been known as Oak Hill since 1900.
Limestone quarries were opened, 1882, to supply stone for capitol building in Austin. By 1886, ten carloads of stone were shipped daily over railroad which joined quarries with capitol grounds. It is estimated that one-third of . . . — Map (db m26185) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14309 — Oakwood Cemetery|
|In 1839, when Austin was being opened as a site favored for the Capital of the Republic of Texas, a regular burial place was established in what is now the southwest part of Oakwood Cemetery. A decedent was buried on this hill at a spot to the right of Oakwood’s present main entrance and northwest of the Hebrew ground within the enclosure. It was not until Sept. 1, 1856, however, that the land legally became city property. On that day the legislature of Texas transferred the burial tract from . . . — Map (db m25661) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14748 — Okewell|
|This house was built in 1925 for Judge Robert Lynn Batts (1854-1935). A distinguished jurist, Batts served as Assistant Attorney General of Texas and the United States, Judge of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, and Chairman of the University of Texas Board of Regents. Designed by architecture professor Raymond Everett, the house exhibits elements of the Mediterranean and American Bungalow styles in its stuccoed walls, bracketed eaves, arcade, and tile roof. — Map (db m26187) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6439 — Old B.J. Smith Property|
|Purchased from State of Texas at auction in 1853, by Smith, a school proprietor. Structure, one of the better early homes in Austin, was probably built in the 1850’s.
Handmade hardware, doors, and other structural parts reveal fine workmanship. — Map (db m26539) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14949 — Old Bakery|
|Built 1876 by Chas. Lundberg. Bread then was not sliced or wrapped; children and maids waited with baskets to take home loaves hot from the oven. House specialties were sponge cake ladyfingers, glazed kisses, almond-meal macaroons.
A front balcony (since razed) permitted a later baker, Henry Maerki, to photograph parades, including one in 1901 for U.S. President William McKinley.
Now Austin Heritage Society’s tourist information center. — Map (db m26046) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14170 — Old I.V. Davis Homestead|
|On land granted by Mexico in 1835, just before Texas Revolution, this house was built in 1875. Owner Isaac Van Zandt Davis (1843-1897) worked in the General Land Office. Greek revival style home has 22” thick walls of stone quarried at Oak Hill. — Map (db m25825) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14442 — Old Quarry Site|
|Limestone quarried at this site was hauled to Congress Avenue by oxen and used in constructing the 1853 Texas Capitol Building. The structure burned in 1881, but stone from the Capitol ruins later used in several Austin building projects. The quarry site was originally part of the land granted to Tennessee native George Washington Davis (1806-1884) for his service in the Texas Revolution. Later inherited by his daughter-in-law Elvira T. Davis, the land was maintained as the family homestead for . . . — Map (db m61395) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12244 — Old Rock Store|
|Influenced by the style of early German rock buildings in central Texas, James Andrew Patton (1853-1944) supervised the construction of this building in 1898. A German mason laid the stone.
Patton fought Comanches as a Texas Ranger and was a civic leader and local postmaster. He was known affectionately as "the mayor of Oak Hill." He and his family, followed by others, operated a general store here for many years. The building also housed a local Woodmen of the World lodge hall on the second floor. — Map (db m26492) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14905 — Onion Creek Lodge 220, A.F. & A.M.|
|Onion Creek Lodge 220, A.F. & A.M. chartered, 1858. Met on this site in cabin later destroyed by Indians. This building completed, 1860.
First floor used by the Pleasant Hill school (oldest in continuous use in state) until 1935. Also used by the Cumberland Presbyterians. Old school Presbyterians, Baptists, Methodists, alternating Sundays.
Used by Creedmoor OES 607 since 1929, rainbow assembly 266 since 1956. — Map (db m26188) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14111 — Openheimer-Montgomery Building|
|This structure was built in 1894 for Texas military, business, and civic leader Louis Openheimer (1858-1906). Designed and constructed by John McDonald, a prominent citizen who served as Austin’s Mayor from 1889 to 1895, the building was sold in 1899 to the trustee for 12-year-old Fannie Montgomery and became part of her estate. The Queen Anne commercial structure features projecting second-story bay windows supported by Victorian jigsawn brackets. — Map (db m26189) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14191 — Original Site of First Baptist Church of Austin|
|The Rev. R.H. Taliaferro of Kentucky organized the First Baptist Church in July 1847. Worship services were first held in the Capitol and later moved to a frame building at 12th and Lavaca. The congregation met in the 700 block of Congress Avenue until it built its first sanctuary at this site in 1857. The structure was remodeled in the 1880s. A larger brick church was constructed here in 1916. It was razed when the congregation moved to 9th and Trinity in 1970. Many Governors, state officials, . . . — Map (db m25648) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 11783 — Original Site of First Methodist Church of Austin|
|Established in 1840 by the Rev. John Haynie (1786-1860), the First Methodist Church was Austin’s second Protestant congregation. Services were held in temporary quarters until members erected their first meeting house in 1847 at this site, then the corner of Cedar Street and Congress Avenue. The Rev. Homer S. Thrall (1819-1894) was Pastor when the small frame church was built. Thirty-five doctors from around the state met here January 17-19, 1853, to organize the Texas Medical Association. In . . . — Map (db m25881) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12363 — Original Site of First Presbyterian Church|
|The Rev. William M. Baker and five charter members organized the First Presbyterian Church of Austin on May 26, 1850. Abner H. Cook, future designer of the Governor's Mansion, was among the charter members and was elected a ruling elder. In 1851, members erected a wood frame building on two lots at this site, which Cook donated to the church. The members enlarged the structure in 1855, and in 1874 agreed to construct a stone building. They built the first floor and met there until funding was . . . — Map (db m25720) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14684 — Paramount Theatre|
|Originally called the “Majestic”, this theatre was erected in 1915 by businessman Ernest Nalle (1876-1950). Designed by the Chicago architectural firm of Eberson, Fugard, and Knapp, it was constructed under the direction of local architect George Endress. During the 1930s, the theatre was renamed the “Paramount” and was lavishly remodeled. Since its opening, the theatre has been a showcase for traveling vaudeville shows, dramatic and musical stage productions, and motion pictures. — Map (db m26203) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15397 — Pease Park|
|Named for family of 1853-57 Texas Governor, Elisha Marshall Pease (1812-83), within whose early-day plantation this area was situated. Gov. and Mrs. Pease on May 20, 1875, gave 23-acre site here on Shoal Creek to City of Austin for use as a public park. It was already a landmark, known as post-Civil War camping ground of Gen. George A. Custer (1839-76) and 200 federal soldiers.
