|Maryland, Baltimore — “…a truly affectionate wife”|
|Frances "Fanny" H. Peachy, like most women buried here, remains largely anonymous. The daughter of a local minister, Frances H. Andrews (1799-1822) married Baltimore saddlemaker Thomas G. Peachy on February 28, 1821. Less than a year later she was dead.
Fanny H. Peachy, Consort of Thomas G. Peachy, who was born November the 24th, 1799; and departed this transitory life February the 11th, 1822, in the 23rd year of her age. The amiable qualities of this interesting female were such as . . . — Map (db m6644) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — 1017 - 1021 East Baltimore Street|
|This structure,built around 1808, was home to the Colvin family for several generations. In 1874 it served temporarily as the Hebrew Orphan Asylum, whose original building had burned. The Presbyterian Eye, Ear and Throat Charity Hospital opened here in 1877 and remained for more than a century, gradually acquiring adjoining properties. The building's facade dates from 1884, when the hospital was renovated and enlarged. A rear wing was added in 1898.
The 65-bed hospital served "all poor . . . — Map (db m61897) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — 1781 Friends Meeting House|
|The Friends Meeting House is the oldest religious building in Baltimore. In 1781, the Patapsco Friends Meeting, formerly located on Harford Road two miles north of the Inner Harbor, moved to this site. In 1784 a group of Quakers established a school here, which "provided guarded education for their children." The school eventually became the Friends School of Baltimore.
By the mid eighteenth century the Society of Friends exerted a strong influence socially, politically, and economically in . . . — Map (db m6282) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — 1814 Enlisted Men's Barracks, No 2|
|Of the 60 soldiers in Captain Frederick Evans' company, U.S. Corps of Artillery, 16 soldiers occupied this room, sleeping four to a bunk. To enhance an esprit de corps, the color yellow, signifying the artillery service, was used on the wood trim and on the soldiers' uniforms. The soldiers, whose names were inscribed on the bunks, served for five years or the duration of the war, and received $8 per month. Recruiting Notice Of these "reputable young men" who garrisoned Ft. McHenry, . . . — Map (db m34890) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — 1917 – 1918|
|The residents of the Twenty First Ward as a lasting expression of their gratitude and affection have placed this tablet as a testimonial to the young men of this community, who in a spirit of unselfish patriotism answered their country’s call in the Great War and made the supreme sacrifice.
“Greater love than this hath no man, that he lay down his life for his country.”
[reverse] These men made the supreme sacrifice:
- Army -
- Corporals - . . . — Map (db m41354) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — 9 North Front Street|
|A survival from the 18th century, this house was built in the section of the city known as “Jonestown.”
Designed and built in the 1790’s in the Federal style, 9 North Front Street was once part of a neighborhood of merchants, artisans and “gentlemen.” Among the occupants of the area in 1804 were soap boilers, a hatter, a coachmaker, the “captain of the watch,” and the “physician of the Port.” The second mayor of Baltimore (1804–1808), . . . — Map (db m2726) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Beloved General|
|"...and I fell pride in the belief that the stand made on Monday, in no small degree, tended to check the temerity of the foe, daring to invade a country like ours, and designing the destruction of our city..."
Brig. Gen. John Stricker writing to Major General Samuel Smith, Report on the Battle of North Point, September 15, 1814
The Battle of Baltimore, the heroic stand against British forces in September 1814, has long ranked among Baltimore's greatest achievements. Among . . . — Map (db m6651) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A La Memorie D’Edgar Allan Poe|
|Eternellement Cher Dans les Coeurs De Ses Amis Francais
This memorial originally in brass, was brought from France by Count F. de Byron-Khun et Prince Edgard de Waldeck under the auspices of the French Literary Society and placed here in the presence of The French Consul Mr. L. Rabilion June the 25th, 1921 The memorial was restored by the Westminster Preservation Trust and rededicated in the presence of the French consul, Mr. Raoul Calvignac April 9, 1986 — Map (db m6626) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Memorial Rose Garden|
|To John Cook A renowned rosarian worthy of this honor whose fame will never die. — Map (db m6242) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Monument to the Memory of Edgar Allan Poe|
|"My idea in designing this monument was to produce something simple, chaste, and dignified, to strike more by graceful outlines and proportions than by crowding with unmeaning ornament."
George A. Frederick, ca. 1874
The November 1875 unveiling of the Poe Monument culminated a 10-year effort to memorialize Baltimore's beloved adopted son. Designed by architect George A. Frederick, best known for Baltimore's City Hall, the marble tomb quickly became a popular destination - and . . . — Map (db m6627) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Monumental Honor|
|The Washington Monument is the first major public monument to George Washington. Originally, the Washington Monument was built so George Washington himself could stand on top of the column and look over one of America's great cities, and also keep an eye out for any enemies that could attack by sea. The monument is two hundred seventy feet tall so that when Washington stood atop his monument, his famously long coat tails would not touch the ground.
Unfortunately, the monument was not . . . — Map (db m7720) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Monumental Mistake|
|These four sculptures were donated by art collector Henry Walters for the interior of the park facing the Washington Monument. The statuaries, made by French sculptor Antoine-Louis Barye, depict a man and a boy accompanied by various animals. The sculptures were commissioned originally as six scenes to showcase the American Ideals set forth by our founding fathers. War, Peace, Force and Order symbolize the foundation on which this country was built. Freedom and Equality, the remaining two . . . — Map (db m7724) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Mother’s Grief|
|In an age of high infant mortality, Sarah and John Brown experience more than their share of loss. Plagued by smallpox, yellow fever, cholera, typhoid, measles and mumps, early Baltimore families buried one of every three children before their first birthday.
Sarah Levering Brown (1751-1832), a Pennsylvania, and John Brown (1745-1794), a native of Belfast, Ireland moved to Baltimore in 1772, a year after their marriage. Over the next 23 years, Sarah gave birth to 10 children. Six of them . . . — Map (db m30564) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Name Before a Place|
|Leakin Park had a name before it had a place. At his death in 1922 John Wilson Leakin left the city several downtown properties to be sold so land could he purchased for apark. The city deferred action because of existing leases, the Great Depression, and a controversy over whether the park should be a large natural area in the outer city or a smaller inner city park. Finally, Baltimore officials followed the advice of landscape architect Frederick Law Olmsted and acquired the Thomas Winans' . . . — Map (db m6338) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Pivotal Battle|
|British ships launched an attack on Fort McHenry early on September 13, 1814. The fort defended the water approach to the city of Baltimore. The future of the city and possibly the United States depended on the outcome. After the American defeat at Bladensburg, and the British capture and partial burning of Washington, D.C. a loss here would be devastating.
Francis Scott Key witnessed the 25-hour bombardment. At "dawn's early light" on September 14th, the shelling stopped; the British . . . — Map (db m61551) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Place of Invention|
|This fountain was installed during the creation of Mount Vernon Place so that those wealthy enough to own wooden teeth could rinse and wash them in the park. These teeth cleaners were common all over America in the 1800s. At the time, it was thought to be hygienic to rinse your fake teeth at least once a month. It also provided an opportunity for those fortunate few to flaunt their material wealth. Thanks to dental improvements in the late 1800s, people no longer needed to clean their teeth in . . . — Map (db m7725) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Sense of Sanctuary — A Safe Place for Friendly Competition and Open Discussion for Social Change|
|From 1909 to 1951, in the days of an unwritten "Jim Crow" segregation policy, the Parks Commission of Baltimore maintained "separate but equal" facilities. Druid Hill became the sole park city-wide where the African-American community felt welcome in a recreation complex which included a picnic grove, playground, swimming pool and five tennis courts.
In 1948, the Young Progressive of Maryland and the Baltimore Tennis Club, held an inegreated match on the "white" Conservatory courts in Druid . . . — Map (db m7599) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Star Spangled Centennial|
|The Francis Scott Key Tablet above was dedicated as part of the National Star Spangled Banner Centennial celebration in 1914. Designed by Hans Schuler, the bronze shield depicts and American flag and myrtle (symbolic of love and immortality) surrounding a portrait of Francis Scott Key.|
The city of Baltimore adopted Schuler's design as the official logo of the centennial celebration. This Week-long commemoration boasted visiting warships, regatta races, parades, fireworks, a general . . . — Map (db m60400) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Swashbuckling Merchant|
|Irish-born adventurer John O’Donnell (1749–1805) was a native of Limerick who made his way to India as a youth. He sailed into Baltimore on a late summer day in 1785 aboard a ship laden with Chinese goods, thus opening Baltimore’s trade with the Far East. Armed with a small fortune and an aristocratic lineage, O'Donnell settled down, made a handsome profit on his cargo, and soon married, Sarah Chew Elliott, the daughter of a Fells Point seas captain.
Over the next 20 years, O’Donnell . . . — Map (db m6635) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Tribute to Our Unsung Heroes|
|The heroes walk program was established by Mayor William Donald Schaefer in 1986, to honor those persons who have unselfishly given their time, labor and talents to help improve the quality of life in our community without ever seeking reward or recognition. It is to these unsung heroes of the Baltimore community that this permanent tribute is dedicated. — Map (db m2709) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Admiral Guillermo Brown|
|In honor to the abiding memory of The father of the Argentine Navy Admiral Guillermo Brown On the banks of the Delaware where he started his maritime career. "Brave in combat, magnanimous in victory and audacious in his decisions"
Born in 1777 in Foxford, Ireland. Early in his life he became a merchant seaman in Baltimore and Philadelphia, where he received his papers as a captain. He arrived at the River Plate in 1809. In 1814, the Argentine government entrusted him the creation of a naval . . . — Map (db m6158) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Alex Brown Investment Banking Company — Historic Site|
|On this site in 1900 was constructed the banking headquarters for the Alex Brown Investment Banking Company, America's oldest banking house in continuous operation. This building survived the Great Baltimore Fire of 1904 with evidence of that event remaining today in the damaged stonework. The building and historic space were restored and rededicated in 1997 for Chevy Chase Bank. — Map (db m7042) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Alex. Brown & Sons Company Building|
|This building was home to Alex. Brown & Sons Company, founded in 1800, the first and oldest continually operating investment banking firm in the United States. The building represents the firm's and Baltimore's importance in the financial world of the nineteenth century.
Built in 1901 to be "fire proof," the building was soon put to the test and survived the Great Fire of 1904 with little damage. The building was designed by Douglas Thomas in the Beaux-Arts style that was rising in . . . — Map (db m7041) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Among Family: Poe’s Original Burial Place|
|He lies buried amongst his kindred ... and no stone or monument yet marks his resting-place."
J. Thomas Scharf's Chronicles of Baltimore, 1874
Edgar Allan Poe was buried here on October 8, 1849, a day after his lingering death in Baltimore's Washington College Hospital, some 20 blocks east on Broadway. A handful of friends and family gathered on a cold and camp overcast Monday afternoon for a brief graveside ceremony presided over by Rev. William T.D. Clemm, Poe's cousin: . . . — Map (db m6642) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — An 18th-Century Burying Ground|
|Westminster's origins stretch back to 1786 when local Scots-Irish Presbyterians acquired land here for a new burial ground, a mile or so from the center of the growing town of some 12,000. First Presbyterian Church included many of Baltimore's most affluent and influential business, military, political and cultural leaders.
Westminster's gravestones read like a who's who of early Baltimore. And the survival of this 18th-century burying ground provides us with a direct and intimate . . . — Map (db m6643) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — An Active Port for 300 Years — The Port of Baltimore|
|Proximity to the Chesapeake Bay has been the driving force in Baltimore's eminence in commerce and transportation. But the story of Baltimore's port is actually older than Baltimore itself. In 1706 - two decades before the founding of Baltimore - Maryland's colonial legislators designated Whetstone Point, near where Fort McHenry now sits, as an official port of entry for the state's tobacco trade with England. As the century progressed, five small ports - all within a few miles of each other - . . . — Map (db m34845) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — An Old Mill Stream|
|If you were standing here in the early 1800s, you would have been listening to the waterwheel humming away at the Windsor Mill across this bridge. This section of the Gwynns Falls Trail is built over a three-mile millrace that carried water to power the Five Mills complex near today's Leon Day Park. These mills and others alon-e the Gwynns falls and Dead Run streams helped turn the Baltimore area into one of the nation's leading flour and textile producers.
A Baltimore, . . . — Map (db m6340) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Armistead|
Col. George Armistead,
April 10, 1779 – April 25, 1818,
commander of this fort
during the bombardment
by the British Fleet,
Sept. 13-14 1814. War of 1812.
Erected Spet. 12, 1914
by the City of Baltimore,
Soc. War of 1812 contributing.
In commemoration of the gallant
defense of Fort McHenry
under the command of
Col. George Armistead,
which was the inspiration
of the National Anthem,
The Star-Spangled Banner. — Map (db m2595) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Army "Sailors," Navy "Soldiers" — "Not a man shrunk from conflict" Major George Armistead, Commander Fort McHenry September 1814|
|The defenders who manned the heavy cannons in front of you represented a unique combination of soldiers and sailors. One unit, the U.S. Sea Fencibles, included civilian sailors. Wearing the clothing of their trade, they were issued muskets, drilled as soldiers and considered part of the U.S. Army.
