Harkers Island in Carteret County, North Carolina — The American South (South Atlantic)
Protecting People and Ships
Replacing a short, 107-foot 1812 lighthouse, the new lighthouse has double walls. This design supports the taller 163-foot structure and a Frensnel lens improved the light, casting it nearly 30 miles at night in good weather.
(upper left) Much of Cape Lookout’s history is tied to federal efforts to protect ships and people at sea. This maritime legacy included the US Lighthouse Service, the US Life-Saving Service, an establishment of the US Coast Guard Station on the cape in 1916.
(upper center) The lighthouse’s diagonal checkerboard pattern was added in 1873 as unique daymark. This design and a unique light flash pattern enables sailors to identify the lighthouse, day or night.
Erected by Cape Lookout National Seashore.
Topics and series. This historical marker is listed in this topic list: Waterways & Vessels. In addition, it is included in the Lighthouses series list. A significant historical year for this entry is 1859.
Location. Touch for map. Marker is in this post office area: Harkers Island NC 28531, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. Estuaries of the Sound (a few steps from this marker); Horizon of Islands (within shouting distance of this marker); Olive Thurlow Anchor (within shouting distance of this marker); Harkers Island Visitor Center at Cape Lookout National Seashore (about 300 feet away, measured in a direct line); Fort Hancock (about 500 feet away); Cape Lookout Lighthouse (about 500 feet away); Rain Gardens (approx. 0.2 miles away); Cisterns (approx. 0.2 miles away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Harkers Island.
Also see . . . Cape Lookout Light Station. Cape Lookout National Seashore (Submitted on August 31, 2014.)
Credits. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016. It was originally submitted on August 30, 2014, by Don Morfe of Baltimore, Maryland. This page has been viewed 289 times since then and 5 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3. submitted on August 30, 2014, by Don Morfe of Baltimore, Maryland. • Bernard Fisher was the editor who published this page.