Near Ferry Farm in Stafford County, Virginia — The American South (Mid-Atlantic)
The Washington Plantation
In his 1771 survey of the Home House Farm, George Washington identified a garden and henyard in the vicinity of the house. If the fabled cherry tree grew on the plantation, it may have been in this area.
George Washington left his mother in possession of the plantation after he moved to Mount Vernon, but returned for visits. In 1771 he surveyed the Home House Farm, recording the
Topics. This historical marker is listed in this topic list: Colonial Era.
Location. 38° 17.735′ N, 77° 26.974′ W. Marker is near Ferry Farm, Virginia, in Stafford County. Marker can be reached from King's Highway (State Highway 3), on the right when traveling south. Located on the walking trail for the Washington's Boyhood Home site. Touch for map. Marker is in this post office area: Fredericksburg VA 22405, United States of America. Touch for directions.
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within walking distance of this marker. The Ferries (within shouting distance of this marker); The Civil War at Ferry Farm (within shouting distance of this marker); George Washington’s Childhood Home (about 500 feet away, measured in a direct line); George Washington Boyhood Home Site (about 800 feet away); Creek Delegation in Fredericksburg (approx. 0.2 miles away); Fredericksburg's Wharves and Harbor (approx. 0.2 miles away); George Washington’s Boyhood Home at Ferry Farm (approx. 0.2 miles away); Fredericksburg City Dock (approx. ¼ mile away). Touch for a list and map of all markers in Ferry Farm.
More about this marker. In the lower left of the marker is a drawing, published in Anna C. Reed's The Life of George Washington from 1842, depicting the famous cherry tree incident. On the right is a depiction of George Washington as a surveyor from by Walter Haskell Hinton.
Also see . . . Archeologists Discover Historical Gem. Excavations at Washington’s Boyhood Home Uncover (Submitted on December 15, 2008, by Craig Swain of Leesburg, Virginia.)
Credits. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016. It was originally submitted on December 15, 2008, by Craig Swain of Leesburg, Virginia. This page has been viewed 830 times since then and 13 times this year. Photos: 1, 2, 3. submitted on December 15, 2008, by Craig Swain of Leesburg, Virginia.