Lockport in Niagara County, New York — The American Northeast (Mid-Atlantic)
“Lockport Flight of Five”
The Erie Canal was constructed in three historic stages: the original Erie Canal, or Clinton’s Ditch, 1817-1825; the enlarged Erie Canal, 1835-1862; the New York State Barge Canal System (Erie Canal Division), 1905-1918. Here in Lockport, the present day Erie Canal follows basically the same course as the original and enlarged 19th century canals.
To overcome the great elevation of the Niagara Escarpment, the original canal builders constructed a unique flight of five double locks, to lower easterly and raise westerly bound boast some sixty feet. The original locks of 1825 were replaced by a larger flight of double locks constructed between 1836 and 1847. These locks were numbered 67 to 71. The enlarged combined locks were replaced by Locks 34 and 35 of the Barge Canal Improvement between 1910 and 1914. The northern set of the “Lockport Five” was left intact and today is used as a spillway.
The old “Lockport
Sidebar on the right
DeWitt Clinton (1769-1828) advocated the building of the Erie Canal that would run from Buffalo to New York City. He was elected Governor of New York on the strength of the canal question. The Erie Canal was built during his administration and he officially opened the canal on October 26, 1825.
Erected by New York State Canals. (Marker Number 4.)
Topics and series. This historical marker is listed in this topic list: Waterways & Vessels. In addition, it is included in the Erie Canal series list.
Location. 43° 10.197′ N, 78° 41.628′ W. Marker is in Lockport, New York, in Niagara County. Marker is on Main Street near Cottage Street. Touch for map. Marker is in this post office area: Lockport NY 14094, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. Upson Park (within shouting distance of this marker); Big Bridge (within shouting distance of this marker); Tour Boat Then & Now (within shouting distance of this marker); Lower Lock Construction (within shouting distance of this marker); Canal Comparisons (within shouting distance of this marker); Hydraulic Race Control Gates (within shouting distance of this marker); a different marker also named The “Big Bridge” (within shouting distance of this marker); The Great American Canal (about 300 feet away, measured in a direct line). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Lockport.
More about this marker. This marker is on the south side concrete walkway of Locks 34 & 35.
Regarding “Lockport Flight of Five”. Lockport's "Flight of Five" is currently under restoration.
Also see . . .
1. Lockport's Flight of Five in the Erie Canal. This is a video clip of the operation of Lockport's Flight of Five (Submitted on September 7, 2014, by Barry Swackhamer of Brentwood, California.)
2. Long-awaited Flight of Five restoration ready to get under way in Lockport - The Buffalo News. After a decade of planning, construction is about to get under way in downtown Lockport on a history-rich attraction that Niagara tourist officials hope will draw as many as a quarter-million Erie Canal buffs every year. (Submitted on September 7, 2014, by Barry Swackhamer of Brentwood, California.)
Credits. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016. It was originally submitted on September 7, 2014, by Barry Swackhamer of Brentwood, California. This page has been viewed 384 times since then and 7 times this year. Photos: 1, 2. submitted on September 7, 2014, by Barry Swackhamer of Brentwood, California. • Bill Pfingsten was the editor who published this page.