Saint-Ignace-de-Stanbridge (Mystic) in Brome-Missisquoi, Québec — Central Canada (French-Canadian)
Construite en 1882 par l'entrepreneur Alexander Solomon Walbridge, cette grange-étable est formée de douze murs pignons disposés autour d'un espace central. Le bâtiment comporte deux niveaux: un premier qui servait d'étable et un second, divisé en plusieurs espaces, dont des tasseries, le tout organisé autour d'une plaque tournante destinée à faciliter l'engrangement des récoltes.
Ce bâtiment est la plus ancienne grange polygonale du Québec et la seule qui ait douze côtés. Son astucieux mécanisme rotatif et son architecture originale représentent fort bien l'ingéniosité de son concepteur.
La grange Alexander-Solomon-Walbridge a été classée monument historique le 27 mai 2004 par la Ministre de la Culture et des Communications.
Built in 1882 by Alexander Solomon Walbridge, this barn has twelve sides and twelve gables arranged around a central space. The building comprises two levels: the first level was a stable and the second was divided into several sections, all organized around a central turntable designed to facilitate storing
This building is the oldest non-traditional, multi-sided barn in Québec and the only one to have twelve sides. The revolutionary rotating mechanism and unique architecture of the barn are a testament to its designer's ingenuity.
The Alexander-Solomon-Walbridge barn was classified a historic monument on May 27th 2004 by the Ministre de la Culture et des Communications du Québec.
Erected by Ministre de la Culture et des Communications du Québec.
Topics. This historical marker is listed in these topic lists: Agriculture • Notable Buildings. A significant historical month for this entry is May 1821.
Location. 45° 9.187′ N, 72° 59.213′ W. Marker is in Saint-Ignace-de-Stanbridge (Mystic), Québec, in Brome-Missisquoi. Marker is on Mystic Road, 0.1 kilometers south of Walbridge Road, on the right when traveling south. Touch for map. Marker is at or near this postal address: 189, Mystic Road, Saint-Ignace-de-Stanbridge (Mystic) QC J0J 1Y0, Canada. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 5 other markers are within 26 kilometers of this marker, measured as the crow flies. In honour of Capt. Caleb Tree (approx. 6.8 kilometers away); First Women's Institute (approx. 14.8 kilometers away); Battle of Eccles Hill (approx. 16.2 kilometers away); Saxe's Mills10,000 Years of Fishing/10 000 ans de pêche (approx. 25.8 kilometers away in the U.S.).
More about this marker. The marker is affixed to an impressive red brick wall that was built using the same brick as that of the nearby church.
Regarding Grange Alexander-Solomon-Walbridge. The barn was built in 1882 by Alexander Solomon Walbridge, an industrial engineer and a gentleman farmer, for whom agriculture was a secondary occupation. He designed and built his barn according to practical principles considered revolutionary at the time, such as the free stalling of the cows in the cattle shed, and the clever system of gathering in of fodder and food for the animals, all within a gabled architecture.
The towering barn with its 24-metre (80 ft) diameter is a very imposing sight on the rural landscape of Mystic. Walls of red ochre and contrasting roofs of pale green combine with the harmonizing lines of the gables to offer an astonishingly breathtaking view to passers-by in Mystic.
The barn is now used as the agricultural annex of the Missisquoi Museum.
Additional keywords. Walbridge barn; Missisquoi museum,
Credits. This page was last revised on August 16, 2017. It was originally submitted on October 22, 2010, by Kevin Craft of Bedford, Quebec. This page has been viewed 1,287 times since then and 144 times this year. Last updated on October 10, 2014, by Kevin Craft of Bedford, Quebec. Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. submitted on October 22, 2010, by Kevin Craft of Bedford, Quebec. • Andrew Ruppenstein was the editor who published this page.