Left undeveloped until about 1913, park was nevertheless used for all sorts of celebrations such as the annual . . . — Map (db m26207) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6413 — Pease School|
|This is one of the oldest school buildings in Texas erected from public funds; on university block set aside for school purposes by Republic of Texas in 1839. This school was opened in 1876; it was named for Gov. Elisha M. Pease (1812-1883), a leader in legislation that laid groundwork for support of public education in Texas.
Rooms at center of building were erected in 1876; restored after a fire in 1892. Additions were made in 1916 and 1926, and remodeling was done in 1949.
Thousands of . . . — Map (db m26209) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14600 — Peter Henry Oberwetter|
|A native of Germany, Peter Henry Oberwetter migrated to Texas about 1849 and settled first in New Braunfels, then Comfort. He later moved to Austin, where he gained distinction as a botanist. He pioneered in crossbreeding the Amaryllis, imported rare bulbs, and wrote articles regarding his botanical research. He was also a landscape artist for the State of Texas.
Married to Catherine Marie (Mary) Schade (d. 1914), he had six children. — Map (db m26186) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Petrified Forest Lodge — (Timber Lodge)|
|In the 1930’s, J.S. and Alta Woodard built one of Austin’s first tourist courts on the northern portion of this site. It was designed by local architect, Hugo Kuehne. Encased in petrified wood from Glen Rose, Texas, the 10 unit lodge appeared as an unusual, exotic western fantasy. The gleaming rock appearance appealed to overnight tourists traveling State Highway 2 (Guadalupe Street) en route to San Antonio or Dallas. In the early days of its history, the owners discovered a “Bonnie and . . . — Map (db m72225) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14891 — Philip Walker|
|A soldier in the Army of Texas. Arrived at San Jacinto April 22, 1836. Born in South Carolina March 11, 1815. Died in Johnson County, Texas July 11, 1897.
His wife Elizabeth (Cooper) Walker. Born in Tennessee October 21, 1827. Died in Johnson County, Texas July 22, 1868. — Map (db m25677) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15196 — Philquist-Wood House|
|Sweden native Sven Axel Philquist, local district clerk and later clerk of the Texas Supreme Court, hired Swedish builder F. Oscar Blomquist to build this family home in 1912. Following several subsequent owners, grocer Sam Wood purchased the house in 1943; it remained in the Wood family for more than 50 years. Today, the home exhibits its original detailing as a transitional hybrid, with influences of the Queen Anne, colonial revival and craftsman styles. The interior features an inglenook, . . . — Map (db m25695) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Pilot Knob|
|Pilot Knob the only example of an exposed submarine volcano in Texas, appears today as a prominent hill one mile northwest. It was formed some 80 million years ago on the bottom of a warm shallow sea which covered much of the continent during the cretaceous period. The molten rock which it spewed forth rose to the surface from deep within the earth's crust. Following a channel opened by a belt of fractures known as the Balcones Fault zone.
Reef organisms were attracted to the irregularity on . . . — Map (db m69231) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14334 — Platt-Simpson Building|
|Radcliff Platt constructed the original portion of this building about 1871. He operated a livery stable here until 1890 and lived in one side of the structure for a number of years. In 1901 J.S. Simpson (1854-1934) purchased and enlarged the earlier building to accommodate his hardware store, which occupied this location until the 1930s. the structure features large arched windows with stone trim and a decorative brick cornice. — Map (db m26337) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13094 — Price Daniel|
|Texas statesman Price Daniel (1910-1988) was born in Dayton, Texas, the son of M.P. and Nannie Partlow Daniel. His career in state and national politics spanned six decades and included service in all three branches of state government.
