Ticonderoga in Essex County, New York — The American Northeast (Mid-Atlantic)
A Layered Legacy
This fertile plain was once the floor of a prehistoric sea that receded to create Lake Champlain. When the French built Fort Carillon, known to the English as Ticonderoga, these rich lowlands supported a large garden to supplement the limited rations issued to the soldiers. As the fort changed hands during the conflicts of the 18th century the gardens nourished each army that held the peninsula – French, British and American. The ground went fallow following the Revolution, as the military value of the site diminished.
The ruins of the fort and the natural landscape attracted the attention of merchant William Ferris Pell who purchased the land in 1820. In the same soil that had nurtured the garrison gardens Pell planted an extensive arboretum. The Pell family eventually rented the Pavilion and its surrounding land to a series of tenants who ran it as a hotel, welcoming guests from coaches and from an adjacent steamboat dock. The hotel and a farm supporting it operated for the rest of the 19th century.
While the hotel ceased operation around the turn of the 20th century a tenant farmer worked much of the land
The King’s Garden represents both the richness of the land and Ticonderoga’s enduring draw. Whether providing nutrients to soldiers from around the world, bringing joy to the Pells and their guests, or captivating generations of visitors, this legacy is a testament to the power of this place.
Location. 43° 50.592′ N, 73° 23.067′ W. Marker is in Ticonderoga, New York, in Essex County. Marker is at the King's Garden on the grounds of Fort Ticonderoga. Touch for map. Marker is in this post office area: Ticonderoga NY 12883, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. Garrison Garden (about 300 feet away, measured in a direct line); Lord & Burnham Estate Greenhouse (about 400 feet away); Breaking Ground (about 400 feet away); a different marker also named Breaking Ground (about 500 feet away); Historic English Gate (about 700 feet away); a different marker also named A Layered Legacy (about 700 feet away); Gen. Henry Knox Trail (approx. 0.2 miles away); 200th Anniversary of Washington’s Inspection (approx. 0.2 miles away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Ticonderoga.
More about this marker. The upper right of the marker contains a drawing with a caption of “Printed in Boston in 1765 this image of the grounds shows the scale of the military gardens.” Gardens once covered an area larger than the fort itself.
A picture on the left side of the marker has a caption of “This detail of a 1852 Painting shows the William Ferris Pell’s Pavillion, now a hotel, downhill from the ruins of the old fort.
A picture depicting an aerial view appears at the bottom of the marker. It includes a caption of “The Pell’s extensive private gardens seen from the air in 1923, the shore of Lake Champlain is at the top.”
Categories. Forts, Castles • War, French and Indian • War, US Revolutionary •
More. Search the internet for A Layered Legacy.
Credits. This page was last revised on November 14, 2018. This page originally submitted on November 14, 2018, by Bill Coughlin of North Arlington, New Jersey. This page has been viewed 41 times since then and 18 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3. submitted on November 14, 2018, by Bill Coughlin of North Arlington, New Jersey.