Incorporated March 8, 1899
Walking down Main Street is like taking a step back in time. Remnants of the "Red Light District," Company Hill, old hotels, and saloons still exist.
Today the population is close to 500. When the mines shut down in the 1950s, the population was below 100. It was then the town became known as a ghost town. However, today it is a thriving destination tourist town and a national historic landmark.
Erected by Jerome Historical Society, Allen Muma, John Amstrong, Tom Pitts, Sharon Watson, Tracy Weisel, Mike Rollins, Joan Evans, mark Hemleben, Al Palmieri, Jay Kinsella, Ronne Roope, Rochelle Garcia.
Location. 34° 45.009′ N, 112° 6.466′ W. Marker
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. Main Street Primary School (approx. 0.3 miles away); The Gibson Market (approx. 0.3 miles away); The Audrey Shaft and UVX Operations (approx. 0.4 miles away); Historic Audrey Shaft Headframe (approx. 0.4 miles away); Jerome's Famous Sliding Jail (approx. 0.4 miles away); Sullivan Apartments (approx. 0.4 miles away); Laura Williams Memorial Park (approx. 0.4 miles away); Jerome Town Hall (approx. half a mile away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Jerome.
Categories. • Industry & Commerce • Settlements & Settlers •
Credits. This page was last revised on October 10, 2017. This page originally submitted on October 7, 2017, by Denise Boose of Tehachapi, California. This page has been viewed 90 times since then and 12 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. submitted on October 7, 2017, by Denise Boose of Tehachapi, California. • Bill Pfingsten was the editor who published this page.