After graduating from Baylor Law School, Price Daniel established his law practice in Liberty before taking his first public office in the Texas House of Representatives in 1939. His strong record led to his election as Speaker of the Texas House in 1943. . . . — Map (db m25823) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13859 — Randerson-Lundell Building|
|Cornelius Randerson erected a one-story structure here in 1896 to house a grocery, feed, and wagon yard. John and Claus Lundell purchased the building in 1898 and in 1910 a second floor was added to board customers overnight. It remained in the Lundell family until 1926. A good example of a native limestone and brick commercial building, it features simple Classical detailing. A number of businesses have occupied the building. — Map (db m25632) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15556 — Rebecca Kilgore Stuart Red — 1827 - 1886|
|Rebecca Jane Kilgore Stuart became principal of Live Oak Female Seminary in Washington County, Texas, in 1853. In 1854 she married Dr. George Clark Red and continued teaching. The Reds moved to Austin in 1876, and opened Stuart Female Seminary at 1212 East 9th Street. Rebecca continued teaching until nine days before her death in 1886. She was buried in Oakwood Cemetery. Her heirs donated her property to the Presbyterian Synod of Texas in 1899. The Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary was operated at that site from 1902 until 1907. — Map (db m26346) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14457 — Reuter House|
|Built in 1934 for Louis Reuter (1886-1945) and his wife, this house offered a spectacular view of the city. Reuter worked as a grocer in his native San Antonio until 1918, when he came to Austin to open a self-service grocery store, an innovation for its time. The rambling one- and two-story stone veneer home reflects influences of the Spanish Colonial Revival style, and features cast-stone details and a red barrel-tile roof. — Map (db m29533) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14281 — Richard Ellis|
|Born in Virginia February 14, 1781. Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia, 1820. Signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence and President of the Constitutional Convention, 1836. Senator in the Congress of the Republic of Texas, 1836 to 1840. Died in Bowie County, Texas December 30, 1846.
Mary Danridge Ellis. Wife of Richard Ellis. Born in Virginia 1787. Died in Bowie County, Texas October 21, 1837.
Ellis County, Texas was named for Richard Ellis. — Map (db m25858) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Roberts-Teague Cemetery|
|In the 1860s, the Roberts and Teague families came to the Bee Cave area where, for generations, their skills as farmers, ranchers, cedar choppers, coal kiln burners, and homemakers helped to shape its development and culture. It is said that this cemetery was established in 1898 when Joseph Roberts (1842-1925) offered the site to the grieving Simons family for an infant’s burial. A number of veterans are laid to rest here, including Alfred R. (Buck) Simpson (1895-1961), the second most . . . — Map (db m26809) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 4309 — Robinson-Macken House|
|Built in 1876 for the family of Elizabeth and John Robinson, Sr., this two-and-one-half-story frame house is a fine example of the Second Empire style of architecture coupled with Italianate detailing. Located within the original 1839 Austin town plan drawn by Edwin Waller, it is in close proximity to the houses built by the locally prominent Bremond family (three blocks east). It shares stylistic similarities with the Bremond houses, now preserved as the Bremond Block Historic District. Three . . . — Map (db m26383) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14979 — Rocky Cliff|
|Built about 1871 by Daniel P. Kinney, who came to Austin in early 1850’s; original homesite, at the time an extensive farm, contained areas later in Zilker Park and Barton Heights.
Structure of hard limestone, with 20-inch walls, had rooms added as the family grew.
Purchased in 1937, restored and modernized by Dr. E. J. Lund. The Lunds used unique ceramic tiles and created wrought iron ornamentation, as new features. — Map (db m29540) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Sailor from the Belle Shipwreck|
|Buried here are the remains of a 17th-century sailor who was a member of an ill-fated 1684-87 French expedition to the new world led by Robert Cavelier, Sieur de La Salle. Texas Historical Commission archaeologists discovered the skeleton on October 31, 1996, during excavations of La Salle’s ship, the Belle, which sank during a 1686 storm in Matagorda Bay. Near the skeleton, archaeologists found a pewter cup inscribed C. Barange, as well as a small cask. According to historical accounts, the . . . — Map (db m26810) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14196 — Saint David’s Episcopal Church|
|Located in pioneer Austin at the edge of town on a site never used for a secular building. At first called “Church of the Epiphany.” Cornerstone laid on April 7, 1853, with impressive ceremonies for the capital city’s first tone church. Built of native limestone, its architecture blended Spanish Mission with traditional Gothic elements.
Founders included officials from government of the late Republic of Texas. Rector was the Reverend Edward Fontaine, great-grandson of Patrick . . . — Map (db m26493) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14821 — Saint Edward’s University Main Building|
|Erected in 1888. Rebuilt after fire in 1903. Nicholas J. Clayton, master architect, designed both building in Gothic revival style.
Serves institution founded in 1873 by congregation of Holy Cross, as male catholic school. First pupils were local farm boys. In 1921 college-level courses were added. Was rechartered in 1925 as a university. During World War II, served as an academy and flying school. Admitted women in 1966. — Map (db m26494) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14676 — Saint Mary’s Cathedral|
|In 1851, the Catholics of Austin wrote to the Most Rev. John M. Odin (1801-1871), first Bishop of Texas. “This city is improving rapidly and our intentions are to build a church…if we can get a clergyman to stay among us.” Father Michael Sheehan was sent. Soon a small church was built on the corner of Ash (Ninth) and Brazos streets. The new Parish was called Saint Patrick’s, but the name was changed to Saint Mary’s of the Immaculate Conception in 1866.
In 1874, at the invitation . . . — Map (db m26496) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Santiago Del Valle Grant|
|McKinney Falls State Park lies in the center of an early Texas land grand that originally fell within the empresario contract of Texian hero Ben Milam.
Ten leagues of land were transferred in 1832 to Santiago Del Valle, who at the at time was secretary of the Mexican government of Coahuila Y Texas and had previously served as a member of the Mexican Congress.
In 1835 Del Valle sold nine leagues of his land to Michel Menard, who in 1838 helped found the town of Galveston.
