The Hill of Glory
Cerro de la Gloria
It was originally known as "Cerro del Pilar." By order of the provencial government, in 1913 it changed its name; and different jobs started to build the sculpture. The place was chosen by the author himself, the Uruguayan sculptor Juan Manuel Ferrari, who sought a hill overlooking the mountains to enhance the symbol of the epic as a cusp. For the erection of the monument, he was suggested by different important figures, as expert Francisco P. Moreno, member of the National Commission appointed to complete the work.
Erected by Mendoza, Argentina.
Location. 32° 53.318′ S, 68° 53.475′ W. Marker is in Mendoza, Mendoza. Marker is on Bajada del Cierro. Touch for map. The markers and monument are located on a hilltop in General San Martin Park.
Other nearby markers. At least 1 other marker is within 5 kilometers of this marker, measured as the crow flies. Monument to Hispanic-Argentine Brotherhood (approx. 4.6 kilometers away).
Regarding The Hill of Glory. This monument is stunning in its artistic
Also see . . . Army of the Andes. The Army of the Andes, led by Jose de San Martin, crossed the Andes in 1817 to successfully free Chile from Spanish rule. It staging point was Mendoza, Argentina. (Submitted on December 2, 2014, by Marsha A. Matson of Palmetto Bay, Florida.)
Categories. • Military •
Credits. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016. This page originally submitted on December 2, 2014, by Marsha A. Matson of Palmetto Bay, Florida. This page has been viewed 467 times since then and 23 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10. submitted on December 2, 2014, by Marsha A. Matson of Palmetto Bay, Florida. • Bill Pfingsten was the editor who published this page.