Photograph as originally submitted to this page
in the Historical Marker Database www.HMdb.org
. Click on photo to resize in browser. Scroll down to see metadata.
Photographer: Syd Whittle
Taken: February 23, 2007
Caption: Covered Bridge
Additional Description: The original wooden bridge, constructed upstream from here in 1857, was destroyed by a flood in 1862. This covered bridge, built in 1863 was a privately operated toll bridge, until purchased by the county in 1884. It was closed to vehicles in 1981.
The bridge has elevated interior footwalks with only a wagon's width of space between. The boards of the roadbed were protected with sand, later paved over with asphalt. Three piers of local stone, sharpened on the upstream side support the planking.
Bridges were covered for permanence. Wood can survive a long time immersed in water, but alternate wetting and drying cracks and weakens it.
To help strenghten the bridge, overhead cross-bracing was locked with inch-square locustwood pins, which are still in place.
Submitted: October 2, 2008, by Syd Whittle of El Dorado Hills, California.
Database Locator Identification Number: p37591
File Size: 0.388 Megabytes
To see the metadata that may be embedded in this photo, sign in and then return to this page.