Thomas . . . — Map (db m22270) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12733 — Scarbrough Building|
|Alabama native Emerson Monroe Scarbrough (1846-1925) came to Texas following service in the Civil War and settled in Milam County, where he was a successful merchant. He opened a branch of his business, Scarbrough and Hicks, on Congress Avenue in 1893, moving one block north in 1894. In 1910, on this adjacent, prominent corner, he completed Austin’s first skyscraper. His new building was designed in the Chicago style by Fort Worth architects Sanguinet and Staats. It was enlarged and redesigned . . . — Map (db m25731) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12245 — Scholz Garten|
|German immigrant August Scholz (1825-1891) opened Scholz’s Hall at this site in 1866. About the turn of the century, this building replaced the original hall. A German social club, the Austin Saengerrunde, purchased the property in 1908 and added the adjacent hall. The Texas legislature honored Scholz Garten in 1966 as “A gathering place for Texans of discernment, taste, culture and erudition, epitomizing the finest traditions of magnificent German heritage in our state.” — Map (db m26528) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15644 — Scottish Rite Temple|
|Built 1871-72 as an opera house by Austin Turn Verein, a German social society. Used for gymnastics, feasting and dancing, it was a social center for years.
Purchased in 1912 for Ben Hur Shrine temple and remodeled, blending southwest mission style architecture with Arabic accents. Transferred in 1914 to Scottish Rite Bodies of Austin who allow other Masonic groups to meet here. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark. — Map (db m25599) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13974 — Seaholm Power Plant|
|This complex is an industrial and architectural landmark in Austin. Electric power arrived in the Texas capital in 1895, after the Colorado River was first dammed to generate electricity. The city of Austin has owned its own generation and distribution system ever since, a rarity among large cities.
A growing population and post-World War II demand for new appliances and air conditioning increased the need for electricity. In 1948, the city of Austin commissioned a new power generation . . . — Map (db m29537) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15302 — Seiders Oaks|
|Site of 1839 home and 1842 massacre of Gideon White. A daughter, Louisa, wed (1846) Edward Seiders, for whom oaks are named. — Map (db m72400) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Shoal Creek|
|Native Americans, settlers and cattle
drovers crossed the river here where Shoal
Creek's sand made the water shallow. During
Republic days Vice President Mirabeau
Lamar camped here, near the village of
Waterloo while hunting buffalo. His
impression of the area's beauty and
resources prompted the relocation of the
state capital in 1839. — Map (db m27244) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14406 — Simpson United Methodist Church|
|This congregation grew from an early Sunday school class directed by Annas Brown, Richard Dukes and Mrs. Vina Harris Forehand, Members of Wesley Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church, for residents of the far eastern section of Austin. In December 1880 the group organized as the Simpson Mission Methodist Episcopal Church. The congregation name was chosen to honor Bishop Matthew Simpson (d.1884), a pioneer Methodist leader who was also an active political negotiator, an abolitionist and a noted . . . — Map (db m26533) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6456 — Site of Edward Mandell House Home|
|Edward Mandell House (1858-1938), heir of a wealthy Houston businessman, moved to Austin in 1885 to be at the center of state politics, his primary interest. He managed the successful campaigns of four Texas Governors and became an important figure in Democratic Party circles on the state and national levels. In 1912 he managed Woodrow Wilson’s successful bid for the Democratic Party Presidential nomination. As an advisor to Wilson, he participated in international negotiations during and after . . . — Map (db m25980) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Site of Fort Colorado — (Also called Coleman’s Fort)|
|June, 1836 - November, 1838.
Established and first commanded by
Colonel Robert M. Coleman.
Succeeded by Capt. Michael Andrews
Capt. William M. Eastland.
An extreme frontier outpost occupied by Texas Rangers to protect Anglo-American civilization from savage Indians in this vicinity. — Map (db m30080) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14616 — Site of Home of Reuben Hornsby|
|Site of the home built in 1832 by Reuben Hornsby (1793-1879) and his wife Sarah Morrison Hornsby (1796-1862).
Second built in “Austin’s Little Colony”. First in the present county of Travis.
Famed for Christian hospitality.
Here Josiah Wilbarger recovered after being scalped in 1833.
Mr. Hornsby and his son’s fought in many Indian battles and served as scouts in Capt. John J. Tumlinson’s company of Rangers, which was organized here in 1836. — Map (db m25973) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13153 — Site of John Bremond & Company|
|New York native John Bremond (1813-1866) built a dry goods store at this site as early as 1847. Soon, his dry goods department faced Pecan (Sixth) Street, and the grocery department faced Brazos Street. Active civically, he served as a member of the group that encouraged the eventual construction of the Houston & Texas Central Railway, which was associated with Bremond's brother Paul.
John Bremond, a former firefighter, was instrumental in establishing Austin's first hook and ladder company. . . . — Map (db m25734) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14678 — Site of Old Anderson High School; Kealing Jr. High School|
| Robertson Hill School, the first high school for blacks in Austin, opened on the corner of Eleventh and San Marcos Streets in 1884. In 1907 the school moved to the corner of Olive and Curve Streets and was renamed E.H. Anderson High School.
In 1913 the school was moved to 1607 Pennsylvania Avenue. It was renamed in honor of former principal L.C. Anderson in 1938. In 1953 the school relocated to 900 Thompson Street. Anderson High School opened in its fifth location, 8403 Mesa, in 1973. . . . — Map (db m42981) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15647 — Site of Pecan Springs School|
|In community where scalping and dramatic rescue of Josiah Wilbarger occurred in 1833. By 1875 area had developed so much that a schoolhouse was built at this site. Original 30 x 40 – foot structure was set on 4.68 acres of land. A Mr. Goodnight was the first teacher; he had 85 pupils in one-room school.
