“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
5 entries match your criteria.  


Historical Markers and War Memorials in Columbus, Kansas

Clickable Map of Cherokee County, Kansas and Immediately Adjacent Jurisdictions image/svg+xml 2019-10-06 U.S. Census Bureau, Abe.suleiman; Lokal_Profil;; J.J.Prats/dc:title> Cherokee County, KS (83) Crawford County, KS (66) Labette County, KS (18) Jasper County, MO (56) Newton County, MO (38) Craig County, OK (6) Ottawa County, OK (33)  CherokeeCounty(83) Cherokee County (83)  CrawfordCounty(66) Crawford County (66)  LabetteCounty(18) Labette County (18)  JasperCountyMissouri(56) Jasper County (56)  NewtonCounty(38) Newton County (38)  CraigCountyOklahoma(6) Craig County (6)  OttawaCounty(33) Ottawa County (33)
Columbus is the county seat for Cherokee County
Columbus is in Cherokee County
      Cherokee County (83)  
      Crawford County (66)  
      Labette County (18)  
      Jasper County, Missouri (56)  
      Newton County, Missouri (38)  
      Craig County, Oklahoma (6)  
      Ottawa County, Oklahoma (33)  
Touch name on this list to highlight map location.
Touch blue arrow, or on map, to go there.
1Kansas (Cherokee County), Columbus — Cherokee County WWI Veterans Memorial Clock Tower"Dedicated to Veterans of All Wars"
1919 • Donated thru civic contributions Mrs. C.E. Bartlett, Chairperson 1955 • Removed from old courthouse 1983 • Rediscovered & refurbished by Mr. Starr Smith 1988 • Donated & rededicated to all Cherokee County Veterans by Starr & Eugenia . . . Map (db m34726) WM
2Kansas (Cherokee County), Columbus — Columbus State Bank 100th Anniversary
. . . Map (db m34713) HM
3Kansas (Cherokee County), Columbus — Robert Alexander Long1875
Robert Alexander Long in 1875 established his first lumber yard at this site. Fifty years later Long-Bell lumber company was the largest lumber company in the world. www.ralonghistoricalsociety.orgMap (db m96967) HM
4Kansas (Cherokee County), Columbus — The History of Columbus
The Cherokee Indians were given this land in an 1835 treaty becoming the Cherokee Neutral Lands. Kansas was established as a state in 1861. The territory became Cherokee County named for the Cherokee Indian Nation. During the Civil War the . . . Map (db m60770) HM
5Kansas (Cherokee County), Columbus — Three-Way Interlocking Crossing
Unique railroading history is on display before you. A three-way interlocking railway crossing. The crossing, formerly located in the northern part of Columbus, was donated to the City of Columbus by the Burlington Northern Railroad. At the . . . Map (db m11593) HM
CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
Paid Advertisements

Nov. 30, 2022