The United States Chesapeake Flotilla served as part of the U.S. Navy. Most of these men were sailors and included free African-Americans. During the summer of 1814 they fought several . . . — Map (db m61147) WM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Babe Ruth Birthplace Museum|
|George Herman Ruth, better known to the world as Babe Ruth, baseball's famous "Sultan of Swat," was born here in the home of his maternal grandparents on February 6, 1895. Famous for his record-breaking statistics and flamboyant style, Babe was honored by the 1969 Baseball Centennial which named him the "Greatest Player Ever."
But life was not always so rosy. At the ripe old age of seven, Babe was judged "a hopeless incorrigible" and was packed off to St. Mary's Industrial School to learn . . . — Map (db m7480) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Babe’s Dream|
|George Herman “Babe” Ruth, Baltimorean. Feb. 6, 1895 – Aug. 16, 1948. — Map (db m708) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore & Ohio Railroad — The Mount Clare Shops|
|You are standing on the site of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad’s Mount Clare Shops, a large industrial complex critical to maintaining every aspect of the railroad’s daily operations. Because of their strategic importance, the shops were among the first sites in Baltimore that the U.S. Army secured when the Civil War began. From this heavily guarded location the B&O supported the Northern war effort. Thousands of troops, tons of supplies and munitions, and material essential to rebuild damaged . . . — Map (db m60965) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Arts Tower|
|Once known as the Bromo Seltzer Tower, this building is a monument to Captain Isaac Emerson, the imaginative chemist who developed a famous headache remedy, and named it after Mt. Bromo - an active volcano in Java.
Emerson came to Baltimore in 1881 and promoted his drug by offering free one share of stock in his company for each $60 orth of the remedy bought by a retail druggist. Exactly 34 years later, one of the original shares was worth $4,000. By 1911, the business had so expanded that . . . — Map (db m6982) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore City Courthouse|
|This “noble pile” as it was described at the dedication of January 8, 1900, is the third courthouse built on Monument Square. When Calvert Street was leveled in 1784, the original courthouse—site of the May 1774 Stamp Act Protest and the July 1776 reading of the Declaration of Independence—was saved from demolition by being raised high avove the street level on stone archways. In 1805, when the small building could no longer serve the growing population, a second . . . — Map (db m2721) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore City Fire Department|
|Dedicated to the Members of the Baltimore City Fire Department, Past, Present and Future. — Map (db m2704) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore College of Dental Surgery|
|This tablet erected by the Maryland State Dental Association marks the original site of the Baltimore College of Dental Survery Founded in the year 1840 the first dental college in the world. — Map (db m7037) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Infirmary|
|On this site in 1823 the faculty of the University of Maryland College of Medicine erected the Baltimore Infirmary, the first teaching hospital associated with a degree-granting school of medicine and the original residency program in medical education. The Infirmary, facing Lombard Street, was enlarged with additions along Greene Street throughout the nineteenth century and was replaced by the University Hospital in 1897. The last of the buildings was razed in 1974. — Map (db m10006) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Police Department|
|Established 1784 by an act of the Maryland Legislature.
This living memorial is dedicated by the Department to all members, past and present. Who have served with honor, dedication, and loyalty. Many of whom have made the supreme sacrifice.
Their achievements and contributions have enhanced the departments stature and the well being of the community they serve.
Donald D. Pomerleau Police Commissioner — Map (db m2601) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Public Works Museum|
|Completed in 1912, the majestic Eastern Avenue Pumping Station was the architectural crown jewel in the City of Baltimore’s ambitious plan to provide its citizens with a service largely taken for granted today, a sanitary sewage system.|
Designed by architect Henry Brauns and Chief Engineer Calvin Hendricks, the Station’s grand exterior incorporates a mansard slate roof, classical pediment and ornamental copper turrets that convey the sense of civic pride the people of Baltimore associated . . . — Map (db m60939) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Regional Trail — A House Divided — War on the Chesapeake Bay|
|During the Civil War, Baltimore and its environs exemplified the divided loyalties of Maryland's residents. The city had commercial ties to the South as well as the North, and its secessionist sympathies erupted in violence on April 19, 1861, when pro-Confederate mobs attacked Massachusetts troops en route to Washington, D.C. Because of Baltimore's strategic importance, President Abraham Lincoln acted swiftly, stationing Federal troops in the city and jailing civilians suspected of disloyalty. . . . — Map (db m37537) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Riot Trail — Death at President Street Station|
|Baltimore – A house Divided
In 1861, as the Civil War began, Baltimore secessionists hoped to stop rail transportation to Washington and isolate the national capital. On April 19, the 6th Massachusetts Regiment arrived here at the Philadelphia, Wilmington and Baltimore Railroad’s President Street Station at 10 a.m. en route with other troops to Washington to answer President Abraham Lincoln’s call for 75,000 volunteers to counter the “rebellion.” Because of . . . — Map (db m2418) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Riot Trail — "Keep back ... or I Shoot"|
|Baltimore - A House Divided On April 19, 1861, Confederate sympathizers attacked the 6th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment as it changed trains en route to Washington, which the secessionists hoped to isolate. To learn more about the Baltimore Riot, the city's role in the Civil War, and railroad history, please visit the Baltimore Civil War Museum - President Street Station, at the corner of President and Fleet Streets. Open daily 10 a.m - 5 p.m.
A stone-throwing secessionist . . . — Map (db m6151) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Riot Trail — Combat on Pratt Street — Baltimore – A House Divided|
(Preface):On April 19, 1861, Confederate sympathizers attacked the 6th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment as it changed trains en route to Washington, which the secessionists hoped to isolate. To learn more about the Baltimore Riot, the city’s role in the Civil War, and railroad history, please visit the Baltimore Civil War Museum—President Street Station, at the corner of President and Fleet Streets. Open daily 10 a.m.–5 p.m. When Capt. Albert S. Follansbee’s four companies . . . — Map (db m6206) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Riot Trail — Flag Waving at Fawn Street — Baltimore – A House Divided|
| (Preface): On April 19, 1861, Confederate sympathizers attacked the 6th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment as it changed trains en route to Washington, which the secessionists hoped to isolate. To learn more about the Baltimore Riot, the city’s role in the Civil War, and railroad history, please visit the Baltimore Civil War Museum—President Street Station, at the corner of President and Fleet Streets. Open daily 10 a.m.–5 p.m. Capt. Albert S. Follansbee quickly ran into . . . — Map (db m6208) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Riot Trail — Barricade at Jones Falls Bridge — Baltimore – A House Divided|
| (Preface): On April 19, 1861, Confederate sympathizers attacked the 6th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment as it changed trains en route to Washington, which the secessionists hoped to isolate. To learn more about the Baltimore Riot, the city’s role in the Civil War, and railroad history, please visit the Baltimore Civil War Museum—President Street Station, at the corner of President and Fleet Streets. Open daily 10 a.m.–5 p.m. While Capt. Albert S. Follansbee waited at . . . — Map (db m6209) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Riot Trail — Last Shots at Camden Station — Baltimore – A House Divided|
|(Preface): On April 19, 1861, Confederate sympathizers attacked the 6th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment as it changed trains en route to Washington, which the secessionists hoped to isolate. To learn more about the Baltimore Riot, the city’s role in the Civil War, and railroad history, please visit the Baltimore Civil War Museum—President Street Station, at the corner of President and Fleet Streets. Open daily 10 a.m.–5 p.m.
Part of the 6th Massachusetts Infantry . . . — Map (db m37538) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Slave Trade|
|Although the United States banned the Transatlantic Slave Trade in 1808, a domestic trade from the Upper South to the emerging cotton-growing regions of the Deep South thrived until the 1860's. Baltimore-based dealers supplied the trade, operating slave pens at the Inner Harbor, on Fell's Point, and across the city, including near this location. Between 1808 and the abolition of slavery in Maryland in 1864, and estimated thirty thousand people were "sold South" from Baltimore. — Map (db m36843) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore's Great Fire|
| Started 10-48 A.M.
February 7 1904
Under control 11-30 A.M.
February 8 1904
Property destroyed - $100 000 000
Insurance paid - $32 000 000
Acres covered - 140
Lives lost - none
Beginning at Liberty and German Streets the fire swept north to Fayette Street east to Jones Falls south to the harbor. It was one of the most destructive conflagrations in the worlds history. — Map (db m7321) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Basilica of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary|
| Has been designated a National Historic Landmark.
This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America. — Map (db m5787) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Beehler Umbrella Factory|
|On this site, from 1886-1908, stood the Beehler Umbrella Factory, the oldest umbrella house in America. Founded in Baltimore by Francis Beehler in 1828. — Map (db m4895) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Believe it or Not|
|Raised slabs mark a number of grave sites at Westminster, but none has garnered as much attention as this one. Once the subject of a "Ripley's Believe it or Not," this gravity-defying piece fo marble continues to fascinate.
This slab was originally part of a lot belonging to William Matthews (1753-1819), a merchant and Revolutionary War veteran.
Longtime Steward Reverened Bruce McDonald, pastor of Westminster Presbyterian Church from 1925 until 1959, championed . . . — Map (db m6639) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Bernard von Kapff|
|Bernard von Kapff (1770-1829) put his stamp on early Baltimore as a merchant, public figure and leader of the German community. A native of Detmold in northern Germany, von Kapff established a tobacco importing business in 1795, and later joined fellow German Frederick W. Brune to create a prosperous mercantile house.
Von Kapff served from 1817-1822 as vice president of Baltimore's German Society, an organziation formed to protect the rights of German immigrants. He also donated $12,000 . . . — Map (db m6649) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Bethel A.M.E. Church|
|The Bethel African Methodist Episcopal congregatoin is the oldest independent black institution in Baltimore. Its origins date back to the late 18th century, when blacks withdrew from the parent Methodist Church in protest against racially segregated seating and lack of representation in church hierarchy. To exercise control over their own spiritual affairs, the dissenting blacks formed a "Free African Society," congregating for prayers and meetings in private homes. They soon adopted the name . . . — Map (db m6237) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — B'nai Israel Synagogue — (originally Chizuk Amuno Synagogue)|
|The B'nai Israel Synagogue, erected in 1876, is the longest actively-used synagoue in Baltimore. It was built by Congregation Chizuk Amuno ("Strengthening of the Faith"), whose members had seceded from the Baltimore Hebrew Congregation in 1870 to protest changes in traditonal Jewish practice and ritual. The traditionalists were led by Jonas Friedenwald, whose family exercised such influence over the congregation that for many years Chizuk Amuno was known as the Friedenwald Schul (or, . . . — Map (db m7074) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Bombproofs|
|The arched chambers on either side of the sally port are identical bomb shelters for the fort's soldiers. They were built immediately after the bombardment of 1814, when it became obvious that such places were needed. Fortunately, Fort McHenry was never shelled again, and the bombproofs were never used for their intended purpose.
Contrary to popular belief, the underground rooms in and around the star fort are not "dungeons," despite their iron gates and dark narrow entrances. Bombproofs and . . . — Map (db m12246) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Bon Secours Hospital|
|Congregation of the Sisters of Bon Secours, a nursing order founded in France in 1824, sent three members to Baltimore in May, 1881, at the request of Cardinal Gibbons. Their first U. S. convent opened at West Baltimore and Payson Streets the following year. The sisters were soon widely known for their long hours and compassionate care of the sick. Bon Secours Hospital began here with 22 beds in 1919.
Marker erected in 1981 to celebrate 100 years of health care on this site.
— Map (db m2451) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Boundary Lines of Baltimore Town — 1729|
|[This marker portrays the subject in a pictorial manner. It shows the major streets of Baltimore in 1729. The six stars on the map represent the locations of this and five other identical markers.] — Map (db m7483) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Breaking the Back of Segregation|
|Separate but Equal policy July 11, 1948 Participants James Robertson, Maceo Howard, Morris Kalish, James Gross, Albert Blank, Jeanette Fine, Gloria Stewart, Mary Coffee, Mitzy Freishtat, Irvin Winkler, Stanley Askin, Louis Pinkney, Leonard Collidge, Royal Weaver, Warren Vestal, Marcus Moore, Regina Silverberg, Phillip Ennis, Leroy Matthews, William Carr, Issiah Rows, Delores Jackson, Two Juveniles, Charles Swan.
Created through the efforts of Charles L. Williams — Map (db m11223) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Bridging Gwynns Falls|
|The lofty, triple-arched Baltimore Street Bridge was built here in 1932 to provide better access across the Gwynns Falls Valley to the city's rapidly developing west side. Earlier, the Frederick Turnpike crossed farther south on a relatively short, low bridge at the narrowest point along the stream. After the National Road was built over the Appalachian Mountains, the Frederick Turnpike became part of this road and Baltimore's principal route to new markets in the Ohio Valley.
