Augusta in Richmond County, Georgia — The American South (South Atlantic)
Home of Col. Charles Colcock Jones, Jr., LL. D.
Erected 1959 by Georgia Historical Commission. (Marker Number 121-38.)
Topics and series. This historical marker is listed in this topic list: Arts, Letters, Music. In addition, it is included in the Georgia Historical Society series list. A significant historical month for this entry is July 1854.
Location. Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 2249 Walton Way, Augusta GA 30904, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. The Home of Charles Jones Jenkins, Jr., LL. D. (approx. 0.2 miles away); Village of Summerville (approx. 0.2 miles away); Summerville Cemetery (approx. 0.2 miles away); Home of Richard Henry Wilde (approx. 0.2 miles away); Augusta Arsenal (approx. ¼ mile away); Home of John Forsyth (approx. ¼ mile away); Augusta Arsenal 1941 (approx. ¼ mile away); Great Indian Trading Path (approx. 0.3 miles away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Augusta.
Regarding Montrose. The Summerville neighborhood boasts some of Augusta's most picturesque houses and landscape features, including "Montrose" (c1849), also known as the Alan Fuqua Center.
Also see . . . Montrose- Digital Library of Georgia. Alan Fuqua Center for young people as a gift to Read Memorial Presbyterian Church in memory of his son. For more information see Linley, John. The Georgia Catalog: Historic American Buildings Survey. Athens, Ga.: University of Georgia Press, c1982, p. 280. (Submitted on August 16, 2010, by Mike Stroud of Bluffton, South Carolina.)
According to Robert Manson Myers in Children of Pride, page 1656, Robert Alexander Reid (1799-1876), of Augusta, a rich merchant and an influential Presbyterian layman, built Montrose in 1849 and resided there for the rest of his life. In 1877 Charles Colcock Jones, Jr., purchased Montrose and occupied it until his death in 1893; the house then passed to his daughter, Ruth Berrien Jones, she occupied it until her death in 1934, when it passed to her two daughters, Julia Berrien Jones and Mary Ruth Carpenter.
— Submitted March 25, 2013, by William Chandler Lanier, Jr. of Jonesboro, Georgia.
Credits. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016. It was originally submitted on August 16, 2010, by Mike Stroud of Bluffton, South Carolina. This page has been viewed 799 times since then and 16 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4. submitted on August 16, 2010, by Mike Stroud of Bluffton, South Carolina.