Lakeview in Oshawa in Durham Region, Ontario — Central Canada (North America)
Henry House
The land where Henry House stands was purchased by the Henry family in 1815 and remained in the family for almost a century.
Henry House was constructed around 1840. Thomas Henry lived in the home with his wife Lurenda and their children. Thomas was a farmer, Christian Minister and harbourmaster. Their youngest son, William, was the last family member to live in the home until 1913.
The home was constructed in the style of a nineteenth-century Regency cottage, with rooms branching off from the large central entranceway. Limestone quarried in Kingston and used as ship ballast makes the exterior walls. The upper floor and summer kitchen were later additions to the home while the family resided there.
Between 1917 and the early 1920s, Henry House was home to the Mackie family. During this time, the local Council of Women turned one of the front rooms into a restroom for mothers with small children. It also served as a shelter for people waiting to take the streetcar on Simcoe Street. Later, the park caretaker lived in the home until 1959, when the Oshawa Historical Society turned the home into a museum of local history.
In 1960 the house was reopened as the Henry House Museum. During its first five months, the house had over a thousand visitors. The home underwent significant restoration between 1988 and 1989 to ensure the building was safe and could further stand the test of time. During this period, the second story addition was given added structural support that was not in place when the addition was added in the mid to late 1800s.
Today it serves as the Oshawa Museums period home, with visitors touring through the study, parlour, dining room, kitchen, and main bedroom. Behind the house are herb and perennial gardens. It is a space to bring the community together for events such as Yoga in the Garden, Grandpa Henry's Picnic, and Victorian Teas during the summer.
Topics. This historical marker is listed in these topic lists: Architecture • Settlements & Settlers. A significant historical year for this entry is 1840.
Location. 43° 51.84′ N, 78° 49.644′ W. Marker is in Oshawa, Ontario, in Durham Region. It is in Lakeview. It can be reached from Simcoe Street South 0.2 kilometers south of Lakeview Park Avenue, on the right when traveling south. The marker is in Lake View Park, accessible from the parking lots off Lakeview Park Avenue. Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 1446 Simcoe St S, Oshawa ON L1H 8J7, Canada. Touch for directions.
Regionally, this marker is in Greater Toronto, specifically on the Golden Horseshoe, in the York, Durham and Headwaters Area, and in the Toronto Metropolitan Area. It is also in Central Canada. Globally, it is in North America, on the Great Lakes, in the Western Hemisphere, in the Western World, and in the Anglosphere. Historically, it finds itself in what was once a British colony, the Viceroyalty of New France, the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) Confederacy, and Ruperts Land.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within 5 kilometers of this marker, measured as the crow flies: The Hon. Gordon D. Conant 1885-1953 (a few steps from this marker); Robinson House (within shouting distance of this marker); Guy House (within shouting distance of this marker); The Wilson Family (within shouting distance of this marker); Scugog Carrying Place (approx. 1.9 kilometers away); Memorial Park Cenotaph (approx. 4.4 kilometers away); St. George's Church (approx. 4.4 kilometers away); Canadian Corps Association (approx. 4.4 kilometers away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Oshawa.
Also see . . . Historic Oshawa - Henry House.
Henry House was built c.1840 by Thomas Henry and some of his sons. The houses lovely exterior walls are made from blocks of limestone quarried in Kingston. Thomas Henry was a farmer, preacher, harbour masters, and occasional contributor to a local newspaper, the Oshawa Vindicator.(Submitted on April 21, 2024, by Tim Boyd of Hamilton, Ontario.)
Credits. This page was last revised on April 23, 2024. It was originally submitted on April 21, 2024, by Tim Boyd of Hamilton, Ontario. This page has been viewed 327 times since then and 37 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4. submitted on April 21, 2024, by Tim Boyd of Hamilton, Ontario. • Andrew Ruppenstein was the editor who published this page.