For many . . . — Map (db m6351) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Brig. General Lewis A. Armistead|
|Within this cemetery is buried Brig. General Lewis A. Armistead Born New Bern, N.C. Feb. 16, 1817 Died at Gettysburg, Pa. July 3, 1863 Where men under his command made the farthest northern advance by any Southern troops Captain U.S. Army before joining Confederacy This tablet dedicated October 11, 1949 by Gen. Lewis A. Armistead Chapter No. 2136 United Daughters of the Confederacy — Map (db m21366) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — British Bomb|
|Fired by the British Naval Forces during the bombardment of this fort Sept. 13-14, 1814 when by the light of “Bombs bursting in air” the National Anthem – The Star Spangled Banner had its birth. — Map (db m10882) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Brooklyn-Curtis Bay Veterans|
|This memorial is dedicated to all the Brooklyn-Curtis Bay veterans living and deceased by Brooklyn-Curtis Bay Post 187 American Legion, Department of Maryland. Dedicated May 28, 1995. — Map (db m19079) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Brown’s Arcade|
|Named for the governor who developed it, Brown's Arcade is a unique and early example of adaptive reuse in Baltimore. The four buildings that make up the Arcade were originally constructed as rowhouses in the 1820's. After the Great Fire of 1904, former governor Frank Brown bought 322-328 N. Charles and converted the buildings to shops and offices in an unusual and created departure from standard retail development. Architect Henry Brauns added storefronts, a cornice, bay windows and an arcade . . . — Map (db m5565) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Building Atop the Burying Ground|
|When leaders of First Presbyterian Church decided to build an new church atop their 18th-century burying ground, they hoped to serve Baltimore’s growing west end and protect their burial place from being diverted to other uses.
Construction began in July 1851 and Westminster Presbyterian Church was consecrated a year later. The congregation grew steadily, adding a parish hall (far left) by the late 1850’s. By the early 1900’s the neighborhood was heavily commercial and industrial, its . . . — Map (db m2413) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Burial Place of Twenty-Nine Confederate Soldiers|
|Erected by the United States to mark the burial place of twenty-nine Confederate soldiers who died at Fort McHenry, Maryland, while prisoners of war, and whose remains were there buried, but subsequently removed to this section, where the individual graves cannot not be identified. — Map (db m7050) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Camp Carroll — From Plantation to Federal Camp|
|This land was part of a 2,568-acre tract named Georgia Plantation, that Charles Carroll purchased in 1732. By 1760, his son Charles Carroll, a lawyer, had constructed a Georgian summer home, Mount Clare. the Carroll family lived here until 1852.
In April 1861, in the first bloodshed of the Civil War, a crowd of Confederate sympathizers in Baltimore attacked the 6th Massachusetts Infantry as it passed through the city en rout to Washington. By summer the U.S. Army had established camps . . . — Map (db m2537) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Captain John O'Donnell — 1749-1805|
|Captain John O’Donnell, the founder of the Canton Community, was a man of great vision and accomplishment. He initiated trade between Canton, China and Baltimore in 1785 operating his own merchant sailing vessels. This public square once the site of the Canton Market is dedicated in his honor.
— Map (db m62256) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Carroll Mansion|
|Charles Carroll of Carrollton (1737–1832), the last surviving, and only Roman Catholic signer of the Declaration of Independence, wintered here during the last twelve years of his life.
Built circa 1808, the mansion is the grandest Federal era (1780–1820) merchant’s townhouse standing in the City of Baltimore today. The ground floor was used for business and family gatherings, the second for formal entertaining, and the third for sleeping.
The mansion was sold to the . . . — Map (db m3204) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Carroll Park|
|Baltimore’s Park Commission purchased portions of the Mount Clare estate between 1890 and 1907 to provide a large landscaped park for the city’s southwestern neighborhoods. The Olmsted Brothers firm helped the city develop plans to protect the historic house and to provide grounds for passive and active recreation. A protest by African Americans that they were barred from city golf facilities led to a decision in 1934 to designate certain days for their use at the golf course here. The city . . . — Map (db m41430) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Carroll Park at the Golf Course — Gwynns Falls Trail|
| Native Americans once traversed this stream where nearby at Gwynns Run in 1669, Richard Gwinn, the stream’s namesake, established a trading post. Next to the trail today is the nine-hole executive Carroll Park Golf Course, one of the five operated by the Baltimore Municipal Golf Corporation, a non-profit. East of here along Washington Boulevard and beyond the Montgomery Park Business Center is Carroll Park. Water quality data is collected here to monitor water flows and health and determine . . . — Map (db m41426) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Carrollton Viaduct|
|The Carrollton Viaduct carried the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad over the Gwynns Falls, its first malor stream crossing as it headed west from its Pratt Street terminus Completed in 1829, the 300-foot stone span is named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton, signer of the Declaration of Independence and one of the B&O's founders. Worried about competition from canals, Baltimore's business leaders cast their lot with a new untested technology, railroads. Horses initially pulled the loads, but the B&O . . . — Map (db m6391) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Chapel of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary in the Temple|
|This chapel designed by Maximilien Godefroy represents a unique combination of French Gothic and classical architecture; it was built of English brick and trimmed with Acquia Creek sandstone and stucco. The cornerstone was dedicated by Bishop Carroll on June 16, 1808.
From 1808 to 1809, the basement chapel was used by Mother Elizabeth Seton: in this chapel, she and her followers took their first vows. In 1829, the Oblate Sisters of Providence were founded here by Father Jourbert.
In 1916, . . . — Map (db m7187) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Charles H. Dorsey, Jr. — (1930-1995)|
| Family man, attorney, civic and church leader, mentor, lover of life, thinker, stargazer
Continuing the family tradition, Charles H. Dorsey made the fight for justice his lifelong vocation. As a young man, he fought for civil rights with the NAACP and other groups. His choice of a career in law reflected a passion for righteousness which infected those around him.
As Deputy Director (1969-74) and Executive Director (1974-95), he led the expansion of the Legal Aid Bureau as a statewide law . . . — Map (db m6292) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Cherry Hill|
|Part of the city but green as a suburb, Cherry Hill is a distinctive African American planned community. Cherry Hill was established to provide housing for blacks who moved to Baltimore to work in industries during World War II. Originally it consisted of 541 rowhouses, 600 apartments, and a community building. Residents added 14 churches and many organizations. As the community grew, residents campaigned for schools, parks, recreation centers, and other facilities. This neighborhood, now older . . . — Map (db m6359) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Chimney Corner Building|
|This property has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior
Chimney Corner Building
1812 A.D. — Map (db m6130) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Church Home and Hospital — “I am a Massachusetts woman”|
|Church Home and Hospital, formerly Washington Medical college, was where Edgar Allan Poe died on October 7, 1849, and where many doctors were trained who served in the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War. On April 19, 1861, Adeline Blanchard Tyler, Episcopal Church deaconess and nursing instructor, was working here when a friend summoned her to the Holliday Street police station. The Baltimore Riot had just occurred and wounded 6th Massachusetts Infantry soldiers had been taken . . . — Map (db m2427) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Cistern and Well|
|Fort McHenry was surrounded by water, but none of it was fit to drink. In the early years, soldiers rowed into Baltimore to fill casks with fresh well water. They also collected rainwater from the barracks' roofs in a cistern located in this corner of the star fort.
When a British attack seemed imminent in 1813, the Army began work on a more reliable water source. On the parade behind you they dug a well. The shaft descended 95 feet (29m) through layers of earth, mud, foul water, and clay . . . — Map (db m34590) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Civil War Guardhouse|
|Fort McHenry has had several guardhouses. This one, built in 1835 and enlarged in 1857, is one of the best preserved buildings in the star fort. Soldiers on duty in this room guarded military offenders in the adjacent cells.
During the Civil War, Fort McHenry served as a transfer point for Confederate prisoners of war, most of whom were kept in buildings and stockades outside the star fort. Hi-security prisoners were locked up here.
In the city, civil rights were suspended at times . . . — Map (db m2590) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Clover Hill — (So named circa 1714)|
|Part of “Merryman’s Lott” 210 acres of virgin timberland granted by Lord Baltimore in 1688 to Charles Merryman, whose descendants farmed here until 1869. Stone house built in 19th century occupied by Bishops of Maryland since 1909, when cathedral site purchased by Episcopal Diocese. Charles Carroll of Carrollton, signer of Declaration of Independence, acquired portion south of Merryman’s Lane (now University Parkway) for access to Homewood circa 1801. — Map (db m2452) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Col. Geo. Armistead|
|[front side] This monument is erected in honor of the gallant defender of Fort McHenry near this city during its bombardment by the British Fleet on the 13th and 14th September 1814. He died universally esteemed and regretted on the 25th of April 1818 in the 39th year of his age.
[left side] Appointed Second Lieutenant of 7th Infantry January 8th 1799. Appointed Ensign of Infantry January [illegible] 1799. Appointed First Lieutenant of the 7th Infantry May 14th 1800. Transferred to the 1st . . . — Map (db m2559) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Colonel Charles Marshall — 1830-1902|
|Chief of Staff to General Robert E. Lee at Appomattox. Later a political reformer and one of nineteenth-century Baltimore's "Seven Great Lawyers." — Map (db m6460) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Commanding Officer’s Quarters|
|The rooms on the left end of this building stood as a separate structure during the 1814 period. this was the residence of Major George Armistead, commanding officer and “Hero of Fort McHenry.”
It was Armistead who directed the successful defense of Fort McHenry in 1814. He also ordered the making of a large flag to defy the attacking British—the same flag that inspired Francis Scott Key.
Armistead’s wife Louisa and their two year-old daughter probably did not stay here . . . — Map (db m2592) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Confederate Women of Maryland|
|To the Confederate Women of Maryland
The Brave at Home In difficulty and danger regardless of self they fed the hungry, clothed the needy, nursed the wounded and comforted the dying. — Map (db m62307) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Continental Trust Building|
|The Continental Trust Building, constructed in 1902, is the only building in Baltimore designed by Daniel H. Burnham, a major figure in the Commercial Style that developed in Chicago at the turn of the century and produced the American skyscraper. Burnham's notable works include a number of office buildings in Chicago, the Flatiron Building in New York, Union Station in Washington, D.C., and the 1909 civic improvement plan for Chicago, a landmark in the development of modern city planning. . . . — Map (db m6442) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Crimea|
|To escape the intolerable heat of Baltimore summers, Thomas Dekay Winans built this country house on land which he had purchased in 1855. Winans had recently returned from Russia, where he made a fortune supervising construction of the transcontinental railroad for Czar Nicholas I. This estate he called "Crimea," after the Russian peninsula of the same name.
The grounds, which originally encompassed nearly 1,000 acres, now include the mansion, a carriage house, a chapel, a honeymoon cottage . . . — Map (db m6404) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Crimea Estate|
|In the mid-1800s this meadow and hillside were part of Thomas Winans' country estate, the Crimea. After returning from Russia, where he helped build the St. Petersburg-Moscow railroad, Winans established this estate. He and his Russian-born wife, Celeste, also had an in-town mansion, Aledoffsky, which no longer exists.
You can follow the old stone roadway or a pathway that leads to the Victorian stone mansion, called Orianda, and small wooden chapel at the top of the hill. At the pathway's . . . — Map (db m6336) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Crimea Mansion — The Arrest of Ross Winans|
|On May 11, 1861, Union Gen. Benjamin F. Butler's troops occupied the railroad depot southwest of Baltimore at Relay, where a spur of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad's main line turned south to Washington. The seizure of Relay yielded a surprise triumph in the capture of the "Winans Artillery Gun," a rapid-fire steam-powered cannon invented by Ross Winans, before Confederate forces could move it to Harpers Ferry. Winans, a wealthy railroad pioneer well known for his Southern sympathies, often . . . — Map (db m6403) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Curt Richter, Ph. D. — 1894-1988|
|Discoverer of biorhythms / the biological clock. Head of Johns Hopkins psychobiology laboratory. Garry Moore 1915-1993 *** Host of 1950s and 1960s television variety shows. — Map (db m6476) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Daniel Coit Gilman — 1831-1908|
|First President of Johns Hopkins University. First director of John Hopkins Hospital. A pathfinder in American graduate and professional education. — Map (db m6559) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Davidge Hall|
|Davidge Hall, constructed in 1812, is named for the first dean of the University of Maryland School of Medicine, Dr. John B. Davidge. Noted for its unique classical appearance, it is the oldest building in the country used continuously for medical education. The Medical School, established in 1807 by the Maryland General Assembly was the fifth to be founded in the United States. Following mergers with Baltimore Medical College, 1913, and College of Physicians and Surgeons, 1915, the school became part of the State University System in 1920. — Map (db m15057) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Dickeyville's Historic Legacy|
|Dickeyville has been known by several other names - Tschudi, Franklinville, Wetheredville, Hillsdale - depending on who owned the grist, paper, or textile mills powered by the Gwynns Falls. Both the Wethereds and Dickeys ran their mill operations as a company village that provided housing, churches, schools, and a retail store in return for a stable labor force willing to accept low wages. In 1934 the entire complex of two mills and 81 houses was sold at auction. The village was restored as one . . . — Map (db m6339) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Direct Hit|
|About 2:00 p.m. on September 13, 1814, gunners of the Maryland Militia under Captain J.H. Nicholson were waiting out the British bombardment behind this parapet. It was futile to return fire because their 21 pounder gun did not have the range to hit the enemy warships.
Suddenly a British shell landed in their midst and exploded, knocking the heavy carriage off its carriage. When the smoke cleared, several men had been wounded. Two lay dead. Lieutenant Levi Claggett and Sergeant John Clemm, . . . — Map (db m34591) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Dr. Hiltgunt Margret Zassenhaus|
|July 10, 1916 Hamburg, Germany
November 20, 2004 Baltimore, MD
Physician, Humanist, Author
Working as an interpreter with Scandinavian political prisoners held by the Third Reich during World War II, she bravely afforded many medical aid and spiritual support and was instrumental in the saving of more than 1,200 from execution as the war drew to a close.
