|Georgia (Clayton County), Atlanta — 031-18 — Thames House|
|Res. of Wm. Thames (1796-1892) pioneer citizen of Clayton, formerly Henry, County; veteran of the War of 1812; owner of a saw & grist mill on Flint River; pastor of Tanner’s Church.
Aug. 31, 1864. Troops of the Federal 23rd & 4th A. C., marching east from Red Oak, passed this house enroute to the Macon & Western (now the C. of Ga. R. R.) which was seized at points above & below Quick Station (Forest Park). This move severed the last of the railroads entering Atlanta & forced Gen. Hood . . . — Map (db m36727) HM|
|Georgia (Clayton County), Atlanta — 031-7B — The Extended Line|
|The Federals, having lifted siege operations N. & W. of Atlanta Aug. 25, moved on the A. & W.P. R.R. below East Point & by the 29th began its destruction. In an effort to protect the M. & W. (Central of Ga.) R.R., Hardee’s A.C. [CS] hastily built & occupied, Aug 30, a line extending from East Point to Morrow’s & Thames mills.
Here the line ran E. to the R.R. near Rough & Ready where Hardee’s command post was alerted to observe Federal movements on Jonesboro.
This extended line, . . . — Map (db m42137) HM|
|Georgia (Cobb County), Atlanta — 033-84 — Site: Hardy Pace’s Res. Howard’s Headquarters|
|Hardy Pace (1785-1864), operated the Chattahoochee River ferry at site of bridge where Pace’s Ferry rd. crosses. Federal forces occupied Vining’s Station, July 5-17, 1864, while preparing to cross at Pace’s & Power’s for the move on Atlanta. Gen. O. O. Howard, 4th A. C., had headquarters at the Pace res., July 5-10. Vining’s temporary terminal of the R. R., was the subsistence & ammunition dump of the Federal army during the siege & capture of Atlanta. Wounded from the Atlanta front were sent . . . — Map (db m29944) HM|
|Georgia (Cobb County), Atlanta — 033-83 — The 4th Corps at Vining’s Station|
|June 5, 1864. When Johnston’s army [CS] withdrew from Smyrna to the river, Howard’s 4th A. C., and Baird's div. (14th A.C.), [US] via highway and R. R. occupied Vining’s. Baird’s troops kept on down the R. R. until halted by Johnston’s River Line.
4th A.C. troops pursued the Confederate wagon trains, escorted by Wheeler’s Cav., toward the pontoon bridge at Pace’s Ferry where they crossed the river. Morgan’s 7th Ind. Battery [US] shelled the column from Vining’s Hill.
Also, from . . . — Map (db m29945) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-28 — 4th A.C. at Durand's Mill|
|July 19, 1864. In deployment of Federal forces approaching Atlanta, it became necessary to fill a gap between those on Peachtree Rd. at the creek & Schofield’s 23d A.C. on Pea Vine Cr. at the Paden plantation (Emory University). Sherman directed Thomas to send 2 of Howard’s 4th A.C. divs. to fill the gap. Howard, in person, with Stanley’s (1st) & Wood’s (3d), marched from Buckhead, via Peachtree Baptist Church to S. Fork Peachtree Creek, reaching Durand’s Mill July 20, 8:30 A.M.
The bridge . . . — Map (db m9764) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-84 — Alpha Delta Pi — Memorial Headquarters|
|Alpha Delta Pi Sorority was founded May 15, 1851 at Wesleyan College in Macon, Georgia, as the first secret society in the world for college women, and thus became the mother of the social sorority system. Wesleyan Collage was the first educational institution to grant an academic degree to a woman. Alpha Delta Pi Sorority now maintains chapters in leading colleges and universities throughout the United States and Canada. Memorial Headquarters building was dedicated in memory of the Sorority’s . . . — Map (db m28962) HM|
|Georgia (Dekalb County), Atlanta — 044-49 — An Unexpected Clash|
|July 22, 1864. The attack by Walker's & Bate's divs. (Hardee's A.C.) (C.S) struck the two brigades Mersy's & Rices's, of Sweeny's 16th A.C. div. (U.S.) enroute to support the 17th in E. Atlanta.
Walker's troops came up Sugar Cr. valley from the S.; Bates's from the high ground eastward.
Sweeny's men hastily formed defensively-Rice facing E., Mersy S., the apex of the lines atop the hill where Laird's 14th Ohio Battery was posted & where Murphy High School stands. Blodgett's Missouri Battery . . . — Map (db m9245) HM|
|Georgia (Dekalb County), Atlanta — 044-47 — Bate’s Battle Line|
|July 22, 1864. Gen. Bate's div., Hardee's A.C. (CS) was deployed on the rt. of Walker's div. when they advanced N. from Terry's Mill pond. Being on the extreme rt. of the corps, Bate's troops moved up the east side of Sugar Cr., valley and swung westward to face Rice's 16th A.C. (US) brigade posted on the hill (Murphy High School) and northward along the old Clay Rd. (Clay St.).
This attack failed to dislodge Rice's brigade. Bate's command consisted of three brigades - composed of Georgia, . . . — Map (db m80157) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-53 — Bate's Div. at Terry's Mill Pond|
|July 22, 1864. Bate’s, together with Walker’s div., Hardee’s A.C., (CS) having moved up Sugar Cr. valley W. of Terry’s mill pond, were deployed in this area for a surprise attack on Federal troops posted N.W. of here on Flat Shoals Rd.
While Bate’s div. was being hastily shifted E. of the creek, Lewis’ “Orphan Brigade” and part of Tyler’s were subjected to random artillery fire from Federal batteries northward, when crossing the upper end of the mill pond and its swampy margin. . . . — Map (db m18822) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-46 — Battle of Atlanta Began Here|
|July 22, 1864. Sweeny's 2nd. div., Dodge's 16th A.C. (US), having been held in reserve N. of the Ga. R.R. (Candler Park), was ordered to support the left wing of Blair's 17th Corps in East Atlanta. Marching via Clay Rd., Sweeny's column halted here at noon to await further orders. Mersy's brigade led the advance, followed by Rice's.
Thus, by mere accident, the two brigades were posted where they intercepted the surprise attack by Walker's and Bate's divs. (Hardee's A.C.) (CS), aimed at the . . . — Map (db m8889) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — Brookhaven Historic District — National Register of Historic Places|
|Historic Brookhaven is the first planned golf club community in Georgia, having been built around the Capital City Country Club between 1910 and 1940. — Map (db m14356) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-64 — Cleburne Outflanked Left Wing, 17th A.C.|
|July 22, 1864. The left wing (Giles Smith’s div., 17th A.C.) of McPherson’s Army of the Tenn. (US) occupied an intrenched line on Flat Shoals Rd. between Leggett’s Hill & Glenwood, where it hooked eastward, facing to the south.
Gen. P.R. Cleburne’s three brigades, (CS) Lowrey’s, Govan’s & Smith’s (Granbury’s), struck the Federal flank at the hook, sweeping it aside by front & rear attacks, that with Maney’s div. in support finally drove the entire Federal division north to Leggett’s Hill. . . . — Map (db m9526) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-62 — Cleburne's & Maney's Divs.|
|July 22, 1864. These troops, with Walker’s and Bate’s divs., Hardee’s A.C. (CS) made a 15-mi. night march from Atlanta to attack the rear of McPherson’s Army of the Tenn. (US) posted on Flat Shoals Road in East Atlanta. Cleburne’s & Maney’s move N.W. up Flat Shoals Rd. struck, not the rear but the left flank, of the Fed. 17th A.C. where its line bent eastward.
Cleburne’s four brigades were deployed on & eastward of the road; Maney’s four brigades, W. of it. The immediate area was heavily . . . — Map (db m9575) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-65 — Cleburne's Div. in the Federal Rear|
|July 22, 1864. Cleburne’s 3 brigades, (CS) after over-running the Federal left (at Glenwood), moved on the rear of its line facing W. on Flat Shoals Rd., at the same time Maney’s div. (CS) attached its front. Beset on both sides Giles Smith’s 17th A.C. div (US) was swept N. to Leggett’s Hill. Cleburne not only outflanked Smith’s div., but forced Fuller’s troops, on the rt. To withdraw to a line E. of Leggett’s Hill.
In the move towards Leggett’s Hill, Cleburne’s troops captured 8 Federal guns . . . — Map (db m9524) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-29 — Closing the Gap|
|July 20, 1864. A critical factor in the alignment of Federal troops moving on Atlanta, from Peachtree Creek valley, was a wide gap between Peachtree Rd. (the left of Thomas’ forces) & Schofield’s 23d A.C. posted at the intersection of N. Decatur & Briarcliff roads.
To fill this gap, Stanley’s & Wood’s 4th A.C. divs. were moved S.E. from Buckhead. Crossing S. Fork Peachtree Cr. at Durand’s Mill, Wood’s div. was deployed W. on Rock Spring Rd.; Stanley’s, in the valley W. of here & Schofield’s . . . — Map (db m9500) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-51 — Death of General Walker|
|July 22, 1864. Maj. Gen. W.H.T. Walker, commanding a div. of Hardee's A.C., (CS) while directing his troops toward the battlefield, reached a close proximity to this spot at noon where, pausing to reconnoiter the area, he was shot from horse by a Federal picket.
Gen. Walker was succeeded by Gen. Hugh Mercer, who deployed the div. in Sugar Cr. valley just W. of this marker. Bate's div. advanced on this side of the creek. The northward movement of these troops, far from being a rear attack on . . . — Map (db m9571) HM|
|Georgia (Dekalb County), Atlanta — 044-45 — Death of McPherson|
|The monument in the enclosure was erected by U.S. Army Engineers to mark the site where Maj. Gen. James B. McPherson was killed during the Battle of Atlanta, July 22, 1864.
McPherson rode S. from the Ga. R.R. when he heard firing in Sugar Cr. valley, where the rear attack by Walker's & Bate's divs. (CS) fell upon Dodge's 16th A.C. After pausing to observe this part of the battle, he galloped towards the left of the 17th A.C. (Flat Shoals & Glenwood), on a road through the pines. At this . . . — Map (db m8736) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-5 — Dodge's 16th A.C. Camp on Nancy's Creek|
|July 17, 1864. The march of the corps S. from the road-fork at Providence Church (Dunwoody) was opposed by Col. Geo. G. Dibrell's brigade of Wheeler's cav. [CS]. After a sharp skirmish, the 9th Illinois Mounted Infantry drove Dibrell across the creek and beyond Old Cross Keys. Dodge made contact with Cox's div., 23d A.C. approaching Old Cross Keys on rd. from Sandy Springs, also with Blair's 17th A.C. at Shallow Ford Road 2 mi. upstream, after which Dodge camped at night on both sides of the . . . — Map (db m14307) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-27 — Durand's Mill|
|Water-powered sawmill & factory operated in the 1860’s by Samuel A. Durand (1822-1891), later on by Frederick A. Williams (1817-1883), whose name long designated the old road leading S.W. and now known, in sections, as Briarcliff and Williams Mill Rds., Fortune and Houston Sts., the latter terminating in downtown Atanta.
Later, J.F. Wallace (1840-1902) succeeded Williams; his name was given to Wallace Station-a former stop on the Seaboard R.R.; also the road S.E. to Emory University where it . . . — Map (db m9499) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-69 — Fuller's Div.16th A.C.|
|July 22, 1864. Gen. John Fuller's only brigade -- Morrill's, which was in reserve near Leggett's Hill, was deployed S.E. of here to meet the advance of Walker's div. (CS) up Sugar Cr. valley. While so engaged, Cleburne's 2 brigades -- Govan's & Smith's, (CS) having penetrated the rear of the Federal line on Flat Shoals Rd., assailed the right flank of Morrill's four regiments, not only forcing repeated changes of front but entire withdrawal to a line extending eastward from Leggett's . . . — Map (db m74719) HM|
|Georgia (Dekalb County), Atlanta — 044-043 — Gresham's Division|
|July 20, 1864. Brig. Gen. Walter Q. Gresham's 4th div., leading the advance of the 17th A.C. (US) against Wheeler's Cav. (CS) & forcing it W. to Leggett's Hill, halted here at sundown.
Leggett's 3d div. was brought forward & would have moved against Wheeler's position on-half mile W. but for failure to get orders.
While making a personal reconnaissance of Wheeler's position in his front, Gresham received a wound that ended his military service. In 1893-1895 he was Secretary of State in President Grover Cleveland's Cabinet. — Map (db m8732) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-56 — Hardee at Road Fork|
|July 22, 1864. Hardee’s A.C. (4 divis.), (CS) moving N. to the battlefield, was divided into two columns at this road fork: Clebourne’s and Maney’s took the W. fork leading to E. Atlanta; Walker’s and Bate’s, the E. fork or Fayetteville Rd., as did Wheeler’s Cav. enroute to Decatur to seize the wagon trains of McPherson’s Army of the Tenn.
Had Hardee continued on the Fayetteville Rd. to a point well in rear of Blair’s 17th A.C., he would have conformed with Hood’s explicit orders therefor. A . . . — Map (db m10412) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-57 — Hardee at Wm. Cobb’s House|
|July 22, 1864. Hardee’s A.C., (CS) consisting of 4 divisions, enroute N. to the rear of Federal forces in E. Atlanta, halted here at dawn to procure guides for a wilderness march ahead.
Hardee, his staff & general officers rode to Wm. Cobb’s house (still standing) a short distance S.W. where Wm Cobb (of Cobb’s Mill) & the miller, Case Turner, agreed to serve as guides. Cobb rode with Cleburne & Maney (Cheatham’s old div.); Turner, with Walker & Bate.
Irving Buck, in “Cleburne & His . . . — Map (db m80155) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-58 — Hardee’s March Turned N.E. on Fayetteville Road|
|July 21, 1864. Theses troops and Wheeler’s Cav. (CS) were sent from Atlanta on a 15-mile night march to gain the rear of McPherson’s Army of the Tenn. (US) in E. Atlanta. Hardee moved out of the city via McDonough Rd. (Capital Avenue) and here turned N.E. on the old Fayetteville Rd. July 22. Dawn found the columns a little beyond Cobb’s Mill on Intrenchment Cr., 1.25 mi. N.E. of here. Plans called for a daylight attack on the Federal forces, but oppressive weather, battle fatigue, and a . . . — Map (db m10234) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — Historic Ground|
|This modern tv station, WAGA-TV stands in land lot 57 of the 18th District of the original Henry, now DeKalb County, near the south fork of Peachtree Creek, was erected in 1966.
In July, 1864 the present Briarcliff Road was the route of the Federal Army of Gen. W.T. Sherman toward Atlanta. Gen. O.O. Howard’s 4th Corps crossed south fork at Durand’s Mill and occupied an entrenched camp in this immediate vicinity July 20.
On the 22nd, these troops with Gen. Schofield’s 23rd Corps moved . . . — Map (db m9766) HM|
|Georgia (Dekalb County), Atlanta — 044-68 — Historic Ground --1864|
|In an area bound by Memorial Dr., Clifton, Glenwood & Moreland, was where the major part of the Battle of Atlanta was fought, July 22d. In terms of present landmarks, the battle began at Memorial Dr. & Clifton where Hardee's right wing (CS) was repulsed in an unexpected clash with Sweeny's 16th A.C. div. (US) This was followed by an assault of Hardee's left wing which crushed the left of the 17th A.C. at Flat Shoals Road & Glenwood & dislodged the right of the 16th A.C., forcing them north to . . . — Map (db m8737) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — Ivy Street|
|On June 3, 2005, the central road of this campus was formally named “Ivy Street,” in honor of the hallowed tradition associated with the original Marist
campus on Ivy Street in downtown Atlanta.
With 32 boys and five priest-teachers, Father John E. Gunn, S.M., pastor of Sacred Heart Church and later Bishop of Natchez, Mississippi, founded Marist
College, a military day school for boys, in 1901. The Marist cadets were a familiar sight to Atlantans as they drilled on school . . . — Map (db m14203) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-67 — Leggett's Hill|
|July 22, 1864. Blair’s 17th A.C., McPherson’s Army of the Tenn. (US) was aligned S. of Logan’s 15th astride the Ga. R.R. Leggett’s div. of the 17th held the line from Logan’s left, to & including the hill. An extension S.E. on Flat Shoals Rd. to Glenwood was occupied by the other division of the 17th A.C., under Giles Smith.
Smith’s div., outflanked by Cleburne’s troops, was driven to the S. slope of Leggett’s Hill. This was followed by concerted attacks on front, flank & rear by Cleburne’s . . . — Map (db m9521) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-40 — Logan’s 15th A.C. Line|
|July 20, 1864. Maj. Gen. John A. Logan’s A.C. having camped at Decatur, moved toward Atlanta on this rd. M.L. Smith’s (2d) div. was in advance; Woods’ (1st) & Harrow’s (4th), in reserve. At this point, 2.75 mi. from center of Atlanta, Smith’s intrenched line crossed both highway & R.R.
