“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
6 entries match your criteria.  


Historical Markers and War Memorials in Black Hawk County, Iowa

Clickable Map of Black Hawk County, Iowa and Immediately Adjacent Jurisdictions image/svg+xml 2019-10-06 U.S. Census Bureau, Abe.suleiman; Lokal_Profil;; J.J.Prats/dc:title> Black Hawk County, IA (6) Benton County, IA (1) Bremer County, IA (2) Buchanan County, IA (1) Butler County, IA (1) Fayette County, IA (3) Grundy County, IA (1) Tama County, IA (3)  BlackHawkCounty(6) Black Hawk County (6)  BentonCounty(1) Benton County (1)  BremerCounty(2) Bremer County (2)  BuchananCounty(1) Buchanan County (1)  ButlerCounty(1) Butler County (1)  FayetteCounty(3) Fayette County (3)  GrundyCounty(1) Grundy County (1)  TamaCounty(3) Tama County (3)
Waterloo is the county seat for Black Hawk County
Adjacent to Black Hawk County, Iowa
      Benton County (1)  
      Bremer County (2)  
      Buchanan County (1)  
      Butler County (1)  
      Fayette County (3)  
      Grundy County (1)  
      Tama County (3)  
Touch name on this list to highlight map location.
Touch blue arrow, or on map, to go there.
1 Iowa, Black Hawk County, Cedar Falls — Cedar Falls Freedom Rock Veterans MemorialBlack Hawk County Freedom Rock — -- Ray "Bubba" Sorensen II -- —
When the Battles are done the War isn't over For our Veterans It is just Beginning. [Taylor Morris Navy EOD from Cedar Falls, Iowa who was injured in Afghanistan and Gold Star Mothers.] _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ [Respect for our . . . Map (db m135835) WM
2 Iowa, Black Hawk County, La Porte City — Chestnut Firestation
La Porte City's long history of protecting its citizens started with the formation of a bucket brigade in 1871. A bell summoned citizens to bring their buckets to fight fires. In those early years, the town’s volunteer fire department was praised . . . Map (db m193700) HM
3 Iowa, Black Hawk County, La Porte City — City HallLa Porte City, Iowa
Mayor — Darrel Loveless City Council — Ivadell Bader • Kenneth Harmon • Gary Juhl Clifford McFarland • Duane Slaikeu Renovated 1982 by Junior L. McBride National Register of Historic BuildingsMap (db m189799) HM
4 Iowa, Black Hawk County, La Porte City — Rural Iowa Heritage Center
This center once housed Iowa’s first FFA Ag Museum. It now has been restored to showcase its original purpose, which was La Porte City’s fire station and jailhouse. An 1861 log cabin from the region also has been moved to the site. Together, these . . . Map (db m193698) HM
5 Iowa, Black Hawk County, La Porte City — The Jesse Wasson Society
Dr. Jesse Wasson, founder of our community, devoted his life to the constant improvement and planning for the future of La Porte City. To honor his foresight and continue his visionary thinking, the Friends of the Museum have established the Jesse . . . Map (db m193699) HM
6 Iowa, Black Hawk County, La Porte City — The Pioneer Spirit
The Midwest was once a vast sea of tallgrass prairie, which grew to heights over 9 feet. When Iowa became a state in 1846, the same rich soil and ample rainfall that supported prairie grasses drew eager settlers to the region. Northwest Iowa’s . . . Map (db m193697) HM
CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
Paid Advertisements

May. 29, 2023