In 1952, Dr. Zassenhaus immigrated to Baltimore and established a medical practice. She wrote of her experiences in Germany in . . . — Map (db m2710) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Druid Hill — Strategic Union Encampment|
|Within a year of the April 1861 Baltimore Riots, the first of several U.S. Army camps and fortifications began encircling Druid Hill, and important location high above the city and adjacent to the Northern Central Railroad. The 114th and 150th New York Infantry Regiments occupied Camp Belger (Fort No. 5) here, named for Col. James Belger, quartermaster for of the Middle Department headquartered in Baltimore , March 1862. At least fifteen regiments eventually encamped here near the intersection . . . — Map (db m7594) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Dugan-Hollins Family Vault|
|This burial vault holds the remains of nine members of two prominent Baltimore families whose live were intertwined through business partnerships and marriage.
Cumberland Dugan (1747-1836), the patriarch, left Ireland at age 19, settling briefly in Roxbury, Massachusetts before coming to the small but growing town of Baltimore. Through marriage and banking, Dugan forged personal and business ties with other powerful Presbyerian families, particularly the Smiths and Hollins. And, like many . . . — Map (db m6640) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Early Industries|
|Industries have flourished here in the lower Gwynns Falls Valley since the early 1700s, when the Baltimore Iron Works Co. turned iron into nails and anchors and Dr. Charles Carroll's gristmills ground wheat into flour. The Wilkens Curled Hair Factory, which had as many as 1,000 employees, processed animal hair for use in mattresses and upholstery - and, like many other industries, dumped its waste into the waterways. Wilkens built housing for some of his workers and provided land for the avenue . . . — Map (db m6393) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Early Transportation Routes|
|The Gwynns Falls Trail follows a valley that has served as both a transportation avenue and an obstacle since the days of American Indians and European colonists. Early roads were privately owned turnpikes that charged tolls; they became public highways with the advent of automobiles. Streetcars, electrified in the 1880s, served commuters until the period after World War II, when buses replaced them. America's first railroad, the Baltimore and Ohio, crossed the valley near Wilkens Avenue. In . . . — Map (db m6352) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Ebenezer AME Church|
|This church is part of the African Methodist Episcopal congregation, the oldest independent black institution in the country. The origins of the A.M.E. church date back to the late 18th century, when blacks withdrew from the parent Methodist Church in protest against racially segregated seating and lack of representation in church hierarchy. In 1816, the A.M.E. church was formally organized in Philadelphia.|
Ebenezer A.M.E. is Baltimore;s oldest standing church built by a black organization. . . . — Map (db m49492) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Edgar Allan Poe House|
|“The little house in the lowly street with the lovely name.” This was how Edgar Allan Poe described 203 Amity Street, where he lived from 1832 to 1835 with his grandmother, aunt, and cousin Virginia, whom he married in 1836.
While living here, the famous American writer first gained public recoginition. In 1833, Poe won a literacy contest sponsored by the Baltimore Saturday Visitor, one of the seventy magazines that burst upon, the local scene in the early 19th century. The . . . — Map (db m2506) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Edith Hamilton — 1867-1963|
|Classicist author of The Greek Way. A leader in women's day-schooling First headmistress of Bryn Mawr School. *** Alice Hamilton, M.D. 1869-1970 Founder of industrial hygiene, pioneer in removing lead from paint. Harvard's first woman professor. — Map (db m6466) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Eli Siegel — 1902-1978|
Great American Poet, Philosopher
Founder of Aesthetic Realism
Quiet and green was the grass of the field,
The sky was whole in brightness,
And O, a bird was flying, high, there in the sky,
So gently, so carelessly and fairly.
There are millions of men in the world, and each is one man.
Each is one man by himself, taking care of himself all the time, and changing other men and being changed by them.
from "Hot Afternoons Have Been in Montana"
Dedicated August 16, 2002 . . . — Map (db m7595) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Ellicott Flour Mills|
|The Ellicott Driveway portion of the Gwynns Falls trail follows the route of a millrace that carried water to a flour-milling complex owned by the Ellicott family. In the 1800s, 26 gristmills along the Gwynns Falls and other on the Jones Falls and Patapsco River contributed to Baltimore's first economic boom. Besides their Ellicott City mills, the Ellicotts built the Three Mills complex in this area and were partners in the five Calverton Mills upstream at Leon Day Park. The Ellicotts also . . . — Map (db m5533) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Enoch Pratt Free Library|
|In 1882, the merchant Enoch Pratt, wishing to make a gift to his adopted city which would benefit all of her citizens, gave Baltimore $1,058,000 to establish a public library.
The original building fronted on Mulberry Street. Designed by the Baltimore architect Charles Carson, it opened in 1886. By the late 1820's, the patrons and volumes had outgrown the building. The present structure, completed in 1933, represented a major departure from the tradition of building libraries with monumental . . . — Map (db m5561) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Ernest Stebbins, M.D. — 1901-1987|
|Early advisor to the World Health Organization. New York City Health Commissioner. Long time dean of Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health. — Map (db m6581) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Evergreen on the Falls — National Register of Historic Places|
|Surveyed for John Walsh in 1754, large square cupola once crowned brick mansion. Built in Italianate style c.1860 by Henry Snyder. Leased after 1864 to James Hooper, owner of Meadow Mill. Estate was sold in 1870 to David Carroll, co-owner of Mount Vernon Mills. Acquired by Maryland Society for prevention of Cruelty to Animals in 1926. Granite structure, 1860 was valve house for Hampton Reservoir (filled with earth from Jones Falls Expressway Excavation.) — Map (db m2520) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Evolution of Fort McHenry|
|After the Battle of Baltimore in 1814, Fort McHenry continued as a military post for more than a hundred years. The U.S. Army constructed buildings outside the star fort and modified existing structures to serve the needs of the time. During the Civil War, the lawn in front of you was the site of a detention center for Confederate prisoners-of-war. In the next century, as World War I came to an end, the fort property was transformed into a huge hospital complex to care for soldiers returning . . . — Map (db m10881) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Exodus 1947: "The ship That Launched a Nation"|
|Near this spot, the Baltimore steamer President Warfield began her epic voyage into history. Built in 1928 as the flagship of the Old Bay Line, she ran nightly cruises between Baltimore and Norfolk. In 1943 she was given to Britain under the wartime lend-lease program, but joined the U.S. Navy in 1944 as a harbor control vessel off Omaha Beach after the D-day landings.
Purchased as war surplus in 1946, she was outfitted in Baltimore as part of a secret fleet to transport Holocaust survivors . . . — Map (db m59809) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Experimental Carriages|
|Funds for developing new weapons decreased after the Civil War, forcing the Army to upgrade the cannon they already had.
These three 19-inch Rodman gun tubes were probably made during the 1870’s, but their carriages are improved versions developed about 1888. A large hydraulic cylinder returned the gun to its forward position after firing and recoil. Another innovation was the use of bumpers made of a material relatively new to gunnery—rubber.
The automatic return feature . . . — Map (db m2637) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — F. Scott Fitzgerald — 1896-1940|
|Author of The Great Gatsby (1925). Works published while he resided here: Tender is the Night (1934), Raps At Reveille (1935), and essays (1934-1936) later collected in The Crack-Up. — Map (db m6473) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Fame, Fortune and Financial Scandal|
|The Calhoun-Buchanan vault holds the remains of 29 members of two of Baltimore's leading Scots-Irish Presbyterian families spanning five or six generations. The neo-classical granite vault is probably the work of Robert Mills (1781-1855), the architect of monuments to Washington in Baltimore and the District of Columbia.
James Calhoun (1743-1816), whose death may have occasioned the construction of this vault, was Baltimore's first mayor. His son-in-law, James A. Buchanan (1768-1840), a . . . — Map (db m6637) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Federal Hill|
|Since the founding of Baltimore, 1729, this hill has been a popular point for viewing the city’s growth. Here 4,000 people feasted 1780, to celebrate the ratification by Maryland of the Federal Constitution and in honor of the new government gave the place its name. An observatory, built here 1795, signalled city merchants of the approach of their vessels, a service which lasted a century. Shipyards have long been located near the hill and it has been mined for clay and sand during the Civil . . . — Map (db m2555) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Federal Hill — Building the Fort|
|On the evening of May 13, 1861, U.S. General Benjamin E. Butler’s troops occupied Federal Hill and brought their guns to bear on Baltimore. For the next four years the hill, garrisoned by 10 different regiments, served as a strategic Union strong point to control the pro-Southern elements of Baltimore’s population.
The 5th New York Volunteer Infantry pitched its tents here on July 27. Led by Col. Abram Duryee, the unit was outfitted in colorful Zouave uniforms: a tasseled fez, short . . . — Map (db m2560) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Federal Hill and Otterbein|
|The Federal Hill and Otterbein Historic Districts exemplify preservation efforts in Baltimore. Adjacent to the Inner Harbor, they were among the earliest areas developed in the city. After periods of economic prosperity and decline, these historic neighborhoods were rediscovered and renovated in the late 1900s. Federal Hill - named for Maryland's ratification of the Federal Constitution in 1788 - includes Federal-style rowhouses with gabled roofs and dormer windows and later Italianate styles . . . — Map (db m6357) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Fells Point|
|A colonial maritime community established 1726 by William Fell, shipbuilder of Lancashire, England. In this area were built more than six hundred ships from the colonial era through the Civil War. Birthplace of the U.S. Frigate “Constellation” and home port of the famous Baltimore clippers. — Map (db m2517) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Ferdinand Clairborne Latrobe|
Seven Times Mayor of Baltimore
In grateful acknowledgment of his eminent services the City has erected this monument
AD 1914 — Map (db m60936) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — First Baptist Church|
|First Baptist Church, the oldest Black Baptist church in Maryland, was founded amidst turmoil in 1836, five years after Nat Turner's Rebellion in Virginia. Alarmed at the Rebellion, Maryland and other slave states passed laws restricting the movement of free Blacks across state lines, prohibiting the employment of free Black immigrants, and forbidding the teaching of reading and writing to slaves.
In this heavily charged atmosphere, Moses Clayton, an ex-slave and lay minister from Norfolk, . . . — Map (db m7564) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — First Baptist Church, Baltimore|
|On this site purchased in 1773,
the first permanent meeting house, a dwelling for the pastor and a school house were erected and a cemetery established for the First Baptist Church of Baltimore Town. The present and fourth building of the church is located at 4200 Liberty Heights Avenue.
This marker dedicated in 1968 by the Historical Committee of the Baptist Convention of Maryland. First Baptist Church was one of the six churches that organized this convention in 1836. — Map (db m2599) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — First Boy Scout Armory|
|On this site, May 20, 1911, Ernest Thompson Seton, founder of the Boy Scouts of America, laid the cornerstone of the first Boy Scout Armory in the United States, and 30 acres of land were presented to the Mount Washington Boy Scouts for park and parade ground purposes. •
Commemorative stone given by Woman’s Club of Mount Washington October 11, 1969. — Map (db m2522) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — First Dental College|
|Baltimore College of Dental Surgery, first dental college in the world chartered by the General Assembly of Maryland March 6, 1840. Founders were Horace H. Hayden, M.D., D.D.S. and Chap A. Harris M.D., D.D.S. The Assembly stipulated by Act of Consolidation April 9, 1924 that the name of the college “shall be preserved as a definite Department of the University of Maryland.” The name adopted Baltimore College of Dental Surgery Dental School University of Maryland. Tablet in Hopkins . . . — Map (db m2530) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — First Unitarian Church|
|Has been designated a Registered National Historic Landmark under the provisions of the Historic Sites Act of August 21, 1935. This site possesses exceptional value in commemorating or illustrating the history of the United States. — Map (db m5643) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Fish Market|
|Baltimore's first fish market stood near the site of this structure as searly as 1773. The first market building, Centre Market, was authorized by act of the State legislature in 1784. It was also known as Marsh Market since it was built on Thomas Harrison's marsh. Throughout the nineteenth century, market merchants sold dry goods, horses and fresh fruits and getetables. Slave auctions were also held here.
In 1851 what was perhaps America's finest market-type assembly hall was built here . . . — Map (db m7322) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Florence Rena Sabin, M.D. — 1871-1953|
|First woman full professor at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. Introducer of techniques for staining living cells. Reformer of Colorado's health laws. Her statue stands in the U.S. Capitol. — Map (db m6475) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Fort Look-Out|
|During the War of 1812, a circular 180° earthen artillery redoubt was erected as a defense for Fort McHenry. On September 13, 1814, Lt. George Budd commanded naval forces that assisted in repulsing a nighttime British attack on the Ferry Branch defenses of Forts Covington and Babcock. In ca. 1828, Alfred J. Miller painted "The Bombardment of Fort McHenry" from here. — Map (db m36849) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Fort McHenry|
|1814 - 1914
Whetstone Point shore battery
Star Fort begun.