July 21. Harrow extended the line S. to connect with the 17th A.C.; Woods prolonged it N. to join the 16th A.C. That night the outer Confederate line which crossed this Rd. at DeGress Ave. (0.5 mi. W.), was . . . — Map (db m9765) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-9 — Logan’s 15th Corps & Garrard’s Cavalry|
|July 18, 1864. Logan’s 15th A.C., Army of the Tennessee [US], having detoured from the old Shallow Ford Rd. at the Rainey plantation (4 ml. W.) moved to this point where it joined Garrard’s cav. which, via McAfee's bridge (Chattahoochee River) & Buchanan’s house (Hightower Trail at Buford Highway), was enroute S. to Browning's Court House (TUCKER).
Logan’s corps, in support of Garrard, moved 2 mi. S. to Browning’s where it marked time the rest of the day while Lightburn's brigade was sent . . . — Map (db m33804) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-63 — Maney's Div. in the Battle of Atlanta|
|Gen. George Maney, comdg. Cheatham’s old div. of Hardee’s A.C. (CS) at Peachtree Cr., July 20, led the div. July 22 in the Battle of Atlanta. Both Cleburne’s & Maney’s divs. advanced N.W. on Flat Shoals Road to attack the Federal 17th A.C. aligned along its course – its left, terminating in a dangling fish-hook bent eastward.
Maney’s four brigades were deployed in this area. Moving N., they assaulted the Federal front in concert with Cleburne’s flank & rear attack with three brigades . . . — Map (db m10411) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-44 — McPherson's Last Ride|
|July 22, 1864. When Gen. McPherson heard the firing to the S.E. while at lunchen (Whiteford Ave. at R.R.), he mounted his horse & sending away most of his staff on various missions, galloped south to this hill.
Here he observed Dodge's 16th A.C. troops in desperate combat with Bates's & Walker's divs.(CS) in Sugar Cr. valley. Anxious about the left of the 17th A.C. (at Glenwood & Flat Shoals), he proceeded on a road through the pines in that direction, accompanied by an orderly, & Signal . . . — Map (db m8733) HM|
|Georgia (Dekalb County), Atlanta — 044-050 — Mersy’s Brigade|
|July 22, 1864. Col. August Mersy's brigade of Sweeny's div., 16th A.C. (US) was aligned on the rt. of the div. when it went into action to meet the assault of Walker's div. (CS) advancing up Sugar Creek valley (from Glenwood Ave.). The left of Mersy's line rested on the hill where Murphy High School stands. The rt. of the line extended S.W. to join Fuller's 4th div., 16th A.C. on the high ground beyond the valley (near McPherson's monument). Gen. McPherson saw this part of the battlefield . . . — Map (db m8731) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-39 — Noon Under the Trees|
|July 22, 1864. Gen. McPerson & staff spent the forenoon in conference at Sherman's headquarters & inspecting Army of the Tenn. lines. Noon found them in an oak grove just S. of the R.R. where they were joined at luncheon by Logan & Blair, each with his staff. While here, McPherson wrote & dispatched an order to Dodge regarding the destruction of the Ga. R.R. This pleasant respite of discussion & cigars was broken by volley firing to the S.E. The battle of Atlanta had begun.
All mounted & . . . — Map (db m8892) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-70 — Oglethorpe University|
|Chartered in 1835 by Georgia Presbyterians near Milledgeville, Oglethorpe University was the first denominational college established in the Deep South.
It perished during the Civil War and was briefly revived from 1870 to 1872 in Atlanta. Thornwell Jacobs refounded the University as a private, non-sectarian liberal arts college at the present site in 1915. Land on Peachtree Road was donated by Realtor C.H. Ashford. By 1929 Oglethorpe had acquired about 600 acres, including nearby Silver Lake, . . . — Map (db m14291) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-7 — Old Cross Keys|
|Ante-bellum crossroads settlement & Post Office; James Reeve (1792 - 1852) Post Master & merchant. Prior to 1864 the Post Office was removed to a point between Chamblee & Doraville where, name unchanged, it was known as Cross Keys Post Office. To distinguish the one from the other, this place was called Old Cross Keys & was thus cited in Federal dispatches, maps & reports of military operations here in 1864. At this point, a brief contact was made between the marching columns of Dodge´s 16th . . . — Map (db m14052) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-41 — Restoring the Line|
|July 22, 1864. After Cheatham’s troops (CS) broke the Federal 15th A.C. line at the R.R. cut and the Hurt house (DeGress Ave.), Mersy’s 16th A.C. brigade was brought up from the battlefield 1 mile S. of the R.R. to assist in restoring it.
Lightburn and Martin were deployed on and south of the R.R.; Mersy’s brigade north of it (near this point), with Wood’s two brigades aligned on his right, facing the left flank of the Confederate forces in the captured sector.
In a concerted assault, the . . . — Map (db m9515) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-11 — Site: Blake’s Mill|
|N. Fork Peachtree Creek. West of the road was the ante-bellum structure of a mill owned and operated by John Blake (1798-1854).
July 18, 1864. Blair’s 17th A. C. of McPherson’s Army of the Tennessee (US Flag), enroute from Roswell to Decatur, camped here ~ where both McPherson and Blair had h’dq’rs. Dodge’s 16th A. C. camped 1 mi. N. on the Rainey plantation where some of Sweeny’s men fought a sham battle using green apples for bullets.
Logan’s 15th A. C. detoured 1.5 mi. N. to . . . — Map (db m61961) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-58 — Site: Cobb’s Mill|
|On the E. side of Intrenchment Creek, just above the bridge, stood a grist mill operated by William Cobb, a DeKalb County pioneer. The mill was a notable landmark in the movement of Confederate forces to the field of the Battle of Atlanta, fought July 22, 1864.
Hardee’s Corps, (CS) consisting of 4 divs., made a 15-mi. night march from Atlanta, via McDonough & Fayetteville roads, to gain the rear of McPherson’s Army of the Tenn. in E. Atlanta.
Hardee’s troops reached Cobb’s Mill at dawn, . . . — Map (db m80156) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-18 — Site: Henderson’s Mill|
|Some 300 ft N.W. stood the ante and post bellum grist mill owned and operated by Greenville Henderson (1792-1869) and his son Rufus (1823-1872). The flat, left and rt. of this road was the mill pond area; the mill was demolished, 1911.
During the march of the Federal Army of the Tenn. from Roswell to Decatur, Logan’s 15th A.C. detoured from Shallow Ford Rd. at Rainey’s and moved to Browning’s Court House (TUCKER) to support Garrard’s foray on the Georgia R.R.
For strategic . . . — Map (db m29122) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-12 — Solomon Goodwin’s Res. — <------<<<<|
|The house on adjacent knoll, built 1831, by Solomon Goodwin (circa 1780-1850), oldest extant house in DeKalb County, was a landmark of Federal military operation in these environs during the summer of 1864. July 18. Hascall’s div., 23d A.C. having marched from Old Cross Keys & the Samuel House plantation, turned S.E. here to camp at Johnston’s Mill on N. Fork Peachtree Creek. Cox’s div. of the 23d followed Hascall the next day, both divisions having Decatur as their next objective. . . . — Map (db m28588) HM|
|Georgia (Dekalb County), Atlanta — 044-28 — Stanley & Wood March To Durand's Mill|
|July 19, 1864. When it became apparent that a wide gap existed in Federal troop deployment along Peachtree Cr. Between Peachtree Rd. & this, the old Williams Mill Rd., two divs. of Howard’s 4th A.C. were sent S.E. from Buckhead to this vicinity to close the gap.
Stanely’s div. marched via the old Cheshire Bridge Rd., camping at the County Line. Wood’s div. followed Stanley the next day. Both columns moving E. on the present LaVista Road turned S. here & crossed S. Fork Peachtree Cr. at . . . — Map (db m9448) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-037 — Sweeny's Division Encamped|
|July 21, 1864. Sweeny's div., Dodges 16th A.C. (US) was held in reserve some 24 hrs. in a line that crossed the S.W. area of Candler Park.
These troops, of McPherson's Army of the Tenn., had moved from Decatur towards Atlanta the day before and being crowded out of line, were halted here in rear of the 15th A.C. (astride the Ga. R.R. at Whiteford Ave.). The rt. of Sweeny's line connected with the left of the 23d A.C. (Moreland and Ponce de Leon).
July 22. Sweeny's troops were shifted S. . . . — Map (db m13538) HM|
|Georgia (Dekalb County), Atlanta — 044-38 — Sweeny's March South|
|July 22, 1864. Sweeny's 16th A.C. div., ordered to support the left of the Federal line in E. Atlanta, was shifted from its camp of the previous night, N. of the Georgia Railroad. It marched S. on the Clay Road (now Clay St).
These troops had been ordered to destroy the R.R. back to Decatur but McPherson requested them as reinforcement to his left, since his cavalry (Garrard's) had been sent eastward.
Passing the Jesse Clay plantation, near this point, Sweeny's troops moved S. to the . . . — Map (db m8735) HM|
|Georgia (Dekalb County), Atlanta — 044-52 — Terry's Mill Pond|
|The flat area S. was the bed of Terry's mill pond - the impounded waters of Sugar Cr. Tom Terry (1823-1861) operated the grist mill that stood 800 yds. downstream. It was burned by Federal troops July 29, 1864 & was rebuilt and operated some years after the war.
The considerable area of the pond made it a notable landmark in the 1850's-1860's, & further prominence attached because it is cited in military annals recording the movements of Walker's & Bate's divs., Hardee's corps, (CS) to the . . . — Map (db m8730) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-8 — The Rainey Plantation|
|July 18, 1864. The marching columns of the Army of the Tenn. (US), having diverged 5.5 mi. N.W., rejoined here when Dodge's 16th A.C. moved E. from Old Cross Keys to Rainey's. Blair's 17th A.C. moved 1.75 mi. S. on old Shallow Ford rd. & camped at Blake's Mill, N. Fork Peachtree Cr.; Dodge's 16th, 1 mi. S. (at Candler Rd.) with headquarters at the Rainey house.
Logan's 15th A.C. moved S.E. from here to Browning's Court House (TUCKER) to support Gen. Garrard's cav. in a foray on the Georgia . . . — Map (db m9417) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-10 — The Samuel House Plantation|
|The large brick residence built in 1857 by Samuel House (1798-1873) was a prominent landmark during military operations by Federal forces on the Atlanta front in July, 1864. Cox’s division of Schofield's 23rd A.C. reached this vicinity July 18; Schofield, in person, with the div. was here joined by Sherman who established headquarters at the house. Cox’s div. camped on the plantation; Hascall’s div., having traversed Cox’s line of march via Old Cross Keys, turned S.W. on Peachtree Rd. to . . . — Map (db m28587) HM|
|Georgia (Dekalb County), Atlanta — This Line of Breastworks|
|This line of breastworks is a remnant of the city fortifications occupied by Confederate forces during the Siege of Atlanta July 22, - August 25, 1864.
The line, which completely encircled the city, aggregated 12 miles of rifle pits and forts construction of which was designed and supervised by Capt. Lemuel P. Grant. Who, in 1883 donated the original 100 acres of this area for a city park. — Map (db m10238) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-42 — Wheeler Delays Blair|
|McPherson's Army of the Tenn. (US) seized Decatur July 19, 1864 & on the 20th moved towards Atlanta in two columns - the 15th & 16th A.C. via the Ga. R.R., the 17th by roads S. of it where Wheeler's Cav.,(CS) guarding the right of Atlanta's outer defense line, was posted.
Wheeler encountered Blair's 17th A.C. at Clay st. & in a contest lasting all afternoon, endeavored to halt it - both forces using artillery. Towards evening, Wheeler withdrew W. to Leggetts's Hill where he was relieved at . . . — Map (db m8894) HM|
|Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — 044-66 — Wheeler's Cav. Intrenched|
|July 20, 1864. Wheeler’s thin gray line of dismounted cavalry (CS) was the rt. Flank of Atlanta’s defenders. Forced W. from Clay St. in the afternoon by Blair’s 17th A.C., (US) Wheeler’s line ran S. from the Ga. R.R. to this hill.
July 21. Before dawn, Wheeler was replaced by Cleburne’s div. (Hardee’s A.C.)(CS) which was shifted from Peachtree Cr. battlefield to meet the advance of the Federals from Decatur.
Blair’s 17th A.C., resuming the offensive, made its main attach upon the hill. . . . — Map (db m9516) HM|
|Georgia (Dekalb County), Atlanta — 044-13 — Wm. Johnston's Mill|
|About 0.3 mile upstream N. Fork Peachtree Cr., is the site of a mill owned by Wm. Johnston (1789-1855), -a landmark of Federal military operations in the Summer of 1864. Schofield’s 23d A.C., having crossed the Chattahoochee River at Isom’s Ferry July 8, began its march towards Decatur July 17 via Old Cross Keys and the House plantation. Cox’s div. camped at House’s from which point Hascall’s div. moved S.E. to Johnston’s mill where it camped night of July 18. This route was taken to enable the . . . — Map (db m9438) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — "Out in the Rain" — (1913)|
The City of Atlanta Office of Cemetery Commission purchased this fountain from J. L. Mott Iron Works as a cemetery improvement. T. G. Spearman ordered the statue and constructed a masonry pool, which was altered in 1984. The figural group was restored in 1984 and 2002. In 2008, a reconstruction based on the former pool was built east of its location by the Historic Oakland Foundation. Because the fountain stood at the convergence of several roads, drives, and walks, the pool experienced . . . — Map (db m64800) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — “The Storyteller” — Frank Fleming, Sculptor|
|Local lore has recorded that in 1838 a hunter hung a deer’s head at about this location in front of Irby’s Tavern. The Henry Irby family owned 803 surrounding acres and the area was designated Irbyville on maps at that time. People started identifying the area by the buck’s head and the community then changed its name to Buckhead.
It was annexed into the City of Atlanta in 1952. It now has official boundaries of twenty-eight square miles as designated by the Atlanta Regional Commission. . . . — Map (db m53409) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-27 — 20th A.C.; Pace's Fy. Rd.|
|July 18, 1864. Hooker’s Federal 20th Corps, occupied this sector between Howard’s 4th at Buckhead, on the left, & Palmer’s 14th, on the right, at Howell Mill Road. Williams’ & Geary’s divs. of the 20th, camped in this vicinity that night, while Ward’s div. moved E. to Buckhead where it camped on the right of Howard’s 4th Corps. July 19. Geary’s div. moved S.W. (on Arden Rd.), intending to cross Peachtree Cr., at Howell’s Mill. Finding the 14th A.C. there, Geary shifted his column so as to . . . — Map (db m22889) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-58 — 33d N.J. State Flag|
|July 20, 1864. To this high ground, 500 yds. in front of Geary’s div. (20th A.C.) [US] on Collier Rd., the 33d N.J. regt., Jones’ brigade, was sent to establish & support a battery position. The regiment had scarcely reached this hill when, in a surprise attack, it was assailed by Scott’s brigade (Loring’s div.) [CS] moving toward the main line of the 20th corps. The 33d N.J., despite its endeavors to hold the hill, was driven back to the road -- its State flag (a blue banner) being seized by . . . — Map (db m16407) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-19 — 4th A.C. at Buckhead|
|July 18, 1864. Left Wing, Army of the Cumberland [US], having moved from Power’s Fy., cast up a line of intrenchments covering roads leading E., S., & W. Contact was made with the 20th A. C. to the right (on W. Pace’s Fy. Rd.) & to the left with Schofield’s 23d A. C. at Goodwins. July 19. Wood’s & Newton’s divs. marched S. on Peachtree Rd. & in concert with 20th & 14th A. C. westward, forced crossings at Peachtree Cr. Stanley’s div. moved E. by the old Cheshire Bridge Rd. to occupy a wide gap . . . — Map (db m22297) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — A Relaxing Atmosphere — 526 Auburn Avenue|
|Auburn Avenue was like a parade ground. Families and friends were constantly visiting back and forth. In the evenings, couples--such as Frank and Eula Kirk, who lived here for 40 years--relazed in rocking chairs and wicker swings as they chatted with neighbors on the next porch and passersby. boys and girls played marbles and hopscotch, stretched their legs on seesaws and swing sets, and pedaled their bicycles up and down the streets. Out back, mothers, fathers, and grandparents tended . . . — Map (db m73180) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 60-3 — Academy of Medicine|
|Thirteen Atlanta physicians organized the Brotherhood of Physicians in 1854. After many location and name changes, the Brotherhood evolved in to the Fulton County Medical Society, which dedicated the Academy of Medicine as its headquarters here on December 15, 1941. Medical Society members played a major role in health care for all Georgians, including advances in the treatment of pellagra, hookworm, tuberculosis, and venereal disease. Designed by Philip T. Shutze and R. Kennon Perry, the . . . — Map (db m9849) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Alfred Iverson, Jr. — Brigadier General — Confederate States Army|
Born in Clinton, Jones County, Georgia
February 14, 1829
Died Atlanta, Georgia
March 31, 1911
He was the son of
Alfred Iverson, Sr.
