“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
12 entries match your criteria.  


Historical Markers in Louisville, Georgia

Clickable Map of Jefferson County, Georgia and Immediately Adjacent Jurisdictions image/svg+xml 2019-10-06 U.S. Census Bureau, Abe.suleiman; Lokal_Profil;; J.J.Prats/dc:title> Jefferson County, GA (24) Burke County, GA (33) Emanuel County, GA (20) Glascock County, GA (5) Johnson County, GA (9) McDuffie County, GA (21) Richmond County, GA (147) Warren County, GA (16) Washington County, GA (45)  JeffersonCounty(24) Jefferson County (24)  BurkeCounty(33) Burke County (33)  EmanuelCounty(20) Emanuel County (20)  GlascockCounty(5) Glascock County (5)  JohnsonCounty(9) Johnson County (9)  McDuffieCounty(21) McDuffie County (21)  RichmondCounty(147) Richmond County (147)  WarrenCounty(16) Warren County (16)  WashingtonCounty(45) Washington County (45)
Louisville is the county seat for Jefferson County
Louisville is in Jefferson County
      Jefferson County (24)  
      Burke County (33)  
      Emanuel County (20)  
      Glascock County (5)  
      Johnson County (9)  
      McDuffie County (21)  
      Richmond County (147)  
      Warren County (16)  
      Washington County (45)  
Touch name on this list to highlight map location.
Touch blue arrow, or on map, to go there.
1Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — 081-3 — "Yazoo Fraud"
The notorious "Yazoo Fraud" act was passed and later repealed in the old State Capitol that stood here 1794-1807. The 1794 Georgia legislature sold 35,000,000 acres of land along the Yazoo River in what is now Alabama and Mississippi at 1˝ cents . . . Map (db m58365) HM
2Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — Abbot & Stone Building 1890Louisville Commercial Historic District
This property has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the InteriorMap (db m196923) HM
3Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — L20 — Crossing the Ogeechee RiverA Classic Military Maneuver — March to the Sea Heritage Trail —
When an army crosses a large stream it is vulnerable to attack. Commanders often reduce this hazard by crossing at multiple locations, decreasing congestion and expediting the movement. When possible each crossing occurs within close supporting . . . Map (db m103309) HM
4Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — Louisville, Georgia1786 - 1986
Chartered in 1786, the City of Louisville was named in honor of King Louis XVI in appreciation for the help he gave the colonies during the American Revolution. From 1796 to 1805, Louisville served as the first permanent capital of Georgia: the . . . Map (db m15898) HM
5Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — 081-1 — Market House
This Market House was built between 1795-1798 as a publicly owned multi-purpose trading house. Louisville newspapers record sales of large tracts, household goods, town lots and slaves by sheriffs, tax collectors, marshals and people of the . . . Map (db m15900) HM
6Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — 081-2 — Old State Capitol
Georgia Capitol was on this site, (1794-1807). Colonists on the coast had urged a location on higher ground "with good drinking water." The famous constitutional convention of 1798 was held here and the document then adopted lasted for seventy . . . Map (db m39419) HM
Paid Advertisement
7Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — 081-16 — Old Town Plantation
The area now called Old Town Plantation is shown on maps dating to the early 18th century. It was called Ogeechee Old Town because of the ancient Creek Indian town that Carolina traders visited before Georgia was founded in 1733. George Galphin of . . . Map (db m15734) HM
8Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — 081-11 — Rocky Comfort Creek
On Nov. 28, 1864, the Left Wing (14th and 20th Corps) of Gen. Sherman’s army [US] moved from Davisboro to Louisville, the main body on this road. Jackson’s and Geary’s divisions, 20th Corps, along the Central Railroad, and Morgan’s and Baird's . . . Map (db m58100) HM
9Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — Site of Capitol BuildingLouisville Georgia
First Capitol built by the State of Georgia. Used as seat of government 1796 - 1807Map (db m58362) HM
10Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — 081-6 — The Ogeechee River
On Nov. 28, 1864, the Left Wing (14th and 20th Corps) of Gen. Sherman’s army [US], less Morgan’s and Baird’s divisions, 14th Corps, which had marched via Fenn’s Bridge (10 mi. NW), and Jackson’s and Geary’s divisions, 20th Corps, which were . . . Map (db m58103) HM
11Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — L21 — The Sacking of Louisville"...thoroughly and completely ransacked..." — March to the Sea Heritage Trail —
On Monday, November 28, 1864, Union Major General William T. Sherman's "Left Wing" commanded by Major General Henry W. Slocum reached the Ogeechee River and Rocky Comfort Creek just west of Louisville. The bridges had been destroyed by portions of . . . Map (db m103307) HM
12Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — To Commemorate the Site of the First Permanent Capitol of Georgia
Built in 1795, and before whose door the Yazoo Fraud papers were burned with fire drawn from heaven, February 15, 1796.Map (db m58364) HM
CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
Paid Advertisements

Sep. 27, 2022