Later named for Washington’s Secretary of War
Reservation partly acquired by the United States
Gallant defence during British bombardment inspired the writing of The Star-Spangled Banner
Full reservation ceded. — Map (db m2569) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Fort McHenry National Monument & Historic Shrine|
|As a guardian of Baltimore’s harbor, Fort McHenry is the site of the sucessful defense of the city by American Forces during the British attack on September 12–14, 1814 which inspired Francis Scott Key to write “The Star-Spangled Banner.”
Fort McHenry is one of over 300 sites administered by the National Park Service. Plan to begin your experience at the Visitor Center located in the brick building adjacent to the parking lot. — Map (db m2568) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Francis Scott Key|
|Author of The Star Spangled Banner departed this life on the site of this building Jan. 11, 1843.
“And this be our motto In God is our Trust” —Key — Map (db m5558) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Francis Scott Key|
|1780-1843 Presented to the City of Baltimore Charles L. Marburg
[this marker tells its story in a pictorial manner]
On one side, ships are depicted bombarding Fort McHenry. On the other, the view is from Fort McHenry out onto the ships in Baltimore harbor. — Map (db m6548) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Franklin P. Mall, M.D. — 1862-1919|
|First Johns Hopkins Professor of Anatomy. After 1914, also first Director of the Department of Embryology at Washington's Carnegie Institution, where he pioneered embryological research. — Map (db m6480) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Frederick Douglass — Abolitionist / Orator / Author|
|Frederick Douglass was born into American slavery on Maryland's Eastern Shore in February 1818.
In March 1826, Douglass, a slave child, was sent to live in the Hugh Auld household at this location, from 1826-1831.
Douglass periodically resided in Fells Point as a slave until Monday, September 3, 1838, when he escaped to freedom via the Underground Railroad.
Douglass returned to Baltimore as a free man on May 19, 1870 to address the 20,000 participants in the 15th Amendment Celebration . . . — Map (db m2603) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Frederick Douglass|
|"Those who profess to favor freedom and yet depreciate agitation are those who want crops without plowing up the ground - they want rain without thunder and lightning." - Frederick Douglass
Born in February, 1818, on Maryland's Eastern Shore, Frederick Douglass escaped from slavery to become the founder and editor of an abolitionist newspaper, and eloquent speaker and a leading reformer. After the Civil War, he held high public office as a U.S. Marhsal for the District of Columbia (1877), . . . — Map (db m7562) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Freedom & Equality for All|
|After a Republican victory in the Presidential Election of 1860, the South park of Mt. Vernon Place seceded from the union... of the parks. The South park and the residents around it were infuriated that the North Park was a free park open to citizens of all races. As the South park tried to spread it's whites only regulation, the President Elect, Abraham Lincoln, restricted the spread of the whites only area. The South park then seceded from the rest of the parks and began a civil war of the . . . — Map (db m7721) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Furley Hall|
|On hill to the north stood the Georgian mansion built c. 1775 by Daniel Bowley II (1745–1807), Baltimore merchant and patriot of the revolution. He was a town commissioner, 1771–1778, and three times a State Senator. In 1814, British soldiers occupied the estate. It was purchased in 1847 by William Corse, Sr. (1804–1869), whose garden was a favorite of his friends Enoch Pratt and Johns Hopkins. Damaged by fire in 1906, Furley Hall was razed in 1953. — Map (db m2618) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — G. Krug & Son|
|"There is hardly a building in Baltimore that doesn't contain something we made, even if it is only a nail." So boasted Theodore Krug, heir to the oldest continuously working iron shop in the country. For more than 170 years artisans here have hammered out practical and ornamental ironwork that still graces such local landmarks as Otterbein Methodist Church, the Basilica of the Assumptinon, Washington Monument, Zion Church, Johns Hopkins Hospital and the Baltimore Zoo.
The modest beginnings . . . — Map (db m6619) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Garrett Jacobs Mansion — 7, 9 & 11 West Mount Vernon Place|
|The Garrett Jacobs Mansion is an architectural treasure that provides an historic window to Baltimore’s 19th century elegance. The mansion combines the work of two of America’s most distinguished architects: Stanford White and John Russell Pope. The Garrett-Jacobs Mansion comprises three original houses, measuring 39,200 square feet, and containing approximately 40 rooms, 100 windows and 16 fireplaces.|
Both White and Pope first came to Baltimore to work on the Mansion. White went on to . . . — Map (db m62424) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Garry Moore — 1915-1993|
|Born Thomas Garrison Morfit, he was an early host and star of 1950s and 1960s television variety shows, including I've Got a Secret and The Garry Moore Show. — Map (db m6589) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — General Casimir Pulaski|
|Casimir Pulaski (Kazimierz Pulaski) was born in the late 1740’s in Warsaw, Poland. In his native country he fought against Imperial Russia, winning fame and respect for his brilliant and daring attacks on the Russian forces attacking his country.|
With recommendations from Benjamin Franklin and the Marquis de Lafayette, in 1777 Pulaski joined the American War for Independence. On September 15, 1777, he was commissioned a Brigadier General and made “Commander of the Horse.” He is . . . — Map (db m60996) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — George W. Rayner House — Circa 1879|
|George Rayner (1854-1884), lawyer and one of Baltimore's wealthiest men, was the first to call this home. — Map (db m6579) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — George Washington Bicentennial Marker|
|This elm has watched the growth of "Baltimore Towne" for over 100 years, on former estate of John Eager Howard, Revolutionary and 1812 Officer and fifth governor of Maryland. Here, in "Howard's Woods", Count De Rochambeau's troops camped, 1782, erecting an altar for mass. James Cardinal Gibbons lived here, 1877-1921, resting now beneath Cathedral altar. (Cornerstone laid 1806). Famous world visitors (church and state) and generations of soldiers have passed beneath these protecting branches. — Map (db m5563) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Gerald W. Johnson — 1890-1980|
|Journalist, historian and biography. His political commentary, in print and on television, led Adlai Stevenson to call him "the critic and conscience of the nation." — Map (db m6478) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Gloria Victis|
|Gloria Victis-To the Soldiers and Sailors of Maryland in the service of the Confederate States of America. 1861-1865 (The front of the base of the monument) — Map (db m62306) WM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Grace and St. Peter's Church|
|Built for Grace Church in 1852, this was one of the first Gothic Revival churches in the South to use Connecticut brownstone. St. Peter's Church, founded in 1802, and Grace Church, founded in 1850, were united in 1912. This union is symbolized by the emblem shown.
Scholars consider the structure to be one of the most authentic and elegant English Gothic Revival churches in Baltimore. Designed by the noted architects Niernsee and Neilson, scholars consider it to be a copy of St. Marks Church . . . — Map (db m6013) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Grand Army of the Republic|
|In memory of the Grand Army of the Republic by the Daughters of the Union Veterans of the Civil War, 1861-1865.
Mother Sperling Tent No. 1, April 23, 1933.
[rear of marker] [Engraving of a 13-star flag] Our fathers saved.
[text on top of marker] The kiss of the sun for pardon, the song of the birds for mirth. On is nearer God's heart in a garden, than anywhere else on earth. Grow old along with me - the best is yet to be. — Map (db m20485) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Great Railroad Strike of 1877|
|The first national strike began July 16, 1877, with Baltimore and Ohio Railroad workers in Martinsburg, West Virginia, and Baltimore Maryland. It spread across the nation halting rail traffic and closing factories in reaction to widespread worker discontent over wage cuts and conditions during a national depression. Broken by Federal troops in early August, the strike energized the labor movement and was precursor to labor unrest in the 1880s and 1890s. — Map (db m63862) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Green Mount Cemetery|
|Green Mount Cemetery was dedicated in 1839 on the site of the former country estate of Robert Oliver. This was the beginning of the “rural cemetery movement”; Green Mount was Baltimore’s first such rural cemetery and one of the first in the U.S. The movement began both as a response to the health hazard posed by overcrowded church graveyards, and as a part of the large Romantic movement of the mid-1800’s which glorified nature and appealed to emotions. By combining the natural . . . — Map (db m62629) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Gwynns Falls Trail — Middle Branch Park at Waterview Avenue|
|The Gwynns Falls Trail at Middle Branch Park is a splendid place to do some birdwatching, learn to row, try your luck fishing, and relax while enjoying views of the city’s skyline and harbor activities. To the north, under I-95, the Gwynns Falls for which the trail is named flows into the Middle Branch of the Patapsco River and eventually to the Chesapeake Bay. The Middle Branch is a stopover for birds migrating on the Atlantic Flyway, so spend some time on the wildlife observatory boardwalks . . . — Map (db m65304) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Gwynns Falls Valley — From Work to Play|
|As the Baltimore and Frederick-Town Turnpike twisted and turned westward, it passed one of the centers of early city industry. A three mile long millrace on the Gwynns Falls provided power for over twenty mills that sawed wood, ground flour, wove cloth and smelted iron. By 1850, brewers, butchers and a hairbrush factory had moved in. Country beer gardens became getaways on Sunday when city saloons were closed By 1900, the Gwynns Falls’ industries were moving away. Baltimore’s Municipal Art . . . — Map (db m4940) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — H. Irvine Keyser|
|This site and these buildings were presented to the Maryland Historical Society as a memorial to my husband H. Irvine Keyser of Baltimore. Obit May 7, 1916. A member of the Society 1873 to 1916. — Map (db m2527) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — H. L. Mencken House|
|Henry Louis Mencken was born on Lexington Street on September 12, 1880. His father hoped his eldest son would continue the family cigar manufacturing business, but after his father's death in 1899, Mencken headed straight for the Baltimore Morning Herald. By the age of 25, he was the paper's editor-in-chief. When the Herald folded in 1906, Mencken began his long association with the Baltimore Sunpapers, where his outspoken and entertaining views soon won him a national . . . — Map (db m5035) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Hackerman House|
|Built in 1850, Hackerman House, formerly the Thomas-Jencks-Gladding Mansino, was given to the City of Baltimore by Willard and Lillian Hackerman in 1984 and conveyed to the Walters Art Museum by the Honorable William Donald Schaefer in 1985. Hackerman house was opened to the public by the Honorable Kurt L. Schmoke, on May 5, 1991. — Map (db m6019) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Henry August Rowland House|
|Has been designated a National Historic Landmark This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America 1975 National Park Service United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m6003) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Henry Highland Garnet Park|
|This is a community park developed by the Special Impact Neighborhood Improvement Program and the Department of Recreatoin and Parks dedicated to the memory of Henry Highland Garnet by the Henry Highland Garnet Neighborhood Council.
Henry Highland Garnet was the son of an enslaved African chief born in Delaware in 1815. He became a Presbyterian preacher and lecturer. His famous speech delivered to the Convention of Free Men of Color at Buffalo, New York in 1843 was:
Brethren, arise! . . . — Map (db m6236) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Heritage Walk — Discover The Jones Falls — Powering America's Industrial Revolution|
|Baltimore’s industry and trade grew concurrently, a partnership that fueled the city’s tremendous 18th and 19th century growth. You are standing at the mouth of the Jones Falls, a river that flows through Baltimore into the Inner Harbor’s Patapsco River, which in turn flows into the Chesapeake Bay. The Jones Falls provided cheap, reliable energy---waterpower—to Baltimore’s burgeoning industry. The first merchant flour mill was constructed upstream in 1711, and by 1800, the river powered . . . — Map (db m60944) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Historic Canton|
|Through the efforts of the Canton Improvement Association this old and densely populated ethnic neighborhood was named to the National Register of Historic Places in 1978. The two-story red brick row houses are especially noteworthy for their hand painted screens, white marble steps and occasional movable wooden steps. The U.S. Frigate Constellation, now in the Inner Harbor was launched in 1797 at Major Stodder’s shipyard on Harris Creek. The Canton Ironworks rolled the armor plates for the . . . — Map (db m2430) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Homewood|
|The Home of Charles Carroll, Jr.
A National Historic Landmark
Built 1801 - Restored 1987
Open for Tours - Museum Shop — Map (db m6114) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Homewood|
|Property purchased in 1800 by Charles Carroll, signer of the Declaration of Independence, as a wedding present for his only son, Charles and bride Harriett Chew of Philadelphia. The younger Charles designed and oversaw the building of the outstanding Federal style country house, completed in 1805. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The 130 acre farm originally has a dozen outbuildings. — Map (db m18315) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Howard A. Kelly, M.D. — 1858-1943|
|"Wizard of the operating room." First Johns Hopkins Professor of Gynecology and Obstetrics. First head of gynecology, Johns Hopkins Hospital. Early user of radium to treat cancer. — Map (db m6565) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Hugh Lennox Bond — 1828-1893|
|Stalwart supporter of President Lincoln and of Emancipation. Chief Judge in the U.S. Fourth Circuit Court, where he was nicknamed "The Curse of the K.K.K" for his harsh sentences. — Map (db m6462) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — In Full Glory Reflected|
|9:00 a.m., September 14, 1814
The bombardment has ended; the battle is over. As the rain clouds pass and the rays of the sun shine on the fort, the garrison, tired and relieved, stands upon the parade ground. All eyes stare at the large 30 x 42-foot American flag. Carefully kept dry throughout the stormy night, it is now hoisted as a special act of defiance and symbol of perseverance.|
Seeing this flag from miles away inspires Francis Scott Key to write "The Star Spangled . . . — Map (db m60567) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — In Memorial — 1955 - 2005|
|Six members of the Baltimore City Fire Department died in the line of duty while fighting a fire at the Tru-Fit clothing company 507-509 East Baltimore Street on February 16, 1955.