United States Senator for Georgia
Caroline Goode Holt
General Iverson's career as a soldier began at the age of 17 years when he was Captain of Volunteers in the War with Mexico, 1846 to 1848. Subsequently he was First Lieutenant, First Cavalry, United States Army . . . — Map (db m64825) HM WM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Apartment House — 509 Auburn Avenue|
|This apartment building represents the ups and downs of the Auburn Avenue neighborhood. As property owners started to move away in the 1950s, numerous dwellings gradually fell into disrepair. Since 1982 the National Park Service and various civic organizations have conducted historic research projects on the buildings. The Nation Park Service has rehabilitated, restored, and, in this case, reconstructed several buildings to their appearance in 1929-41 when Martin Luther King, Jr. lived in the . . . — Map (db m73421) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-87 — Atlanta's Outer Line|
|Johnston’s army [CS] moved to this side of the river July 9-10, 1864. French’s div., Stewarts A.C. was posted astride the R.R. to guard the left bank pending Federal crossings up river. July 18. With the Federal advance S. to Peachtree Cr. Valley, French was shifted to Casey’s line of Atlanta at this point. With its left resting here, it was continued by other commands 5.5 mi. E. to Highland Ave., & S. 3.5 mi. to Leggett’s Hill in E. Atlanta -- a total of 9 mi. It was occupied by 3 infantry . . . — Map (db m16583) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-104 — Attack from the West|
|July 22, 1864. Gen. George Maney’s div. (Hardee’s A.C.) (CS) attacked the front of Giles Smith’s div., 17th A.C. (US) posted on Flat Shoals Road (Leggett’s Hill to Glenwood), while Cleburne’s div. attacked it from the rear. This forced the withdrawal of Smith to the S. Slope of Leggett’s Hill where he occupied a 2nd line extending eastward from Leggett’s position.
Cleburne & Maney, following up their advantage, were aided by Stevenson’s div. (Cheatham’s A.C.) (CS) from the city fortifications. . . . — Map (db m10241) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-79 — Augustus Hurt House|
|200 yds. N.E. stood the plantation residence of Augustus F. Hurt (1830-1921), built 1858 and razed by Federal forces, 1864; erroneously cited in Official Records as the Howard house.
July 22, 1864. 4th & 23d A.C. troops, in line with Federal advances on Atlanta, occupied this hill, having marched via old Williams Mill Rd. Sherman, together with Howard & Schofield, maintained command posts here during the afternoon while McPherson’s Army of the Tennessee fought defensively at & S. of the Ga. . . . — Map (db m10276) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-80 — Augustus Hurt Plantation|
|The outer Confederate defense line of Atlanta, located on E. slope of this hill, July 18, was evacuated the night of the 21st, 1864.
July 22. The Federal 23d A.C., under Schofield, marching from the N.E. via Williams Mill Rd. intrenched a line W. & S. of Augustus Hurt’s house, where it supported the rt. wing of the Army of the Tenn. in the Battle of Atlanta.
July 26. With the shift of that army to the W. side of Atlanta, the 23d A.C. became the extreme right S.W. of the city. The 4th A.C., . . . — Map (db m10275) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 60-101 — Baker's Brigade|
|July 22, 1864. Baker`s Alabama brigade (Col. J.H. Higley comdg.), Clayton`s div., Cheatham`s A.C., [CSA} was diverted N.E. in Clayton`s attack on the 15th A.C. eastward, thus forming the extreme left of the line extending S. to Glenwood Ave. Higley`s troops faced the right sector of the 15th A.C. held by 2 brigades of Woods` div. on the S. slope of Copenhill. A gap of 250 yds. in the swampy area of Clear Creek valley, separated Woods from the right of Morgan Smith`s div. where the DeGress . . . — Map (db m10105) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Baltimore Block|
|Baltimore Block was built in 1885 by Jacob J. Rosenthal. Named for the developer’s home town, the rowhouses were Atlanta’s first apartment-type development and the first to be based on a long-term land lease. Each of the graciously appointed fourteen original units featured central heating and gas fixtures and in accepted Baltimore custom, the land was leased to homeowners for 99 years. For a quarter of a century, the elegant rowhouses were home to socially prominent families and professionals, . . . — Map (db m47622) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-72 — Bate’s Division|
|The outer Atlanta defense line crossed Clear Cr. a short distance S.W. of Walker’s (or Jones’) Mill (just below the present R.R. bridge).
July 20, 1864. The right of Bate’s division (rt. of Hardee’s corps) (CSA) rested on Clear Creek. From this sector Bate’s div. moved N.W. to attack Newton’s 4th A.C. div. posted on the ridge just above Collier Rd. Bate led off in the concerted attack by Hardee’s & Stewart’s corps (by divisions obliquely in echelon) – his route through the forest . . . — Map (db m17293) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-65 — Battle at Moore’s Mill|
|July 19, 1864. Morgan’s brigade (Davis’ div.), 14th A.C., was posted on the rt. of Dilworth’s brigade to support his crossing of Peachtree Creek at junction with Green Bone Cr. Morgan faced destructive fire from Confederate forces on the high bluff S. of Moore’s Mill & the creek. That night, the 10th Mich. pickets occupied the mill & destroyed the flume ~ thereby emptying the millpond.
July 20. Mitchell’s brigade, W. of Nancy’s Cr., having outflanked the Confederates on the bluff, forced . . . — Map (db m35687) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-142 — Battle Hill|
|The name "Battle Hill" is associated with the area because of an engagement fought here on July 28, 1864. This was the 3d attempt of the Confederate forces under General John B. Hood to repel the 3 Federal armies, commanded by General Sherman, endeavoring to capture Atlanta.
The same Federal forces that fought East of the city July 22, had been shifted to the W. side to cut the 2 remaining railroads which entered the city from the southwest.
Hood attacked with S. D. Lee’s & A. P. . . . — Map (db m51402) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-149B — Battle of Ezra Ch. — Gen. J. C. Brown’s Div.|
|July 28, 1864. The 4 brigades of Brown’s Div., S. D. Lee’s A. C. [CS], deployed in this area, made the initial assaults on the Federal right flank posted on the ridge just N. E. Their combined attacks struck Lightburn's & Martin’s brigades of Morgan L. Smith’s Div. of Logan’s 15th A. C. Brown’s brigades, L. to R., were Brantly’s, Sharp’s & Johnston’s, Manigault’s in reserve. Brantly’s Mississippians carried the log barricades of the 83d Indiana (Lightburn’s brigade) but were swept back by a . . . — Map (db m36095) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-148 — Battle of Ezra Ch. — Gen. S. D. Lee’s Corps|
|July 26, 1864. Brown’s & Clayton’s divs., Lee’s Corps [CS] led off the attack on the 15th corps [US] posted some 400 yds. N. of this rd.
Brown’s brigades: Johnston’s, Sharp’s & Brantly’s, were deployed W. of the cemetery Gate House ~ Manigault’s in reserve. Clayton’s brigades: Gibson’s, Holtzclaw’s & Baker’s, were posted E. of the Gate House (along West View Drive).
Brown’s troops crossed the rd & astride the present Anderson Ave., pressed up to the Fed. lines beyond the R.R. cut. . . . — Map (db m36096) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-151 — Battle of Ezra Ch. — Right of 15th Corps|
|July 28, 1864. This marks the extreme right of Howard’s Army of the Tennessee during the Battle of Ezra Church. Lightburn’s brigade of M. L. Smith’s div., Logan’s A. C., occupied the immediate sector. From here the line ran S. E. to a salient angle (Laurel Avenue at Archer) where it turned N. E. to and beyond Ezra Church.
The battle began with an assault by Brown’s 4 brigades of S. D. Lee’s A. C. (Confederate) endeavoring to roll up the Federal Rt. Failing to dislodge Logan, another . . . — Map (db m53579) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-146 — Battle of Ezra Church Gen. Stewart Wounded|
|July 28, 1864. Gen. A.P. Stewart, with Walthall’s and Long’s divisions of his A.C. [CS], reached the field in time to renew the attack. Walthall, on left, fared no better than Brown, in the same area.
Stewart, riding forward to this hill, learned of Walthall’s failure, but before he could order Loring into action, he was struck by a spent bullet. Walthall succeeded Stewart and withdrew his division (under Quarles) and ordered no further attack by Loring’s division.
At 10:00 p.m. Hood . . . — Map (db m50868) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-159 — Battle of Utoy Creek|
|Federal siege operations not only involved the encircling line of Atlanta's defenses, but threatened the 2 railroads S.W. of the city. Pursuant thereto, Federal forces after the Battle of Ezra Church were shifted S., only to be confronted by a line of Confederate works west of and parallel to the railroads. Blocking this southward drift, Bate's division of Hardees A.C. (CSA) was posted on a ridge West of the main line and South of the Sandtown Rd. Aug 6, 1864: Cox's div., 23d A.C. (USA), . . . — Map (db m71443) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Battlefield of Ezra Church — July 28, 1864|
From this point extending three-fourths mile eastward the Confederate troops of Brig. Gen. John C. Brown's & Maj. Gen. Henry D. Clayton's Divisions (seven brigades) of Lieut. Gen. Stephen D. Lee's Corps, formed in line of battle.
From this line they moved northeastward, driving the Federal skirmishers from the ridge just north of the Old Lick Skillet Rd. (Gordon Rd.), and pressed the assault upon the Federal 15th. Corps, posted three-fourths mile northeast of this point.
Failing to . . . — Map (db m87193) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-31 — Battlefield of Peachtree Creek|
|Lt. Gen. John B. Hood, on taking command of the Army of Tennessee [CS], July 18, 1864, began aggressive action against the Federal approach to Atlanta from
upper Chattahoochee crossings. July 20. Hood’s 1st move was to attack Thomas’ Army of the Cumberland before it crossed Peachtree Cr., but a delay in Confederate deployment enabled the Federals to gain positions south of the creek. Battle was joined in this area. Beginning in Clear Creek valley on the E., it moved progressively W. to . . . — Map (db m14415) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-103 — Benton’s & Coltart’s Brigades|
|July 22, 1864. When Brown’s (formerly Hindman’s) div., Cheatham’s A.C. (CS) attacked the Fed. Line E. of here, Benton’s Mississippi & Coltart’s Alabama brigades struck Harrow’s div. of the 15th A.C. (US), dislodging Williams’ & Oliver’s brigades. Simultaneously, Manigault seized Martin’s & Lightburn’s line astride the Ga. R.R. northward – a combined action that displaced four Federal brigades on a half-mile front which they later recovered by reinforced counter-assaults.
Col. Samuel . . . — Map (db m10472) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-22 — Between the Peachtree Cr. Forks|
|July 19, 1864. The march of Stanley’s div. (4th AC.) on the Old Cheshire Bridge Rd from Buckhead was delayed by the burning bridge at N. Fork, Peachtree Cr. Opposition by Confederate cavalry had marked the progress of the 4th AC. from the Chattahoochee to & S. of Buckhead. The bridge rebuilt, Stanley’s men marched to this vicinity 2.5 ml SE. of Buckhead where, with Gen. Howard in person, they camped.
July 20 . While Stanley resumed his march to Durand’s Mill, Howard returned to Buckhead & . . . — Map (db m22224) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Birth Home of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.|
|Built 1895. Purchased 1909 by Dr. King's maternal grandfather, Dr. A. D. Williams. Birthplace of Dr. King 1929. Acquired with assistance of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority 1974. Designated as part of the National Historic Site 1980. Dedicated as part of Freedom Hall Complex 1982. Renovated with the assistance of the Johnson's Wax Fund, Inc. 1983. — Map (db m73422) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-150 — Birthplace of Allison Nelson|
|One mile north where Sandy Creek flows into the Chattahoochee River, was the house of John B. Nelson, owner of Nelson´s Ferry in the 1820´s. His son, Allison Nelson was born there March, 1822. After service in the Mexican War, he was a representative in the Georgia General Assembly (1848 - 1849) & ninth Mayor of Atlanta (1855). Removed to Texas in 1856 where he engaged in Indian warfare & in 1860, became a member of the Texas legislature. Commissioned Brig. Gen. in the Confederate Army, Sept. . . . — Map (db m14159) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-176 — Booker T. Washington — 1856-1915|
|Former slave, Principal of Tuskegee Institute and author of Up From Slavery, Washington delivered the Atlanta Exposition Address on September 18, 1895 at this site, the former auditorium of the Cotton States and International Exposition. Washington delivered this address at the Exposition Inauguration before a segregated audience, and in an unprecedented departure from regional customs, he shared the platform with Charles Collier, President of the Exposition. In 1894 Washington had . . . — Map (db m73369) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Brig. Gen. A. M. Manigault’s Brigade|
|On July 22, 1864,
Brig. Gen. A. M. Manigault’s Brigade, Hindman’s Div., Cheatham’s Corps, advancing
eastward from the Atlanta fortifications against the Federal 15th Corps posted at DeGress Ave., halted in this ravine to reform their line, preparatory to the assault that resulted in breaking the Federal line and capturing DeGress Battery.
Erected by the Old Guard of Atlanta -- 1934
Dedicated by Camp Gordon S.C.V. — Map (db m36102) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Brookhaven Historic District — National Register of Historic Places|
|Historic Brookhaven is the first planned golf club community in Georgia, having been built around the Capital City Country Club between 1910 and 1940. — Map (db m14357) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Brookhaven Historic District — National Register of Historic Places|
|Historic Brookhaven is the first planned golf club community in Georgia, having been built around the Capital City Country Club between 1910 and 1940. — Map (db m14358) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-100B — Brown’s & Clayton’s Divs.|
|July 22, 1864: 3:30 P.M. Gen Hood (CS) launched an attack from the east line of the city fortifications, on the 15th A.C. astride the Ga. R.R. (at DeGress Ave.) - a mass assault by two divs. of Cheatham’s A.C.: Brown’s & Clayton’s.
Brown’s brigades were: Manigualt’s, Sharp’s, Coltart’s, & Benton’s; Clayton’s brigades were: Stovall’s, Baker’s, Gibson’s, & Holtzclaw’s.
The impact of these eight small brigades dislodged four Federal brigades from their intrenched line at and each side of the . . . — Map (db m10260) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Bryant-Graves House — 522 Auburn Avenue|
|This was the home of the Rev. Peter James Bryant and, later Antoine Graves. Here Bryant wrote sermons he delivered as pastor of Wheat Street Baptist Church. He also worked as associate editor of The Voice of the Negro, a national literary magazine. Antoine Graves, who later occupied the house, became a successful real estate agent and worked hard to help blacks integrate residential districts on Atlanta's West Side. A dynamic orator and writer, the Rev. Peter James Bryant (left) was . . . — Map (db m73179) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-116 — Building Together for Youth|
|The National Congress of Colored parents and teachers grew from a meeting called at the request of Selena Sloan Butler through the school principal, Cora B. Finley, at Yonge Street School, March 14, 1911. As interest grew, other school units were created throughout the city and organized into the Parent-Teacher Council of Atlanta. A state organization was formed in the lecture room of Bethel A. M. E. Church in Atlanta, May 6, 1921. Mrs. Butler was elected first State President at that meeting. . . . — Map (db m55232) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Burial Ground of Congregation Ahavath Achim|
|The section of the cemetery encompassing the area behind this marker, bounded by the lane to the east, the sidewalk to the west, and the wall to the south, was established in 1892 as the burial ground for Congregation Ahavath Achim, chartered in 1887 as the city’s first synagogue composed primarily of Jews of Eastern European descent.
The small section of graves to the right, bounded by the sidewalk and corner ground markers, is the burial ground of the Kadish Lodge, a mutual aid society . . . — Map (db m53310) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-86 — Casey's Hill|
|A notable eminence between Peachtree & Proctor’s creeks near the Chattahoochee River & named for John A. Casey (1820-1907) who lived on this hill near the old Montgomery Church. Prior to & during the 1860s, the road from Atlanta crossed this hill & via Montgomery’s Ferry, ran to Marietta in Cobb County. Confederate forces crossed the river near the R.R. bridge, July 9-10, 1864, & camped on the left bank until the 18th when most of them shifted toward Atlanta on the old Marietta Rd. Enroute, . . . — Map (db m16530) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-76 — Cheatham's Salient|
|At this point, Atlanta’s outer defense line, beginning at Casey’s Hill 5.75 W., turned S. & parallel to Highland Ave., ran to the Ga. R.R. This angle was occupied July 18, 1864, by Stevenson’s div. Cheatham A.C. (CS) (Hood’s old command).