Later, under county system, this became District Number 61. Its southern boundary was the Colorado River. By 1943 it had six teachers. It was annexed to Austin in 1951; closed in 1956. — Map (db m61954) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15242 — Site of Samuel Huston College|
|Samuel Huston College traces its history to 1876 when the Rev. George W. Richardson founded a college in Dallas for the education of African American youth. St. Paul’s Methodist Episcopal Church was leased for the private school, named Andrews Normal School.
The school moved to Austin in 1878 and held classes in the Wesley Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church. The west Texas conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, with the help of the Freedmen’s Aid Society, adopted Andews Normal School . . . — Map (db m25985) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15063 — Site of Second Travis County Courthouse & Walton Building|
|Built in 1875 in term of County Judge James W. Smith. Former state officials on committees for site and building included Governor E.M. Pease, Secretary of State C.S. West, Attorney General N.G. Shelley, Treasurer James H. Raymond and Legislator George Hancock.
In era when Texas was gaining world renown, home of outstanding courts, able judges, brilliant bar. One tenant of its fortress-style jail was author William Sidney Porter (O. Henry), after his return to Austin in 1897 to be with his . . . — Map (db m26690) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15046 — Site of Swedish Evangelical Free Church|
|Worship services started in 1889 by Swedish immigrants led to founding of Swedish Evangelical Free Church in Decker community (10 mi. E) in July 1892. A similar Swedish congregation originated in April 1904 at Elroy (20 mi. SE). In 1923 the two congregations merged, relocated in Austin, and in 1925 built a church on this site. Swedish was spoken in services until the 1930s. Renamed “First Evangelical Free Church” in 1952, the fellowship erected a new building on Red River street in . . . — Map (db m26611) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — Site of Temporary Texas State Capitol of 1880’s|
|Built, 1882-1883, to replace the previous Capitol, which had burned in 1881. Until the building was completed, the orphaned Texas government conducted business in the county courthouse and jail across Congress avenue.
The three-story brick building – third Texas Capitol in Austin – was used five years. During this time it witnessed the passage of strong legislation to aid education and to halt fence-cutting, which, in 1883, had exploded into a range war. Governors John Ireland . . . — Map (db m26811) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15472 — Site of Tenth Street Methodist Church|
|Austin Methodists organized in 1840 and began in 1847 worshiping at Congress and 4th Street. This site was purchased in 1853 and a building begun under the Rev. John W. Phillips (1821-1891). In 1883, the Rev. A.E. Goodwyn (1818-1902) led in the construction of a larger sanctuary. The congregation was known as “Central Church” and “Tenth Street Church”. In 1909 it officially changed to “First Methodist Church”. Legislators and other government officials . . . — Map (db m25735) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15593 — Site of the Headquarters of the United States Army for 5th Military District|
|Established in 1868 in an area of five acres. Abandoned in 1870 when headquarters were removed to San Antonio. — Map (db m25739) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15449 — Sixth Street|
|Originally named Pecan Street on Edwin Waller’s 1839 plan for Austin, Sixth Street served as a farm to market road entering the city from the east. Bringing together a diverse ethnic population, it became a center for Austin’s 19th century development.
A major thoroughfare since its beginning, the street served as a stagecoach route, with the Bullock Hotel at the corner of Pecan and Congress Avenue as a stage stop. The street’s flat terrain and its distance from the occasionally flooding . . . — Map (db m26537) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6419 — Smith-Clark-Smith House|
|When the State Capitol burned in 1881, Scottish-born James Baird Smith (1843-1907) cleared the site and erected a temporary statehouse nearby. Salvaged brick and stone, which he used to build this rent house about 1886, probably came from the burned Capitol. The first tenant was noted banker John G. Palm (1846-1927). Later owner (1924) and occupant (1925-43) Lucille Clark, of a prominent Austin family, sold the property in 1959 to Mr. and Mrs. Homer D. Smith, who restored it. — Map (db m26542) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15230 — Southgate-Lewis House|
|Local bookbinder and printer John Southgate had this house built for his family in 1888. The High Victorian structure features a bay window, second-floor bands of shingles, and distinctive window surrounds. Businessman Charles Lewis (1872-1922) purchased the home in 1913. A neighborhood ice cream shop and a one-room school operated by his daughter were also on the property during his ownership. The home remained in the Lewis family until 1979. — Map (db m26543) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14090 — Southwestern Telegraph & Telephone Building|
|Veteran Travis County official and historian Frank Brown (1833-1913) erected this structure in 1886. Southwestern Telegraph & Telephone Company bought and restyled the building in 1898. Architect A.O. Watson designed the ornate façade. Previously in rented quarters at various sites, S.T.&T. occupied this as the city’s first telephone building. The John L. Martin family owned the structure from 1922 to 1976. — Map (db m26544) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15486 — St. Martin’s Evangelical Lutheran Church|
|This property, once situated just outside capitol square at 106 East Peach Street (Later 13th), was the original location of the German Evangelical Lutheran Church (“Die Deutsche Evangelish Lutherische Kirche”). Pastor Henry Merz (1842-1928), a missionary for the first Evangelical Lutheran Synod in Texas, organized the congregation in 1883 with 20 German families. They worshiped first in homes or stores and later borrowed the facilities of the First Presbyterian and Gethsemane . . . — Map (db m25590) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14813 — St. Stephen’s Missionary Baptist Church|
|Organized in 1887, this congregation first met in a small wooden building near this site. The Rev. Stephens Smith served as first pastor of the church, which served residents of the Waters Park, Round Rock, and Pflugerville communities. Land for a church and school was given by Mr. and Mrs. Anderson Peoples in 1887. St. Stephen’s School, also known as Waters Park Colored School, provided education for black children in the area. A new sanctuary was built in 1978. This church continues to serve a large community with outreach programs. — Map (db m26570) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12239 — Stanley and Emily Finch House|
|Constructed in 1927 and 1928 for $13,500, this house has associations with several prominent Austinites. Its original owners were University of Texas Civil Engineering Professor Stanley P. Finch and his wife Emily (Rice). Finch’s UT colleague, architect Raymond Everett, designed the house. Landscape architect C. Coatsworth Pinkney created the landscape in the 1940s. The intact Colonial Revival home’s historic additions include bay windows designed by Hugo Kuehne in 1945 and the enclosure of the . . . — Map (db m25875) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6422 — State Bar of Texas|
|On July 15, 1882, a volunteer organization of Texas attorneys known as the Texas Bar Association was established in Galveston, with Judge Thomas J. Devine as the first president. The forerunner of the State Bar of Texas, the group met annually to address common concerns such as the uniformity of jurisprudence, legislation, the regulation of the conduct of lawyers, and other statewide legal matters.
