Friendswood in Galveston County, Texas — The American South (West South Central)
First Home and First Family
The original Brown house fell into disrepair and was demolished in the early 1960s. In 1970, the Heritage Gardeners built the replica of the original house that is now the Frank J. Brown Heritage Museum at 108 Skyview Terrace. That museum now showcases displays of Friendswood's earliest years using photos, graphics, artifacts and visuals. It is open to visitors at posted time and by appointment.
Erected 2012 by Friendswood Historical Society.
Topics and series. This historical marker is listed in this topic list: Settlements & Settlers. In addition, it is included in the Quakerism series list. A significant historical year for this entry is 1895.
Location. Touch for map. Marker is in this post office area: Friendswood TX 77546, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. Fig Preserving Plant (approx. Ό mile away); Cecil and Frances Brown House (approx. Ό mile away); First Business (approx. 0.3 miles away); Friendswood Postal Service (approx. 0.4 miles away); Quaker Academy (approx. 0.4 miles away); Oldest Structure Remaining (approx. 0.4 miles away); Friendswood (approx. half a mile away); Friends Church Cemetery (approx. half a mile away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Friendswood.
Credits. This page was last revised on October 19, 2016. It was originally submitted on October 18, 2016, by Jim Evans of Houston, Texas. This page has been viewed 458 times since then and 16 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3. submitted on October 18, 2016, by Jim Evans of Houston, Texas. • Bernard Fisher was the editor who published this page.