“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
3 entries match your criteria.  


Historical Markers in Durant, Mississippi

Clickable Map of Holmes County, Mississippi and Immediately Adjacent Jurisdictions image/svg+xml 2019-10-06 U.S. Census Bureau, Abe.suleiman; Lokal_Profil;; J.J.Prats/dc:title> Holmes County, MS (15) Attala County, MS (10) Carroll County, MS (9) Humphreys County, MS (7) Leflore County, MS (30) Madison County, MS (26) Yazoo County, MS (18)  HolmesCounty(15) Holmes County (15)  AttalaCounty(10) Attala County (10)  CarrollCounty(9) Carroll County (9)  HumphreysCounty(7) Humphreys County (7)  LefloreCounty(30) Leflore County (30)  MadisonCounty(26) Madison County (26)  YazooCounty(18) Yazoo County (18)
Lexington is the county seat for Holmes County
Durant is in Holmes County
      Holmes County (15)  
      Attala County (10)  
      Carroll County (9)  
      Humphreys County (7)  
      Leflore County (30)  
      Madison County (26)  
      Yazoo County (18)  
Touch name on this list to highlight map location.
Touch blue arrow, or on map, to go there.
1Mississippi (Holmes County), Durant — Castalian Springs
W. 3 mi. Mineral springs created popular health spa prior to Civil War. Girls boarding school organized, 1854. In 1862, wounded from Shiloh treated here. Now Y. M.C.A. state camp.Map (db m140831) HM
2Mississippi (Holmes County), Durant — Choctaw Line
Boundary between Choctaw cessions of 1820 (Doak's Stand), and 1830 (Dancing Rabbit Creek), going from S.E. corner Simpson Co. northward into Holmes & thence through Bolivar Co.Map (db m178867) HM
3Mississippi (Holmes County), Durant — Durant
Founded, 1858. Named for Louis Durant, a nearby Choctaw chief. Lockhart's Store, 4 mi. W., was first Holmes County post office, dating from 1849. Town later merged with Durant.Map (db m140836) HM
CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
Paid Advertisements

Dec. 1, 2022