This sturdy iron-front building may have been a lesson learned from the April 1906 earthquake. The Dispatch Democrat newspaper reported on August 17, 1906 that a "deep cellar is being dug for a new brick building." Henry Meyer, who had come . . . — — Map (db m96482) HM
In 1905 J.W. Eversole moved his highly successful furniture and undertaking business in to this new building. The structure was very modern with large plate glass windows, full plumbing and the first concrete foundation in Ukiah. The 2nd floor . . . — — Map (db m96481) HM
John McGlashan, rancher and businessman, built an ornate two story business house on this corner in 1890. It became the home of the Ukiah Post Office and later the Ukiah Mercantile Exchange. The building was lost in the great fire of 1917. In its . . . — — Map (db m96554) HM
This wonderful example of Italianate style was built in 1882 and expanded in 1906, adding more offices, a dining room, kitchen and bathrooms.
The Ukiah chapter of IOOF was formed in 1870 and their building was the grandest structure of its . . . — — Map (db m80696) HM
This 1924 Beau Art/classical style building is the second building on this site for the Masons.
Their original 1872 wooden hall burned in 1923. No expense was spared to make this lodge the showcase of Ukiah. The lodge sported a blue Chinese . . . — — Map (db m96480) HM
This house, constructed in 1911-12, is a unique craftsman style redwood building which incorporates northwestern Indian designs into its architecture. The sun house was designed by George Wilcox and John W. and Grace Carpenter Hudson. Dr. Hudson was . . . — — Map (db m71925) HM
On June, 28, 1897 Ukiah became the 118th telephone exchange in California, when the Sunset Telephone Company started providing service. Minnie Smith Scott was the first manager and operator. Female operators were fondly called "Hello Girls", There . . . — — Map (db m96477) HM
Native Americans used these springs for thousands of years before Frank Marble "discovered" them in 1848. William Day established the resort here in 1854. Ukiah Vichy represents one of the oldest continuously operating mineral springs resorts in . . . — — Map (db m78163) HM