An act of the State Legislature signed by Governor W. Lee O’Daniel in 1939 created the State . . . — Map (db m26574) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15084 — State Cemetery of Texas|
|Burial ground for the honored dead of Texas, this cemetery contains the remains of Stephen F. Austin, the “Father of Texas”; nine Governors of Texas (as of 1968); and representatives of every period of state history and every department of state government.
Statuary at the graves includes a marble figure of Albert Sidney Johnston by Elisabet Ney and bronzes of Austin and Joanna Troutman by Pompeo Coppini.
The cemetery was founded in 1851 when Gen. Edward Burleson, hero of the . . . — Map (db m26576) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13141 — Stephen F. Austin Hotel|
|To meet the needs of the growing Austin community, T.B. Baker, President of Baker Hotels, opened a hotel in 1924 at this site, previously occupied by the Keystona Hotel. Baker’s new facility, initially to be called “The Texas,” was named for Stephen F. Austin in response to local interest. Acclaimed Fort Worth firm Sanguinet, Staats and Hedrick designed the Beaux Arts hotel; local architect Roy L. Thomas represented them in its construction. In 1938, five stories were added. After a . . . — Map (db m25733) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15338 — Stuart Female Seminary|
|After 23 years as principal of Live Oak Female Seminary, Washington County, Rebecca K. Stuart Red (1826-1886) founded her own school in 1875. Her husband, G.C. Red, M.D., had a two-story stone dormitory – academic building erected on this site, and the Stuart Female Seminary opened formally in January 1876.
Ashbel Smith, M.D. (past board member, United States Military Academy), was first president of the board of trustees. His successor (1886) was D.F. Stuart, M.D., brother of Mrs. . . . — Map (db m26608) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15158 — Susanna W. Dickinson — 1814-1883|
|Almaron and Susanna Dickinson settled in Gonzales about 1835 as members of DeWitt’s colony. Present with her daughter, Angelina, when the Alamo fell in March 1836, Susanna witnessed the deaths of Almaron and the other Texans. She was released by Mexican General Santa Anna after the battle, and with an escort made her way to Sam Houston with news of the Alamo. She married Joseph Hannig in 1857 and lived in Austin until her death. — Map (db m25849) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15675 — Swante Palm — (January 31, 1815 - June 22, 1899)|
|A native of Basthult, Barkeryd Parish, in the province of Smaland, Sweden, Swante Palm was a leader of early Swedish immigration to Texas. Influenced by his nephew, Swen Magnus Swenson, Palm came to Texas in 1844. He settled first in La Grange, where he served as postmaster and worked in Swenson’s general store. Both men moved to Austin in 1850 and continued their business relationship. In 1854 Palm married Agnes Christine Alm. Their son, Swante Sture, was born in 1855, but died in infancy. . . . — Map (db m26190) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15330 — Swedish Central Methodist Church|
|Organized in 1873 by the Rev. Carl Charnquist, the Swedish Methodist Church built a sanctuary at Red River and 15th street. Led by the Rev. O.E. Olander, the congregation moved to this site in 1898 and occupied buildings of disbanded Central Methodist Church. The fellowship added “Central” to its name and later dropped “Swedish”. Church property, then across from the Capitol grounds at Colorado and 13th street, was sold in 1956 for expansion of state offices. Renamed . . . — Map (db m26609) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14680 — Swedish Consulate and Swante Palm Library|
|Swante Palm (1815-1899), Vice Consul for Sweden and Norway from 1866 until his death, built a small house on Ash Street (now 9th Street) in the 1850s. It was a repository for Palm’s extensive book collection and served as the Swedish Consulate, where Palm gave assistance to many Swedish immigrants. To accommodate his ever-growing library, Palm enlarged the house in 1879. He donated his 10,000-volume collection to the University of Texas Library in 1897, increasing the school’s holdings by more than sixty percent. Palm’s house was razed in 1958. — Map (db m25671) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12686 — Swedish Hill|
|Residential development of this area began in the 1870s when a number of Swedish immigrants erected homes near their downtown businesses. Initially bounded by Red River, 14th, 18th, and Navasota streets, the neighborhood became known as Svenska Kullen (Swedish Hill). A Swedish Methodist and other Swedish churches were built in the area, which was later divided by the interstate highway. A number of historic houses remain in the section of Swedish Hill that is east of the interstate. The . . . — Map (db m26612) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14405 — Swedish Log Cabin|
|Built about 1838 on "Govalle" ("good grazing land in Swedish"). Ranch of S.M. Swenson, settler who encouraged migration of his countrymen to Texas as a copy of cabins built 1638 by Swedish colonists in Delaware.
