Jefferson in Jackson County, Georgia — The American South (South Atlantic)
Cotton Gin
Shields-Ethridge Heritage Farm
Photographed by Cosmos Mariner, October 8, 2021
1. Cotton Gin Marker
Inscription.
Cotton Gin. Shields-Ethridge Heritage Farm. Photographs in the family collection show a bustle of activity in this area during the ginning season. One dated March 1918 entitled "A busy day at the gin" shows seven or eight mule-drawn wagons fanned out across the slope above the building as farmers waited to deliver their seed cotton. Wagons would approach the gin house from the east and proceed down slope into the shed porch to be weighed before their load was sucked up into the gin. Farmers would then drive their empty wagons down the slope into Johnson Mill Road, where they could turn to come back and collect their seed from the drive-under seed box on the east side of the gin. They would then wait to collect their baled cotton from the loading dock on the south side of the building. , The building is mainly constructed of 'Miracle Holow Block' , patented concrete blocks manufactured under license by Mr. Ira's brother, Scott Eth-ridge, in Jefferson. The ginning machinery now in the building was installed in 1930. There are three 80-saw gin stands supplied by Lummus Cotton Gin Company in Columbus, Georgia. A network of pipes conveyed seed cotton to these machines and the resulting cotton lint to the press. Mr. Ira's gin was originally powered by a steam engine and foundations for this engine can still be seen on the west side of the building. A drive shaft once connected to the steam engine remains in the gin house and a challenge for visitors is to work out which of the various shafts, ducts, and machinery parts belong to the different eras of the gin's operation. , A two-bin press stands on the platform on the south side of the gin house. The bins can rotate around a central axle to allow for filling and compaction. Finished bales would be weighed before being taken through the sliding door onto the loading dock on this side of the building.
Photographs in the family collection show a bustle of activity in this area during the ginning season. One dated March 1918 entitled "A busy day at the gin" shows seven or eight mule-drawn wagons fanned out across the slope above the building as farmers waited to deliver their seed cotton. Wagons would approach the gin house from the east and proceed down slope into the shed porch to be weighed before their load was sucked up into the gin. Farmers would then drive their empty wagons down the slope into Johnson Mill Road, where they could turn to come back and collect their seed from the drive-under seed box on the east side of the gin. They would then wait to collect their baled cotton from the loading dock on the south side of the building.
The building is mainly constructed of 'Miracle Holow Block' patented concrete blocks manufactured under license by Mr. Ira's brother, Scott Eth-ridge, in Jefferson. The ginning machinery now in the building was installed in 1930. There are three 80-saw gin stands supplied by Lummus Cotton Gin Company in Columbus, Georgia. A network of pipes conveyed seed cotton to these machines
Click or scan to see this page online
and the resulting cotton lint to the press. Mr. Ira's gin was originally powered by a steam engine and foundations for this engine can still be seen on the west side of the building. A drive shaft once connected to the steam engine remains in the gin house and a challenge for visitors is to work out which of the various shafts, ducts, and machinery parts belong to the different eras of the gin's operation.
A two-bin press stands on the platform on the south side of the gin house. The bins can rotate around a central axle to allow for filling and compaction. Finished bales would be weighed before being taken through the sliding door onto the loading dock on this side of the building. (Marker Number 3.)
Topics. This historical marker is listed in these topic lists: Agriculture • Industry & Commerce. A significant historical year for this entry is 1918.
Location. 34° 3.804′ N, 83° 35.319′ W. Marker is in Jefferson, Georgia, in Jackson County. It can be reached from Etheridge Road just south of Johnson Mill Road, on the right when traveling south. Marker is mounted at eye-level near the southeast corner of the subject building. Touch for map.
Photographed by Cosmos Mariner, October 8, 2021
2. Cotton Gin Marker
(Gin Office in background)
Marker is at or near this postal address: 2355 Etheridge Road, Jefferson GA 30549, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Regionally, this marker is in Georgia’s Piedmont. It is also in the American South and specifically in the Deep South. Globally, it is in North America, the Western Hemisphere, the Western World, and the Anglosphere. Historically, it finds itself in what was once the territory of the Mississippian Culture, one of the original Thirteen Colonies, one of the Confederate States of America, and the Antebellum South.
(wagon is in position for unloading, inside the shed)
in Jefferson.
Regarding Cotton Gin. Contributing property, Shields-Ethridge Heritage Farm, National Register of Historic Places #92000814.
Related markers. Click here for a list of markers that are related to this marker. Shields-Ethridge Heritage Farm
Photographed by Cosmos Mariner, October 8, 2021
4. Cotton Gin (east elevation)
(shed porch on the left drive-under seed box on the right)
Photographed by Cosmos Mariner, October 8, 2021
5. Cotton Gin (northeast elevation)
(drive-under seed box is on the left)
Photographed by Cosmos Mariner, October 8, 2021
6. Cotton Gin (southeast elevation)
(loading dock on the left • good view of 'Miracle Holow Block' construction)
Credits. This page was last revised on October 22, 2021. It was originally submitted on October 21, 2021, by Cosmos Mariner of Cape Canaveral, Florida. This page has been viewed 486 times since then and 27 times this year. Photos:1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. submitted on October 21, 2021, by Cosmos Mariner of Cape Canaveral, Florida.