July 19, 20. These troops withstood the advances of Fed. 4th & 23d. A.C. from N. & E. while Hardee’s & Stewarts’s A.C. (CS) attached Thomas’ army in Peachtree Cr. valley. Cheatham withdrew to the city defenses, night of the 21st, while Hardee & Wheeler made . . . — Map (db m9545) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Civil War Siege Cannon|
The Union Army used this cannon during the American Civil War, which was fought between 1861 and 1865. Called a siege cannon, it was too big and heavy to be used in most battles. Instead, it was used during sieges, which were lengthy assaults used to capture fortified cities or seaports.
This particular type of siege cannon is called a Parrott Rifle. It was invented in 1860 by a former U.S. Army captain named Robert Parker Parrott, who designed a series of spiral grooves, called . . . — Map (db m88227) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-145 — Clayton’s Div., Lee’s A.C.|
|July 28, 1864. Dep1oyed a1ong the old Greensferry Rd. (West View Dr.) were Gibson’s, Holtzclaw’s and Baker’s brigades (Alabama and Louisiana troops), Clayton’s div., forming the right flank of Gen. S. D. Lee’s A. C. [CS] in the Battle Of Ezra Church.
Moving northward in the heavily wooded area, their assault fell upon the Federal line at. the salient angle (at Laurel Ave. and Archer. St.), occupied by the left flank, Logan’s 15th A. C.
Unsupported on the left and counter-attacked in . . . — Map (db m53691) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-145 — Clayton's Div., Lee's A.C.|
|July 28, 1864. Dep1oyed a1ong the old Greensferry Rd. (West View Dr.) were Gibson’s, Holtzclaw’s and Baker’s brigades (Alabama and Louisiana troops), Clayton’s div., forming the right flank of Gen. S. D. Lee’s A. C. [CS] in the Battle Of Ezra Church.
Moving northward in the heavily wooded area, their assault fell upon the Federal line at the salient angle (at Laurel Ave. and Archer. St.), occupied by the left flank, Logan’s 15th A. C.
Unsupported on the left and counter-attacked in . . . — Map (db m53710) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-145 — Clayton's Div., Lee's A.C.|
|July 28, 1864. Dep1oyed a1ong the old Greensferry Rd. (West View Dr.) were Gibson’s, Holtzclaw’s & Baker’s brigades (Alabama & Louisiana troops), Clayton’s div., forming the right flank of Gen. S. D. Lee’s A. C. [CS] in the Battle Of Ezra Church.
Moving northward in the heavily wooded area, their assault fell upon the Federal line at the salient angle (at Laurel Ave. & Archer. St.), occupied by the left flank, Logan’s 15th A. C.
Unsupported on the left & counter-attacked in front, . . . — Map (db m53715) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Clement Anselm Evans — 1833 - 1911|
Clement A. Evans, Brig. Gen., C.S.A., began his military career in his native Stewart Co., Ga., where he was commissioned Major in Co. E, 31st Ga. Infantry. He rapidly rose in rank and in Nov. 1864, was put in command of a division, succeeding Gen. John B. Gordon. He led his men in virtually all battles in the Virginia campaign and was engaged in the last charge of the War and surrendered under Lee at Appomattox.
The remainder of his life was spent in public service as a Methodist . . . — Map (db m64826) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-36 — Coburn's Brigade|
|Four regiments ~ 33d & 85th Ind., 19th Mich. & 22d Wis. ~ Col. John Coburn’s brigade, Ward’s 3d div., 20th A.C., were posted in this sector ~ the 22d Wis. on the ridge as skirmishers, the other three in the ravine N. of the road. The left of Featherston’s brigade [CS], swept N. across the road, driving & pursuing the 22d Wis. down the slope, only to be assailed in turn by Coburn’s regiments advancing from the ravine, aided by the left of Harrison’s & the right of Wood’s brigades. Featherston . . . — Map (db m16382) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-39 — Collier's Mill|
|150 ft. down stream, on the right bank of Tanyard Branch, stood an ante-bellum grist mill built & operated by Andrew J. Collier, pioneer resident of this area. (1827-1887). A notable landmark at the time of the Battle of Peachtree Creek - July 20, 1864. It stood, not only at the center of Federal troop alignment along Collier Rd., but was the storm-center of the conflict that raged here, since the stream valley was a strategic approach to the Federal center toward which the Confederate forces . . . — Map (db m16497) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-3 — Confederate Army Command Changed — >>>----- >|
|Near here the command and tactics of the Confederate Army were changed July 18th 1864.
Gen. William Tecumseh Sherman (US) had been trying for months to force Gen. Joseph E. Johnston (CS) to abandon delaying tactics and face overwhelming odds in open battle. Gen. John Bell Hood took command of the Confederate Army on the above date and daringly went out to meet the Union forces. Atlanta fell after bitter fighting. There are 55 original Confederate cannon balls in the adjacent U.D.C. marker. — Map (db m55624) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-196 — Confederate Battery Position|
|This battery was one of several cavalry outposts maintained by Wheeler`s Cavalry (CS) to watch the ferries and fords along the Chattahoochee River in 1864. The battery position consisted of a single piece of light artillery protected by strong earthworks. At 3:30 P.M. on July 8, 1864, Cox`s Division, 23rd A.C., Army of the Ohio (US), made one of the first crossings of the Chattahoochee river at this point. Wading the river, Federal forces scaled the steep slopes of this position capturing the . . . — Map (db m9553) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-161 — Confederate Entrenchments: 1864|
|This line of works in Adams Park is one of the few remaining sections of the exterior portion of Atlanta's defenses designed as a barrier to Federal attempts to cut the two railroads that enter the city from the S.W. Built about August 1 it joined the main line city fortifications at W. Fair and Ashby Sts., from where it ran SW to East Point - later prolonged and ran to Thames' Mill in Clayton County. Manned by troops of Hardee's and S. D. Lee's corps, it withstood all attempts to seize it & . . . — Map (db m18820) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Confederate Soldiers Plot — "Lest We Forget"|
"Resolved, that the petition of the Atlanta Ladies Memorial Association, asking a donation of land for the purpose of interring the Confederate Dead, be referred to the Committee on Cemetery, and that said committee have full power to act in the premises agreed to."
1867 Minutes of City Council
Frank Ryan, Clerk
The committee gave them the ground now marked "Unknown."
1866 Atlanta Ladies Memorial Association 1989 — Map (db m64823) WM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-177 — Cotton States Exposition of 1895|
|Was held for 100 days from Sept. 18, to Dec. 31, 1895 in Piedmont Park. This event was held at a time when the regions population was only 75,000 and economically depressed. The people of Atlanta raised two million dollars to finance a public exposition. The theme for the exposition was two fold; to exhibit the resources of the Cotton States; and to stimulate trade with Spanish American Countries. The exposition attracted over 800,000 visitors from 37 states and foreign countries. Eleven . . . — Map (db m17292) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-137 — Davis' Hill|
|The hill N. of the Chapel Rd. intersection was thus named after occupation & intrenching by Gen. J.C. Davis’ 2d Div., 14th A.C., July 22, when the Army of the Cumberland [US] moved up from Peachtree Cr. to the siege line facing the N. sector of Atlanta’s defenses. Davis’ position here formed the Right of the siege until July 28.
From this hill Sherman directed Howard (com’d’g. Army of the Tenn., vice McPherson deceased) to align his 3 corps -- the 15th, 16th, & 17th -- S. along Chapel . . . — Map (db m45767) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-66 — Disputed Passage|
|July 19, 1864. The 1st crossing of Peachtree Cr by Federal 14th A.C. troops, was at the junction of Green Bone Cr., 3/4 mi. N. of here. Two regts. of Dilworth’s brigades (Davis' div.), crossing on a log, were at once assailed by skirmishers of Reynolds’ & Adams’ brigades of Stewart’s A.C. which guarded the S. bank from Howell’s Mills to Nancy’s Cr. With the entire brigade across, Dilworth moved S. to this hill where a sharp, if brief, engagement resulted in heavy loses on both sides.
. . . — Map (db m21496) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Dr. Charles d'Alvigny|
Dr. Charles d'Alvigny, son of Dr. Noel d'Alvigny, was captured with Cobb's Legion in NC in 1865. He was released when it was recognized that he was Dr. d'Alvigny's son. He was a dentist and later Sexton of Streets in Atlanta overseeing their rebuilding after the War. — Map (db m64816) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Dr. Daniel Cornelius O'Keefe — Oct. 1828, Aug. 1871|
Surgeon in the Civil War,
Founder of Atlanta's
Public Schools, Christian,
His works live after him. — Map (db m64790) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Dr. Noel d'Alvigny|
Dr. Noel d'Alvigny was born in 1800, Paris. As a surgeon in both the French and Confederate Armies (Leyden Artillery), he said, "I was in two revolutions." He was the only doctor who bravely remained during the burning of Atlanta in 1864 and was responsible for saving the Atlanta Medical Center (now Emory). Atlanta historians state that Noel was the model for the character of "Dr. Meade" in Margaret Mitchell's "Gone with the Wind." — Map (db m64818) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 60-166 — Dry Pond|
|An old Campbell County crossroads cited in James P. Snell’s Diary as “a one-horse settlement with no pond, but two or three houses & blacksmith shop” — a landmark in the movement of Howard’s Army of the Tennessee from the Atlanta siege lines to the A. & W. P. railroad.
Aug 27, 1864. From this crossroads, the 15th A. C. marched S.E.; the 16th & 17th A. C. due S., their objective: Shadnor Ch. & Fairburn where, together with Army of the Cumberland & 23d
A. C. troops. The . . . — Map (db m19095) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Ebenezer Baptist Church|
|"Our Stone of Help."
"Then Samuel took a stone and named it Ebenezer for he said, 'Thus far the Lord has helped us.'"
(I Samuel 7:12.)
The Rev. John A. Parker,
The Rev. Dr. Alfred Daniel Williams,
The Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Sr.,
The Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.,
The Rev. Dr. Alfred Daniel Williams King,
The Rev. Dr. Otis Moss, Jr.,
Co-pastor 1971-72. . . . — Map (db m5481) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Ebenezer Baptist Church|
|has been designated a
National Historic Landmark This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America May 5th 1977 National Park Service United States Department of the Interior
Ebenezer Baptist Church Heritage Sanctuary
407-413 Auburn Avenue
Ebenezer Baptist Church has been a spiritual, social, and political center - a home-away-from-home - for generations of black Atlantans. Under the leadership of the . . . — Map (db m6675) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-164 — Enroute to Jonesboro|
|Aug 26, 1864. The Federal Army of the Tenn., (15th, 16th and 17th corps) enroute to Fairburn & Jonesboro, camped on, and near, the Wilson plantation. Gen. John A. Logan (15th A.C.) had h’dq’rs at the Judge Wm. A. Wilson residence. The 4th, 14th and 23rd A.C. marched by other rds.
Atlanta siege operations (July 22 - Aug 25), having failed, the Federals were shifted S. to cut the two railroads entering from the S.W.
This change of base resulted not only in destruction of the West . . . — Map (db m44416) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Eugene Talmadge|
|1884 - 1946
Farmer - Lawyer
Elected Governor of
Georgia on four
A superb orator -
A safe but progressive
of public trust. — Map (db m87459) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-35 — Featherston’s Brigade|
|Gen. W.S. Featherston’s Mississippi brigade of Loring’s div., Stewart’s A.C., [CS] together with Scott’s brigade (on his left), advanced from trenches at & near Loring’s Hill, .9 miles S.W. Traversing a broken area of tangled forest, the brigade crossed Tanyard Branch under fire from Geary’s batteries west of it & struck Collier Road in this sector.
Dislodging Coburn’s skirmishers ~ the 22d Wis. posted behind rail barricades at the S. side of the rd., the brigade moved down the slope N. . . . — Map (db m16380) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-53 — Federal Crossings|
|Opposition by Confederate forces to Federal crossings of Peachtree Cr., were more formidable westward than eastward, because of high, wooded ridges on the south bank. Two days of severe conflict were required by the 14th Corps [US] to effect lodgments on this side. July 19, 1864. Two brigades forced a passage at the mouth of Green Bone Cr., 5 mi. W., supported by a third beyond Nancy’s Cr. Two brigades of Baird’s div. managed a night crossing at Howell’s Mills on an improvised bridge. July . . . — Map (db m37030) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-25B — Federal Right Wing|
|The rt. wing of the Army of the Cumberland, 14th and 20th A.C., was also the rt. of Sherman´s forces moving on Atlanta from N. & E. The 14th and 20th, having crossed the river at Pace´s Fy., July 27, 1864, moved E. to this intersection with Mt. Paran & Ridgewood roads. The 20th A.C. went into camp that night 2 mi. N.E. on Mt. Paran. The 14th camped on the ridge S. of this point ~ both corps facing the valley of Nancy´s Creek to the Eastward.
July 18. Two 20th A.C. regts. (13th N.J. & 82d . . . — Map (db m14347) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-26A — Federal Right Wing to Peachtree Creek|
|July 18, 1864. The 14th A.C., which was posted on extreme rt. of the Cumberland Army, left camp at Mt. Paran Rd., crossed Nancy´s Creek & moved S. on Howell Mill Rd. to Peachtree Cr. Mitchell´s brigade of Davis´ div. covered the Ridgewood Rd. area between Nancy´s Cr. & the river, southward to Peachtree Creek. Hooker´s 20th A.C. left camp on Mt. Paran Rd., crossed Nancy´s Cr., & moved E. on Pace´s Ferry Rd. to occupy the gap between the 14th A.C. & Howard´s 4th A.C. which had reached Buckhead . . . — Map (db m14348) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-99A — Federal Signal Station|
|July 22, 1864. When 15th A.C. troops moved W. from line (at Candler St.) to the vacated Confederate line at the Troup Hurt house (at DeGress Ave.), a signal station was established by Lt. Samuel Edge in a tall pine near this site commanding a view of fortified Atlanta.
Lt. Edge reported the advance of Confederate forces astride the R.R. and when the 15th A.C. line was broken, he abandoned the station- returning to it after the line was restored.
Near this site, in 1885, the battlefield was . . . — Map (db m9511) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Fire Station No. 6 — 37-39 Boulevard, N.E.|
As a boy Martin Luther King, Jr., played basketball behind Fire Station No. 6 and watched the white crews go out on calls. He and his friends knew that they could not dream of becoming firefighters because of the city’s segregation laws. Finally, in 1963, 16 blacks were allowed to join the paid force, and, a few years later, Station 6 became the city’s first integrated station.
When I was a kid…Station 6…was like a meeting place for all the kids…It was a place you could go to get . . . — Map (db m85815) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-172 — Fort McPherson|
|Named for Maj. Gen. James Birdseye McPherson, U. S. Vol., the Union Commander of the Army of Tenn. during the Battle of Atlanta, this area was used as a state militia drill ground as early as 1835. It housed several temporary Confederate and Union military encampments. The U. S. Army established McPherson Barracks at a site appositely three miles n. of here in l867, but abandoned it in 1881. In 1885, the army bought 236 a. along the Georgia Central R. R. and began erecting a permanent post . . . — Map (db m16964) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-61 — Fort Peach Tree|
|With Creek Indians as British allies & Cherokees loyal to U.S., in War of 1812, it was expedient to locate a fort at Standing Peach Tree on the Chattahoochee - the boundary line. Lt. Geo. Gilmer (later, twice Gov. of Georgia) was sent here (1814) with a small force to erect a fort & protect workmen building flat boats for shipping supplies to Ft. Mitchell. Lt. Gilmer's fort was built on the knoll N. of & at mouth of Peachtree Cr. J. McC. Montgomery, Supt. of Artificers, set up the boat-yard in . . . — Map (db m22091) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-194 — Fort Peachtree, War of 1812|
|One of a line of forts hastily constructed during the War of 1812 to control the Creek Indians who were in alliance with the British, of the Chattahoochee River and Peachtree Creek, and overlooked the Creek trading-post town of Standing Peachtree. First Lt. George Rockingham Gilmer (Governor of Georgia, 1829-31, 1837-39) erected the fort in 1814. He later said he had "never seen a fort" up until that time, but as far as anyone knows, his construction was successful, since the strength of the . . . — Map (db m9688) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-108 — Fort Walker|
|Southeastern salient of Atlanta’s inner line of (CS) fortifications erected during the Summer & Fall of 1863. The line consisted of a cordon of redoubts on hills connected by rifle pits encircling the city, aggregating some 10.5 miles of earthworks designed & supervised by Col. L.P. Grant, pioneer citizen, construction engineer & railroad builder of Atlanta.
