Ducktown in Polk County, Tennessee — The American South (East South Central)
The Tennessee Overhill Experience
From Furs to Factories
— Mining in the Copper Basin —
Mining in the Copper Basin
In 1843, a prospector, hoping to find gold south of the Coker Creek mine fields, instead located one of America's richest copper reserves. Over the next century, American and foreign companies chartered more than a dozen copper mines in the Ducktown Basin. The last mines closed in 1987. Today, chemical products are made with imported materials at the former copper company acid and chemical plants.
This site is part of the Tennessee Overhill Heritage Trail and is an official Tennessee 200 Bicentennial Project. Interpretive signs, museums, historic sites and a guidebook tell the story of the Industrial Revolution as it happened in McMinn, Monroe, and Polk Counties. For more information concerning other sites, contact the Tennessee Overhill Heritage Association at 423-263-7232.
Erected by Tennessee Department of Transportation, Tennessee 200, Inc., East Tennessee Foundation, and the counties of McMinn, Monroe and Polk.
Topics. This historical marker is listed in these topic lists: Environment Industry & Commerce.
Location. 35° 2.132′ N, 84° 22.717′ W. Marker is in Ducktown, Tennessee, in Polk County. Marker can be reached from Burra Burra Street 0.3 miles east of Tennessee Route 68 when traveling east. Marker is located at the northwest corner of the Ducktown Basin Museum parking lot. Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 212 Burra Burra Street, Ducktown TN 37326, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within 13 miles of this marker, measured as the crow flies. Hiwassee Mine (approx. ¼ mile away); Discovery of Copper (approx. 0.4 miles away); The Madden Branch Massacre: Anti-Confederate activity in North Georgia (approx. 3.4 miles away in Georgia); North Carolina / Georgia (approx. 11.9 miles away in North Carolina); The Halfway House (approx. 12.1 miles away); Blue Ridge Park (approx. 12.2 miles away in Georgia); William Clayton Fain: Georgia Unionist (approx. 12.2 miles away in Georgia); PFC. Jack Clem Robinson (approx. 12.2 miles away in Georgia). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Ducktown.
Regarding The Tennessee Overhill Experience. Burra Burra Mine Historic District, National Register of Historic Places (1983)
Related markers. Click here for a list of markers that are related to this marker. The Tennessee Overhill Experience
Also see . . .
1. Burra Burra Copper Company History.
Copper mining began in 1847, and the Hiwassee mine became the first deep mine for copper when it opened in August 1850. By the end of 1853 eleven mines were operating in Tennessee. Originally no smelting was done at the mines, and ore was hauled by wagon to Dalton, Georgia, and shipped by rail to northern cities. Successful operations demanded access to railroads, however, and construction of the Copper Road from Ducktown to Cleveland, Tennessee, through the Ocoee River gorge, began in 1851 and was completed two years later. (Submitted on April 26, 2018, by Cosmos Mariner of Cape Canaveral, Florida.)
2. Burra Burra Copper Mine.
The Burra Burra Mine, located in Ducktown, Tennessee, operated from 1899 until 1959. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the site includes the Mine Office, Shops, Change House, Hoist House, and Powder House. The Ducktown Basin Museum is located on the grounds of the Burra Burra Mine. (Submitted on April 26, 2018, by Cosmos Mariner of Cape Canaveral, Florida.)
3. Burra Burra Mine.
Named for the famous mine in Australia, the Burra Burra Mine extracted over 15 million tons of copper ore during its 60 years of operation. The Burra Burra Mine was one of a number of mining operations in the Copper Basin from 1850 to 1987 that produced substantial amounts of copper ore that contained sulfur. (Submitted on April 26, 2018, by Cosmos Mariner of Cape Canaveral, Florida.)
4. The Ducktown Basin Museum. is located on the historic mine site, which was the headquarters for Tennessee Copper Company and Cities Service mining operations from 1899 through 1975. The 16 structures remaining on the site include virtually all of the original mine buildings and outbuildings except for the headframe, which was demolished after the closing of the mine in 1958. (Submitted on April 26, 2018, by Cosmos Mariner of Cape Canaveral, Florida.)
Credits. This page was last revised on June 11, 2018. It was originally submitted on April 26, 2018, by Cosmos Mariner of Cape Canaveral, Florida. This page has been viewed 160 times since then and 23 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. submitted on April 26, 2018, by Cosmos Mariner of Cape Canaveral, Florida. 7, 8, 9. submitted on April 27, 2018, by Cosmos Mariner of Cape Canaveral, Florida. • Andrew Ruppenstein was the editor who published this page.