Wainfleet in Niagara Region, Ontario — Central Canada (North America)
Dean Sawmill circa 1883
circa 1883
Plaque donated by Kirkpatrick & O'Brine Monuments
Topics. This historical marker is listed in this topic list: Industry & Commerce. A significant historical year for this entry is 1883.
Location. 42° 55.291′ N, 79° 22.666′ W. Marker is in Wainfleet, Ontario, in Niagara Region. It can be reached from Side Road 20, on the right when traveling north. The marker and its building are 70 m north of the parking area within Marshville Heritage Village (a free-to-visit collection of 20+ unrelated historic buildings). Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 32081 Side Rd 20, Wainfleet ON L0S 1V0, Canada. Touch for directions.
Regionally, this marker is on Ontario’s Golden Horseshoe and in Niagara Canada. It is also in Central Canada. Globally, it is in North America, on the Great Lakes, in the Western Hemisphere, in the Western World, and in the Anglosphere. Historically, it finds itself in what was once a British colony, the Viceroyalty of New France, the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) Confederacy, and Ruperts Land.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker: Jones & Palcso Wagonmaker Blacksmith Shop circa 1865 (a few steps from this marker); Vivian Flour Mill circa 1841 (a few steps from this marker); Neff-Morgan Cabin (a few steps from this marker); Neff Morgan Cabin circa 1841 (a few steps from this marker); S.S. No. 11 circa 1866 (within shouting distance of this marker); This Bell Originally Housed In The Bell Tower Of Emmanuel United Church At Wellandport (within shouting distance of this marker); Canby Implement Shed circa 1898 (about 90 meters away, measured in a direct line); Patron's Of Industry Hall circa 1893 (about 90 meters away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Wainfleet.
Also see . . . Dean Sawmill (by Marshville Heritage Society). - The mill was built by Cyrus Dean in 1883 in Wainfleet
- The mill was originally steam driven, with two mills combined: a grist mill (30hp) and a sawmill (40hp)
- The barn (now housing the sawmill) was built in Port Colborne in 1891 (Submitted on June 15, 2026, by Kevin Westell of St. Catharines, Ontario.)
Credits. This page was last revised on June 15, 2026. It was originally submitted on June 15, 2026, by Kevin Westell of St. Catharines, Ontario. This page has been viewed 11 times since then. Photos: 1, 2, 3. submitted on June 15, 2026, by Kevin Westell of St. Catharines, Ontario.