After 93 years, it is one of a few remnants of a line that withstood the quartering steel & climbing fire of Federal armies forty two . . . — Map (db m10236) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Freedom Park|
| Freedom Park celebrates the lives and work of two renowned Georgians and Nobel Peace Prize winners, the Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr., and President Jimmy Carter.
Beginning at the far end of the parking lot, a gentle paved trail extends through Freedom Park, which links the Martin Luther King, Jr., National Historic Site with the Jimmy Carter Library and Museum. Walk the 1.5 mile trail and spend some time looking at the museum exhibits about the nation's 39 President and the ongoing work of . . . — Map (db m73173) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-68 — French’s Division Hood’s Left Flank|
|July 20. 1864. The right of Gen. S. F. French’s div. of Stewart’s A. C. [CS] rested on DeFoor's Fy. Rd. -- the left, being at Casey’s Hill 1.5 miles W., during the Battle of Peachtree Creek.
While Walthall’s & Loring’s divs. attacked the Federal 20th A. C. at Collier Rd., French’s 3 brigades were on Walthall’s left, & by demonstrations in force engaged the attention of the 14th A. C. [US], thereby preventing its unlimited participation in the battle.
The high knoll west of here (at Davis’ . . . — Map (db m21504) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-67 — French's Line|
|July 9, 1864. Confederate forces withdrew to this side of the river near the state R.R. bridge. General S.G. French’s div. (Stewart’s A.C.) was posted above & below the bridge as a rear guard of Johnston’s Army of Tennessee. July 18. French’s div. occupied the left sector of Atlanta’s outer defense line -- from the Old Marietta Rd. at Casey’s Hill to DeFoors Fy. Rd. This line extended E. to Highland Ave. & was S. of & parallel to Peachtree Creek. This marker is at the point where French’s . . . — Map (db m21500) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-195 — Fulton County|
|Fulton County was created out of DeKalb County by an Act of the Legislature approved December 20, 1853 (as amended and corrected by the Act of February 7, 1854). The City of Atlanta was made the County Seat. From 1872 until 1932, parts of Milton and Campbell Counties were added to Fulton. In 1932 complete consolidation with Milton and Campbell Counties and the annexation from Cobb of the Town of Roswell fixed the boundaries of the County.
The first officers of the original County, commissioned . . . — Map (db m59535) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-38 — Gap in Federal Line|
|The 129th, 105th Ill. & 70th Ind., the left of Harrison’s brigade, together with the rest of Ward’s div., 20th A.C. [US] were posted in the low ground 350 yds. N., having just crossed Peachtree Creek. No immediate attack was expected. Scott’s [CS] dash across the rd. & down the slope met the alerted 129th Ill. -- the sole guardian of the left flank of Geary’s div. for a brief period. Assailed front & flank, the 129th held on until the 105th Ill. & 70th Ind. came up.
The gap was closed . . . — Map (db m29426) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-55 — Geary’s Div. to Peachtree Creek|
|July 19, 1864. Geary’s Div. 20th A.C. [US] camped the previous night on Paces Fy. Rd. (at Arden). Moving S.W. on the ridge E. of Green Bone Cr., by a road more or less identical with Arden, Geary’s intonation was to cross Peachtree Cr. at Howell’s Mills. Learning that Palmer’s 14th A.C. was there, Geary shifted his column to the southward near Hiram Casey house & headed for a point .7 mi. above the mills.
On the wooded ridge in the bend of the cr. S. on the hills was massed; 2 batteries were . . . — Map (db m23207) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-41 — Geary’s Division|
|July 20, 1864. Gen. J. W. Geary’s 2d div., 20th A.C. [US] occupied this ridge which was some 300 yds. in advance of Williams’ 1st div. on his rt., & Ward’s 3d, on his left -- all facing southward.
His three brigades: Candy’s, Jones’ & Ireland’s were massed on the ridge together with Aleshire’s artillery. These troops were from New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania & Ohio; most of them had served under Geary at Gettysburg.
This commanding ridge, overlook Tanyard Branch valley, was the . . . — Map (db m41096) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-43 — Geary’s Refused Line|
|July 20, 1864. Geary’s 20th A.C. div. [US] was massed on this ridge (Candy’s, Ireland’s & Jones’ brigades) in parallel lines on old Collier Rd., its front 400 yds. Eastward. A reconnoissance in force, there was no deployment & being several hundred yds. in advance of the other 2 divs., the position lacked support.
The surprise attack by O’Neal [CS] struck Geary’s right flank causing him to refuse his line on a left pivot down the slope to & beyond the deep ravine northward, where it . . . — Map (db m41955) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-56 — Geary’s Three Bridges|
|July 19, 1864. Covered by the fire of Geary’s 12 guns [US] on the ridge N. of the cr., together with the musketry of a heavy skirmish line, the division pioneers hastily built a foot bridge with timbers previously prepared. Ireland’s Brigade quickly filed across under fire and seized the first ridge S. of the cr. Candy’s and Jones’ followed Ireland’s and cast up an entrenched bridgehead for the night.
By dawn of the 20th, two other bridges were thrown across; roads to them were cut for . . . — Map (db m16516) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-88 — Gen. Cleburne's H’dq’rs.|
|On hill 200 yds. west stood the ante-bellum res. of Archibald Whitehead, headquarters of General Patrick R. Cleburne, [CS] July 10-18, 1864.
After withdrawal of Johnston’s army to this side of the river, night of July 9, his forces were posted at various points in this vicinity until Federal movements determined defensive measures. When ascertained, Johnston’s preparations for defense were disrupted by his relief of army command, night of July 17, & the appointment of Hood as his . . . — Map (db m50527) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-90 — Gen. Stewart’s H'dq'rs.|
|Site of the Ira R. Foster house which was occupied as headquarters by Gen. A. P. Stewart, [CS] during military operations N. of Atlanta, July 16-21, 1864. From here were issued the orders directing his troops in the Battle of Peachtree Creek, July 20 -- fought 1.5 miles N.
Stewart´s corps, posted on the left of Confederate forces in the outer defense line of Atlanta, consisted of three divisions: from left to right, French’s, Walthall’s & Loring’s.
Failing to break the Federal line . . . — Map (db m50625) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-99B — Georgia Institute of Technology|
|Established by Act of the General Assembly Oct. 13, 1885; site selected Oct. 20, 1886.
Administration Building erected, 1887.
First session, Oct. 7, 1888.
In July, August, 1864, this site was occupied by one of a series of forts connected by rifle-pits which 12 mi. in extent, encircled Atlanta. During siege operations the city was defended by Gen. Hood’s Army of Tennessee.
Opposing this sector were the 4th and 20th Corps of the Federal Army of the Cumberland posted in the area . . . — Map (db m15839) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-171 — Georgia Railroad Freight Depot|
|(Exterior sign): Downtown Atlanta’s oldest standing building. It was completed in April 1869 by Thomas Alexander, contractor and designed by Corput and Bass, architects.
A 1935 fire destroyed the upper floors and cupola. The building served its original purpose for nearly a century. Upon completion of the structure in 1869, the local press said, in part: “The new Georgia Railroad Depot is recognized at a glance as an ornament and benefit to the city and reflects credit on the . . . — Map (db m40521) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-107 — Grant Park|
|Named for Col. Lemuel P. Grant (1817-1893), pioneer railroad builder and public-spirited citizen of Atlanta, who donated to the city 87.5 of this area for a park May 17, 1883. An additional 44 acres acquired by purchase from Col. Grant, increased it to 131.5 acres April 4, 1890.
Grant Park has the national distinction of being the location of one of the few extant cycloramas – the subject of which memorializes the major engagement fought by Confederate and Federal forces in the . . . — Map (db m10235) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-54 — Green Bone Creek|
|A small tributary of Peachtree Creek, which rises near Pace’s Ferry Road & drains the valley between Arden, Dover, Howell Mill rds. & Moore’s Mill Road; a landmark of military operations in the Summer of 1864. July 19. Federal 14th A.C. troops encountered determined opposition by Confederate forces in attempting to cross Peachtree creek.
Dilworth’s 3d brigade, Davis div. [US] made the 1st crossing at the month of Green Bone Cr., some 250 yds. S., supported by a brigade of Baird´s div. . . . — Map (db m50501) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-26B — Habersham Memorial Hall|
|Joseph Habersham Chapter, National Society Daughters of the American Revolution was organized February 12, 1900 at the Executive Mansion. Mrs. William Lawson Peel, first Regent and Mrs. Allen D. Candler, wife of the governor, were among the five founders. The cornerstone was laid January 14, 1922 and the building was completed in 1923. The Hall was designed by Architect Henry Hornbostel, designer of Carnegie Institute of technology, Emory University and "Callanwolde" of Atlanta. Colonel Joseph . . . — Map (db m30510) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-30 — Hardee at Peachtree Creek|
|Troops of Gen. W.J. Hardee’s A.C. [CS] were posted in this sector, July 18, 1864, to guard the creek crossings when it was learned that Federal forces were moving toward Atlanta from Pace’s & Power’s Fys., Chattahoochee River. Wheeler’s Cav. operated in the area N. of the creek to impede the Army of the Cumberland advance. Howard’s 4th A.C., having crossed at Power’s, reached Buckhead that afternoon.
July 19. Wood’s div. of the 4th, moved down the road to force a creek crossing. Hardee’s . . . — Map (db m16426) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-71 — Hardee’s Attack|
|July 20, 1864. At 3:30 P.M., 3 divisions of Hardee’s A.C., [CS] Bate’s, Walker’s, & Maney’s, moved to the attack of Newton’s 4th A.C. div. [US] posted on the ridge 200 yards north of Collier Road. Bate, on the right of the corps, was just west of Clear Creek; Walker at center, astride Peachtree Rd., & Maney (formerly Cheatham), on Walker’s left. Peachtree was a winding country rd. bordered by heavily wooded tracts—largely of Collier ownership in the battlefield area. The house of Andrew . . . — Map (db m16506) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-105 — Hardee's Night March|
|Failing to dislodge Federal forces N. of Atlanta at Peachtree Cr., July 20, Gen. Hood sent Hardee’s A.C. on a 15-mile night march S.E. to the rear of Federal troops in East Atlanta.
Hardee began the march after dark, July 21, via Capitol Ave. & McDonough Rd. At this point the road turned toward the South River; there was no Moreland Ave. (County Line Rd.) at the time.
Riding with Hardee’s A.C. was Wheeler’s Cav., enroute to Decatur to seize the Federal wagon trains parked near the public . . . — Map (db m10409) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-40A — Harrison’s Brigade|
|The 5 regts. of Col. Benjamin Harrison’s brigade of Ward’s div. (20th A.C.) [US] were N. of this ridge when the Confederate attack in this sector was made. The brigade was moved forward in support of Geary’s line & deployed astride Tanyard Branch - 2 regiments west of Collier’s Mill; the other 3 east of it.
Scott’s [CS] assaulting line was broken by Geary’s artillery fire; the left of the brigade attempting to seize the guns while the right was diverted to the eastward of Tanyard Branch, . . . — Map (db m16498) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-102 — Harrow’s Div., 15th A.C.|
|July 22, 1864. Harrow’s 4th div. (composed of Walcutt’s, Oliver’s & Williams’ brigades), 15th A.C. [US] occupied this sector between Leggett’s Hill & the Ga. R.R., which was the outer Confederate line until abandoned that morning.
When Coltart’s & Benton’s brigades of Brown’s div., Cheatham’s A.C. [CS] assaulted this sector, Oliver’s & Williams’ troops gave way under a like pressure that broke Morgan Smith’s line at the railroad, only to return at Harrow’s command & re-possess it in a . . . — Map (db m60559) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Headquarters of General Joseph E. Johnston|
|Where on July 18, 1864, the transfer of the command of the Army of Tennessee was made to General John B. Hood.
(On Separate Plaques:)
Restored by Atlanta Paper Co. 1955
Restored by Mead Containerboard 1996 — Map (db m55625) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Hibernian Benevolent Society of Atlanta, Ga. — Founded 1858|
The City of Atlanta deeded this plot of ground to the Hibernian Benevolent Society in 1873. The grant recognized contributions made by the "Hibernian Rifles" and Father Thomas O'Reilly in defending and preserving the city during the Civil War. — Map (db m64836) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Historic Fire Station No. 6|
Fire Station No. 6 was one of seven fire stations built in Atlanta, Georgia during the 1890s to serve the city's bustling growth of suburban neighborhoods. One of the early means of transportation for the firemen was the horse-drawn hose wagon. When Martin Luther King, Jr. was growing up in this neighborhood of Sweet Auburn, a 1927 American LaFrance fire engine (like the one on display inside) was used by the firemen who worked here at this fire station.
In the 1930s and 1940s . . . — Map (db m85814) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-2 — Historic Ground|
|Atlanta’s first City Hall stood here 1853-1883. Used jointly by Fulton county courts.
During Atlanta’s occupation -- Sept. to Nov. 1864 -- the 2nd Mass. Regiment, [US] constituting the Provost Guard of Sherman’s army, camped in a park on this site.
From here, Sept. 6, 1864, went notice to the civilian population of Atlanta to assemble for registration and evacuation.
Present State Capitol begun 1884; completed 1889. Commissioners turned back $118.43 of a $1,000,000 building appropriation. — Map (db m41848) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-111A — Historic Mt. Gilead — Methodist Church|
|One of the first churches in Fulton County, Mt Gilead was founded April 23, 1824, by Rev. John M. Smith (1789-1863) who is buried here. It was organized by Rev. William J. Parks. Many early settlers worshiped here and their descendants still live nearby. During the War Between the States the church was used by Confederates and Federals as a hospital. Confederate cavalry under Ross were here, August 15-16, 1864; McDowell’s Confederate Scouts, August 22, 1864. On Sunday, August 28, 1864, a . . . — Map (db m44412) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-189 — Historic Owl Rock Church|
|Owl Rock Church was founded in 1828 by Richmond Barge and other members of the Mutual Rights faction that withdrew from the Mount Gilead Methodist Episcopal Church. The church is named for an eight foot natural rock closely resembling an owl which is to the rear of the building. This church has taken part in four distinct phases of Methodism in Georgia: as an Associated Methodist Church, 1828-1830; as a Methodist Protestant Church, 1830-1916; as a Methodist Episcopal Church, South, 1916-1939; . . . — Map (db m14161) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-17 — Howard’s Corps at Nancy’s Creek|
|July 18, 1864. The 4th A.C., marching from Crossroads Church to Buckhead, encountered a spirited opposition by Confederate cavalry & artillery S. of Mt. Paran Rd. On reaching the creek Newton’s head of column found that the bridge had been burned & Col. Williams’ brigade Wheeler’s cav., with an artillery section, was posted on the ridge S. of the creek.
Newton brought up his artillery which covered the crossing of his skirmishers, supported by the 13th N.J. & 82d Ohio (20th A.C. . . . — Map (db m27981) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-51 — Howell's Mills|
|A notable ante-bellum land-mark established 1852, by Judge Clark Howell (1811-1882). Two buildings -- grist and sash-sawmills -- which stood on the N. bank, and in the bend of, Peachtree Cr. 1000 ft. west of the present bridge. The old road crossed the creek on a wooden bridge to the west of the present highway and bridge. Surviving the war, the mills burned in 1879. They were the center of a rural community with a P.O. (1876-1891). Another enterprise was Foster’s Woolen Mill, established . . . — Map (db m23271) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-198 — Immaculate Conception Church|
|First Catholic Church in the Atlanta area and the oldest complete building standing in downtown Atlanta.