Batallion Chief Francis P. O'Brien, Fourth Batallion •
Fire Fighter Joseph C. Hanley, Engine Company 13 •
Fire Fighter Anthony M. Reinsfelder, Truck Company 16 •
Fire Fighter Rudolph A. Machovec, Engine Company 15 •
Fire Fighter Richard F. Melzer, Engine Company 15 •
Fire Fighter William W. Barnes, Engine . . . — Map (db m7320) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — In Memory of Dr. Lillie May Jackson|
|Servant of God, Champion of the People, Mother of Freedom May 25, 1976 Erected by the Association for Study of Afro-American Life and History In Cooperation with the Amoco Foundation, Inc. — Map (db m6238) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — In Memory of Harvey J. Burns, Jr. — 1923-1988|
|A Black pioneer in Baltimore tennis.
Teacher - promoter - mentor
of youth seeking entry
into the tennis circuit. — Map (db m7598) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — In This Building From 1992 - 1999|
|A group of talented people created a television legend. Homicide Life on the Street — Map (db m6331) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Infusing Style and Sophistication: — The Influence of Maximilian Godefroy|
|For its first 25 years, the burying ground remained a simple place characterized by plain grave markers. After 1810, tastes changed and First Presbyterian Church's leading public figures demanded the ornate.
The most dramatic change was a new entrance and imposing brick wall on Greene Street, completed by September 1815 at the enormous cost of more than $5000. The gates and flanking piers were designed in the Egyptian revival style by French emigre Maximilian Godefroy (1765-c.1840). The new . . . — Map (db m6645) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Inner Harbor Lofts|
|This complex, once three separate structures built between 1886 and 1905, hosed a wide variety of industries. These included a shoe manufacturer, the nation's leading straw hat company, (M.S. Levy), one of the largest lithographers in the south, (Isaac Friedenwald and Company), and E. Rosenfeld and Company, manufacturer of sleepwear.
These large, elegant buildings, with oversized windows to allow more light, were a welcome relief from the small, back rooms of tiny houses where people had . . . — Map (db m6984) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Irvington — The Last Stop before Baltimore|
|Before Irvington existed, eastbound travelers encountered the last hill on the Baltimore and Frederick-Town Turnpike. The turnpike was part of the system of roads that connected to the National Road in Cumberland in 1806. During the 1800s, this landscape was dotted with taverns, summer estates, monasteries and cemeteries, all overlooking Baltimore. From that, Irving Ditty laid out this Victorian style suburb. By the 1830s, Baltimoreans began building vast landscaped cemeteries in the country . . . — Map (db m4941) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Jacob Epstein — 1864-1945|
|Innovative wholesale merchant to the South and collector of Old Master paintings. As a philanthropist, he inaugurated the system of matching charitable grants. — Map (db m6568) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Jacob J. Abel, M.D. — 1857-1938|
|Pioneer researcher on adrenalin, insulin, and the artificial kidney. First Professor of Pharmacology at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. For 40 years the leading pharmacologist in America. — Map (db m6569) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — James Cardinal Gibbons|
|At this site, on July 23, 1834, was born America’s first Prince of the Church,
James Cardinal Gibbons.
Although world-renowned for the influence and profoundness of his thought he was always the parish priest striving for the salvation of souls.
This plaque, dedicated to his memory on behalf of the people of Baltimore
is erected by
Theodore Roosevelt McKeldin,
Governor of Maryland
Mayor of Baltimore
1963–1967. — Map (db m2703) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — James McHenry — Irish-Born Founding Father|
|Newcomers like James McHenry helped shape the future of the new republic. A native of Ireland's County Antrim, McHenry (1753-1816) emigrated to Philadelphia in 1771 where he studied medicine with Benjamin Rush, one of Colonial America's most respected and influential physicians.
Dr. McHenry served the American Revolution first as a military surgeon and later on the staffs of General George Washington and the Marquis de Lafayette. In 1787, McHenry signed the U.S. Constitution as a member of . . . — Map (db m6647) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — James McHenry, M.D.|
|Signer of the Constitution 1755-1816 The Maryland State Society Daughters of the American Revolution June 26, 1929 — Map (db m6648) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Jesse Lazear, M.D. — 1866-1900|
|Johns Hopkins researcher in Cuba. To find the cause of yellow fever he courageously exposed himself to virus-infected mosquitoes and died of the disease, thereby proving the route of transmission. — Map (db m6583) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Joe Gans and the Goldfield Hotel|
|The Goldfield Hotel once stood at the corner of East Lexington and Colvin Streets. Joe Gans, a Baltimore native and the first African American boxing champion, owned the hotel and its nightclub, which was one of the earliest integrated clubs in the nation. |
Born in Baltimore in 1874, Gans was seventeen when he fought his first professional match in one of the city's athletic clubs. He won boxing's lightweight title in 1902 after knocking out his opponent in the first round. Gans held the . . . — Map (db m40431) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — John Eager Howard|
|This park and sculpture commemorates Revolutionary War hero, benefactor and statesman John Eager Howard. Howard entered the Revolutionary Army at age 24, and soon gained military fame for his skillful and heroic use of the bayonet in the Battle of Cowpens. After the war, he served as Maryland Surveyor, Judge, Senator and Governor.
This park represents but a small piece of the the forest that once belonged to Howard. His magnificent 260-acre estate covered most of downtown Baltimore, . . . — Map (db m5985) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — John H. B. Latrobe House|
|On an evening in October, 1833, three of Baltimore's most discerning gentlemen were gathered around a table in the back parlor of this house. Fortified with “some old wine and some good cigars,” John Pendleton Kennedy, James H. Miller and John H. B. Latrobe poured over manuscripts submitted in a literary contest sponsored by the Baltimore Sunday Visiter. Their unanimous choice for best prose tale was “MS. Found in a Bottle,” a curious and haunting tale of . . . — Map (db m4939) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — John McDonogh|
|1737-1809 Elizabeth McDonogh 1746-1808 Parents of John McDonogh Founder McDonogh School for Boys Restored by The McDonogh Alumni Association 1949 — Map (db m6631) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — John Smith Explores Patapsco|
|Captain John Smith visited the Patapsco River twice in 1608 after settling at Jamestown the previous year. In a 40-foot shallop, Smith and his crew were exploring the Chesapeake Bay hoping, in vain, to discover a passage to the Pacific Ocean. On the first journey they moored near the Patapsco's mouth and traveled across the Middle Branch, the basin for both the Gwynns Falls stream and the Patapsco River. They found the Patapsco navigable as far as the falls at Elkridge and placed a brass cross . . . — Map (db m6360) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Joseph Gans — Mount Auburn Cemetery|
|Joseph, Nov. 25, 1874-Aug. 10, 1910. World’s Lightweight Champion 1902-1904 1906-1908-Inducted into IBHOF 1990
(Bronze plaque at bottom of the marker) Grave site restored 2005-Veteran Boxers Association, Inc. International Ring 101-Baltimore, Maryland — Map (db m65295) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Joshua Johnson|
|[The majority of the text on the photocopy of the picture of the marker is unreadable. It ends as follows:]
His painting now hang in many museums, including the Metropolitan in New York and the National Gallery in Washington, D.C. Below are two of Johnson's commissions, both painted between 1805 and 1910. On the right is the James McCormick Family. On the left is an unidentified cleric, one of the few known black subjects attributed to Johnson. — Map (db m9478) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Katyn Remembered|
|When duty called they answered.
When they refused the embrace of Stalin—they died.
Now we commend them to the ages
to be included amongst history’s martyrs.
In 1939, the Soviet Union in league with Nazi Germany attacked Poland taking into captivity thousands of its defenders. In 1940, after first being individually interrogated for potential political reliability, more than 20,000 military officers were then, one by one, brutally murdered, many being buried in mass graves in . . . — Map (db m2422) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Keswick|
|The Home for Incurables of Baltimore City, was incorporated November 1, 1883, through leadership and resources provided by the men and women of the Hospital Relief Association of Maryland. The purpose of this organization, incorporated December 18, 1880 was “to care for and brighten the days of the weary patients in the hospitals of Baltimore City.” The former location of the home was 1640 Fayette Street (1884–1887) and Guilford Avenue and 21st Street (1887–1926) and . . . — Map (db m2387) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Keyser Quadrangle|
|Named for William Keyser who was the moving force behind the donation of the Homewood property to Johns Hopkins. He contributed 62 acres and also organized the donation of other land by Samuel Keyser, Francis M. Jencks, William H. Buckler, and Julian LeRoy White. This land, in combination with the donation from William Wyman, formed the original Homewood campus.
Businessman and philanthropist William Keyser owned the Baltimore Copper Works and became a vice president of the B&O Railroad in . . . — Map (db m6122) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — King Gambrinus, 1879|
|King Gambrinus originally stood in a niche above the door at John Frederick Wiessner and Sons’ Baltimore brewery. It is the earliest surviving zinc sculpture of this popular icon of the brewing industry in the United States.|
In the second half of the 19th century most of the immigrants coming to Baltimore on the new steamship lines were German-speaking. This German-American community supported several German-language newspapers, joined German clubs, held masquerade balls, picnics, sporting . . . — Map (db m60959) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Lafayette Monument|
|La Fayette, immortal because a self-forgetful servant of justice and humanity.
Beloved by all Americans
because he acknowledged no duty more sacred than to fight for the freedom of his fellow men.
En 1777 La Fayette traversant les mers avec des volontiers français est venu apporter une aide fraternelle au peuple américain qui combattait pour sa liberté nationale. En 1917 La France combattait à son tour pour défendre sa vie et la liberté du monde. L’Amérique qui . . . — Map (db m2394) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Leadenhall Baptist Church|
|After the Civil War, a large number of black Baptists migrated to Baltimore. This church was organized in 1872 by black Baptists of the Sharp-Leadenhall area, with the help of the Maryland Baptist Union Association. It is the second oldest church building in Baltimore continuously occupied by the same black congregation. The neighboring areas of Sharp-Leadenhall and Otterbein are rich in black history, but many of the buildings which housed the people and institutions intimately assocated with . . . — Map (db m6358) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Lee and Jackson Memorial|
|The parting of General Lee and Stonewall Jackson on the eve of Chancellorsville.
They were great Generals and Christian Soldiers and waged war like gentlemen. — Map (db m62314) WM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Leon Day Park|
|This park is named for Leon Day, an outstanding player in the Negro Leagues who was elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame. A resident of southwest Baltimore, Day joined the Baltimore Black Sox in 1934 when African Americans could not play in the Major or Minor Leagues He went on to excel as a second baseman and pitcher for several teams and returned to Baltimore in the 1940s as a member of the Elite Giants He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1995 just a few days before he died. . . . — Map (db m6345) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Lightship Chesapeake — The Baltimore Maritime Museum|
|Lightship 116 "Chesapeake" was built in 1930 as a manned navigational beacon and fulfilled this role under the US Lightship Service and the US Coast Guard for nearly 40 years. On station in all weather and sea conditions, lightships and their crews guided vital maritime traffic to and from American shores for generations. There are no longer any lightships on duty; they have all been replaced by automatic beacons. The US Lighthouse Service first assigned Lightship 116 to the Fenwick Island . . . — Map (db m32733) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Lillie Carroll Jackson Museum|
|"God opened my mouth and no man can shut it." With this firm belief in God and herself, "Ma" Jackson acieved extraordinary success in securing equal rights for blacks in Baltimore and Maryland. Born in 1889, she began fighting for black equality and civil rights in the late 1920's after several personal incidents of discrimination.
President of Baltimore's NAACP chapter from 1935-69, Mrs. Jackson expanded it into the largest chapter in the nation by 1946. Under her leadership, and with the . . . — Map (db m6562) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Living Classrooms Foundation|
The Lady Maryland is an authentic replica of a pungy schooner, a Chesapeake Bay workboat that sailed the Bay in the 1700s and 1800s. Pungies were fast sailing vessels and were primarily used to transport perishable cargo such as watermelons, tomatoes, fish, oysters, and other items that needed speedy delivery to prevent spoilage. Pungy schooners were traditionally painted pink and green and their flat, wide decks made them very efficient cargo vessels. Pungies sailed the . . . — Map (db m6126) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Lloyd Street Synagogue|
|The Lloyd Street Synagogue, dedicated in 1845, is the first synagogue erected in Maryland and the third oldest surviving synagogue in the United States. A simple, elegant building in the popular Greek Revival style, it was designed for the Baltimore Hebrew Congregation by Robert Cary Long, Jr., the most prominent Baltimore architect of the mid-19th century. The first ordained rabbi in the United States, Rabbi Abraham Rice, served as the congregation's first spiritual leader after emigrating . . . — Map (db m7072) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Local Hero, National Leader|
|Sam Smith is the most important public figure buried at Westminster. A hero in two wars, Smith (1752-1839) spent 40 years as a U.S. Congressman and Senator. As a merchant, Smith amassed and lost a fortune, but won the admiration of locals who, in 1835, didn't hesitate to call on the 83-year-old leader in the midst of rioting over a bank failure. Smith confronted the mob and helped end the violence. Months later, he was elected mayor and served a two year term.
