The Gatehouse provided a stunning impression for those visiting William Wyman's estate in the late 19th century. Wyman owned much of the land that is now Homewood campus. He loved nature and kept the grounds mostly undeveloped. The two major buildings he established were the Villa, where he resided, and the Gatehouse, also known as Homewood Lodge, which was the public entrance to his estate.
Wyman, along with architect Louis Bucher, chose an Italianate style for both buildings. In contrast to the wooden construction of the Villa, Wyman had the Gatehouse made of a green stone, called serpentine. This made it blend with the green forests surrounding it.
After Wyman gave the land to Johns Hopkins University in 1902, student groups met in this building. The Johns Hopkins News-Letter made the Gatehouse its home in October 1965 and remains here to this day.
Topics. This historical marker is listed in these topic lists: Architecture • Communications • Education.
Location. 39° 19.587′ N, 76° 37.076′ W. Marker is in Johns Hopkins
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. William Henry Welch (about 700 feet away, measured in a direct line); Lion (about 700 feet away); The 1958 Johns Hopkins University Commencement (about 700 feet away); Wyman Quadrangle (about 700 feet away); Daniel Coit Gilman (about 700 feet away); Spring House or Dairy - c. 1812 (about 800 feet away); Joseph Beuys Tree Partnership (approx. 0.2 miles away); Union Soldiers and Sailors Monument (approx. 0.2 miles away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Johns Hopkins Homewood.
Credits. This page was last revised on February 16, 2021. It was originally submitted on February 15, 2021, by Devry Becker Jones of Washington, District of Columbia. This page has been viewed 41 times since then. Photos: 1, 2. submitted on February 15, 2021, by Devry Becker Jones of Washington, District of Columbia.