“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
9 entries match your criteria.  


Historical Markers and War Memorials in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas

Clickable Map of Chase County, Kansas and Immediately Adjacent Jurisdictions image/svg+xml 2019-10-06 U.S. Census Bureau, Abe.suleiman; Lokal_Profil;; J.J.Prats/dc:title> Chase County, KS (21) Butler County, KS (31) Greenwood County, KS (6) Lyon County, KS (46) Marion County, KS (31) Morris County, KS (56)  ChaseCounty(21) Chase County (21)  ButlerCounty(31) Butler County (31)  GreenwoodCounty(6) Greenwood County (6)  LyonCounty(46) Lyon County (46)  MarionCounty(31) Marion County (31)  MorrisCounty(56) Morris County (56)
Cottonwood Falls is the county seat for Chase County
Cottonwood Falls is in Chase County
      Chase County (21)  
      Butler County (31)  
      Greenwood County (6)  
      Lyon County (46)  
      Marion County (31)  
      Morris County (56)  
Touch name on this list to highlight map location.
Touch blue arrow, or on map, to go there.
1 Kansas, Chase County, Cottonwood Falls — 94 — A Landmark of Distinction
Cottonwood Falls has been the Chase county seat since both town and county were established in 1859. The first log cabin-courthouse was replaced in 1873 by this stately building of native limestone and walnut, which today is the oldest Kansas . . . Map (db m49505) HM
2 Kansas, Chase County, Cottonwood Falls — Bates Grove and the Area Adjacent to the Cottonwood River Dam
In 1885, one Kansas writer described the area in generous words, " the right of the bridge on the south side of the Cottonwood River is an excellent water mill, and the music of the falling waters as they flow over the dam added to the . . . Map (db m45681) HM
3 Kansas, Chase County, Cottonwood Falls — Chase County All Veterans Memorial
"And for the support of this Declaration, with a firm reliance on the Protection of Divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes and our sacred Honor" --The Declaration of Independence The Chase County All . . . Map (db m45694) WM
4 Kansas, Chase County, Cottonwood Falls — Chase County and the City of Cottonwood Falls
Chase County, named after Salmon P. Chase, who was a United States Senator from Ohio and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States, was organized in 1859 in the Kansas Territory. James Fisher, from Columbiana County, Ohio was the . . . Map (db m45683) HM
5 Kansas, Chase County, Cottonwood Falls — Chase County War Memorial
Roll of Honor In memory of those who made the supreme sacrifice in the World War 1914 - 1918 Delano Earl Bates • Frank D. Coate Walter L. Crouch • Russell Blackburn Arthur Edwards • Frank P. Faris Leonard C. Goad • Don E. Harder . . . Map (db m45515) WM
6 Kansas, Chase County, Cottonwood Falls — Connecting the Chase County Communityfrom the Historic Chase County Courthouse to the — Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve —
A trail to connect two communities - what a novel idea! This good idea to connect Cottonwood Falls and Strong City was first suggested in 1904. Of course it was to be a limestone sidewalk. Certainly the limestone was available and the equipment and . . . Map (db m45578) HM
7 Kansas, Chase County, Cottonwood Falls — Cottonwood River Bridges at Cottonwood Falls
The first major bridge at Cottonwood Falls was a 150 foot long iron truss bridge constructed in 1872. The iron bridge was just west of the present arch bridge. The present bridge was constructed in 1914 by the Missouri Valley Bridge and Iron . . . Map (db m45609) HM
8 Kansas, Chase County, Cottonwood Falls — Cottonwood River Dam
The Cottonwood River Dam visible today was built from cut limestone and later coated with concrete. The first dam was constructed of cottonwood logs in 1860 during a severe drought when the river bed was dry. The dam provided water power for a saw . . . Map (db m45679) HM
Paid Advertisement
9 Kansas, Chase County, Cottonwood Falls — Oldest Operating Courthouse in Kansas1871 - 1872
[Same as title]Map (db m45514) HM
CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
U.S. FTC REQUIRED NOTICE: This website earns income from qualified purchases you make on Thank you.
Paid Advertisements

Dec. 6, 2023