Wainfleet in Niagara Region, Ontario — Central Canada (North America)
Jones & Palcso Wagonmaker Blacksmith Shop circa 1865
Inscription.
Jones & Palcso
Wagonmaker
Blacksmith Shop
circa 1865
Plaque donated by Kirkpatrick & O'Brine Monuments
Topics. This historical marker is listed in this topic list: Notable Buildings. A significant historical year for this entry is 1865.
Location. 42° 55.292′ N, 79° 22.673′ W. Marker is in Wainfleet, Ontario, in Niagara Region. It can be reached from Side Road 20, on the right when traveling north. The marker and its building are along the west fence, 80 metres north of the parking area within Marshville Heritage Village, a free-to-visit collection of 20+ historic buildings. Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 32081 Side Rd 20, Wainfleet ON L0S 1V0, Canada. Touch for directions.
Regionally, this marker is on Ontario’s Golden Horseshoe and in Niagara Canada. It is also in Central Canada. Globally, it is in North America, on the Great Lakes, in the Western Hemisphere, in the Western World, and in the Anglosphere. Historically, it finds itself in what was once a British colony, the Viceroyalty of New France, the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) Confederacy, and Ruperts Land.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker: Vivian Flour Mill circa 1841 (a few steps from this marker); Dean Sawmill circa 1883 (a few steps from this marker); Neff-Morgan Cabin (within shouting distance of this marker); Neff Morgan Cabin circa 1841 (within shouting distance of this marker); S.S. No. 11 circa 1866 (within shouting distance of this marker); This Bell Originally Housed In The Bell Tower Of Emmanuel United Church At Wellandport (within shouting distance of this marker); Canby Implement Shed circa 1898 (about 90 meters away, measured in a direct line); Patron's Of Industry Hall circa 1893 (about 90 meters away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Wainfleet.
Also see . . . Jones-Palcso Wagonmaker & Blacksmith (by Marshville Heritage Society). David Jones constructed this shop in 1865. John Palcso was the last blacksmith in Wainfleet. The shop and its equipment were all donated to Marshville. (Submitted on June 15, 2026, by Kevin Westell of St. Catharines, Ontario.)
Credits. This page was last revised on June 15, 2026. It was originally submitted on June 15, 2026, by Kevin Westell of St. Catharines, Ontario. This page has been viewed 6 times since then. Photos: 1, 2. submitted on June 15, 2026, by Kevin Westell of St. Catharines, Ontario.

