Port Huron in St. Clair County, Michigan — The American Midwest (Great Lakes)
The Harrington Hotel opened amid much fanfare in 1896.
A unique blend of Romanesque, Classical and Queen Anne architecture, the hotel thrived for many years. As business declined due to the popularity of automobile travel, expressways and roadside motels, the hotel deteriorated. It eventually closed in 1986.
A group of investors bought the structure that same year, converting it to housing for senior citizens.
The Harrington Hotel is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
Erected 2005 by Michigan Historical Commission. (Marker Number 970.)
Topics. This historical marker is listed in this topic list: Notable Buildings. A significant historical year for this entry is 1896.
Location. 42° 58.363′ N, 82° 25.46′ W. Marker is in Port Huron, Michigan, in St. Clair County. Marker is at the intersection of Military Street (Business Interstate 69/94) and Wall Street, on the right when traveling north on Military Street. Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 1026 Military Street, Port Huron MI 48060, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within 2 miles of this marker, measured Hammond American Legion Post 8 Memorial (about 300 feet away, measured in a direct line); Port Huron Public Library (about 500 feet away); Intersection of Military Road and Indian Reservation (approx. 0.2 miles away); Customhouse (approx. 0.2 miles away); Civil War Memorial (approx. 0.2 miles away); Huron Lightship (approx. 1.2 miles away); Thomas Alva Edison (approx. 1.7 miles away); Underground Railroad (approx. 1.8 miles away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Port Huron.
Also see . . .
1. Harrington Hotel, Port Huron MI. (Submitted on August 9, 2014, by William Fischer, Jr. of Scranton, Pennsylvania.)
2. The Historic Harrington Inn. (Submitted on August 9, 2014, by William Fischer, Jr. of Scranton, Pennsylvania.)
Credits. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016. It was originally submitted on August 9, 2014, by William Fischer, Jr. of Scranton, Pennsylvania. This page has been viewed 381 times since then and 61 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3. submitted on August 9, 2014, by William Fischer, Jr. of Scranton, Pennsylvania.