Marker Logo HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
Rochester in Olmsted County, Minnesota — The American Midwest (Upper Plains)
 

Dr. William J. Mayo House

 
 
Dr. William J. Mayo House Marker image. Click for full size.
April 13, 2020
1. Dr. William J. Mayo House Marker
The marker is on the left side of the property's entrance gate.
Inscription.  

This property has been placed on the
National Register of Historic Places
by the United States Department of the Interior

 
Erected 1975.
 
Topics. This historical marker is listed in these topic lists: ArchitectureScience & Medicine.
 
Location. 44° 1.169′ N, 92° 28.406′ W. Marker is in Rochester, Minnesota, in Olmsted County. Marker is on 4th Street SW west of 7th Avenue SW, on the right when traveling west. Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 701 4th Street SW, Rochester MN 55902, United States of America. Touch for directions.
 
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. Donald Church Balfour House (about 600 feet away, measured in a direct line); Mayo Clinic Site (approx. 0.2 miles away); Calvary Episcopal Church (approx. 0.3 miles away); Rochester Public Library Building (approx. 0.3 miles away); The Plummer Building (approx. 0.4 miles away); Saint Marys Hospital (approx. half a mile away); Conley Maass Downs Building
Paid Advertisement
Click on the ad for more information.
Please report objectionable advertising to the Editor.
Click or scan to see
this page online
(approx. half a mile away); Roosevelt Honors Mayos (approx. half a mile away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Rochester.
 
Regarding Dr. William J. Mayo House. The Dr. William J. Mayo House was built in 1916. The house showcases a unique combination of Renaissance Revival and English Tudor styles. The 24,000 square foot home contains 47 rooms on 6 floors. Also known as the Mayo Foundation House, it was listed on the U.S. National Register of Historic Places in 1975. It was a home of Dr. William James Mayo (1861–1939), one of seven founders of the Mayo Clinic. It was donated by Dr. Mayo in 1938 to serve as a meetingplace for the Mayo Foundation, and today is commonly called the Foundation House. Wikipedia
 
Dr. William J. Mayo House image. Click for full size.
April 13, 2020
2. Dr. William J. Mayo House
 
 
Credits. This page was last revised on April 14, 2020. It was originally submitted on April 14, 2020, by J. Makali Bruton of Accra, Ghana. This page has been viewed 278 times since then and 23 times this year. Photos:   1, 2. submitted on April 14, 2020, by J. Makali Bruton of Accra, Ghana.

Share this page.  
Share on Tumblr
m=148186

CeraNet Cloud Computing sponsors the Historical Marker Database.
This website earns income from purchases you make after using our links to Amazon.com. We appreciate your support.
Paid Advertisement
Apr. 22, 2024