This German language monument, erected 1866, honors the memory of 68 men (mostly Germans) from this region who were loyal to the Union during the Civil War. Trying desperately to reach U.S. Federal troops by way of Mexico, about . . . — — Map (db m34985) HM
In the late 1890s, Charles Apelt (1862-1944) opened a unique commercial enterprise at this site.
Apelt, a German immigrant, came to Comfort in 1887 and worked as a farmer. Here he encountered the armadillo, an animal native to the Americas, and . . . — — Map (db m111283) HM
Dedicated in 1892, this Gothic revival building first served the Deutsche Evangelische Gemeinde (German Evangelical Congregation), founded the previous year by the Rev. Frederick Bauer. The bell tower was added about 1898. For over 50 years, the . . . — — Map (db m111298) HM
Comfort was founded by a group of German immigrants in 1854. By 1856, there were enough children in the area to warrant a public school and a one-room log cabin was built on Michael Lindner’s lot no. 258 with some classes held in homes. The . . . — — Map (db m111290) HM
From 1845 to 1861 large numbers of German Freethinkers immigrated to the Texas Hill Country. Freethinkers were predominantly German intellectuals who advocated reason and democracy over religious and political autocracy. Many had been active in the . . . — — Map (db m111292) HM
This limestone-block building was built in 1890 as a blacksmith shop ("schmiede") for Jacob Gass (1845-1913). Rock mason J. Gottlieb Lorbeer worked on the lower level for almost a year, walking to the job each week from Sisterdale (15 mi. E). The . . . — — Map (db m111299) HM