The church was established in 1848. The first building, a frame structure, was erected here in 1851. Father Thomas O’Reilly, its pastor, successfully appealed to Union General H.W. Slocum in 1864 to spare his church and the neighborhood. Thus, the church, four other churches, and the City Hall-Court House were saved from destruction when Atlanta was burned. Cornerstone of this . . . — Map (db m41835) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-8 — Isom's Ferry|
|Chattahoochee River, at mouth of Soap Cr., .75 mi. N.W., operated in the 1860`s by James Isom. Federal Army records cite it variously as Isham's Ford or Fy., Phillip's Fy., Cavalry Fd. The first of the Federal troops to pass the river was Cox`s div., Schofield's 23d A.C. which crossed at Isom's July 8, & was aligned on this ridge parallel to the river & covering the ferry. Hascall's div. joined July 11 & by the 14th the adjusted corps line connected with the left of Howard's 4th A.C. along the . . . — Map (db m9583) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-197 — James J. Andrews|
|James J. Andrews, leader of the Andrews Raiders, was executed a few feet southeast on June 7, 1862. Andrews a native of Hancock County, now West Virginia, was a civilian spy for the Union Army who led 20 Union soldiers and another civilian to Big Shanty (Kennesaw), Georgia, stole the locomotive "General," April 12, 1862, and began the Great Locomotive Chase on the Western and Atlantic RR leading to Chattanooga. The Chase ended north of Ringgold with little damage to the railroad. Andrews and . . . — Map (db m30504) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — John Brown Gordon — 1832 - 1904|
A native of Upson County, Georgia, and a Major General, Confederate States Army, was one of General Lee's most trusted and outstanding officers. He brilliantly led his devoted men in every engagement in which the Army of Northern Virginia participated and was severely wounded at the Battle of Sharpsburg. He led The War's last charge and following the Appomattox surrender, returned to Georgia.
Idolized by the populace, he served his state three times as U.S. Senator and as Governor . . . — Map (db m64831) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — John Brown Gordon|
John Brown Gordon, son of the Rev. Zachariah Herndon Gordon and Mrs. Malinda Cox Gordon, was born in Upson County Feb. 6, 1832. He attended a rural school in Walker County, Pleasant Green Academy in Lafayette, and the University of Georgia. He left the University in his senior year to study law under the noted Logan E. Bleckley, but soon gave up the practice of law to join his father in coal mine operations in Northwest Georgia.
At the beginning of the War Between the States, John B. . . . — Map (db m86837) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-85 — Johnston’s Army Crossed the River|
|July 5-9, 1864. Johnston Army of Tenn. [CS] held a fortified line N. of the Chattahoochee from Nickajack Cr. to one mile above Peachtree Cr.
Federal crossings several miles upriver July 8, making the line untenable, Johnston crossed his forces July 9 to this side on 5 bridge: a traffic bridge here; the State R.R. bridge and 3 pontoon bridges downstream.
Until Federal movements from upriver crossing to Peachtree Cr. valley became evident, Johnston’s forces marked time here until the . . . — Map (db m21506) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Joseph Emerson Brown|
|War Governor of Georgia
Patriot, Statesman, Christian
Born April 15, 1821, Died November 30, 1894
Governor of Georgia Four Terms, 1857-1865
Chief Justice Supreme Court of Georgia, 1868-1870
United States Senator from Georgia, 1880-1891
Founder of Charles McDonald Brown
University of Georgia
Elizabeth Grisham Brown
Wife of Joseph Emerson Brown
Born July 13, 1826, Died December 26, 1896
Devoted wife, loving mother, loyal patriot
A Christian obedient . . . — Map (db m87457) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Julia Carlisle Withers — Born Aug. 17, 1842 • Died Oct. 29, 1919|
Atlanta's First Baby — Map (db m64786) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-73 — King's Brigade|
|July 20, 1864. In Federal advances on Atlanta from the N.E., a gap was left between the 23d A.C. (on Briarcliff Rd.) and Newton’s Div., 4th A.C. on Peachtree Rd. S. of the creek. Two 4th A.C. divisions were shifted E. to occupy the gap. When both divisions were deployed west from Williams Mill Rd. (Briarcliff), a half-mile interval was held by pickets only. Not until 6 p.m. was the gap occupied by King’s 14th A.C. brigade, shifted E. from Howell Mill Rd. and posted in this sector N. of the . . . — Map (db m23247) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-83 — Land Lot 104|
|The area E. (L. L. 104, 17th Dist.), long known as Collier’s Woods, was part of the ante-bellum plantation of George W. Collier (1813-1903). Clear Creek P.O. (1831-1839), probably in this land lot, was named for the stream flowing across it; old Montgomery Fy. Rd. traversed it. July 18, 1864. Near its S. boundary, Confederate forces intrenched the outer Atlanta defense line from which, July 20, the troops of Walker’s & Bate’s divisions of Hardee’s Corps [CS] advanced N. to attack Federal . . . — Map (db m16545) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-147 — Lick Skillet Road|
|A winding dirt road of the 1860’s which passed Ezra Ch. (S.E. cor. Mozley Park) & continued S.W. to Gordon Terrace, where it joined Gordon R. & ran westward to a cross-roads settlement called Lick Skillet, now known as Adamsville. The road, Mozley Drive, did not exist in 1864.
Lick Skillet Road is cited frequently in reports, Confederate & Federal, as are 2 other landmarks of the battlefield: Ezra Church & the Alms House. The latter stood near the present Gate House of West View . . . — Map (db m36098) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-69 — Loring’s Hill|
|July 20, 1864. The high hill, within the forks of Tanyard Branch, was occupied by troops of Maj. Gen. W.W. Loring’s div. of Stewart’s A.C. [CS].
From this hill & a sector W. of it, Scott’s & Featherston's brigades, of Loring’s division, advanced N.E. to attack the Federal 20th A.C. astride Tanyard Branch at Collier Mill. Featherston's route was identical with the present Seaboard R.R.; Scott’s, at the left, on the rolling & wooded terrain west of it.
This position is on Atlanta’s . . . — Map (db m29289) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-48 — Maj. William C. Preston C.S.A|
|Commanding Artillery Battalion attached to Alexander P. Stewart’s Corps [CS] - killed in action while supervising placement of two sections of Selden’s Ala. Battery, Lt. Chas. W. Lovelace, commanding, near the Embry House, July 20th, 1864, during the Battle of Peachtree Creek. This battery was in support of Reynolds’s Brigade [CS] as it swept N.E. across the Embry Plantation & the road toward the re-entrant angle of the Federal line N. of the deep ravine. Maj. Preston, a native of S. . . . — Map (db m16505) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-93 — Manigault's Brigade|
|July 22, 1864. Manigault’s brigade, Brown’s div., Cheatham’s A.C. (CS) attacked this sector where Martin’s & Lightburn’s brigades were posted astride the Decatur rd. & the Ga. R.R. cut.
Manigault’s troops broke the Federal line at the cut, thereby forcing the withdrawal of Lightburn & Martin from this sector of the entrenched line of Logan’s 15th corps. A counter assault by Lightburn & Martin, together with Manny’s 16th A.C. brigade (brought up from the battlefield area S. of the R.R.), . . . — Map (db m10277) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-191 — Margaret Mitchell|
|Margaret Mitchell (November 8, 1900 - August 16, 1949) spent her girlhood and young ladyhood in the home of her father, which stood here. Her family had lived in Atlanta since the city’s earliest days. She was born and lived in Atlanta all her life.
After her marriage to John Robert Marsh (July 4, 1925), she wrote Gone with the Wind over a period of ten years -- 1926-36 -- while residing at 979 Crescent Ave., NE. (1925-32) and at 4 17th St., NE (1932-39). She was a reporter on the . . . — Map (db m40258) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Margaret Mitchell House|
|Completed in 1899 by Cornelius J. Sheehan, the Margaret Mitchell House was originally a single-family, Tudor Revival residence. In 1913, the house was relocated to the rear of the property and converted into a ten-unit apartment building, known as the Crescent Apartments, in 1919.
In 1925, Margaret Mitchell and her husband, John Marsh, moved into Apartment No. 1 where Mitchell wrote the Pulitzer-Prize winning novel Gone with the Wind.
Today, the Margaret Mitchell House is a . . . — Map (db m40262) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Martha Lumpkin Compton|
In this spot set apart by the city is buried
Martha Lumpkin Compton
August 25, 1827 - February 13, 1917
Thomas M. Compton
Governor Wilson Lumpkin
and his wife
Annis Hopson Lumpkin
In honor of this lady, Atlanta was
once named Marthasville — Map (db m64785) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site|
I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
[Photo 1 caption reads]
King and daughter Bernice
The community in which I was born was quite ordinary in terms of social status. No one...had attained any great wealth....It was a wholesome community....most of our neighbors were deeply religious.
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
[Photo . . . — Map (db m64767) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-190 — Montgomery Cemetery|
|On the rise above this marker is the family cemetery of Major J. M. C Montgomery (1770-1842) probably the first white man to settle permanently in what is now Fulton County. A soldier in the War of 1812, Montgomery served under Lt. George R. Gilmer (later Congressman and Governor of Georgia) during 1813-14 at Fort Gilmer, at the Standing Peachtree, adjacent to the mouth of Peachtree Creek. Settling here about l82O, he acquired farm lands on both sides of the Chattahoochee River, those on the . . . — Map (db m21516) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-63 — Montgomery-DeFoor House Site|
|James McC. Montgomery (1770-1842), of Jackson Co., Ga., War of 1812 veteran, settled in this vicinity about 1821. He resided in a 2-story house just S. of where Moore’s Mill Rd. joins.
Owning land, both sides of the river, he had a private ferry until a State franchise, Dec. 25, 1837, made it a link in up-state travel to the Cherokee domain -- the house, a way-station on the route & a Post Office, 1825 - 1842.
In 1853 the heirs sold the 1000-acre tract, the house & ferry, to . . . — Map (db m50528) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-62 — Montgomery's Ferry|
|James McC. Montgomery acquired 1000 acres in this vicinity about 1821. Owning land on both sides of the river, he had a private ferry until granted a State franchise, Dec. 25, 1837, signed by his friend, Gov. Geo. Gilmer. It was located where the Seaboard bridge now spans the river & it remained the only traffic crossing on main rd. from Atlanta to Marietta until 1872, except the war-years, 1864-1865, in which the boats disappeared. Refugees returning, post-war, to N. Ga. & Tenn., had no means . . . — Map (db m22092) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-64 — Moore's Mill|
|300 yds. downstream stood the structures of Moore’s Mill ~ a sash-sawmill &, lower down, a gristmill connected by a flume with the dam which impounded the waters of Peachtree and Woodall creeks: the ford was below the dam.
Thomas Moore (1828-1914) built the mills, 1854. Burned during a political upheaval about 1858; rebuilt & were in operation until 1901.
With the advent of the Federal army, 1864, the Moore family refugeed south. B.F. Mauldin was left in charge of the gristmill . . . — Map (db m35689) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Moses W. Formwalt|
To the memory of
Atlanta's First Mayor
Moses W. Formwalt
1848 — Map (db m64815) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-167 — Mt. Gilead M. E. Church — Organized 1824|
|In 1864, the building at this location was a prominent landmark in the final phases of Federal military operations against Atlanta.
Three Federal army corps marched this way enroute to Red Oak and Jonesboro; 4th and 14th of the Army of Cumberland and 23d of the Army of Ohio--August 27, 28, and 29. These composed the left wing in this southward march; the right wing. Army of the Tenn.. moved by roads west of here. The seizure of the two railroads below Atlanta at Red Oak and Jonesboro, . . . — Map (db m19896) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-123 — Mt. Zion Methodist Church|
|On September 29, 1957, Mount Zion Methodist Church, one of the first churches in this area, celebrated its 141st anniversary. Services were held first in a log structure, built for a schoolhouse. Tombstones in the cemetery bear dates from 1796; unmarked graves are believed to be older. A weatherboard meeting house, erected about 1830, witnessed the advance and retreat of troops, fighting from Atlanta to Jonesboro. Mt. Zion has been a member of three great denominations - The Methodist Episcopal . . . — Map (db m17787) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Neighborhood Pride — 514 Auburn Avenue|
|Aromas of newly mown grass and fresh paint drifted along Auburn Avenue as residents trimmed their lawns and hedges and painted their houses and fences. The neighborhood buzzed with activity as other residents tended their flower gardens, shrubs, fruit trees, and potted ferns. Owner and renter alike spent countless hours keeping their homes and the neighborhood neat and clean. Even the poorer residents swept their dirt yards--a custom they brought with them from rural areas. Joseph and Lavata . . . — Map (db m73178) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-70 — Newton’s Division|
|July 20, 1864. Gen. John Newton’s div., Howard’s 4th A.C., marching S. from Buckhead, relieved T. J. Wood’s div., this side of Peachtree Cr., & moved to this ridge where two brigades were deployed: Kimball’s W. of, & Blake’s E. of, Peachtree Rd. -- Bradley’s in reserve at the rear.
3 of Hardee’s divs., [CS], Bate’s, Walker’s, & Maney’s, moved from their intrenched line (.8 mi. S.) at 3:30 P.M. Walker & Maney struck the fronts of Kimball & Blake; Bate, in Clear Creek Valley outflanked . . . — Map (db m29417) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-44 — O’Neal’s Brigade|
|O’Neal’s (formerly Cantey’s) brigade, Walthall’s div. [CS] began its assault abreast & on the rt. of Reynolds’. It struck the rt. of Geary’s 20th A.C. div. [US] posted on Collier Rd., forcing Geary to refuse Candy’s brigade (in part) together with Ireland’s & Jones’, down the slope N.W. to the ravine where its juncture with the left of Williams’ div. formed a re-entrant angle.
O’Neal’s men [CS] charged down the slope, in front of Geary’s refused line, into the angle. They penetrated the . . . — Map (db m41956) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-45 — O’Neal’s Brigade at the Ravine|
|July 20, 1864. Not until O’Neal’s Alabama & Mississippi troops [CS] plunged down the wooded slope from Collier Rd., did the formation of Geary’s [US] refused line & the re-entrant angle created thereby, become apparent to them.
Geary’s right (Jones’ brigade) joined the left of Williams’ div. on ridge N. of the ravine.
Being in low ground & beset on each flank by cross-fire, O’Neal’s left pushed forward to a temporary line-break, while his right swung around to assail Geary’s line flank & . . . — Map (db m29414) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 60-7 — Oakland Cemetery|
|In 1850 the City of Atlanta established a public cemetery on this ridge overlooking downtown. Originally known as Atlanta or City Cemetery, the name Oakland was adopted in 1872 because of its many oaks. It was the principal burial ground for Atlanta residents, travelers, and paupers. The cemetery contains separate African American and Jewish burial sections, as well as distinct areas for Confederate and Union soldiers. This 48-acre cemetery is the burial site of several Georgia governors, more . . . — Map (db m10148) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-20 — Old Cheshire Bridge Road|
|In 1864 the Old Cheshire Bridge Rd., leading E. from Buckhead generally on the trace of the present E. Pace’s Fy. Rd., crossed this area & ran S.E. to N. Fork Peachtree Cr. & beyond.
Howard’s 4th A.C. [US], marching from Power’s Ferry, encamped at Buckhead, July 18.
When it was found that a gap in the Federal line N.E. of Atlanta required additional forces, two divs. of Howard’s A.C. were shifted to the left. Stanley’s div., July 19, followed by Wood on the 20th, left Buckhead on . . . — Map (db m53481) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-84 — Old Montgomery Fy. Rd.|
|A section of the old Montgomery Ferry Road ran N.W. from Geo. W. Collier’s house (Land Lot 104) & crossed Peachtree Road (below Palisades). This point, on the old rd. is S.W. of the site of the war-time house of Andrew J. Collier which stood until recent years.
Brig. Gen. Clement H. Stevens, [CS] commanding a brigade, Walker’s div., Hardee’s A.C. was killed near this spot while ordering the withdrawal of his troops after an unsuccessful assault on Federal forces posted on the high ground . . . — Map (db m16517) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-49 — Old Mt. Zion Church|
|In 1864, Mt. Zion Baptist Church stood on the site of the North Side Park Baptist Church.
July 20. The skirmish line of Walthall’s div., Stewart’s A.C., [CS] was astride Howell Mill Rd., just N. of the church. When Reynolds’ & O’Neal’s brigades [CS] moved up in columns from their intrenched line (.3 mi. S.), they deployed at the skirmish line -- Reynolds W. of the rd.; O’Neal E. of it, & advanced on the Federal infantry posted on Collier Rd. & N. of the deep ravine.
In the . . . — Map (db m29827) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-127 — Old Pace’s Ferry Road|
|This is the original trace of the Pace’s Ferry Road which ran from Decatur, via Buckhead, to Pace’s Ferry on the Chattahoochee River, about 50 feet upstream from the present bridge. While the date of its establishment is unknown, on May 5, 1834, several years before the founding of Atlanta, the DeKalb County Inferior Court ordered a bridge built
across Nancy’s Creek “On the Road to Pace’s Ferry.” Obviously, the ferry had been established some years earlier and this road was in . . . — Map (db m10855) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-78 — Old Williams Mill Rd.|
|The old Williams Mill Rd. crossed the Fulton-DeKalb Co. line here; it was identical with Briarcliff to this point where it continued S.W., crossing Highland at North Avenue.
