“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
8 entries match your criteria.  


Historical Markers in Aberdeen, Mississippi

Clickable Map of Monroe County, Mississippi and Immediately Adjacent Jurisdictions image/svg+xml 2019-10-06 U.S. Census Bureau, Abe.suleiman; Lokal_Profil;; J.J.Prats/dc:title> Monroe County, MS (27) Chickasaw County, MS (29) Clay County, MS (10) Itawamba County, MS (21) Lee County, MS (105) Lowndes County, MS (48) Lamar County, AL (6) Marion County, AL (13)  MonroeCounty(27) Monroe County (27)  ChickasawCounty(29) Chickasaw County (29)  ClayCounty(10) Clay County (10)  ItawambaCounty(21) Itawamba County (21)  LeeCounty(105) Lee County (105)  LowndesCounty(48) Lowndes County (48)  LamarCountyAlabama(6) Lamar County (6)  MarionCounty(13) Marion County (13)
Aberdeen is the county seat for Monroe County
Aberdeen is in Monroe County
      Monroe County (27)  
      Chickasaw County (29)  
      Clay County (10)  
      Itawamba County (21)  
      Lee County (105)  
      Lowndes County (48)  
      Lamar County, Alabama (6)  
      Marion County, Alabama (13)  
Touch name on this list to highlight map location.
Touch blue arrow, or on map, to go there.
1Mississippi (Monroe County), Aberdeen — Aberdeen
Formed 1834; chartered 1837; in 1849 it was made county seat of Monroe, the first county in the state north of Vicksburg. Cotton trade center and former port for Mobile trade.Map (db m102590) HM
2Mississippi (Monroe County), Aberdeen — 90 — Aberdeen Mississippi Blues
Front In 1940 singer-guitarist Booker “Bukka” White, who lived in Aberdeen during the 1920s and ‘30s, recorded the blues classic “Aberdeen Mississippi Blues.” Twenty-three years later the song’s title enabled . . . Map (db m102609) HM
3Mississippi (Monroe County), Aberdeen — Brigadier General John Gregg
A native of Alabama, John Gregg (1828-1864) moved to Texas where he served as a member of that state's secession convention and later in the Provisional Confederate Congress. Elected colonel of the 7th Texas Infantry, Gregg was promoted to Brigadier . . . Map (db m102606) HM
4Mississippi (Monroe County), Aberdeen — DeSoto Expedition — 1540 —
Hernando DeSoto & his expedition entered present Monroe Co. following an Indian trail from Buttahatchie River. They crossed the Tombigbee R. ¼ mi. E. Dec. 16, 1540 & marched up what is now this street.Map (db m102601) HM
5Mississippi (Monroe County), Aberdeen — Dr. W. A. Evans1865-1948
Physician, historian, author. Originated syndicated health column. Chicago health commissioner. Pioneered in pure water and milk laws. Founded Evans Memorial library.Map (db m102599) HM
6Mississippi (Monroe County), Aberdeen — Judge Eugene O. Sykes
Judge Sykes, 1876-1945, was Justice of the Miss. Supreme Court 1961-1925, and Chairman of Federal Radio Comm. until becoming first Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission, serving until 1935.Map (db m102589) HM
Paid Advertisement
7Mississippi (Monroe County), Aberdeen — Reuben Davis(1813 - 1890)
Home of noted politician, criminal lawyer, judge, legislator, congressman of U.S. & Confederacy, author of book, "Recollections of Mississippi & Mississippians."Map (db m102587) HM
8Mississippi (Monroe County), Aberdeen — St. John's Episcopal Church
Parish organized May 10, 1848. Cornerstone laid Oct. 16, 1851. Dr. Joseph H. Ingraham, rector and architect. Building fund started by Jane Martin Dalton.Map (db m102595) HM
CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
Paid Advertisements

Sep. 25, 2022