“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
9 entries match your criteria.  


Historical Markers in Scott County, Mississippi

Clickable Map of Scott County, Mississippi and Immediately Adjacent Jurisdictions image/svg+xml 2019-10-06 U.S. Census Bureau, Abe.suleiman; Lokal_Profil;; J.J.Prats/dc:title> Scott County, MS (9) Jasper County, MS (3) Leake County, MS (8) Madison County, MS (27) Newton County, MS (10) Rankin County, MS (16) Smith County, MS (5)  ScottCounty(9) Scott County (9)  JasperCounty(3) Jasper County (3)  LeakeCounty(8) Leake County (8)  MadisonCounty(27) Madison County (27)  NewtonCounty(10) Newton County (10)  RankinCounty(16) Rankin County (16)  SmithCounty(5) Smith County (5)
Forest is the county seat for Scott County
Adjacent to Scott County, Mississippi
      Jasper County (3)  
      Leake County (8)  
      Madison County (27)  
      Newton County (10)  
      Rankin County (16)  
      Smith County (5)  
Touch name on this list to highlight map location.
Touch blue arrow, or on map, to go there.
1 Mississippi, Scott County, Branch — Branch School
In 1930 four small community schools including Old Branch, Groveton, Prentiss, and Line Prairie were consolidated to form the Branch School. Located on this site, the campus consisted of a school building built in 1930 and a gymnasium built in 1938. . . . Map (db m171683) HM
2 Mississippi, Scott County, Forest — 52 — Arthur "Big Boy" Crudup
Front Arthur “Big Boy” Crudup, one of the most prominent blues recording artists of the 1940s, was born on his grandparents' land in Forest on August 24, 1905. After Elvis Presley recorded three Crudup songs in the 1950s, . . . Map (db m77153) HM
3 Mississippi, Scott County, Forest — James Oliver Eastland
James Oliver Eastland (1904-1986) was elected to the Mississippi House of Representatives in 1928. Eastland was appointed to fill the U.S. Senate seat of Byron Harrison upon his death in June 1941, and was elected to that seat in 1942. He served as . . . Map (db m111024) HM
4 Mississippi, Scott County, Hillsboro — Hillsboro Methodist Church
The Hillsboro Methodist Church was established in 1836 about the same time Hillsboro became the Scott County seat. The original church building was located on a one~acre lot within the present~day cemetery and served as both a church and Masonic . . . Map (db m179036) HM
5 Mississippi, Scott County, Lake — Lake Railroad Depot
This Queen Anne—style Illinois Central Gulf Railroad depot was built in 1890, closed on April 30, 1969, and given to the city in 1980. The depot was renovated during the 1980s for use as a community meeting place and to house materials . . . Map (db m111025) HM
6 Mississippi, Scott County, Morton — Choctaw Line
Boundary between Choctaw cessions of 1820 (Doak's Stand), and 1830 (Dancing Rabbit Creek), going from S.E. corner Simpson Co. northward into Holmes & thence through Bolivar Co.Map (db m111019) HM
7 Mississippi, Scott County, Morton — The Ueltschey Tannery
Located in this vicinity, the Ueltschey tannery was established in 1857 by Albert Ueltschey (1824-1884), a native of Switzerland who had moved from Texas to Mississippi after the Mexican War, settling near Nathan Springs. Following the Civil War, . . . Map (db m111021) HM
8 Mississippi, Scott County, Polkville — 26 — Smith County Jamboree
(front) Founded in 1972 as the Taylorsville Bluegrass Jamboree when ray Jones and other area pickers looked for a place to play together for their growing audience, this grass roots event soon became a spur and focal point for bluegrass . . . Map (db m178938) HM
Paid Advertisement
9 Mississippi, Scott County, Sebastopol — 4 — Leake County Revelers
The most renowned Mississippi string band of the 1920s, the four Revelers—fiddler Will Gilmer, mandolinist R. O. Mosley, banjoist Jim Wolverton and guitarist Dallas Jones—were based here in Sebastapol, and played live across the Southeast. They . . . Map (db m191750) HM
CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
Paid Advertisements

Jun. 4, 2023