Home, 1848, of newly arrived Gustaf Palm family; a social center for early immigrants.
Preserved through efforts of Louis Palm, Carl T. Widen. Texas Swedish Pioneer Association and others. — Map (db m26613) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14936 — Sweetbrush — The Swisher-Scott House|
|Banker John Milton Swisher (1819-1891) built this residence in 1853 in the 400 block of San Antonio St. Noted architect-builder Abner Cook designed the Greek Revival house. In the 1920s, Dr. and Mrs. Z.T. Scott found the building in deteriorated condition. They moved it to this site, restored and enlarged it. A prominent physician and longtime chief of staff at Brackenridge Hospital, Dr. Scott (1880-1964) helped found the Austin Heritage Society. — Map (db m25681) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14654 — Taylor Lime Kiln No. 1|
|This kiln was built in 1871 by Scottish immigrant Peter C. Taylor (b. 1829). His patented kiln design permitted continuous firing, producing a superior lime that was used to make mortar for late 19th century Austin buildings and had a wide market elsewhere. Limestone from a nearby quarry, now known as Taylor Slough on Scenic Dr., was hauled along a wagon trail and then over a bridge to the top of the kiln. Operated by Taylor until the 1890s, the industrial complex based on this kiln and kiln . . . — Map (db m69321) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12693 — Texas and the Civil War — Secession Convention|
|The election of Abraham Lincoln in 1860 caused unrest and drastic action all over the south and in many Texas counties. Despite petitions, editorials and political pressure, Gov. Sam Houston refused to call a special legislative session to consider the position Texas should take on Dec. 3, 1860. A group of secession leaders took matters into their own hands and called on the people to elect delegates to a convention to meet in Austin on Jan. 28, 1861. Counties sent 177 delegates and the . . . — Map (db m25728) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12696 — Texas and the Civil War State Military Board|
|The only new agency created by the legislature to deal with wartime emergencies. Original members were the Governor, Comptroller and Treasurer. The last two in 1864 were replaced by appointees of the Governor.
Purpose was to establish industry and purchase essential military and civilian supplies. Texas was largely dependent on imports for factory goods, so the board had to sustain foreign trade. Despite a federal coastal blockade, this was done through neutral Mexico and by use of swift . . . — Map (db m26578) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12246 — Texas Dental Association|
|This professional association traces its history to 1869, when a group of dentists met in Houston and drafted a constitution and by-laws. Dr. Menard Michau of Houston was elected first president of the association, which was officially chartered by the State of Texas on May 17, 1871. Initial membership consisted of 18 dentists and 22 honorary members.
The association experienced difficulties during the 1870s, and by 1880 Texas dentists saw the need for a reorganization. A new society, the . . . — Map (db m25715) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12247 — Texas Highway Department — (Established April 4, 1917)|
|Early 20th century Texas farmers demanded all-weather access to markets just as automobiles revolutionized transportation for all travelers. Good roads promoters envisioned a central state agency to organize safe, consistent routes. In 1916 the Federal Government offered matching funds to build a statewide highway system.
In 1917, legislators created the Texas Highway Department, and Texans registered 195,000 automobiles. Agency employees worked in the Capitol, then the 1917 Land Office, and . . . — Map (db m25717) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6464 — Texas in the Civil War — Federal Forces|
|When Texas joined the Confederacy in 1861, some men disagreed. Mainly these were from foreign countries or the north, or did not uphold states’ rights. Some of them left here and joined northern army units.
Others joined federal forces near home. A 1st Texas Cavalry (Union), made up of 310 men in 8 companies, was organized by a Texan, Col. E.J. Davis, across the Rio Grande, in Mexico. Nucleus of 2nd Texas Cavalry (Union) was formed in New Orleans, adding men in Louisiana and Mexico until it . . . — Map (db m25711) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 12687 — Texas Newspapers, C.S.A.|
|Among privations endured in Texas during the Civil War (1861-65) was the shortage of newspapers, which dwindled from 82 (combined circulation: 100,000) to fewer than 20 by early 1862. Many newspapermen had closed shop and enlisted at once, when the war began. Others were forced to quit for lack of ink and paper, available only through Mexico or the blockaded Gulf Coast. A good pre-war paper had four 5-column pages, but many wartime issues were limited to half a page, printed on bill forms, . . . — Map (db m26645) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 13458 — Texas School for the Deaf|
|In 1856, the Texas Legislature established the Texas Deaf and Dumb Asylum, which became the Texas School for the Deaf (TSD). Gov. Elisha M. Pease appointed a board of trustees, which rented land at this site. By January 1, 1857, the first day of school, no students had arrived, but by summer of that year, 11 students were enrolled, including Emily Lewis, whose account of the school's early history portrays a life of hard work and self-sufficiency under school matron Josephine Snyder.
New . . . — Map (db m25624) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14219 — The “Austin Statesman”|
|Begun as the “Democratic Statesman” in 1871 by the Democratic Party, in opposition to radical reconstruction government in Texas. Quickly passed into private ownership popular first editor was attorney John Cardwell.
