Lynchburg, Virginia — The American South (Mid-Atlantic)
The College Hill Reservoir was covered by a large steel tank in 1964, and the decorative fencing was dismantled and reused as a garden in closure at a private home. In 2000 the fencing was rescued from overgrowth and sold to the Southern Memorial Association for reinstallation in the City Cemetery.
The picture below illustrates the beauty of the old College Hill Reservoir, but its cast-iron fencing and water pitcher intact. The picture was given to the city in 1890, a gift of Lynchburg Glamorgan foundry.
Topics. This historical marker is listed in these topic lists: Cemeteries & Burial Sites • Charity & Public Work. A significant historical year for this entry is 1878.
Location. 37° 24.839′ N, 79° 9.425′ W. Marker is in Lynchburg, Virginia. Marker can be reached from the intersection of Taylor Street and 4th Street. Touch for map. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. Marble Column (here, next to this marker); Stone Watering Trough (a few steps from this marker); The Quartermaster's Glanders Stable (a few steps from this marker); Stone Well Cap (a few steps from this marker); Glanders (a few steps from this marker); Site of Glanders Stable (within shouting distance of this marker); Ivy Chapel Union Church (within shouting distance of this marker); Chapel and Columbarium (within shouting distance of this marker). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Lynchburg.
Also see . . . Old City Cemetery. The oldest public cemetery in Virginia still in use today - central Virginia's most unique public garden. (Submitted on May 29, 2014.)
Credits. This page was last revised on April 17, 2020. It was originally submitted on May 29, 2014, by Bernard Fisher of Richmond, Virginia. This page has been viewed 624 times since then and 12 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4. submitted on May 29, 2014, by Bernard Fisher of Richmond, Virginia.