July 20, 1864. The Fed. 23d A.C., having camped on the Paden plantation (Emory Univ.), moved to the Williams Mill Road -- the left of its intrenched line, held by Hascall’s div. in the area where Druid Hills M.E. Church stands.
The 23d A.C. faced the outer Confederate defense line along Highland Ave., & when . . . — Map (db m28959) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-42 — On Geary's Front|
|In 1864, Collier Rd. topped the ridge N. Descending the slope E. it crossed the branch below the dam at Collier’s Mill. Geary’s left – Candy’s brigade & Aleshire’s batteries [US] - were aligned along the old road facing south. The 33d N.J. (Jones’ brigade) was sent to the high hill 500 yds. S. as an outpost. It had just gotten there when the left of Scott’s brigade (Loring’s div.), [CS] in a surprise attack, drove the 33d from the hill, captured its colors & pressed forward toward . . . — Map (db m16532) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Original Gas Street Light|
This is one of the original gas street lights of the town of West End.
Presented to the West End Business Men’s Association by the family of Jesse M. Manry and placed on the grounds of the Wren’s Nest for perpetual care — Map (db m55316) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Our Confederate Dead|
[Title is the text] — Map (db m64822) WM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-50 — Outer Defense Line|
|News of Federal crossings of the Chattahoochee July 17, 1864 prompted the building of a defense line N & E of Atlanta, by the forces of Gen. Hood, C.S.A., who assumed command July 18. The E.-W. line crossed Howell Mill Rd. here. Gen. A.P. Stewart’s A. C. [CS] occupied this sector; French’s div. W. (army left flank, Casey’s Hill); Walthall’s, at center; Loring’s, to the eastward. July 20. After line adjustment, Walthall’s div., astride Howell Mill Rd., moved N. (about 4 P.M.) to attack the . . . — Map (db m17767) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Paces Ferry United Methodist Church — Established 1877|
|On 29 September 1877 William Brown donated one acre of land at the intersection of Paces Ferry and Mount Paran Roads for the purpose of establishing and building a church. Pleasant Hill Methodist Church was first served by circuit rider ministers, one of whom was Reverend W. J. Rolader. During the week the church housed the Pleasant Hill Private Academy. Miss Ida Williams, the first teacher, established a Carnegie Branch Library in the Buckhead community. A local library was named in her honor. . . . — Map (db m41951) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-24B — Palmer’s & Hooker’s A.C. Cross the Chattahoochee|
|July 17. 1864. Wood’s 4th A.C. div. moved S. to this point from Power’s Fy. (3 mi. N.) to cover the crossing of Palmer’s 14th A.C. Hooker’s 20th, followed the 14th on the 2 pontoon bridges at the site of old Pace’s Ferry, a short distance above the present bridge.
Aug. 26. Most of Sherman’s forces having been shifted from the Atlanta front to Jonesboro, the 20th A.C. was posted along the river to guard bridges. Geary’s 2nd div. was in this sector -- Ireland’s brigade astride the road. Here, . . . — Map (db m21495) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Ponce de Leon Ball Park — 1908 – 1966|
|Here on these grounds at Ponce de Leon Ball Park, The Atlanta Crackers and the Atlanta Black Crackers began a tradition of baseball championship and athletic excellence which set the high standard for the baseball we enjoy in Atlanta now.|
The Atlanta Crackers, known as “The Yankees of the Minors,” were led by Luke Appling, Eddie Mathews, Bob Montag, Ralph “Country” Brown, and many others. For many years, they were owned and operated by “Mr. Atlanta . . . — Map (db m47795) HM
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Rev. Dr. Henry Carr Hornady|
Pastor, Americus Baptist Church, 1853-1860
First Baptist Church, Atlanta, 1860-1867
LaGrange Baptist Church, 1867-1871
General Agent, Mercer Univ., 1871-1873
Pastor, Third Baptist Church, Atlanta, 1879
Editor, Cherokee Baptist Landmark Banner
In the dark days after Sherman's Army burned Atlanta, Henry Carr Hornady provided leadership and helped to feed the destitute in the city. His sermons and public statements offered Atlanta's desolate citizens a message of . . . — Map (db m64834) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-52 — Reynold’s Brigade|
|Federal 14th A.C. advancing from Pace’s Fy. (largely on Howell Mill Rd.) were stubbornly resisted by Wheeler’s vastly outnumbered cavalry. Reynold’s Arkansans, Walthall’s div. Stewart’s A.C., were posted N. of the creek, July 14, to support Wheeler’s operations & to destroy the bridge after his inevitable withdrawal. July 18, 1864. All Confederate forces moved S. of the cr.; Reynold’s troops fired the bridge & from the high ground, covered the approaches with musketry & artillery fire. . . . — Map (db m23270) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-46 — Reynolds’ Brigade at the Ravine|
|July 20, 1864. Four regiments of Reynolds’ Arkansas brigade, Walthall’s div., Stewart’s A.C., [CS] having deployed abreast at old Mt. Zion Ch., moved in a right oblique across Howell Mill & Collier rds. into the wooded ravine. The assault fell upon Knipe’s & Robinson’s brigades, Williams’ div., 20th A.C. [US] posted, with artillery, on the far side (N.) of the ravine. Subjected to enfilading fire from right & left & with no support but Selden’s battery [CS] on the left, Reynolds’ brigade was . . . — Map (db m16515) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 60-1 — Rhodes Hall - Le Reve|
|Atlanta philanthropist and businessman Amos Giles Rhodes built Le Reve (The Dream) on his 114-acre estate in 1904. Designed by Atlanta architect Willis F. Denny II, the house is constructed of Stone Mountain granite and is distinguished by its early use of electricity and stained glass windows depicting the rise and fall of the Confederacy. In 1929, Mr. Rhodes’ heirs deeded the house to the State to be used for historical purposes. Renamed "Rhodes Memorial Hall," it operated as the State . . . — Map (db m16350) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Roosevelt High School|
|[Text on Top Marker]:
Roosevelt High School
September 1947 - June 1985
"Roosevelt We Hail Thee,
Our Great Alma Mater"
Alumni, Faculty and friends
"Roll On Ye Crimson Tide"
[Text on Middle Marker]:
This Building Has Been Placed
The National Register
The U.S. Department of . . . — Map (db m64288) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-106 — Route of Stewart's Corps from Atlanta|
|Gen. Alex. P. Stewart’s A.C. & the Ga. Militia remained in Atlanta after Hardee’s & S.D. Lee’s corps (CS) were shifted to Jonesboro Aug. 30, 1864.
With Hardee’s defeat at that place Aug. 31, Atlanta was abandoned, night of Sept. 1. Stewart’s A.C. & Militia left the city after destroying 81 carloads of munitions & several locomotives on the tracks of the Georgia Railroad.
Stewart’s Corps & the Militia (CS) marched via the McDonough Rd. (Capitol Ave.) – the former to Lovejoy’s Sta. . . . — Map (db m10410) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-59 — Rt. Of 20th A.C. Line|
|July 20, 1864. In the Battle of Peachtree Cr. the right of the Federal 20th A.C. (Ruger’s brigade, Williams’ div.) rested on Howell Mill Rd. in this vicinity. The line was prolonged W. to the Chattahoochee River by the 14th A.C., R. W. Johnson’s 1st div. [US] connecting with the 20th. Anson McCook’s brigade (Johnson’s div.) was involved in the Confederate attack by the left of Reynolds’ brigade of Walthall’s division which struck Ruger’s front.
Otherwise, 14th A.C. troops were preoccupied . . . — Map (db m23210) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-193 — Saint Luke’s Episcopal Church — 1864 - 1964|
|The Rev Charles Todd Quintard, surgeon and priest severing as chaplain in the Confederate Army, organized St. Luke’s Parish Easter Monday, March 28, 1864. Confederate troops erected first building on the south side of Walton Street, between Broad and Forsyth streets. Consecrated April 22, 1864, by Bishop Stephen Elliott first Bishop of Diocese of Georgia. There Quintard conducted funeral services for Episcopal Bishop and General Leonidas K. Polk. During the burning of Atlanta, building was . . . — Map (db m51088) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-129 — Sandtown|
|Sand Town (Oktahatalofa) and Buzzard Roost (Sulecauga) were two frontier Creek Indian communities here on the Chattahoochee River. The old Sand Town Trail extended westward to the Coosa River in Alabama and eastward into what is now DeKalb County. The land which is contained in this 14th L.L. District was ceded by the Creek Indians to Georgia in 1821 and was part of originally Fayette (1821-1828), then Campbell (1828-1931), and now Fulton County. On September 2, 1828, a U.S. Post Office was . . . — Map (db m14157) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-119 — Sardis Methodist Church|
|Sardis Methodist Church is built on land taken from the Indians by Sy Donaldson and given to the church before this section of the State had been surveyed -- when land was platted by beeswax string, and there were no deeds. Believed to date from 1812, this church antedates the three counties (Henry, DeKalb and Fulton) that have contained this tract of land. In early days Sardis Methodist Church was on a circuit with preaching every two weeks -- on Tuesdays or Wednesdays. Earliest known pastors . . . — Map (db m23340) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-37 — Scott's Brigade|
|On the high hill 500 yds. S. of Collier Rd. the left of Scott’s brigade (27th, 35th &49th Ala., & 12th La.) Loring’s div. [CS] dislodged Geary’s outpost, [US] the 33d N.J. regt. & captured its flag.
Pressing forward, the left of Scott’s line [CS] moved toward Geary’s batteries at Collier Rd., while the right of it, diverted by gun-fire, crossed Tanyard Branch & the road & continued down the slope N. ~ in effect, flanking Geary’s two batteries 300 yds. westward.
This surprise . . . — Map (db m29288) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-48 — Second Oldest D.A.R. Chapter|
|This is the home of the Atlanta Chapter, D.A.R., organized April 15, 1891; oldest Chapter in Georgia; second oldest in the National Society, Daughters of the American Revolution. Mrs. Henry Jackson was first Regent.
Meetings were held in private homes and at the State Capitol, until 1895, when “Craigie House,” the Massachusetts State building at the Cotton States Exposition was presented to the Chapter. It was sold in 1909 and this new “Craigie House” was built in 1911. — Map (db m30516) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-82 — Sector of Siege Line|
|55yds. S.E. an intrenched line of field works crossed this block extending S.W. to 7th St., where it turned N.W. to Juniper at 11th St.
This was a sector of the Federal siege line occupied by troops of Brig. Gen. T.J. Wood’s 3d div of Howard’s (later Stanley’s) 4th Corps, from July 22 to August 25, 1864 – these dates representing the period of siege operations.
Lt. Ambrose G. Bierce, topographical officer of Hazen’s brigade, Wood’s div., was later known as an author of stories . . . — Map (db m10413) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Shotgun Houses — 472 - 488 Auburn Avenue|
These duplexes are typical of the houses where Atlanta's blue-collar laborers lived in the early 1900s. The Empire Textile Co. built them for its white mill workers, but they moved out after the 1906 Atlanta race riot, and blacks began renting them. The houses generally are one room wide and up to four rooms deep. They are called "shotgun" houses because the interior and exterior doorways are aligned, so a shot supposedly could be fired through them from front to back. Another theory is . . . — Map (db m64774) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Sightless Among Miracles — 1995|
| Left Panel For hundreds of years, a child leading a blind elder has been the fate of families stricken with river blindness (onchocerciasis)in Africa and Latin America. Now the demise of this ancient scourge is in sight, thanks to a drug Right Panel donated by Merck and Company and distributed to millions of people by The Carter Center, the River Blindness Foundation, and others. This bronze sculpture was created by R. T. Wallen and donated by John and Rebecca Moores. — Map (db m73172) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Site of Captain Overton W. Barret’s battery of Missouri.|
|Because of this elevation, Barret’s troops were able to communicate with Kennesaw Mountain by signal. Also this site was a fort in Atlanta city defense works.
July - August, 1864
In Commemoration - CLARK Equipment Company — Map (db m29377) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-143 — Site of Ezra Church|
|Here stood the little frame edifice known as Ezra Church (Methodist), on a half-acre plot deeded by James & Nancy Coursey to the trustees Oct. 31, 1853. As a landmark, its name was given to the battle fought here July 28, 1864.
Col. Hugo Wangelin’s brigade, Woods’ div. 15th A. C. [US] was posted here during the battle & lacking intrenchments, fought behind a barricade of benches removed from the church.
During Federal siege operations after the battle, the church was demolished. . . . — Map (db m51399) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-21 — Site of Old Cheshire Bridge|
|The original Cheshire Bridge Road, crossing N. Fork Peachtree Cr. at this point, was the route taken by two divisions of Howard’s 4th A. C. moving to occupy a gap in the Federal line between Peachtree Rd. and Schofield's 23rd A. C. posted S. of Durand’s Mill (Briarcliff Road).
July 19, 1864. Stanley’s div. was opposed by Confederate cav. which burned the bridge & progress was delayed until it was rebuilt. Stanley camped S.E. near the county line.
July 20. Wood’s div. followed -- . . . — Map (db m28934) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-168 — Site: Old Red Oak P.O. 1864|
|Siege operations on the Atlanta front having failed, the Federals moved against the 2 R. R. S. of it. Howard’s Army of the Tenn., Thomas’ Army of the Cumberland & Schofield’s Army of the Ohio, struck the A. & W.P.R.R at this point.
Several miles of the track were destroyed between East Point & Fairburn, Aug. 28, 29.
Aug. 30, the move E against the Macon R.R. began: Howard, from Shadnor Ch. via Bethsaida Ch. to Renfroe’s & Jonesboro; Thomas & Schofield from Red Oak to Rough and Ready. . . . — Map (db m61561) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-92 — Site: The Pope House|
|Opposite to & N. of here was a 2-story white house (said to have been the residence of the Widow Pope) which figured prominently in this sector of the Battle of Atlanta, July 22, 1864.
As Manigault's brigade moved to the assault on the Federal line at the Hurt house, its alignment was broken by the Pope house & out-buildings. While reforming, some of the 19th S.C. ascended to the 2d floor & fired into the Federal batteries at the R.R. cut.
Pressing forward, the 10th & 19th S.C., aided by . . . — Map (db m8883) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 160-105 — Site: Utoy Post Office — On Old Sandtown Rd.|
|Est. March 1836; discontinued July 7, 1866; a stop on the Decatur Marthasville (Atlanta) and White Hall & Sandtown stagecoach route in intervening years: Also a landmark in the movement of Federal troops from the Atlanta siege lines to Red Oak and Jonesboro to cut the west Point & Macon railroads in 1864.
August 26. Stanley's 4th Army Corps (Army of the Cumberland), having left positions N. of the city on the 25th, camped here on the S. fork of Utoy Cr. Aug 27. The corps marched toward Red . . . — Map (db m44413) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Slave Square|
In 1852 the Atlanta City Council ruled that African Americans were to be buried in a segregated section at the rear of Oakland Cemetery, at the eastern boundary of the original 6 acres. By the beginning of the Civil war, more than 800 persons had been buried in this section that was known as Slave Square. As more acres were purchased, the cemetery expanded around Slave Square to its current size of 48 acres. In 1866 the Atlanta City Council established a segregated burial ground at the rear . . . — Map (db m64824) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-91 — Springvale Park|
|July 22, 1864. Brig. Gen. John C. Brown’s div. of Chatham’s A.C. [CS] moved astride the Georgia R.R., E. from the Atlanta fortifications to attack the Federals at the Troup Hurt house. Manigault's brigade, followed by Sharp’s, were north of the R.R.; Coltart's & Benton’s S. of it. Manigault’s brigade halted in a ravine to reform its line while Coltart’s brigade, S. of the R.R. came up abreast. Resuming the charge, Manigault’s men ascended the slope to & beyond the Pope house, penetrating the . . . — Map (db m35613) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-60 — Standing Peach Tree|
|A Creek Indian village on both sides of the river at mouth of Peachtree Cr. Whether it was named for a "pitch tree" or a peach tree, it occurs, officially, as Standing Peach Tree in Gov. John Martin's letter of May 27, 1782, to Gen. Andrew Pickens of S.C. Martin wrote of a rumored foray on the E. Georgia settlements planned at Standing Peach Tree. The ancient trail: Buzzard Roost (mouth of Utoy Cr.) to Standing Peach Tree &, via Moore's Mill Rd., to Buckhead - thence N.E. on Hog Mtn. Ridge, was . . . — Map (db m22090) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-74 — Stanley’s & Wood’s Sector|
|A point in the intrenched line of the Federal 4th A.C., July 20-22, 1864. Stanley’s & Wood’s divs. marched to this sector from Buckhead via Old Cheshire Bridge Rd., LaVista, Williams Mill & Johnson Rds., crossing S. Fork of Peachtree Creek at Durand’s Mill.