An Illustrious Family
John . . . — Map (db m6650) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Locust Point|
|Established as a port of entry in 1706, this peninsula was originally known as Whetstone Point. Along this road in 1814, soldiers marched to the defense of Fort McHenry, nearby. Port facilities served as a Federal supply camp in the Civil War. Later received immigrant arrivals, and equipped “America’s Arsenal of Democracy” in World War II. — Map (db m2561) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Locust Point Veterans Memorial|
|Dedicted to those men and women of the Armed Forces of the United States who, in serving their country during times of conflict have suffered the scars of battle. Donated on behalf of the entire community of South Baltimore and Locust Point by the Locust Point Memorial Post 3026 Veterans of Foreign Wars and Ladies Auxiliary. Dedicated on Veterans Day November 11, 1989 Maintained by the Baltimore Detachment Marine Corps League to honor the men and women of the U.S. Armed Forces who gave their . . . — Map (db m34895) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — M551A1 Sheridan AR/AAV|
|Armored Reconnaissance/Airborne Assault Vehicle-Turret Armament 152mm Gun/Launcher-M-219 7.62 cal. Machine Gun (Coaxially Mounted)-M-2 .50 Cal. Machine Gun-M-176 Grenade Launchers (8)-Weight 36,000 lbs. Combat Loaded-Cruising Range 373 miles, Maximum Speed 43 mph-Amphibious-Air Dropable-Crew (4) Driver, Loader, Gunner, Tank Commander. — Map (db m65324) HM WM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Major General Samuel Smith|
| 1752–1839. Under his command the attack of the British upon Baltimore by land and sea Sept. 12-14, 1814 was repulsed. Member of Congress forty successive years, president U.S. Senate, Secretary of the Navy, Mayor of Baltimore.
Hero of both wars for American Independence • Long Island • White Plains • Brandywine • Defender of Fort Mifflin • Valley Forge • Monmouth • Baltimore — Map (db m2557) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Maryland Historical Society|
|The Maryland Historical Society (MdHS) is the state's oldest continuously operating cultural institution. Founded in 1844, it was first located in the Athenaeum at St. Paul and Saratoga Streets. In 1919 it moved to its current location on W. Monument St. in the Mount Vernon Cultural District.
Over 350 years of Maryland history comes to life through the MdHS's renowned collections and dynamic educational offerings. The permanent collection includes Francis Scott Key's original manuscript of . . . — Map (db m10249) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Maryland Vietnam Veterans Memorial|
| (Panel on the left) This Memorial honors the men and women of the State of Maryland who served in the Armed Forces of our nation in the Vietnam War, with special tribute to those who lost their lives or who remain missing in action. Their names are joined in this place in everlasting remembrance.
(Panel on the right) Marylanders, while in this place, pause to recall our nation’s ideals, its promise, its abundance, and our continuing responsibilities toward the shared fulfillment of our . . . — Map (db m65317) WM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — McKim Free School|
|Before Baltimore's public school system opened in 1829, education was the concern of charitable and religious organizations. An early leader in the education movement was the McKim Free School, established through a bequest of Quaker merchant John McKim. In his will, he specified that $600 be appropriated annualy from his estate for the support of a free school, administered by the Society of Friends. The school was open to indigent youth of both sexes regardless of religion.
Classes were . . . — Map (db m7071) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Memorial To Edward Berge|
|As a memorial to his friend Edward Berge, this enlargement of his "Sea Urchin" by Henry Berge was presented to the City of Baltimore by Frederick R. Huber 1959. Completed 1961. — Map (db m6979) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Memorial to John E. Burbage|
|Founder of the Knights of the Golden Eagle The Members of the Order 1912 — Map (db m6412) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Memorial to Marylanders Killed in War with Mexico — "Watson Monument"|
|1846-7-8 Erected by the Maryland Association of Veterans of Mexican War 1903 [tablet 2]
Association of the Veterans of the Mexican War 1846-7-8
Surviving members 1903 Of the Army.
John A. Reese, Samuel C. Love, John A. Love, John Carpenter, Robert Harrington, John J.A. Galloway, John D. Preston, George W. Ball. Of the Navy William H. Jenkins, William Williams, Alexander Wilkinson, Henry W. Tilson, William Taylor, Charles Hill, David M. Merkin, Thomas P. Russell. . . . — Map (db m18277) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mergenthaler House|
|From 1894 to 1899, this house was the residence of Ottmar Mergenthaler, a German immigrant who revolutionized the art of printing with his invention of the Linotype. Previously a typesetter searched for a single character, then placed it in a line for printing; Mergenthaler’s machine enabled him to assemble and cast an entire line of type in a matter of seconds.
His machine was patented in 1884, but his first commercial demonstraion did not occur until two years later in the composing room . . . — Map (db m6582) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Monumental Lives|
|The William and Robert Smith vault, another of Maximilian Godefroy's Egyptian-flavored designs, belonged to one of early Baltimore's most successful and accomplished families.
William Smith followed his brother John from Lancaster, Pennsylvania to Baltimore in 1761, along with other Scots-Irish flour merchant families. Smith helped transform Baltimore from a raw town of some 1,500 into an international port city. He was also one of the founders of the First Presbyterian Church, whose members . . . — Map (db m6638) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mortars vs. Guns|
|When the British attacked in 1814, guns of this type – but larger – were fired from the ramparts and the water batteries near the riverbank. They kept the British warships from entering Baltimore Harbor, but they could not shoot far enough to hit the vessels that were hurling bombs at the fort. According to the American Commander’s report, the British fired more than 1,500 bombs. These are the famous “bombs bursting in air” mentioned in our National Anthem. Displayed . . . — Map (db m10885) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mother Seton House|
|This house, built around 1807, was the home of Saint Elizabeth Bayley Seton, the first American-born canonized saint of the Roman Catholic Church.
Born in New York to a prominent Protestant family, Elizabeth Ann Bayley married William M. Seton in 1794. Widowed in 1803, she became Catholic in 1805.
Father William Dubourg, S.S., President of Saint Mary's College, invited her to establish a school in Baltimore. Elizabeth Seton arrived in Baltimore on June 16, 1808, moved into this house and . . . — Map (db m5986) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mount Auburn Cemetery|
|Oldest cemetery for African Americans in Baltimore, founded in 1872 by Rev. James Peck, pastor, and trustees of Sharp Street Methodist Episcopal Church. Dating to 1787, the congregation served the community and was influential in the freedom movement of the 19th century and the civil rights movement of the 20th. Here rest former slaves, clergy, professionals, business owners and thousands of African American families. — Map (db m13540) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mount Clare — Freedom Seekers at Georgia Plantation — National Underground Railroad-Network to Freedom|
|In 1760, Mount Clare was built as the summer home of Charles Carroll, Barrister. Mount Clare was the center of Georgia, Charles Carroll’s 800-acre Patapsco River Plantation. The estate supported grain fields and grist mills along the Gwynn’s Falls, an orchard and vineyard, racing stables, brick kilns, and a shipyard on the Middle Branch of the Patapsco River.|
When it first went into operation, the Baltimore Iron Works had a labor force of eighty-nine individuals. . . . — Map (db m61209) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mount Clare, the Georgia Plantation|
|In the late 1760’s, the Mount Clare mansion was built by Charles Carroll, Barrister and his wife, Margaret Tilghman, as their summer home. The mansion was located on the grounds of the original plantation, Georgia, and included an orangery, orchards, fields of tobacco and wheat, and terraced gardens that fell away from the hillside toward the river—all, most likely cared for by slaves. Earlier, Carroll’s father, Charles, sold a large portion of the plantation to the Baltimore Iron Works . . . — Map (db m2533) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mount Vernon Cultural Walk-Celebrating Culture — The Heart of the City|
|Mount Vernon Place celebrates Baltimore’s rich cultural heritage, offering an extraordinary array of historic architecture, monuments, sculpture and cultural Institutions. The Washington Monument set the stage for this area in 1829, becoming the first public monument to Washington in the United States. Designed by Robert Mills ((1781-1855), it memorializes Washington resigning his commission as commander of the Continental Army. Built in 1815 and 1829, the 178-foot monument has become an icon . . . — Map (db m62437) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mount Vernon Cultural Walk-Contributing to Society — Baltimore's Best Address|
|In the mansions surrounding the Mount Vernon squares, prominent Baltimoreans made major political, artistic and cultural contributions to the world. One such person was John Pendleton Kennedy (1795-1870), who lived on the site of the Peabody Institute in the 1830s and 1840s. He, along with James Fenimore Cooper and Washington Irving, helped to create and define American literature. He was also a U.S. Congressman, the Secretary of the Navy, a patron of Edgar Allan Poe, and a donor of land for . . . — Map (db m62443) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mount Vernon Place United Methodist Church|
The Washington Monument, Baltimore. This view of Mount Vernon Place, circa 1848, shows the home of Charles and Phoebe Key Howard ot the right of the monument.
Conceived as a "Cathedral of Methodism" the Mount Vernon Place United Methodist Church was compelted on Noveber 12, 1872 in what was then the outskirts of the city. The church was designed by local architects Thomas Dixon and Charles Carson and is constructed of six different types of stone, including green . . . — Map (db m7948) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mt. Clare|
|This outstanding Georgian mansion, built between 1754 and 1768, was the home of Charles Carroll, Barrister and framer of Maryland’s first Constitution and Declaration of Rights. Carroll and his wife Margaret Tilghman made Mount Clare a center of enlightened colonial living and the heart of a flourishing plantation, which once supported wheat fields, orchards, racing stables, flour mills, brick kilns and a shipyard. Since 1977, Mount Clare has been the subject of a major archaeological . . . — Map (db m3152) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mt. Clare|
This oldest colonial structure of Baltimore was built in 1754 upon the estate known as “Georgia Plantation”
Charles Carroll, Barrister
One of the foremost patriots of the Revolution, author of the Maryland Declaration of Rights and active in the preparation of the first constitution of the State. At this house Washington, Lafayette and others prominent in the Revolutionary period were guests on their journeys . . . — Map (db m41351) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mt. Olivet Cemetery|
|The burial place of Methodist pioneers including Bishops Francis Asbury, Enoch George, John Emory and Beverly Waugh, also Robert Strawbridge, first preacher in Maryland and Jesse Lee, founder in New England. Site of 1966 Methodist Bicentennial time capsule to be opened in 2066. — Map (db m33697) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Murnaghan House|
|Built in 1849, this house was the home of William T. Walters (1819-1894) and his son Henry Walters (1848-1931), successful Baltimore merchants and bankers and avid collectors of art. At his death, Henry Walters bequeathed this building, his magnificent gallery on Charles Street, and his collection of more than 22,000 works of art to the citizens of Baltimore. In 2001, the trustees of the Walters Art Museum named this building Murnaghan House in gratitude for the many years of able leadership . . . — Map (db m6020) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — National Independence in the Revolution and War of 1812|
|Among the illustrious men interred within this enclosure who assisted in the achievement of National Independence in the Revolution and War of 1812 are the following Samuel Chase, 1741 – 1811, Signer of the Declaration of Independence Colonel John Eager Howard, 1752 – 1827, Hero of the Battle of Cowpens, 1781 Governor of Maryland 1831-1833 Colonel Tench Tilghman, 1744 – 1786, who as General Washington’s aide-de-camp bore the sword of the surrendered Cornwallis from . . . — Map (db m21364) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Norman Van Allan Reeves|
|(1935-1983) Memorial trail In loving memory of and in appreciation for his untiring efforts to preserve Leakin Park. Dedicated by V.O.L.P.E. and Friends of Gwynns Falls / Leakin Park September 11, 1983 — Map (db m6405) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — O Say Can You See?|
|If you had been standing on this rampart with the American gunners on the morning of September 14, 1814, you would have had a close-up view of the dramatic scene Francis Scott Key described in our National Anthem.
About two miles downstream, half way to the large Francis Scott Key Bridge visible today, the British fleet had gathered to attack Fort McHenry. A few enemy ships sailed in closer by turns to fire their bombs and rockets. Francis Scott Key watched from the deck of a truce ship at . . . — Map (db m2572) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — O'er the Ramparts We Watch! — Which Flag Flies Today?|
|The forts walls are called ramparts. An American flag flies over Fort McHenry twenty four hours a day by Presidential Proclamation.
The size of the flag varies. On clear days with the right amount of wind, a full-size replica of the Star-Spangled Banner measuring 30 X 42 feet with fifteen stars and stripes waves. The fort also flies smaller versions of this flag. On rainy days and at night, a small, modern 50-star American flag is flown.
In 1948, a proclamation . . . — Map (db m61434) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Of Fords, Felles, and Falls|
|The Susquehannock and Algonquian Indians had long traveled through this area when Captain John Smith explored and mapped the Chesapeake Bay region in 1608 As the Susquehannocks went from Pennsylvania to the bay, they crossed the Gwynns Falls stream at two fords one near the stone pillars of the former Brunswick Street Bridge - visible from the trail - and the other near Washington Boulevard. Smith noted that the streams often tumbled over "felles" or "fells," later called falls. This stream (or . . . — Map (db m6390) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Old Otterbein Church|
|"Mother Church" of the United Brethren in Christ. First chapel erected 1771, present edifice, 1785. Burial place of the denomination's founder, Philip Wilhelm Otterbein, pastor, 1774-1813. Lovely Lane Chapel, "Mother Church of American Methodism," organized on this site, 1772. — Map (db m13573) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Old Post Office|
|This structure, designed by James A. Wetmore and completed in 1932, is the second post office to occupy this site. Erected at a cost of $3.3 million, the neo-classical building, with its marble halls and paneled court-rooms, contained the most modern equipment for handling the mail, but due to an architect's oversight, it lacked mail chutes.
