Marker Logo HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
Near Challis in Custer County, Idaho — The American West (Mountains)
 

Parting of the Ways

 
 
Parting of the Ways panel image. Click for full size.
By Barry Swackhamer, June 25, 2017
1. Parting of the Ways panel
Inscription. Two maker panels are located at this kiosk

The Keystone Road splits from the Toll Road near here. Teamsters and supplies headed for Bayhorse Mining District followed the Keystone Road to Bayhorse, Crystal and Clayton. In 1889, the Salmon River Road between Clayton and the Yankee Fork replaced the Keystone Road.
During its production history, Bayhorse was one of the richest mining districts in Idaho. The harsh terrain, dramatic elevation change and difficult winters allowed only the most determined and hardy prospectors to mine. Bayhorse stands as a silent witness to the test and will of Idaho's mining heritage.
Today the Land of Yankee Fork Historic Area teems with recreational activities. Visitors may explore the many historic sites, discover scenic vistas and follow along the Custer Motorway Adventure Road. This road follows the route of the original Toll Road between Challis and the Yankee Fork Mining District and offers a fascinating historic trip through the backcountry. Discover your adventure today.

Land of the Yankee Fork Historic Area

Welcome to the Custer Motorway Adventure Road. Pioneered as a trail to provide a supply route from Challis to the mining camps and towns of the Yankee Fork Mining District, it later served for ten years as the only freight
Land of the Yankee Fork Historic Area panel image. Click for full size.
By Barry Swackhamer, June 25, 2017
2. Land of the Yankee Fork Historic Area panel
Click on the image to enlarge the map.
wagon and stage access to the area after the Toll Road was completed in 1879. Road reconstruction and realignment efforts by the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) in 1933 opened the road to motorized traffic.
Remnants of rich history wait along this adventure road. Take time to stop and reflect upon the stories of hardy souls who lived, worked and died in this rugged landscape; they are waiting to be discovered. We ask that you show respect and think not only of those who came before you, but also of those who will follow. Please do not disturb the artifacts, wildlife, or any structures that you encounter along the way.

The Land of the Yankee Fork Historic Area preserves Idaho's frontier mining heritage by telling the unique story of people and place. Created as Idaho's Centennial Park in 1990, this area is managed by the U.S. Forest Service, Idaho Department of Park and Recreation, and the Bureau of Land Management. Together, this partnership provides stewardship, interprets numerous historic sites, and offers outstanding recreational opportunities.
 
Erected by U.S. Forest Service, Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation, and the Bureau of Land Management.
 
Location. 44° 29.1′ N, 114° 19.398′ W. Marker is near Challis, Idaho,
Parting of the Ways Kiosk image. Click for full size.
By Barry Swackhamer, June 25, 2017
3. Parting of the Ways Kiosk
in Custer County. Marker is on Custer Motorway Adventure Road (Forest Road 070) near Forest Road 069, on the right when traveling west. Touch for map. Marker is in this post office area: Challis ID 83226, United States of America.
 
Other nearby markers. At least 7 other markers are within 8 miles of this marker, measured as the crow flies. Corkscrew Grade (approx. 1.8 miles away); Land of the Yankee Fork Historic Area (approx. 5.1 miles away); Challis (approx. 5.1 miles away); Michel Bourdon (approx. 5.2 miles away); Bison Jump (approx. 5.4 miles away); Alex Toponce (approx. 8.1 miles away); Tollgate Station (approx. 8.1 miles away).
 
Also see . . .  Challis-Yankee Fork Ranger District - Custer Motorway Guide - US Forest Service. At first, supplies for the mines had to be packed by horses or mules from Challis. With the completion of the toll road in 1879, heavy loads of mining equipment and supplies necessary for large-scale development could be hauled to the mines by oxen or horse-drawn freight wagons. (Submitted on November 8, 2017, by Barry Swackhamer of San Jose, California.) 
 
Categories. Roads & VehiclesSettlements & Settlers
 
 
Credits. This page was last revised on November 8, 2017. This page originally submitted on November 8, 2017, by Barry Swackhamer of San Jose, California. This page has been viewed 42 times since then. Photos:   1, 2, 3. submitted on November 8, 2017, by Barry Swackhamer of San Jose, California.
Paid Advertisement