Near Louisbourg in Cape Breton Regional Municipality, Nova Scotia — The Atlantic Provinces
Fortress of Louisbourg
La forteresse de Louisbourg
In 1713, France decided to found Louisbourg to defend her colonial and maritime interests in North America. As capital of the colony of Isle Royale and guardian the Gulf of Saint. Lawrence, it became the most important French fishing and commercial center in North America. The fortress was besieged and captured by British forces in 1745 and again in 1758. Its fortifications were demolished in 1760. In 1928, Louisbourg was designated a National Historic Site. Its reconstruction was begun in 1961 so that future generations seeing it might understand the role of the Fortress in our history.
La France résolut de fonder Louisbourg en 1713 pour la défense de ses intérêts en Amérique du Nord. Louisbourg devint la capitale de l'Isle Royale, la gardienne du golfe Saint-Laurent et le plus important port de pêche et de commerce de la France en Amérique du Nord. Les Anglais l'assiégèrent et s'en emparèrent en 1745 et, de nouveau, en 1758. Ils en démantelèrent les fortifications en 1760. En 1928, Louisbourg fut déclaré lieu historique national et, en 1961, on commença la reconstruction de la Forteresse
Erected 1976 by Historic Sites and Monument Board of Canada/Commission de lieux et monuments historique du Canada.
Marker series. This marker is included in the Canada, Historic Sites and Monuments Board marker series.
Location. 45° 54.576′ N, 59° 59.053′ W. Marker is near Louisbourg, Nova Scotia, in Cape Breton Regional Municipality. Marker can be reached from Kennington Cove Road. Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 74 Kennington Cove Road, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J2, Canada. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within 3 kilometers of this marker, measured as the crow flies. The Lobster Fishery (approx. 1.5 kilometers away); Fizel House (approx. 1.9 kilometers away); Marie Marguerite Rose (approx. 2 kilometers away); Slavery / Freedom (approx. 2 kilometers away); 19th-Century Lighthouse (approx. 2 kilometers away); First Lighthouse Tower (approx. 2 kilometers away); French Garrison at Louisbourg (approx. 2 kilometers away); First Lighthouse (approx. 2 kilometers away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Louisbourg.
More about this marker. This marker is located at the shuttle bus stop of the Fortress Louisbourg Visitors Centre.
Also see . . .
1. Fortress Louisbourg - Wikipedia. The original settlement was made in 1713, and initially called Havre à l'Anglois. Subsequently, (Submitted on December 27, 2014, by Barry Swackhamer of Brentwood, California.)
2. Experience Fortress Louisbourg. Thanks to their efforts and the work of Parks Canada and the Fortress Louisbourg Association, you can now experience life in Louisbourg during its heyday. There are more than a dozen buildings open to the public including three authentic working 18th century restaurants. During the summer months hundreds of re-enactors or “animators” of all ages, from wealthy merchants to poor soldiers, populate the streets of the restored fortress working, playing, and living life as they would have in 1744. (Submitted on December 27, 2014, by Barry Swackhamer of Brentwood, California.)
Categories. • Forts or Castles • War, French and Indian •
More. Search the internet for Fortress of Louisbourg.
Credits. This page was last revised on September 24, 2018. This page originally submitted on December 27, 2014, by Barry Swackhamer of Brentwood, California. This page has been viewed 364 times since then. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14. submitted on December 27, 2014, by Barry Swackhamer of Brentwood, California. • Bill Pfingsten was the editor who published this page.