Welcome to Historic Fort Yellowstone
The row of buildings ahead of you is part of Historic Fort Yellowstone. These structures were built in three phases between 1891 and 1913 to serve as Army headquarters and to accommodate the troops assigned to Yellowstone National Park.
A stroll along the sidewalks of Fort Yellowstone takes you back to when the West was being tamed, the national park idea was new, and visitors travelled dusty roads in horse-drawn carriages. Explore life at Fort Yellowstone and discover how the U.S. Army saved one of this nation's most treasured places-Yellowstone National Park.
Drawing Caption: The self-guiding tour at Fort Yellowstone begins here, the former bachelor Officer's Quarters, built in 1909.
Location. Marker has been reported permanently removed. It was located near 44° 58.577′ N, 110° 41.98′ W. Marker was in Mammoth Hot Springs, Wyoming, in Park County. Marker was at the intersection of North Entrance Road and Grand Loop Road - upper loop, on the left when traveling south on North Entrance Road. Touch for map. Located in front of the Albright Visitor's
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this location. Fort Yellowstone National Historic Landmark (a few steps from this marker); Fort Yellowstone (a few steps from this marker); The Parade Ground (within shouting distance of this marker); Elk Rut (within shouting distance of this marker); From Soldier to Ranger (was within shouting distance of this marker but has been reported permanently removed. ); The Drill Field (was within shouting distance of this marker but has been reported permanently removed. ); a different marker also named From Soldier to Ranger (within shouting distance of this marker); Life in the Fort (within shouting distance of this marker). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Mammoth Hot Springs.
More about this marker. This marker was removed and replaced with a marker called Fort Yellowstone National Historic Landmark.
Categories. • Forts, Castles • Military •
Credits. This page was last revised on September 11, 2018. This page originally submitted on January 15, 2011, by Rich Pfingsten of Forest Hill, Maryland. This page has been viewed 685 times since then. Last updated on September 11, 2018, by Craig Baker of Sylmar, California. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. submitted on January 15, 2011, by Rich Pfingsten of Forest Hill, Maryland. • Bill Pfingsten was the editor who published this page.