“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
4 entries match your criteria.  


Historical Markers in Wallace County, Kansas

Clickable Map of Wallace County, Kansas and Immediately Adjacent Jurisdictions image/svg+xml 2019-10-06 U.S. Census Bureau, Abe.suleiman; Lokal_Profil;; J.J.Prats/dc:title> Wallace County, KS (4) Greeley County, KS (1) Logan County, KS (10) Sherman County, KS (3) Wichita County, KS (4) Cheyenne County, CO (5) Kit Carson County, CO (3)  WallaceCounty(4) Wallace County (4)  GreeleyCounty(1) Greeley County (1)  LoganCounty(10) Logan County (10)  ShermanCounty(3) Sherman County (3)  WichitaCounty(4) Wichita County (4)  CheyenneCountyColorado(5) Cheyenne County (5)  KitCarsonCounty(3) Kit Carson County (3)
Sharon Springs is the county seat for Wallace County
Adjacent to Wallace County, Kansas
      Greeley County (1)  
      Logan County (10)  
      Sherman County (3)  
      Wichita County (4)  
      Cheyenne County, Colorado (5)  
      Kit Carson County, Colorado (3)  
Touch name on this list to highlight map location.
Touch blue arrow, or on map, to go there.
1 Kansas, Wallace County, Wallace — Camp Pond Creek & Fort Wallace on the BOD
In 1865 David Butterfield opened the 592-mile long Smoky Hill route from Atchison, Kansas to Denver, Colorado. His new line cut nearly tow days from the Platte River route used by most freighters. The first wagon train along Butterfield's route left . . . Map (db m77907) HM
2 Kansas, Wallace County, Wallace — 44 — Fort Wallace
First called Camp Pond Creek, Fort Wallace was established in 1865. The fort served as the headquarters for troops given the task of protecting travelers headed west along the Smoky Hill Trail to the Denver gold fields. Fort Wallace was the . . . Map (db m77906) HM
3 Kansas, Wallace County, Weskan — 45 — Butterfield Stage Line
When the Kansas Territory was created in 1854, it stretched all the way to the Rocky Mountains. The current state boundary, a few miles west of here, took effect in 1861 when Kansas was admitted into the Union and the Colorado Territory was . . . Map (db m77900) HM
4 Kansas, Wallace County, Weskan — Mount Sunflower
Edward and Elizabeth (Fortin) Harold Homesteaded In Wallace County. 1906Map (db m174410) HM
CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
Paid Advertisements

Jun. 6, 2023