Old Fort Western on the Kennebec
A National Historic Landmark
Old Fort Western was built in 1754 at Cushnoc, an Abenaki name for the site of an important 17th-century Plymouth Colony trading post. The Old Fort's main house (barrack) is New England's oldest surviving wooden fort building and a symbol of the early economic, political and social aspirations and achievements of the village which in 1797 became Augusta, Maine's capital city.
Old Fort Western has been owned by the City of Augusta since 1922. The site, original main house and fort compound were restored in 1988 as part of Augusta's City Center. Today, Old Fort Western is a nationally accredited historic house museum offering a variety of exhibits, tours, hands-on activities and educational programs that make learning about 18th-century life on the Kennebec River a truly unique experience for visitors of all ages.
Topics and series. This historical marker is listed in these topic lists: Colonial Era • Forts and Castles • Landmarks • Settlements & Settlers. In addition, it is included in the National Historic Landmarks series list. A significant historical year for this entry is 1754.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. D.W. Adams Department Store / Le grand magasin de D.W. Adams (a few steps from this marker); An Ornament to the City / Un joyau de la ville (within shouting distance of this marker); A New Look for Water Street / Un nouvel arrivant dans Water Street (about 300 feet away, measured in a direct line); The Great Fire / Le Grand incendie (about 300 feet away); They Were Superior Buildings / Des bâtiments pittoresques (about 400 feet away); Birds and Fish of the Kennebec (about 600 feet away); Old Fort Western / Le vieux Fort Western (about 600 feet away); Gunshots Reverberate on the Kennebec / Des coups de fusil résonnent sur le fleuve Kennebec (about 600 feet away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Augusta.
Also see . . . Fort Western. (Submitted on December 8, 2017, by William Fischer, Jr. of Scranton, Pennsylvania.)
Credits. This page was last revised on September 23, 2020. It was originally submitted on December 8, 2017, by William Fischer, Jr. of Scranton, Pennsylvania. This page has been viewed 290 times since then and 24 times this year. Photos: 1, 2. submitted on December 8, 2017, by William Fischer, Jr. of Scranton, Pennsylvania.