The Hessian Powder Magazine
The building and its functions have changed with time and local missions. The covered gallery, chimneys and roof ventilators of the 18th century have long been removed. The iron doors were added in the mid-19th century when the building was converted to use as the Hessian Guard House. The Carlisle Indian Industrial School used the building from 1879 to 1918. During the early 20th century, it was used primarily for storage until converted in 1948 back to an approximation of its former appearance. The Hessian Powder Magazine structure is an eloquent reminder of the enduring nature of the United States and its Army.
Erected by U.S. Army War College, Class of 2005.
Location. 40° 12.423′ N, 77°
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. Charles Albert "Chief" Bender (approx. 0.2 miles away); Carlisle (approx. 0.3 miles away); Indian Cemetery (approx. 0.4 miles away); Carlisle Barracks (approx. 0.4 miles away); The Carlisle Indian Industrial School (approx. 0.4 miles away); Marianne Moore (approx. half a mile away); Gen. John Armstrong (approx. 0.6 miles away); Old Prison (approx. 0.6 miles away).
More about this marker. Marker not accessible to general public as it is located on the grounds of Carlisle Barracks, home tp the U.S. Army War College, and requires going through security to enter the base.
Categories. • Native Americans • Patriots & Patriotism • War, US Revolutionary •
Credits. This page was last revised on June 22, 2017. This page originally submitted on February 4, 2012, by Steven Berkowitz of Annnandale, Virginia. This page has been viewed 909 times since then and 128 times this year. Photos: 1, 2. submitted on February 4, 2012. • Bill Pfingsten was the editor who published this page.