Published daily since 1873, paper merged with “Austin American” in 1924. — Map (db m29536) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14493 — The Academy|
|This house was constructed in 1889 for Myron D. Mather, president of Austin Water, Light & Power Company, who lived here until 1893. A fine derivative of the shingle style, the structure is said to be partly constructed of granite left from the 1888 completion of the state Capitol. It was briefly owned by Texas Supreme Court Justice Leroy G. Denman in 1897. As the Austin Military School in the decade after 1920, the house was called “The Academy.” — Map (db m29535) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14722 — The Archive War|
|In 1839 Austin became the Capital of the Republic of Texas. The National Archives – state papers and land titles – were housed on Congress Avenue. In 1842, after Mexican armies seized San Antonio and seemed likely to capture Austin, many residents fled in what was called “The Breakup”. From his home in Galveston, President Sam Houston ordered removal of the government papers. A local “Archive Committee” responded by burying them. The President then tried . . . — Map (db m25750) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14502 — The Boardman-Webb House|
|In the 1850s Dr. George T. Boardman (d.1884) came to Austin to practice dentistry. He developed a new process to fill teeth and helped incorporate the American Dental College. He bought this property in 1855 from early Austin merchant John Bremond. The land was part of the original city plat of Austin.
Dr. Boardman erected this two-story residence with Victorian styling about 1880. After his widow Fannie sold the structure in 1906, it changed owners several times, finally becoming an . . . — Map (db m25778) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15048 — The Gault Homestead|
|Included as part of a 320-acre land grant awarded to J.P. Whelin in payment for his service to the Republic of Texas Army, this property has had a long and varied history. Soon after he was granted the land, Whelin sold it to Nathaniel C. Raymond, who in turn sold it to John M. Gault two years later.
Gault built a log cabin on the Whelin grant in the 1850s, and he and his family established a farm. In 1855 they purchased adjoining land from Captain Nelson Merrill and soon thereafter built a . . . — Map (db m25887) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 6448 — The Johnson Home|
|Erected 1858 by Chas. Johnson, near the WM. McGill Ford on the Colorado River. Built by fellow Swedes, of native stone from his own quarry and lime kiln.
Walls are 18 inches thick. A stone-paved breezeway joined the two wings of the building.
A long porch with six ionic columns was added, and the open breezeway closed following the purchase of the property in 1924 as permanent home of the Travis Post 76, American Legion. — Map (db m25703) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — The Johnson Smokehouse|
|Charles Johnson was a native of Sweden who settled in Austin in 1854. In 1858 he built his main residence near Deep Eddy along the Colorado River, which presently is the American Legion. The Johnson Ranch, consisting of 124 acres, was procured in 1867, and was located on the south side of Capital of Texas Highway where this historical marker is presently located. In 1899 the temporary Capitol building burned and the tin from the roof was brought to build the Johnson family barn and smokehouse. . . . — Map (db m66440) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — The LBJ Plaza|
| The Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum was designed by Gordon Bunshaft of Skidmore Owings & Merrill (SOM) and opened in the spring of 1971. The design featured the monumental library building clad in Roman travertine and an expansive plaza paved in travertine and terrazzo. On the plaza are three square fountains.
In 2009, due to significant deterioration caused by water infiltration, the plaza was rebuilt as seen today. Working closely with the Texas Historical Commission, The . . . — Map (db m35834) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15021 — The Old Zimmerman Home|
|Edward E. Zimmerman came to Texas, 1844, from Germany; settled here, 1854, with wife Regina Reinhard. They had 5 children. Zimmerman built this early Texas farmhouse, 1861, of hand-hewn cream colored rock from nearby hills; lumber from Bull Creek mills. One of first residences on route of Shawnee Trail (used by traders, immigrants, Indians, and famous as a cattle trail in 1850’s and 1860’s). Regina once shot a bear at back door. — Map (db m26775) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — The Original Skyline Club Sign|
|In 1947, C.J. Stark opened the original Skyline Club in North Austin. For the better part of a half a century this neon giant heralded the likes of Patsy Cline, Roger Miller, Elvis Presley, Hank Thompson, Lefty Frizzell, The Geezinslaws, and countless other musical headliners of the times.
Hank Williams Sr. and Johnny Horton played their last public concerts under the shadow of this unique sign.
Since 1981, it has been stored in Bee Cave, Texas waiting to once again to become a . . . — Map (db m68814) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 15473 — The Radkey House|
|A typical post-Civil War Austin dwelling, built about 1870 two blocks from the State Capitol for merchant and metalsmith Bernard Radkey (1846-83) and his wife, Mary Cummings Radkey (1851-96). Structure is of cypress wood. Radkey served as a city alderman (councilman) until just prior to his early death. Heirs enlarged and occupied the home until 1973. It was moved here and restored in 1974 by the Franklin Savings and Loan Association. — Map (db m26342) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14361 — The Shipe House|
|Monroe Martin Shipe (b. 1847) had this residence built in 1892 in Austin’s Hyde Park, a suburb which he developed on the site of the old state fairgrounds. A man of broad vision, Shipe brought innovative changes to the city’s form of government, its public transportation system and other matters of civic concern. His home, partially constructed of wood from the fair grandstand, stands as a monument to his achievements. — Map (db m26531) HM|
|Texas (Travis County), Austin — 14568 — The Texas Capitol|
|Austin became the Capital of Texas Jan. 19, 1840, and this hill was platted as Capitol Square. A modest statehouse built here in the 1850s soon developed structural flaws. The Constitutional Convention of 1876 set aside about 3,000,000 acres of public land to finance another building. This was authorized after the 1850s Capitol burned on Nov. 9, 1881.
Architect E.E. Myers of Detroit won a national competition with his plans for this Capitol. The contractor was Mattheas Schnell of Rock . . . — Map (db m25667) HM|