“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
Belmont in Lafayette County, Wisconsin — The American Midwest (Great Lakes)

1998 Wisconsin Assembly

1998 Wisconsin Assembly Marker image. Click for full size.
By Paul Fehrenbach, May 1, 2012
1. 1998 Wisconsin Assembly Marker
Inscription. On January 14, 1998, the Wisconsin Assembly met at the First Capitol in Belmont in honor of the Sesquicentennial of Statehood. The Territorial Legislature held its first session here in 1836, and convened for three more sessions in what is now Burlington, Iowa, during 1837 and 1838. In November of 1838, the legislature moved to Madison, where subsequent sessions have been held. Members of the 1998 Assembly include:

SPEAKER Scott R. Jensen
CHIEF CLERK Charles R. Sanders

John H. Ainsworth Sheryl Albers Tammy Baldwin James R. Baumgart Spencer Black Peter E. Bock Frank Boyle David A. Brandemuehl Tim Carpenter G. Spencer Coggs David A. Cullen John P. Dobyns Robert M. Dueholm Marc C. Duff Steven M. Foti John G. Gard Robert G. Goetsch Mark A. Green Barbara Gronemus Glenn Grothman Scott L. Gunderson Eugene Hahn Joseph W. Handrick Doris I. Hanson Sheila E. Harsdorf Donald W. Hasenohrl Tom Hebl Timothy T. Hoven Gregory B. Huber Mary Hubler Michael D. Huebsch David E. Hutchinson Suzanne Jeskewitz DuWayne G. Johnsrud Dean R. Kaufert Neal J. Kedzie Carol Kelso Judith Klusman Rob Kreibich James E. Kreuser Shirley Krug Peggy Krusick Walter J. Kunicki John La Fave Onnie L. Ladwig
1998 Wisconsin Assembly Marker image. Click for full size.
By Paul Fehrenbach, May 1, 2012
2. 1998 Wisconsin Assembly Marker
along side Tommy G. Thompson marker
Frank G. Lasee Mary A. Lazich John W. Lehman Michael A. Lehman Barbara J. Linton William D. Lorge Mark Meyer Johnnie Morris-Tatum William M. Murat Terry M. Musser Stephen L. Nass Barbara Notestein Luther S. Olsen Alvin R. Ott, Jr. Clifford Otte Thomas D. Ourada Carol Owens Jeffrey T. Plale Joe Plouff Cloyd A. Porter Rosemary Potter Mike Powers Marty Reynolds Antonio R. Riley Judy Biros Robson John J. Ryba Chuck Schafer Marlin D. Schneider Lorraine M. Seratti Rick Skindrud Thomas J. Springer Anthony J. Staskunas John P. Steinbrink Tom Sykora David M. Travis Robert L. Turner Gregg Underheim Frank H. Urban William N. Vander Loop Daniel P. Vrakas Scott K. Walker David W. Ward Sheldon A. Wasserman Steve Wieckert A. Polly Williams Wayne W. Wood Leon D. Young Rebecca Young Bob Ziegelbauer Robert K. Zukowski
Erected 1998 by Wisconsin State Historical Society. (Marker Number 355.)
Marker series. This marker is included in the Wisconsin Historical Society marker series.
Location. 42° 46.13′ N, 90° 21.707′ W. Marker is in Belmont, Wisconsin, in Lafayette County. Marker is at the intersection of County Route G and County Route B, on the right when traveling west on County Route G. Touch for map. Located in First Capitol State Park. Marker is in this post office area: Belmont WI 53510, United States of America.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within 7 miles of this marker, measured as the crow flies. Belmont, Wisconsin Territory, 1836 (here, next to this marker); Governor Tommy G. Thompson's 1998 Address At Wisconsin's First Capitol (about 400 feet away, measured in a direct line); Land, Lead, and Politics (about 400 feet away); The First Capitol (about 400 feet away); World's Largest M (approx. 2.3 miles away); Platteville Started Here (approx. 6.2 miles away); Main Street Commercial Historic District Platteville (approx. 6.4 miles away); First State Normal School (approx. 6 miles away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Belmont.
Categories. Politics
Credits. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016. This page originally submitted on May 4, 2012, by Paul Fehrenbach of Germantown, Wisconsin. This page has been viewed 540 times since then and 21 times this year. Photos:   1, 2. submitted on May 4, 2012, by Paul Fehrenbach of Germantown, Wisconsin. • Bernard Fisher was the editor who published this page.
Paid Advertisement