Charlotte Hall in St. Mary's County, Maryland — The American Northeast (Mid-Atlantic)
Maryland Begins Here
In 1634, a group of courageous voyagers left England and all that was familiar and set out for the New World in search of religious tolerance and opportunities for a better life. They landed on an island in the Potomac River with a prayer of thanks for their safe journey. St. Clement’s Island is a landmark in the history of Maryland. It was here the adventurers took possession of the colony and the first Roman Catholic Mass in the English speaking colonies was offered. Today, Maryland’s oldest county blends a vibrant technology-based economy with its rural past, giving the area a unique character as well as a high quality of life. St. Mary’s County is home to both Historic St. Mary’s City, Maryland’s first capital, and to the Naval Air Station Patuxent River, leader in military aviation and advanced technology.
Board of County Commissioners for St. Mary’s County: Thomas F. McKay, President • Kenneth R. Dement • Lawrence D. Jarboe • Thomas A. Mattingly, Sr. • Daniel H. Raley.
County Administrator George G. Forrest • Department of Public Works & Transportation, George A. Erichsen, Director • Department of Economic & Community Development, John Sarvich, Director.
Location. 38° 28.685′ N, 76° 46.57′ W. Marker is in Charlotte Hall, Maryland, in St. Mary's County. Marker is at the intersection of Three Notch Road (Maryland Route 5) and Charlotte Hall School Road, on the right when traveling south on Three Notch Road. Touch for map. It is on the wall to the right of the main entrance to the St. Mary’s County Welcome Center. Marker is in this post office area: Charlotte Hall MD 20622, United States of America.
Other nearby markers. At least 5 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. No Match for British Might (within shouting distance of this marker); Charlotte Hall School (within shouting distance of this marker); Coole Springs of Saint Marie’s (about 400 feet away, measured in a direct line); Rear Admiral Raphael Semmes C.S.N. (about 400 feet away); a different marker also named Charlotte Hall School (about 500 feet away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Charlotte Hall.
More about this marker. The marker is on the wall to the right of the main entrance to the St. Mary’s County Welcome Center, which was the Major Burgee House, the residence of Charlotte Hall School headmasters since 1938. The school closed in 1976 after 180 years of continuous operation as a military
Also see . . .
1. St. Mary’s Travel & Tourism Website. (Submitted on April 14, 2007.)
2. Tobacco to Tomcats: St. Mary's County since the Revolution. Online version of book by Sandy Shoemaker with illustrations by Mary Lou Troutman. (Submitted on April 23, 2007.)
Categories. • Colonial Era • Settlements & Settlers •
Credits. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016. This page originally submitted on April 14, 2007, by J. J. Prats of Powell, Ohio. This page has been viewed 2,126 times since then. Photos: 1, 2, 3. submitted on April 14, 2007, by J. J. Prats of Powell, Ohio.