Near Ashton in Fremont County, Idaho — The American West (Mountains)
Big Falls Inn
Holding a unique niche in Idaho’s history, Big Falls Inn was built around 1915 by the Snake River Electric Light and Power Company. Although it may originally have been constructed as a combination office and residence for workers, it eventually evolved into a well-known waystation on the Yellowstone highway. With its spectacular setting, the Inn also became a popular spot for dances and social gatherings for local ranchers, farmers, sportsman and tourists.
In 1936, Big Falls Inn was sold to Montana Power Company who utilized it as a company resort. It was also used as a restaurant and dance hall, Boy Scout lodge and as a retreat/meeting hall. In 1986, the Forest Service acquired the inn from Montana Power through a land exchange.
A Unique Partnership
The restoration of Big Falls Inn was the result of a unique partnership between the USDA Forest Service, Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation as well as other interested private and public entities. With the objective of revitalizing the area and making it more accessible to the public, this partnership overcame many obstacles, and the Inn was opened to the public in the year 2000.
Location. 44° 11.274′ N, 111° 19.674′ W. Marker is near Ashton Touch for map. The marker is located near the north side of Big Falls Inn. Big Falls Inn is on Idaho Route 47 between Ashton and Island Park, at Upper Mesa Falls in Targhee National Forest. Marker is in this post office area: Ashton ID 83420, United States of America.
Other nearby markers. At least 1 other marker is within 10 miles of this marker, measured as the crow flies. Caldera Lookout (approx. 9.5 miles away).
Also see . . . Big Falls In at Mesa Falls. (Submitted on April 29, 2014, by Cosmos Mariner of Cape Canaveral, Florida.)
Categories. • Horticulture & Forestry • Man-Made Features •
Credits. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016. This page originally submitted on April 29, 2014, by Cosmos Mariner of Cape Canaveral, Florida. This page has been viewed 483 times since then and 52 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. submitted on April 29, 2014, by Cosmos Mariner of Cape Canaveral, Florida. • Bill Pfingsten was the editor who published this page.