Marker Logo HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
Port Deposit in Cecil County, Maryland — The American Northeast (Mid-Atlantic)
 

Rich History of the Lower Susquehanna

 
 
Rich History of the Lower Susquehanna Marker image. Click for full size.
Photographed By Carl Gordon Moore Jr., March 15, 2020
1. Rich History of the Lower Susquehanna Marker
Inscription.   Not only does the Lower Susquehanna River have an impressive natural history, but a rich cultural history as well. From where you stand the famous explorer John Smith made it only a little farther up the river in his schooner. A fascinating group of humans, from the native Susquehannock to European settlers, who were the foundation of what this country is today, have called Port Deposit their home. Jacob Tome, came to Port Deposit penniless from York County, Pennsylvania, and ended up one of the richest men in the United States, leaving a huge legacy to this town. The last two buildings left of the Tome legacy are the Carriage House on Main Street and the Gas House. The Gas House has been restored to the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Revitalization for historic properties while being converted to a Visitor Center and Research and Education Center for continued studies on the endangered Northern Map Turtles and other Lower Susquehanna River Wildlife. The Port Deposit Historic District is on the National Register of Historic Places.

[caption for photo which is at top middle; just below that photo]
Adams Hall - c. 1905.

Paid Advertisement
Click on the ad for more information.
Please report objectionable advertising to the Editor.
Click or scan to see
this page online
The building was once used as a gymnasium for the Jacob Tome Institute and now serves as Town Hall and municipal offices. The Tome Steps were used by students from the Tome School for Boys and later by sailors stationed at the Bainbridge Naval Base located on the granite cliff to visit the town.

[caption for photo which is at bottom middle; at lower right corner of that photo]
Carriage House - c. 1850. This building once was the carriage house of Jacob Tome. The horse stalls are long gone in the large room on the first floor, which is now used for meetings and social gatherings.

[caption for photo which is at upper right; at lower left corner of that photo]
Gerry House - c. 1813. This home is of late Georgian architectural style with Greek Revival porches. Lafayette was entertained here when he was a guest of the nation in 1824. The home is now a private residence and Bed & Breakfast.

[at upper left of marker]
Historic Port Deposit, Md. 1729 1813
[and]
Towson University
 
Erected by The Historical Society of Cecil County.
 
Topics and series. This historical marker is listed in these topic lists: ArchitectureColonial EraEducation. In addition, it is included in the Lafayette’s Farewell Tour series list.
 
Location.

Paid Advertisement
Click on the ad for more information.
Please report objectionable advertising to the Editor.
39° 35.994′ N, 76° 6.658′ W. Marker is in Port Deposit, Maryland, in Cecil County. Marker can be reached from S. Main Street. Touch for map. Marker is in this post office area: Port Deposit MD 21904, United States of America. Touch for directions.
 
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. U. S. NTC Bainbridge (within shouting distance of this marker); Veterans Memorial (about 700 feet away, measured in a direct line); Naval Training Center Bainbridge, MD (about 700 feet away); Bainbridge Naval Training Center (about 800 feet away); Washington Hall (approx. ¼ mile away); Adams Hall (approx. ¼ mile away); Snow’s Battery (approx. 0.3 miles away); a different marker also named Snow's Battery (approx. 0.3 miles away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Port Deposit.
 
More about this marker. Actually not along Main Street, but in Marina Park, which is along the Susquehanna River across a railroad track which runs parallel to Main Street. It is a short distance south of "U. S. NTC Bainbridge" marker.
 
 
Credits. This page was last revised on March 24, 2020. It was originally submitted on March 21, 2020, by Carl Gordon Moore Jr. of North East, Maryland. This page has been viewed 152 times since then and 8 times this year. Photo   1. submitted on March 21, 2020, by Carl Gordon Moore Jr. of North East, Maryland. • Bill Pfingsten was the editor who published this page.

Share this page.  
Share on Tumblr
m=146988

CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
This website earns income from purchases you make after using our links to Amazon.com. We appreciate your support.
Paid Advertisement
Apr. 21, 2024