Besides housing the U.S. courts and other federal agencies, the building once included a soundproof pistol range where Treasury agents practiced. An . . . — Map (db m6160) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Old St. Paul's|
|St. Paul's Church (Episcopal) stands on the only property that has remained under the same ownership since the original survey of Baltimore Town in 1730. In that year, Lot. No. 19, the highest point in the new town, was granted to St. Paul's Parish; nine years later, the city's first public place of worship opened its doors. All Episcopal churches in Baltimore trace their lineage to this parish, which was established in 1692, the first place of worship being in Patapsco Neck.
Three churches . . . — Map (db m5566) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — On This Location|
|On this location, from the stage of the Holliday Street Theatre, The Star Spangled Banner, written by Francis Scott Key, was rendered for the first time publicly November 12, 1814. — Map (db m2707) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — On Thursday, September 18, 2003 — Hurricane Isabel, a massive Category-2 storm, slammed into the east coast.|
|With its eye located just south of the Chesapeake Bay, Isabel's high winds and tidal surge caused widespread flooding, property damage and power outages from North Carolina to New York.
Downgraded to a tropical storm by the time it hit the Chesapeake, Isabel's winds nevertheless drove water and waves up the Bay, inundating roads, homes and businesses. The impact of the storm caught everyone - even many experts - by surprise.
Why did Isabel cause more damage than the typical tropical . . . — Map (db m6454) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — On To Yorktown — Washington-Rochambeau Revolutionary Route — National Historic Trail|
|Our nation never had more at risk than it did in September 1781. The American Revolutionary War—the War for independence—had raged for nearly six years.
More than 4,000 American and French troops, allied in their fight against the British, had marched from New York and inundated Baltimore for four days before advancing toward Yorktown, Virginia. At that time, Baltimore was a city of less than 10,000 residents.
One regiment, the Soissonnais of French forces, was encamped at this . . . — Map (db m60958) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — On to Yorktown — Washington-Rochambeau Revolutionary Route National Historic Trail|
|Our nation never had more at risk than it did in September 1781. The American Revolutionary War—the War for Independence—had raged for nearly six years.
More than 4,000 American and French troops, allied in their fight against the British, had marched from New York and inundated Baltimore for four days before advancing toward Yorktown, Virginia. At that time, Baltimore was a city of less than 10,000 residents.
One regiment, the Soissonnais of French forces, was encamped at this . . . — Map (db m63885) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Orianda House|
|Orianda House, built in 1857 at a cost of $9,170.69, was designed by Niernsee and Neilson, architects. This country mansion was the summer home of Thomas de Kay Winans, a wealthy railroad entrepreneur, and his Russian-born wife, Celeste Louise Revillon. Thomas, son of Baltimore & Ohio Railroad industrialist Ross Winans, purchased several farms to create the Crimea estate. Tenants raised cattle, wheat, corn, and other crops and maintained Winans’ greenhouse and horse racetrack. The Chesapeake . . . — Map (db m61050) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Original Burial Place of Edgar Allan Poe|
|From October 9, 1849 until November 17, 1875 Mrs. Maria Glemm, his mother-in-law, lies upon his right and Virginia Poe, his wife, upon his left, under the monument erected to him in this cemetery. — Map (db m6641) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Orpheus|
|The heroic bronze figure in front of you is not, as many suppose, a likeness of Francis Scott Key. The statue represents Orpheus, the artful poet, musician, and singer of Greek Mythology.
In 1914 Congress appropriated funds for a monument at Fort McHenry to mark the centennial of the writing of “The Star-Spangled Banner” and the defense of Baltimore. Orpheus with the Awkward Foot, the creation of sculptor Charles H. Niehaus, was selected from thirty four designs . . . — Map (db m707) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Orpheus... Hero of Music and Poetry|
|In 1916 the Fine Arts Commission sponsored a national competition for a statue to honor Francis Scott Key and the defenders who protected Baltimore during the War of 1812. It chose "Orpheus" by Charles Niehaus.|
America's involvement in World War I delayed the completion of the statue. Dedicated on Flag Day, June 14, 1922, and originally placed in the middle of the entrance road, it was moved to its current location in 1962.
Orpheus and the surrounding grove of Flowering crabapple . . . — Map (db m60452) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Outer Battery|
|This complex of earthen embankments and masonry structures has been the site of Fort McHenry’s heaviest artillery since about 1840. The U.S. Army kept this battery heavily armed during the Civil War to discourage any Confederate attempts to take Baltimore through naval attack or civil insurrection. The large cannon you see today were mounted after the Civil War and are not associated with the famous 1814 bombardment. The big guns remained in service as late as 1912 but were never fired in battle. — Map (db m10891) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Patterson Park — Civil War Camp and Hospital|
|During the Civil War Patterson Park served as a U.S. Army camp, one of several established as part of the Federal occupation of Baltimore. In 1861 the 10th Maine Infantry Regiment occupied Camp Washburn (named for Maine Gov. Israel Washburn) in the southern part of the park. Soon the camp was expanded and renamed Camp Patterson. In 1862, U.S. Army General Hospital Patterson Park was established here as Baltimore became a hospital town, with similar facilities filling other city parks and open . . . — Map (db m61888) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Peale's Baltimore Museum|
|A pioneer art historical and scientific museum. Erected 1818 by Rembrandt Peale. Gas lighting demonstrated june 13 1816. Occupied as city hall 1830-1875. Rembrandt Peale 1778-1860 Distinguished Maryland artist, naturalist and technologist founded the first gas company in America June 17, 1816. This tablet commemorates the 1816 - American Gas Centenary - 1916 — Map (db m6306) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Peale's Baltimore Museum - 1814|
|Has been designated a Registered National Historic Landmark Under the provisions of the Historic Sites Act of August 21, 1935. This site possesses exceptional value in commemorating or illustrating the history of the United States U.S. Department of the Interior National Park Service 1966 — Map (db m6304) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Phoenix Shot Tower|
|Built in 1828 by the Phoenix Shot Tower Company, this soaring 215 foot structure is the last remaining shot tower of the three that accented Baltimore’s skyline in the 19th century. Shot pellets used as ammunition for muskets was produced by pouring molten lead through perforated pans from “dropping stations” high up in the tower. The swift passage of the lead droplets down the shaft rounded the pellets into shot. The “quenching tank” of water at the bottom cooled and . . . — Map (db m2598) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Platt and Company Oyster Packers — Baltimore Museum of Industry|
|Founded Baltimore 1849, original structure built 1865-Present home of Baltimore Museum of Industry founded 1981 William Donald Schaefer, Mayor; Harriet G. Bank, Chairman; Dennis M. Zembala, Executive Director; Ann E. Steele, Curator — Map (db m62931) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Poe's Baltimore — A Place of Beginnings and Endings|
|Edgar Allan Poe, the American literary genius best known for his short stories and poems, often claimed Baltimore as his birthplace. In Baltimore, Poe found love and affection, launched his literary career - and was later laid to rest. Born in Boston and reared in Richmond, the troubled writer remained emotinoally tied to Baltimore where the Poe family name was held in high regard.
Poe, the father of detective fiction, died suddenly under mysterious circumstances on October 7, 1849. He was . . . — Map (db m6623) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Port of Baltimore|
|Each year thousands of ships from all over the world call at the port of Baltimore. Fort McHenry lies at the heart of this great complex of channels, docks, cargo piers, shipyards, warehouses, and rail terminals. Petroleum, iron ore, raw sugar, bananas, automobiles, and lumber are among the port's leading imports. Exports include coal, food products, heavy equipment, and grain from the Midwest. The annual value of cargos amounts to several billions of dollars. Although Baltimore is chiefly a . . . — Map (db m34894) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Powder Magazine|
|Magazines are structures designed to protect gunpowder and ammunition from moisture, sparks and impact.
In 1814, a much smaller magazine stood here. During the famous bombardment, a British shell crashed into the roof, but miraculously failed to set off an explosion. Immediately after the battle, work began on a stronger magazine—the one you see today.
The brick walls and arched roof are so thick that the space inside accounts for only 10% of the buildings total volume. — Map (db m2593) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Preservation of Earthworks|
|Since 1813, earthworks like these once encircled the Star Fort to provide a safe passage for soldiers and to protect the brick walls from enemy artillery. In 1839, a post-rail fence was erected to protect the earthworks from erosion caused by grazing cattle, curious visitors and wandering soldiers. Today a similar fence helps park rangers protect these important features from continued erosion. Please do not climb on these fragile resources. "I have to the best of my ability, . . . — Map (db m34852) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — President Street Station — Erected 1842 A.D.|
| Here on April 19, 1861 at 11 A.M. the Sixth Regiment of Massachusetts Infantry commanded by Colonel Edward F. Jones, detrained on its way to the relief of Washington City. The first nine cars were safely drawn to the Camden Street Station of the B&O Railroad.|
Due to failure of the brakes of the tenth car; and the growing unrest of the citizens of the area, it was decided to march the remaining companies to the Camden Station. Captain A. S. Follansbee assumed command of this column. The . . . — Map (db m60937) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Pride of Baltimore|
|On May 14, 1986, the Pride of Baltimore, her captain, and three members of her crew were lost at sea.
The Pride now rests at the end of a goodwill journey that covered 150,000 miles and touched 125 cities around the world.
Yet her precious cargo - the spirit of the people who sent her forth and of those who received her - will never be lost.
[inner table 1] Pride of Baltimore - Lost at Sea - May 14, 1986. Captain Armin Elsaesser, III. Nina Schack. Barry Duckworth. . . . — Map (db m20484) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Provident Savings Bank|
|This imposing building, appropriately designed by Joseph Evans Sperry to suggest an old treasure chest, is the home of Provident Savings bank, the father of branch banking among mutual savings banks of the nation. Incorporated in 1886 with the exalted purpose of "cultivating habits of thrift and prudence among the wage-earning classes," the bank opened six branches throughout the city that year, at locations convenient to the working person.
The idea of branch banking, however, was the . . . — Map (db m6653) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Railroads Eclipse a National Road — “Thus will scientific power conquer space.”|
|For several decades in the early 1800s, thousands of Conestoga Wagons, “ships of inland commerce,” ruled the National Road. With their sloping bodies, wheels taller than a man and six-horse teams
skillfully maneuvered with a single “jerk line,” they could carry up to eight tons of freight. The railroad, a Baltimore-borne transportation revolution, soon put them out of business, along with the taverns, livery stables, wheelwrights, and blacksmiths that served
them. In . . . — Map (db m5705) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Rectory of Old St. Paul’s Parish|
|Incorporated 1692, 37 years before Baltimore Town itself, St. Paul’s moved to this vicinity in 1731. It was City’s first place of public worship. this rectory, the “parsonage on the hill” built 1788–1791 on half acre lot given by Col. John Eager Howard replaced earlier house at present location of Fidelity Building, Charles and Lexington Streets. The Church at Charles and Saratoga Streets designed by Richard Upjohn in 1854 is fourth on Baltimore original “Lot 19.” — Map (db m2538) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Remember 1814|
|Fort McHenry protected the water approaches to Baltimore for more than a hundred years, but was attacked only once. On September 13-14, 1814, British ships fired rockets and mortars at the fort for twenty-five hours. Fort McHenry withstood the bombardment, and when the smoke cleared the American flag was still waving where you see it now. Francis Scott Key watched these dramatic events from the deck of a truce ship down the river to your left. His description of the battle was immortalized in . . . — Map (db m10875) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Restoring Water Quality|
|After centuries of abuse, the Gwynns Falls is being restored as a healthy stream. Government, civic groups, and scientists monitor water quality here and work together to implement restoration projects. Volunteers pick up trash, plant trees and grasses to stabilize stream banks, promote pollution reduction
initiatives, and conduct environmental programs at schools and along this trail. Major storms have devastating effects on the waterway. Since the colonial era, 70 percent of the watershed's . . . — Map (db m6389) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Reviving the Waterfront|
|Here where the Gwynns Falls flows into the Patapsco's Middle Branch, Baltimoreans have come to work and to play over the years. Since the early 1700s this area his been home to mining operations, brickyards, glass factories, and other industries. In the late 1800s and early 1900s, residents came by streetcar to enjoy amusement parks and dance pavilions, picnic grounds and fish houses, swimming beaches and rowing clubs. Crowds watched the Baltimore Black Sox and Elite Giants of the Negro Leagues . . . — Map (db m6363) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Richard H. Trainor|
|The Camden Yards Light Rail Station is dedicated to Richard H. “Dick” Trainor (1929—1997) for his outstanding public service and leadership in the construction of transportation and public facilities throughout the state of Maryland. He began his career as a construction inspector with the State Highway Administration, and his 40 years of exemplary public service culminated in his appointment as Secretary of the Maryland Department of Transportation and Chairman of the . . . — Map (db m37539) HM|