These troops were shifted E. from Peachtree Rd. to fill an interval between that rd. & the 23rd A.C. on Briarcliff. They faced the salient angle of Atlanta’s outer defense line 1/4 mi. S. held by Stevenson’s div., Cheatham’s A.C. [CS]. . . . — Map (db m22296) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-81 — Stanley's Sector|
|N.E. of this point (near Highland School) was the intrenched line held by Federal forces in the siege of Atlanta, July 22-Aug. 25, 1864.
This was the extreme left of Howard’s 4th A.C.; its right flank rested at Tanyard Branch in Land Lot 107, 17th Dist., north of Grant Field.
From E. to W. were Stanley’s, Wood’s & Newton’s divisions. Stanley’s left joined the rt. of the 23d A.C. near the Augustus Hurt house where a signal station was located. The 4th A.C. continued to occupy the same . . . — Map (db m35573) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Stepping Up — 510 Auburn Avenue|
|With its fish-scale gable shingles, ornate porch brackets, and diamond-shaped and octagonal windows, this Queen Anne Victorian house symbolizes financial success. White Atlantans who had become successful in business or the professions built and occupied most of the homes in this semi-suburban block in the late 1800s and early 1900s. Among them was R.J. Massey, who lived here for 10 years. Blacks who subsequently moved into the area also were proudly stepping up the social scale. At one time, . . . — Map (db m73177) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-77 — Stevenson's Division|
|A point in the intrenched line held by Gen. Carter L. Stevenson’s div. of the Cheatham’s (formerly Hood’s) A.C. [CS] -- a sector of Atlanta’s outer defense line. July 18-22, 1864. Stevenson’s troops were on the right of Bate’s div. (Hardee’s A.C.), [CS] which rested on Clear Creek at Walker’s (or Jones’s) Mill near N. end of Piedmont Park. Bate’s troops led off in the attack on Federal forces northward, in the Battle of Peachtree Creek, July 20, a battle confined to the west side of Clear . . . — Map (db m22286) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-126 — Surrender of Atlanta — September 2, 1864|
|Gen. Hood, in person, with Stewart’s A.C. & the Georgia Militia abandoned the city, Sept. 1, as a result of Hardee’s defeat at Jonesboro August 31, & marched S. to Lovejoy’s Station. Federal forces at Chattahoochee River crossings since Aug. 25, suspecting the evacuation of the city on hearing loud explosions, sent forward a reconnaissance to investigate. At this point it met Mayor James M. Calhoun with a committee, who tendered the surrender of the city, asking protection for citizens and . . . — Map (db m31447) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-95 — The 15th Corps Sector|
|July 20, 1864. Posted on this ridge, astride the Georgia R.R. was the right flank of Hood's old corps, (CS) Gen. B.F. Cheatham commanding. July 22. These troops were withdrawn, before daylight, to the city fortifications. The vacated line was occupied by Logan's corps, (US) which was reversed to face westward.
Gen. Morgan L. Smith's div. centered at the R.R., Lightburn's brigade posted (between DeGress Ave. & Battery Place) west of the Hurt house; Martin's, S. of it - the R.R. cut separating . . . — Map (db m8884) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Battle of Atlanta|
Sherman´s grand objective in this campaign was the capture of Atlanta. The strategic importance of the Georgia capital as a military stronghold and depot of supplies was recognized by the Federal commander. On account of its central location, accessibility, and prominence, it seemed to hold the key to the situation and to offer particular attraction as a prize of war.
On July 22, 1864, McPherson´s army, having moved upon the Georgia Railroad, in the neighborhood of Decatur, was . . . — Map (db m87451) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Battle of Peachtree Creek — July 20, 1864 — Tablet #1|
The battle of Peachtree Creek was the first of three desperate Confederate attacks on the armies commanded by Maj. General Wm. T. Sherman which were closing in on Atlanta. Although heavy skirmishing occurred between the Federal right and the Confederate left, which extended west to Moore´s Mill Road, and other forces were engaged east of Atlanta, the actual battle was fought along a two - mile front extending from Clear Creek (east of Brookwood Hills) to Howell Mill Road along Collier and . . . — Map (db m87187) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 51-8 — The Battles for Atlanta|
|Between July and Sept. 1864, during the American Civil War, U.S. and Confederate armies struggled for control of Atlanta, the major manufacturing center and railroad hub of the Deep South. Four inconclusive battles occurred inside the present day I-285 Perimeter: Peachtree Creek (July 20), Atlanta (July 22, fought in part in the area of this marker), Ezra Church (July 28); and Utoy Creek (August 6). Unwilling to attack the city’s strong defenses, U.S. forces swept west and then south and at . . . — Map (db m37176) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Birthplace|
For his first 12 years Martin Luther King, Jr., lived in the comfortable middle-class home across from you. Two cultural values distinguished the King household: a strong sense of family and the ever-presence of religion. Bad behavior often met a stern response; good behavior received a warm embrace. Evening meals always waited until "Daddy King" came home. Prayer and scripture readings punctuated each day.
"Daddy King's" status as pastor at Ebenezer and strong maternal influences . . . — Map (db m64772) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 60-9 — The Burning and Destruction of Atlanta|
|After capturing Atlanta in September 1864 during the Civil War, Maj. Gen. William T. Sherman, before leaving Atlanta on the March to the Sea, ordered the destruction of all railroads, factories, and commercial buildings of possible use to the Confederacy. On Nov. 11, 1864, Chief Engineer Orlando M. Poe directed the demolition of stone and brick buildings using specially made battering rams. On Nov. 15, Poe’s troops burned the wooden buildings in the downtown business district around the site of . . . — Map (db m41944) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Confederate Attack — The Battle of Peachtree Creek — Tablet #5|
|On July 20th, Hood ordered the attack to begin at 1:00 P.M. Hardee and Stewart were to advance, drive the enemy back to the creek, and then west into the angle formed by the creek and the river; but events east of Atlanta caused the line to be shifted about a mile to the east, delaying the attack until all but Ward´s division of the enemy had occupied strong ground in line of battle. Bate´s division (Hardee´s right) halted with its right on Clear Creek and its left reaching Walker´s right near . . . — Map (db m87191) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Confederate Attack, Cont. — The Battle of Peachtree Creek — Tablet #6|
|On the right, Harrison placed two regiments across Tanyard Branch, to connect with Candy´s left, and three on the slight rise east of it. Scott´s brigade advanced across the thickly wooded hills between Northside and Whitehall drives, routing the 33rd New Jersey and capturing its state flag. Although Scott´s men met a storm of fire from Geary´s front, his left regiment captured four of Geary´s guns but where forced to retire without them. His right regiments, diverted to the right by the fire . . . — Map (db m87192) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-96 — The DeGress Battery|
|July 22, 1864. Light Battery H, 1st Ill. (four 20-pounders), Capth. Francis DeGress, was posted here on right of M.L.Smith’s div., Logan’s 15th A.C. Shells from these guns are said to have been the first to fall in Atlanta.
Late afternoon, Manigault’s brigade (CS) broke the Federal line at the R.R., forcing Martin’s brigade, S. of it & Lightburn’s N. of it, to withdraw. DeGress’ gunners spiked the pieces & the horses were shot to prevent the removal of the guns by their Confederate captors. . . . — Map (db m9512) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-160 — The Embattled Ridge|
|Aug 6, 1864. The ridge just S. (densely wooded at the time) was fortified & held by Gen. W. B. Bate's div., Hardee's A.C. (CSA). It extended west from the Atlanta to East Point works, & blocked further Federal moves toward the railroads. To eliminate this barrier, Cox's div., 23rd A.C. (US) assaulted Bate's position in an action known as the Battle of Utoy Creek. Strongly posted with abatis and head-logs, Bate withstood the frontal attack until forced to withdraw when his left was assailed . . . — Map (db m8839) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-138 — The Errant Line|
|July 28, 1864. Anticipating a Confederate attack on the Right of the 15th A. C. [US], aligned W. of Ezra Ch., Sherman sent Davis’ div. (14th A. C.), on a circuitous march W., so as to come in on Logan’s Rt. via Lick Skillet (Adamsville) Road.
Davis’ troops, led by Gen. J, D. Morgan, marched toward the Chattahoochee, intending to reach Lick Skillet by a side road. Devoid of maps or guides, the column traversed a wilderness of forest & swamps until halted by Confederate cavalry & preemptory . . . — Map (db m50624) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Eternal Flame|
|The Eternal Flame symbolizes the continuing effort to realize Dr. King's ideals for the "Beloved Community" which requires lasting personal commitment that cannot weaken when faced with obstacles. — Map (db m73174) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Eternal Flame Of The Confederacy|
| . . . — Map (db m18622) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Evacuation of Atlanta|
On July 30, 1864, General Hood, retaining Stewart´s corps in Atlanta, sent Hardee and Lee to Jonesboro to dispossess the enemy whose seizure of the railway at this point was ominous of the approaching end, since it threatened communication on the South. The fate of Atlanta depended upon this final phase of the campaign. In the event of failure, Lee was ordered to return in the direction of Atlanta, so as to cover the city´s evacuation.
Though a heavy loss was inflicted upon the federals . . . — Map (db m87454) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-5 — The Evangelical Lutheran Church of the Redeemer|
|The Lutheran Church of the Redeemer was founded in 1903 as the first English-speaking congregation in Atlanta. The church’s first building was erected in 1905 near the state capitol. The church moved in 1937 to Peachtree and Fourth Streets where in 1952 its current structure was completed. Designed by Harold Wagoner of Philadelphia, the gothic structure is of Tennessee quartzite and Indiana limestone. Redeemer, founded by thirty-nine people, grew in one hundred years to become the largest . . . — Map (db m23043) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-136 — The Exterior Line — July - August 1864|
|When Federal forces E. of Atlanta were shifting to the W. side, to move against the Macon and West Point rail roads (entering the city from the S.W.), the Confederate defenders intrenched a line W. and parallel to them. This line began at W. Fair and Ashby Sts. and ran S.W. to & beyond this point, ending at the Ga. Military Academy in College Park. Siege Operations (July 28-Aug. 25) were barren of results & ceased with transfer of Federal Forces S. to Fairburn & Jonesboro where the seizure . . . — Map (db m18819) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Federal Advance — The Battle of Peachtree Creek — Tablet #3|
After noon on July 9th, Schofield´s Army of the Ohio (23rd Corps) had forced Johnston to cross the Chattahoochee River that night by a surprise crossing up river at Soap Creek. On the 12th, Howard´s 4th Corps of Thomas´ Army of the Cumberland (4th, 14th and 20th Corps) crossed Power´s Ferry on Schofield´s right. As Johnston had foreseen, McPherson´s Army of the Tennessee (15th, 16th and 17th Corps) moved upriver to Roswell and began crossing while Palmer´s 14th Corps and Hooker´s 20th Corps . . . — Map (db m87189) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Federal Advance, Cont./The Change of Command — The Battle of Peachtree Creek — Tablet #4|
|The Federal Advance, Cont.
It finally reached the golf course area and deployed with Wood´s brigade on the left, Coburn´s in the center and Harrison´s on the right. Earlier, Newton´s division of Howard´s corps had crossed the creek and advanced on Peachtree Road to the high ground north of Collier Road. Newton deployed Kimball´s brigade west of the road, extending through the hospital site, and Blake´s extending east along Brighton Road. Bradley´s remained in reserve on the road near . . . — Map (db m87190) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Federal Forces Engaged/The Confederate Forces Engaged — The Battle of Peachtree Creek — Tablet #2|
|The Federal Forces Engaged
(Sherman’s right wing)
The Army of the Cumberland Maj. Gen. George H. Thomas
2nd Division Brig. Gen. John Newton
(Kimball’s, Blake’s and Bradley’s brigades)
1st Brigade Col. Anson G. McCook
Twentieth Corps Maj. Gen. Joseph Hooker
1st Division Brig. Gen. A.S. Williams
(Knipe’s, Ruger’s and Roberson’s brigades)
2nd Division Brig. Gen. John W. Geary
(Candy’s, Jones’ and Ireland’s brigades) . . . — Map (db m87188) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-144 — The Federal Salient|
|July 28, 1864. The N.E. cor. of Laurel & Archer was the location of a salient angle in the line of Logan’s 15th Corps troops [US] in the Battle of Ezra Church. N.W. from the angle, Harrow’s & M. L. Smith’s divs. extended to Anderson Ave.; Wood’s div. was deployed N.E. along the old Lick Skillet Rd. (no longer there) to Ezra Ch. (S.E. cor. Mozley Park) & beyond, where it joined the Right of the 17th Corps.
Clayton’s div. (S, D. Lee’s A. C.) attacked the angle with Gibson’s, Baker’s & . . . — Map (db m53693) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Georgian Terrace Hotel|
|Built by Atlanta native, Joseph Gatins and designed by New York Architect, W. L. Stoddard, the Terrace opened October 2, 1911. Over the years most of Atlanta’s famous visitors have chosen the Georgian Terrace Hotel as their temporary home on Peachtree Street.|
The Terrace served as the headquarters for the Metropolitan Opera when it visited Atlanta each Spring in the early 1900’s. The great opera singer, Enrico Caruso stayed here in 1913 and sent a gracious thank you from London . . . — Map (db m47425) HM
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Hanging of Andrews Raiders|
|280 feet south of this location on June 18, 1862, seven of the Union Army's brave Andrews Raiders were hanged and buried. On April 12, 1862, 22 Andrews Raiders seized the General, a tender and three boxcars at Big Shanty (now Kennesaw) and raced toward Chattanooga on the Western & Atlantic Railroad in an effort to burn bridges and otherwise dismember a supply artery vital to the Confederacy. They had covered 87 miles when the General was overtaken by valiant pursuers led by conductor Fuller. Of . . . — Map (db m64905) HM WM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-47 — The Hiram Embry Plantation|
|500 ft. W. stood the ante-bellum residence of Hiram H. Embry (1805-1877), a notable landmark during the battle of Peachtree Cr. At 4 P.M., July 20, 1864, Walthall’s div. [CS] advanced N. on this road to attack the Federal line above Collier Road -– Reynolds’ brigade on left, Cantey’s (O’Neal’s) on right. Deploying at old Mt. Zion Church, the brigades came up abreast. In maintaining alignment on the right with Loring’s div., [CS] both brigades swung Eastward -- a move that diverted . . . — Map (db m17762) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Home|
| Young Martin Luther King. Jr.'s, childhood here was entirely normal. He did his chores and received his allowance. Neighbors often saw him bouncing a ball off the side of the house or riding his bike along the street. He fought with his brother (he once hit his brother, A. D., over the head with a phone). Though physically small, he was intensely competitive; neighborhood kids risked getting hurt when playing against him in football or basketball. King's boyhood home dates to 1895. Its 14 . . . — Map (db m73182) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Indian Trail Echota|
|In this place the Indian Trail Echota crossed the Peach Tree Trail
1812 — Map (db m29384) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-117 — The March to the Sea|
|On Nov. 15, 1864 after destroying Atlanta and cutting his communications with the north, Maj. Gen. W. T. Sherman, USA, began his destructive campaign for Savannah -- the March to the Sea. He divided his Army [US] (60,000 infantry and artillery and 5,500 cavalry) into two wings, one to move via McDonough and Monticello to Gordon, feinting at Macon, the other via Covington and Madison, feinting at Augusta.
The right wing (15th and 17th Corps), Maj. Gen. O. O. Howard, USA, marched from . . . — Map (db m41847) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 60-13 — The March to the Sea|
|On November 15, 1864, during the Civil War, U.S. forces under Gen. William T. Sherman set out from Atlanta on the March to the Sea, a military campaign designed to destroy the Confederacy's ability to wage war and break the will of its people to resist. After destroying Atlanta's industrial and business (but not residential) districts, Sherman 62,500 men marched over 250 miles, reaching Savannah in mid-December. Contrary to popular myth, Sherman's troops primarily destroyed only property used . . . — Map (db m78803) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-33 — The Mississippi Brigade|
|Brig. Gen. W. S. Featherston ~ Loring’s div. It consisted of the 40th, 31st, 22d, 3d & 33d regts., (deployment sequence W. to E.) Stigler’s sharpshooters in skirmish line. Brigade was on extreme rt. of Stewart’s A.C., joining Hardee’s A.C. which prolonged the line E. to Clear Cr.
Featherston’s [CS] assault struck the fronts of Coburn’s & Wood’s brigades [US] in the ravine N. of Collier Rd. ~ his right regts. vainly attempting to enter a gap between Wood’s & Kimball’s brigades, in which . . . — Map (db m29381) HM|