Wainfleet in Niagara Region, Ontario — Central Canada (North America)
S.S. No. 11 circa 1866
circa 1866
Plaque donated by Kirkpatrick & O'Brine Monuments
Topics. This historical marker is listed in this topic list: Education. A significant historical year for this entry is 1866.
Location. 42° 55.267′ N, 79° 22.672′ W. Marker is in Wainfleet, Ontario, in Niagara Region. It can be reached from Side Road 20, on the right when traveling north. Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 32081 Side Rd 20, Wainfleet ON L0S 1V0, Canada. Touch for directions.
Regionally, this marker is on Ontario’s Golden Horseshoe and in Niagara Canada. It is also in Central Canada. Globally, it is in North America, on the Great Lakes, in the Western Hemisphere, in the Western World, and in the Anglosphere. Historically, it finds itself in what was once a British colony, the Viceroyalty of New France, the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) Confederacy, and Ruperts Land.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker: This Bell Originally Housed In The Bell Tower Of Emmanuel United Church At Wellandport (within shouting distance of this marker); Vivian Flour Mill circa 1841 (within shouting distance of this marker); Dean Sawmill circa 1883 (within shouting distance of this marker); Jones & Palcso Wagonmaker Blacksmith Shop circa 1865 (within shouting distance of this marker); Canby Implement Shed circa 1898 (within shouting distance of this marker); Patron's Of Industry Hall circa 1893 (within shouting distance of this marker); Neff Morgan Cabin circa 1841 (within shouting distance of this marker); Neff-Morgan Cabin (within shouting distance of this marker). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Wainfleet.
More about this marker. The marker and its building are along the west fence, 40 metres north of the parking area within Marshville Heritage Village (a free-to-visit collection of 20+ unrelated historic buildings).
Also see . . . S.S. No. 11 Schoolhouse (by Marshville Historical Society). - built 1866, on the south side of Highway #3 and Gilmore Road in Wainfleet
- used as a school until 1965
- moved here in 1994
(Submitted on June 14, 2026, by Kevin Westell of St. Catharines, Ontario.)
Credits. This page was last revised on June 15, 2026. It was originally submitted on June 14, 2026, by Kevin Westell of St. Catharines, Ontario. This page has been viewed 10 times since then. Photos: 1, 2. submitted on June 14, 2026, by Kevin Westell of St. Catharines, Ontario.

