Near Brackettville in Kinney County, Texas — The American South (West South Central)
Palisado Building Kitchen / Mess Room
Erected 1963 by Texas Historical Commission. (Marker Number 16041.)
Marker series. This marker is included in the Buffalo Soldiers marker series.
Location. 29° 18.291′ N, 100° 25.199′ W. Marker is near Brackettville, Texas, in Kinney County. Marker is at the intersection of Baylor Street and Lee Court, on the right when traveling south on Baylor Street. Touch for map. Marker is located on Fort Clark Springs in the Fort Clark National Register Historic District and is accessible to the
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. Fort Clark Post Theater (about 300 feet away, measured in a direct line); Fort Clark Guardhouse (about 300 feet away); 1873 Infantry Barracks (about 300 feet away); New Cavalry Barracks (about 400 feet away); Fort Clark Historic District (about 700 feet away); Officers Quarters 2-3 and 4 (about 700 feet away); Married Officers' Quarters 8-9 (about 800 feet away); Officers' Row Quarters (about 800 feet away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Brackettville.
Regarding Palisado Building Kitchen / Mess Room. The Palisado Building Kitchen/Mess room was built by the United States Army in 1869 and is the only remaining vertical log constructed (cedar post) or jacal building in the Fort Clark National Register Historic District. Today the building is still in use as a meeting place and is one of Fort Clark’s most iconic structures. Within its walls men who fought at Gettysburg, the Little Big Horn, San Juan Hill, and Chateau Thierry shared meals and their tales of soldiering.
Many of Fort Clark’s early buildings used the practical construction technique of vertical posts, which
Despite its primitive architecture, the building proved sturdy and of considerable utility during its seventy-five years of military service, having seen use primarily as a kitchen/mess room and in turn as a company storeroom, tailor shop, and then as an amusement hall at the end of the 19th century. A unique feature of the building is that the interior walls are lined with tin. This treatment employs flattened fuel cans as a wall covering, which keeps the building comfortable in all seasons.
During the Guest Ranch era the civilian owners of Fort Clark mistakenly identified this building as the “Robert E. Lee Courthouse.” Regrettably, Robert E. Lee never visited Fort Clark and the building wasn’t built until some eight years after Lee left Texas, never to return. However, the authentic and proud history of the Palisado Building stands on its own merits and the structure remains
Also see . . . Friends of the Fort Clark Historic District. Guided tours, presentations and programs, genealogical and archival research assistance ... and much more. (Submitted on August 13, 2013, by William F Haenn of Fort Clark (Brackettville), Texas.)
Additional keywords. Army Architecture
Categories. • Notable Buildings •
Credits. This page was last revised on November 13, 2016. This page originally submitted on May 1, 2012, by William F Haenn of Fort Clark (Brackettville), Texas. This page has been viewed 545 times since then and 46 times this year. Last updated on May 19, 2012, by William F Haenn of Fort Clark (Brackettville), Texas. Photos: 1, 2, 3. submitted on May 1, 2012, by William F Haenn of Fort Clark (Brackettville), Texas. 4. submitted on November 12, 2016, by William F Haenn of Fort Clark (Brackettville), Texas. • Bill Pfingsten was the editor who published this page.