Potomac in Montgomery County, Maryland — The American Northeast (Mid-Atlantic)
Built in 1832, Lock 22 is nicknamed "Pennyfield Lock" after father and son lockkeepers, George and Charlie Pennyfield. George tended this lock from 1890-1910; his son Charlie joined him on the C&O payroll in 1900. Charlie was the last lockkeeper to live in and work from this lockhouse. The Pennyfield family remained at the lock after the canal closed in 1924.
Experience history...spend the night in a lockhouse!
Ever wonder what it was like to live in a lockhouse? Spend the night in one of several lockhouses along the canal. Step back in time and immerse yourself in history. If you listen closely, you may hear voices from the past whispering their stories. For more information visit www.canalquarters.org.
Erected by Chesapeake and Ohio Canal National Historical Park - National Park Service - U.S. Department of
Marker series. This marker is included in the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal marker series.
Location. 39° 3.221′ N, 77° 17.335′ W. Marker is in Potomac, Maryland, in Montgomery County. Marker is on Pennyfield Lock Road, on the right when traveling south. Touch for map. Located at the Pennyfield Lock section of the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal Towpath Park. Parking lot reached from River Road (MD 190). Marker is in this post office area: Potomac MD 20854, United States of America.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within 3 miles of this marker, measured as the crow flies. Traveler's Impressions of Montgomery County (approx. 1.2 miles away); Life During Encampment in Montgomery County (approx. 1.2 miles away); Washington's Canal (approx. 2.1 miles away in Virginia); Potomac River (approx. 2.1 miles away); Watering the Canal (approx. 2.3 miles away); Rowser's Ford (approx. 2.4 miles away in Virginia); Crossing the Potomac at Rowser's Ford (approx. 2.4 miles away in Virginia); a different marker also named Rowser’s Ford (approx. 2˝ miles away).
Categories. • Waterways & Vessels •
Credits. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016. This page originally submitted on March 7, 2010, by Craig Swain of Leesburg, Virginia. This page has been viewed 803 times since then and 11 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4. submitted on March 7, 2010, by Craig Swain of Leesburg, Virginia.