Marker Logo HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
Friendsville in Garrett County, Maryland — The American Northeast (Mid-Atlantic)
 

The Lost Settlement of Kendall

 
 
The Lost Settlement of Kendall Marker image. Click for full size.
By Devry Becker Jones, May 24, 2019
1. The Lost Settlement of Kendall Marker
Inscription.  With the arrival of the train to Friendsville in 1889, the Yough Manor Lumber Co. extended the tracks upriver two miles to service a sawmill. A. Knabb and company had already set up a stave mill for barrels in 1891 and the town's name became Krug, after Henry Krug one of the company officials. The Kendall Lumber Co. bought the land to begin logging operations further upstream and was shipping out 3.5 million board feet a day. The rail line was to extend to Oakland but it never did. Narrow gauge temporary rail lines extended from Kendall on to the National Falls where sheer cliffs required a bridge to cross the river. The narrow gauge railway pushed further up various hollows and Youghiogheny tributaries as far as Sang Run and Swallow Falls.

In the early 1900's on Sundays after church, Friendsville residents would take an enjoyable train ride up to Kendall to picnic. B&O Officials would also come to hunt, enjoy nature and stay in the big log building known as the "Clubhouse". The supposedly inexhaustible timber resources collapsed around 1912 but the train continued to carry coal from the valley. Kendall residents left in the years
The Lost Settlement of Kendall Marker image. Click for full size.
By Devry Becker Jones, May 24, 2019
2. The Lost Settlement of Kendall Marker
that followed. The railroad tracks were removed to Confluence, PA in 1942, prior to the filling of the Yough Lake.

Visitors can now hike two miles from town to Kendall (and beyond) on the old railroad bed into the Youghiogheny River Wild and Scenic Corridor. Youghiogheny is a Shawnee name (YO-WAH-HO-NAY) for "river that flows in a countrary direction" (locals called it the "YAWK").

The town of Kendall was on the west side of the river at Laurel Run. You must wade the river to get to it. So be wary of dam releases! Little remains, except for a few overgrown foundations and perhaps the spirit of a town and residents long gone. (Marker Number 7.)
 
Location. 39° 39.727′ N, 79° 24.444′ W. Marker is in Friendsville, Maryland, in Garrett County. Marker is on Morris Avenue north of Oak Street, on the left when traveling north. Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 703 Morris Avenue, Friendsville MD 21531, United States of America. Touch for directions.
 
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. The Railroad Era and Hotels (about 500 feet away, measured in a direct line); Friendsville Commerce, Custer's and Ryland's Stores (about 600 feet away); The Legend of Johnny Friend (about 700 feet away); Morris Avenue and Maple Street (about
Paid Advertisement
Click on the ad for more information.
Please report objectionable advertising to the Editor.
700 feet away); Friendsville School 1891-1924 (about 700 feet away); Friendsville Honor Roll (about 700 feet away); First National Bank, Leslie Friend Store & Military Honors (about 700 feet away); The Unique Milling Company (approx. 0.2 miles away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Friendsville.
 
Categories. Industry & CommerceRailroads & StreetcarsSettlements & SettlersWaterways & Vessels
 

More. Search the internet for The Lost Settlement of Kendall.
 
Credits. This page was last revised on May 26, 2019. This page originally submitted on May 26, 2019, by Devry Becker Jones of Washington, District of Columbia. This page has been viewed 53 times since then. Photos:   1, 2. submitted on May 26, 2019, by Devry Becker Jones of Washington, District of Columbia.
Paid Advertisement