Stratford in Greater Bridgeport Region, Connecticut — The American Northeast (New England)
Clocktower Museum
| | circa 1913 | |
In 1913, this 1830s haybarn was topped with a clocktower which was acquired in Massachusetts by the Boothes in exchange for a carpet sweeper. They installed Westminster Chimes, and inscribed the five massive bells with their genealogy. The museum opened in 1913.
Topics. This historical marker is listed in this topic list: Notable Buildings. A significant historical year for this entry is 1913.
Location. 41° 14.149′ N, 73° 6.646′ W. Marker is in Stratford in Greater Bridgeport Region, Connecticut. It can be reached from the intersection of Main Street (Connecticut Route 110) and Manor Hill Road, on the right when traveling north. Located in Boothe Memorial Park. Touch for map. Marker is in this post office area: Stratford CT 06614, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Regionally, this marker is on the Connecticut Shoreline and in Greater Bridgeport. It is also in the American Northeast, in New England, and on the Eastern Seaboard. Globally, it is in the North Atlantic Region, North America, the Western Hemisphere, the Western World, and the Anglosphere. Historically, it finds itself in what was once Fairfield County and also one of the original Thirteen Colonies.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within 3 miles of this marker, measured as the crow flies: Boothe Homestead (here, next to this marker); a different marker also named Boothe Homestead (a few steps from this marker); Technocratic Cathedral (within shouting distance of this marker); Blacksmith Shop (within shouting distance of this marker); Merritt Parkway Toll Booth Plaza (about 400 feet away, measured in a direct line); Liberty Rock (approx. 2.3 miles away); VFW Post 9460 Memorial (approx. 2.6 miles away); Nichols, Conn. World War Veterans Memorial (approx. 2.7 miles away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Stratford.
Also see . . . History of Boothe Memorial Park and the Clocktower Museum. Museum website (Submitted on January 1, 2010.)
Credits. This page was last revised on May 19, 2026. It was originally submitted on December 27, 2009, by Michael Herrick of Southbury, Connecticut. This page has been viewed 941 times since then and 21 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4. submitted on December 27, 2009, by Michael Herrick of Southbury, Connecticut. • Syd Whittle was the editor who published this page.



